170 new ve-hicles for de Gards.

• 15-10-2012 08:25PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭

"This is a substantial investment in Garda transport, particularly at a time of severe budgetary constraints," he said.

Fears were highlighted in one instance in Donegal when a woman whose house had been burgled collected a garda from a local station after reporting the crime because he did not have a patrol car to call out

I'm livid. They'll be banjoed in a few months anyway I reckon. Why not just get a collection of used cars at that rate? Would they not save money by buying some three or four year old cars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Sure it takes over 24 veh-icles to stop people cutting turf, not sure how many would be required for a more serious crime

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

squod wrote: »
    I'm livid. They'll be banjoed in a few months anyway I reckon. Why not just get a collection of used cars at that rate? Would they not save money by buying some three or four year old cars?

it would be mad money to integrate garda systems into old cars.Old cars also have histories and milage on the clock.A garda car is driving constantly almost and needs constant servicing from day one.

I'd rather my gardaí have a new car which helped them do their jobs efficiently, than have a garda car breaking down on the way to an incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

squod wrote: »

I'm all for cutting spending but I'll side with the Garda on this one. They need to have good cars, they drive a lot and some of the people they deal with can afford high end cars, it's no good having them chasing behind in a 2005 Ford Focus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

we could have gotten 170 thousand cars with the money that's been paid to unsecured bondholders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

we could have gotten 170 thousand cars with the money that's been paid to unsecured bondholders.

What's this about bondholders? Who paid them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

should have got them a load of them indian cars that go for 3 grand a pop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Theyll never catch me sure ive a honda civic with a 1.4l engine;)

Why would we need so many? That just sounds like wasting money to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

New vehicles are needed. The old ones had huge mileage on them, reportedly.

Now, can I ask AGS -- pretty please -- NOT to park those taxpayer funded vehicles on the taxpayer funded footpaths? Or in disabled parking spaces.

Thanks.

FionnK86 wrote: »

Fcuk your honda civic I've a horse outside:D

well i have a golf tdi with german plates for aerodynamics,blow your civic out of the water,must see first will buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

**** your honda civic, they've got a horse outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

also, will the old cars be sold off at the auction in clare? the money raised could help pay for the new cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Don't see the problem tbh =/

I'd sooner hear about the money being spent on this stuff than on the likes of election & referendum campaigns etc. How much is going to be spent on the upcoming one?

From the looks of this thread it should be horses the Gardai are investing in :D

also, will the old cars be sold off at the auction in clare? the money raised could help pay for the new cars

i'd imagine they'd be scrapped for security reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Boombastic wrote: »
    Fcuk your honda civic I've a horse outside:D

Haha luv it:) Was waiting for that,thanks:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

They should revert back to Ford Escorts, and instead of sirens they should just play the theme from The Bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Has this been approved in the Reichstag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Fair enough OP. Lets put our peace officers in used death traps. Its actually what they deserve, isn't it?

Maybe you should do a ride along in one of the current patrol cars, a 300,000km one perhaps. Vomit, piss, and blood lining the interior. Dents, replacement parts, 3rd gearbox. The list goes on. And you'd replace this with another ****ebox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Has this been approved in the Reichstag?

A decision made by the Blueshirts, so why not? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i'd imagine they'd be scrapped for security reasons.
    They're usually sold on afaik. Strip the electronics etc. Remember a story from a few years back about a drunk driver being arrested after joy riding around in an ex-Garda (might have been PSNI?) car on Harcourt St. Had a hardon for AGS but had failed entry.

Edit. Ex PSNI. He was a TDs son :D
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/td-tells-of-his-anger-after-son-arrested-in-highspeed-chase-1765355.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Maybe if they owned them they would not let them end up in that condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭talla10

Boombastic wrote: »

Why would we need so many? That just sounds like wasting money to me

Eh to police the entire country???!!

talla10 wrote: »
    Eh to police the entire country???!!

170 thousand vehicles for a force of 14,000 approx? It seems excessive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

They should invest in some decent lightweight push bikes while they are at it so they can catch up with all these rogue cyclists on their fixies. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Fair enough, the existing fleet is in bits apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

donvito99 wrote: »
    Fair enough OP. Lets put our peace officers in used death traps. Its actually what they deserve, isn't it?

Maybe you should do a ride along in one of the current patrol cars, a 300,000km one perhaps. Vomit, piss, and blood lining the interior. Dents, replacement parts, 3rd gearbox. The list goes on. And you'd replace this with another ****ebox.

Taking an argument to extremes, that always works.

In all seriousness, the Gards have been calling for suitable jammers for ages now. ''Fit for purpose'' I believe the term they use is. Whether that's a '02 5 series or new poxy Toyota seems to be irrelevant.

The American Gards (or police) are getting new AWD V8 specially adapted jam jars. Ours won't even be junkie proof.

http://www.ford.com/fordpoliceinterceptor/#/features/officerprotection

Seems to me that taxis have regulations than Garda cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Maybe if they owned them they would not let them end up in that condition

It's not through mistreatment on a guards part the current fleet is fecked, it's probably more to do with the fact they are on the road every day, have had people drive into them, away from them or got sick, pissed or ****e in them.

My car is showing its age and it would have have the mileage put up on it compared to a gardai car, I would hate to see it doubled.

About time tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

170 new overpriced piles of sh1te vs some older more well suited ve-hicles?