Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Golfer50

Interesting facts about SL from European tour site . . .

• The first player from the Irish Republic to win on The European Tour in 2012.

• The first victory by a player from the Irish Republic on The European Tour since Lowry in 2009 at the Irish Open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,768 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Great stuff from Lowry, gets him into 2 big money events now in China that he wouldn't have been in. Nice run into Dubai :)

Plenty ranking points on offer yet this year, only one major he hasn't played in yet ;) Top 50 by the end of the year anyone :P

Lowry and Harro sitting 29/30 in R2Dubai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,060 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Golfer50 wrote: »

• The first victory by a player from the Irish Republic on The European Tour since Lowry in 2009 at the Irish Open.

• First player named Shane Lowry to win in 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,743 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Golfer50 wrote: »

Says it all.

Golf is in a bad way in the Republic. For all our talk, we have an awfull record. Only for Paddy. Something not right with the system.

For the number of courses and history of golf we have.

Says it all.

Golf is in a bad way in the Republic. For all our talk, we have an awfull record. Only for Paddy. Something not right with the system.

For the number of courses and history of golf we have.

Same system the boys from the North come through :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I wonder how drunk Lowry is right now.

Already 12 pints and 2 wurly burgers in his belly I bet.

Well deserved too.

We have 3 times the population of NI - crazy.

Besides population we should be winning way more than -

Countries like Austria
    Belgium
    Holland
    France
    Denmark
    Italy
    Thailand. (for god sake)

We have 3 times the population of NI - crazy.

Besides population we should be winning way more than -

Countries like Austria
    Belgium
    Holland
    France
    Denmark
    Italy
    Thailand. (for god sake)

In fairness to Thailand it has a great golf scene. Sure wasn't a lad from on here going over recently on a "golf" holiday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,624 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Great result from a really nice guy!

Absolutely delighted for him!

Fairplay! :D

ForeRight wrote: »
    In fairness to Thailand it has a great golf scene. Sure wasn't a lad from on here going over recently on a "golf" holiday :)

Yes , but that proves the point.

We have a 100 year head start on these places - look what was done in Sweden.

Access to golf is still too restricted. Maybe someone else who knows about this and has a view - but the results don't add up for the south.

Only for Paddy - who so many people don't rate:confused: we would have almost nothing from the south. Great Pros - but I want wins.

Fair play Shane, you won out against the odds it seems.

I'm not sure about all those other countries but I never knew anyone growing up who played golf at any sort of competitive level. Soccer and gaa was all anyone played. I'd imagine a young lad coming into school saying he played golf was going to turn a few heads.

For me personally it was only ever just pitch n putt or par 3 with a couple of rounds of golf a year.
    Without mass numbers of young guys out playing at a very early age we will struggle to produce a gem again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

Fabulous performance, even when he found the bunker on 18, remained calm and looked to give himself a chance of saving par. A difficult hole, playing over par for the day. He would have known Fisher was far from guaranteed a 4 on it, and it turned out to be the case.

Delighted for him as it guarantees his card for a couple of more years and allows him the chance to play in a few WGC events, or to have a real crack at getting on the PGA tour. His putting is a bit hot & cold but he knows how to play tee to green, especially in wind. Hope he kicks on now and adds another title or 2 and keeps himself in the top 100.

Considering the number of touring pro's north & south and we have 4 major champions on tour, there's not a huge amount wrong with the system. As pointed out the NI boys come through the same system as the rest of the island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

I hate this north / south stuff.

Right now the better Irish golfers are out of the north. During Harry's heroics only Clarke was challenging from the north....it swings around all the time and it matters not a whit....... Just remember they are all Irish golfers.....there is no Golfing Union of Nth Ireland. Northern Professionals play under the Nth Ireland flag since the 80's as a result of the troubles and for their own safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

cornerboy wrote: »
    I hate this north / south stuff.

Right now the better Irish golfers are out of the north. During Harry's heroics only Clarke was challenging from the north....it swings around all the time and it matters not a whit....... Just remember they are all Irish golfers.....there is no Golfing Union of Nth Ireland. Northern Professionals play under the Nth Ireland flag since the 80's as a result of the troubles and for their own safety.

Please read the charter on this.

Posters are entitled to comment on the state of golf in whatever country they like.

No more warnings. (for anyone)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Delighted for Lowry, as someone said he is so natural, his game, his reactions, the works.

What stood out from 1 of his interviews was the holed shot on 11, he had 138 with a breeze blowing. Calm day he probably hits wedge or a small 9 but was able to control it to hit a little 7 in there.

You would see very few lads try that, even on tour.

Lowry up to 74th in the world now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Great move for him, needs to push on and at least get himself into Top 64 for Matchplay early next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

well played Shane!

Amazing that in the frys.com at the weekend in the US, the winner got $900,000....I think Lowry (with Ridge behind him) will start looking that way and his target will be the PGA tour in the next couple of years....

my ten cents:D

well played Shane!

Amazing that in the frys.com at the weekend in the US, the winner got $900,000....I think Lowry (with Ridge behind him) will start looking that way and his target will be the PGA tour in the next couple of years....

That's a bit of a null comment, we already know he has entered the PGA Tour school to try and get his card for 2013.

He is 74 in the world now, if he has a good finish to the season he can push on to the Top 50 and will be able to pick and choose events then as he likes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

well played Shane!

The main difference between the prize money is taht in Europe they pay 'apperance fees' where in the states they don't. Also the sponsorship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

AGC wrote: »
    well played Shane!

The main difference between the prize money is taht in Europe they pay 'apperance fees' where in the states they don't. Also the sponsorship

Maybe in China etc but no appearance fees for normal events.
    So It's the sponsorship that's the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

ssbob wrote: »
    That's a bit of a null comment, we already know he has entered the PGA Tour school to try and get his card for 2013.

He is 74 in the world now, if he has a good finish to the season he can push on to the Top 50 and will be able to pick and choose events then as he likes!

I didnt know that about him entering q-school, sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Great move for him, needs to push on and at least get himself into Top 64 for Matchplay early next year.
    Might face Rory in 1st round....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭redarmy

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/golf/2012/1015/1224325286133.html not going for his card now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,771 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

It's just been announced that he has pulled out of the PGA qualifying school and has entered the BMW Masters in China instead.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/golf/european-tour/2012/1015/341748-lowry-abandons-qualifying-school-plans/

coylemj wrote: »
    It's just been announced that he has pulled out of the PGA qualifying school and has entered the BMW Masters in China instead.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/golf/european-tour/2012/1015/341748-lowry-abandons-qualifying-school-plans/
    redarmy wrote: »

He doesn't need to go if he can push on into the Top 50 as that will allow him to get sponsors invites in America along with the majors and WGC's he would automatically get into.

Good call really, would have had to get through 3 stages to get his card.
    With his current ranking he could enter at stage 2 next year or if he pushed in top 50 he could get straight to final qualifying.

Also his win gets him into both $7 million dollor events in China.

Edit: No cut in these limited field events either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

Good call really, would have had to get through 3 stages to get his card.
    With his current ranking he could enter at stage 2 next year or if he pushed in top 50 he could get straight to final qualifying.

Also his win gets him into both $7 million dollor events in China.

Think there is no Q school next year, this is the final year. Qualification for the main PGA Tour has to come from the secondary Web.com Tour, I think.

saintastic wrote: »
    Think there is no Q school next year, this is the final year. Qualification for the main PGA Tour has to come from the secondary Web.com Tour, I think.

Thanks didnt see that.

So how will the players that lose their card on the main tour get a chance to get their card back/ Are they destined for a year in the Nationwide/Web.com tour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

There you go, that is the crap that I'm talking about.

Look, he should lose a few pounds and will at some stage. But the best thing out of Rep of Ireland in 20 years.
    To be fair that person has admitted that he had been wrong.