DMT

• 12-10-2012 01:41AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Have you heard about this chemical, Dimethyltryptamine or DMT for short. It is produced in your pineal gland and they think it might be responsible for dreaming. It's also a class A narcotic and considered to be one of the worlds strongest hallucinogenic.

This chemical is found in every living organism, both plant and animal and can be extracted. It is either smoked or drank in a tea called ayahuasca.

Users describe the trip as being taken out of this dimension and visiting another one where you are guided by aliens. The whole trip lasts about 7 min and when you are back in this dimension the memory of the trip fades very quickly.

There is a great documentary called DMT the spirit molecule which has scientists and users talking about it.

I suppose my question to you guys is why is this illegal if technically you are in possession of it now and why has nobody heard about it, if there is this drug that lets you explore another dimension and communicate with aliens why are more people not talking about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Have you been smoking it tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭eth0

Where do I sign up?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Yes.

Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

kjl wrote: »
    Have you heard about this chemical, Dimethyltryptamine or DMT for short. It is produced in your pineal gland and they think it might be responsible for dreaming. It's also a class A narcotic and considered to be one of the worlds strongest hallucinogenic.

This chemical is found in every living organism, both plant and animal and can be extracted. It is either smoked or drank in a tea called ayahuasca.

Users describe the trip as being taken out of this dimension and visiting another one where you are guided by aliens. The whole trip lasts about 7 min and when you are back in this dimension the memory of the trip fades very quickly.

There is a great documentary called DMT the spirit molecule which has scientists and users talking about it.

I suppose my question to you guys is why is this illegal if technically you are in possession of it now and why has nobody heard about it, if there is this drug that lets you explore another dimension and communicate with aliens why are more people not talking about it?

They are. Mostly to aliens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

They are. Mostly to aliens.

Before flaming me, look it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I suppose my question to you guys is why is this illegal if technically you are in possession of it now and why has nobody heard about it, it there is this drug that lets you explore another dimension and communicate with aliens why are more people not talking about it?

It's illegal despite the fact it's in your body because making it illegal to possess the DMT in your body would be unworkable.

Lots of people have heard of it.

It doesn't let you explore other dimensions... although it may make you feel like you have.

It doesn't let you communicate with aliens... although it may make you feel like you have.

People talk about it all the time... there's even been several threads about it on after hours before yours.

I like DMT, it's like the hipster Salvia. "I was a dissociative hallucinogen before it was cool!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Gigidy gigidy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Isn't that the substance secreted by toads?

Howard Marks described having a shmoke of it in Senor Nice down in South America. Said it was great stuff, but the most intense hallucination he has ever had. Felt a connection to the oneness of the world and the significance of the color purple....... Coming from Howie, I'd reckon its pretty full on, not something to do on a regular basis but probably something that's worth a try at least once in your life !
    Pretty sure it can be extracted from Reed canary grass too, but you'd need to be pretty good at your chemistry to do it.
    Just go to the Zoo and start lickin toads till you get the right one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

If it actually let you explore another dimension and communicate with aliens. I'm sure many many people would be talking about it! Otherwise it's just boring drug stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Daithi 1

I tried ayahuasca a couple times, pretty f'd up. Puked and the ****s for hours.. buz only lasted about 20 mins. Lots of hassil, little reward.

Terence mc Kenna and Graham Hancock talk a lot about it, should check it out.

Heres a groovy video for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I smoked it several months ago, its an amazing drug, it was a wonderful experience and i would recommend it to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

strobe wrote: »

I like DMT, it's like the hipster Salvia. "I was a dissociative hallucinogen before it was cool!"

I don't think DMT is a dissociative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

strobe wrote: »
    It's illegal despite the fact it's in your body because making it illegal to possess the DMT in your body would be unworkable.

Lots of people have heard of it.

It doesn't let you explore other dimensions... although it may make you feel like you have.

It doesn't let you communicate with aliens... although it may make you feel like you have.

People talk about it all the time... there's even been several threads about it on after hours before yours.

user report say very vivid feeling of leaving your body and breaking through to a different dimension and everyone has similar trip reports about communicating with aliens. The chemical is released into your brain in massive dosage when you die. Is it not possible that maybe our mind exists in two planes of existence. Maybe our brains are like radios that pick up our conscience from this alternative dimension.

We still don't know what sleep is, we have theories but nobody knows. People using this drug and having these emersive trips is it not plausibly that this could be a vision of the afterlife?

I have heard of it before, but it's not common knowledge. I tell people and they think I am crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Why would he flame you? Is he an arsonist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭eth0

grizzly wrote: »
    If it actually let you explore another dimension and communicate with aliens. I'm sure many many people would be talking about it! Otherwise it's just boring drug stories.

Ould fecking aliens. They live too far away to ever visit and i just cant relate to the shaggers. Feck em, wouldnt waste my breath saying any more about em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

user report say very vivid feeling of leaving your body and breaking through to a different dimension and everyone has similar trip reports about communicating with aliens. The chemical is released into your brain in massive dosage when you die. Is it not possible that maybe our mind exists in two planes of existence. Maybe our brains are like radios that pick up our conscience from this alternative dimension.

We still don't know what sleep is, we have theories but nobody knows. People using this drug and having these emersive trips is it not plausibly that this could be a vision of the afterlife?

I have heard of it before, but it's not common knowledge. I tell people and they think I am crazy.[/Quote]

Man I haven't touched a drug in years but this!! This would have me in the gutter quicker than Bill Cullen can shout "Apples 5 for a Euro"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I don't think that counts as flaming... however, seriously, how can one verify that one was conversing with aliens versus hallucinating?

I've a suggestion: perhaps request from the alien that that alien relate to you some knowledge that is already known by humanity (so you are not asking for them to interfere in our development) but is not widely known or easily understood by us... best some technical knowledge that has some significant application for humanity in the here & now. If the alien cannot do this, ask the alien if he has a clever friend who might be open for a chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I am an Eye!

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I think it's all hogwash. And so does the talking two headed bear lying beside me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Is there any probing involved?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Do DMT take CAO students?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

You don't need this to talk to aliens, Even ET has an iPhone now :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Its great craic. Terrible smell though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

It's mad stuff, i wouldn't reccomend it if you havent done any kind of hallucinagen before. I done it once, the first hit was pretty weak but it was a cool high the colours were so vivid, we had some tunes on in the background and it was like i could see music the colours were vibrating in unison with the beats, all the while we were laughing our asses off, it didn't last long though.

Ten mins later i took another hit, this time i made sure to hit it hard for the craic. My friend who had done it before had told me all about the different dimension/alien stuff but i thought he was talking was pure bollox. I was wrong in the sense that i didn't think it'd be that intense. About two seconds after the second hit the colours just took over, reality vanished and i was lost in some kind of space and time where everything i knew was completely turned on its head, nothing made any sense. A kaleidescopic world of utter confusion and clarity where they physical world is just and illusion and doesn't matter. It's so hard to explain, i was completely terrified yet absolutely enthralled. I came back to reality shortly after, thankfully. I was glad i had did it but it scared me, if i had never done anything like that before i reckon it would have really left me mentally scarred for a while. It was an amazing experience but not one i'd be rushing to repeat anytime soon as it was just too intense. Also just letting yous know Devo-Whip It is probably not a tune youd want to have on in the background while experiencing the most mind altering trip of your life haha.

On the subject of being transported into different dimensions/worlds etc. it's a load of bollox..yes your brain is basically being taken on a completely different level of conciousness but it's all in your head.

Theres a DMT sequence in the film Enter The Void which is a pretty decent visualisation of what goes on, although this looks way less insane than the trip i was taken on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

DMT is released in large amounts by the brain at death, explaining 'near-death experiences'. It's also produced when you fast or don't sleep. Didn't Jesus fast for 40 days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Any idea how I can extract it from my pets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

I heard of it 20 years ago from a 'New Age Traveler' from Liverpool. He described in detail to me, how you meet little people on your trip and conquer your fears towards the end. I have never tried it, dont know what it looks like and I wouldn't know how to take it. On the other hand, I hear Dope-amine is great for musical creativity. Its a drug that Parkinsons sufferers take

What are you on about? Dopamine is a neurotransmitter, one of your brain's 'reward chemicals', not a treatment for Parkinson's. Parkinson's is caused by lack of dopamine or something though afaik.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

DMT is released in large amounts by the brain at death, explaining 'near-death experiences'.
    I dunno about that. Just on personal experience I've had an NDE and had DMT(in the form of ayahuasca) and they're very different "trips" indeed. The NDE isn't trippy for a start. Very clear, very sober, hyper real for want of better description.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I heard of it 20 years ago from a 'New Age Traveler' from Liverpool. He described in detail to me, how you meet little people on your trip and conquer your fears towards the end. I have never tried it, dont know what it looks like and I wouldn't know how to take it. On the other hand, I hear Dope-amine is great for musical creativity. Its a drug that Parkinsons sufferers take

What are you on about? Dopamine is a neurotransmitter, one of your brain's 'reward chemicals', not a treatment for Parkinson's. Parkinson's is caused by lack of dopamine or something though afaik.
    That would be a good reason for them to take it, no?