Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to tri this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭joey100

Wouldn't be too sure about that Couerdelion, Reckon our swims are fairly evenly matched. Will just be about not letting you get too far away on the bike so I can try catch you on the run!

Seen the waves are up, I'm in wave 2 and your in wave 3 so if nothing else I should get across the finish line before you! Good number from activ doing it too, should be a good race.

Dublin City Triathlon August 26th

Wasn't feeling very well prepared coming up to the race, had only been in the water once or twice since the Bunclody sprint triathlon and hadn't done much long runs. Had recently sold my TT bike too so was going to be doing this race on my road bike. Took the road bike out for a spin the Wednesday before and found out that the gears were all over the place, wouldn't shift into big ring on the front. Because of this lowered my estimated time from 2hr 30 min to 2hr 40 min.

Got to the race nice and early, no problems parking and got set up on the racks. Nice to be surrounded by people from the club too. Made the waiting around a bit easier. Lovely weather and had good time looking at some of the newer TT bikes in transition.

Swim 28.56

Was estimating around the half hour mark and this was going to be my first full Olympic distance swim seen as it was cut short in Kilkenny. Big start group and got a few elbows and kicks but nothing too bad, took a while to get into a rhythm and again seemed to get stuck by myself behind the faster swimmers but in front of a bigger slow group. Meant very little drafting was done but keep slogging through it. Got to the first buoy and turned around and suddenly sun was right in my eyes, couldn't see anything in front of me so just kept alongside the divider in the river. Swim felt tough and was glad to finish, bit wobbly getting out of the water and felt twinge in my calf.

T1 3.13

Slow T1, mainly because after the twinge I decided to walk to transition. Took it easy, race was going to be longer than just the swim so decided to save my calf. Worked well, no problems with it. But resulted in slower T1 than usual.

Bike 1.18.45

Straight into the bike and took a while to get into any rhythm, Garmin was set to 5k splits on the bike and first one was slow. Took this as a cue to push it more. Pushed it on the bike and made up time through some of the uphill sections. Made some time on the bike but definitely missed the TT bike. Felt a lot of the time like I would have made time in that position. Decided to push it more on the bike than planned and managed to get a few 8 min splits. Really looking forward to getting a new TT bike now!

T2 2.01

Again took it easy through Transition, found space nice and handy and racked the bike and put on my shoes fairly handy. Took it handy jogging in and out which meant a bit of a slower T2.

Run 46.29

Again struggled to get into a rhythm at the start of the race as it was straight into an uphill section. From this it then went onto grass, struggled to to up the pace but when it went back onto the path I managed to up it to 4.20 min kilometres knowing that I would slow again on second lap. Legs were feeling heavy and was first time racing in new light weight runners and was feeling bit of twinge in my achilles. Second half was quicker than first and made up a good few places through out the run but would have been hoping to go quicker.

Overall 2.39.22

Managed to get under the 2.40 I was aiming for, Just! Definitely places I can make up the time, and gives me something to keep in my mind when training over the next few months. Enjoyed the race and was my first national series race and the level was a step up from my other ones but still very enjoyable. Know myself I can go quicker than I did on the day but with the way I was training before it, it was a fair result.

Race has made me more determined than ever that I want to get better at this sport. Looking forward to the next few months training and seeing some improvements. After seeing the other bikes at the race too it has made me want a new bike even more! Just waiting on a few more models to be released and then I will hopefully be getting one!

So took a week out after the Dublin City Tri just to let the body recover even though it hasn't been under that much pressure before the race. Also looked forward to next season and a few goals that I would like to reach, nothing concrete but few times I would like to aim for.

So that meant this week was back to training and getting back into the swing of proper training. No excuses anymore, need to be training more consistently and stop making excuses not to.

Monday 3rd September

Not in work until half one so decided to go for a morning cycle before work. No real route in my head when I went out, wanted to see how the legs would feel but was going to do more than 50k. Headed out towards newcastle, then onto Saggart heading towards Blessington. Legs took a while longer than usual to warm up and was feeling it throughout the cycle. Kept on going though and when I got to Brittas legs were starting to wake up. Turned off towards Sally Gap, been wanting to do this route for a while so when better than today! Fairly hilly route and was feeling it in the legs, got to Kippure adventure centre and turned back, approx 7k from Sally Gap but needed to get back for work. Cycle home was much easier and covered approx 62k in 2hours 10 mins so not too slow either.

Had made my mind up that this would be a double session day and got home from work and got my gear on for a run. Was going to do a 7.5k loop just to get out running. Headed out and legs felt surprisingly fresh, kept speed in check though and kept the kilometres under 4.45 mins. Legs were feeling tired at the very end but not too bad through out the cycle. Glad to get back out and feeling good for the rest of my training.

Tuesday 4th September

Another Double session day, morning was a swim. Got to the pool at a quarter past eight and it was pretty busy. Not of people swimming tho, full of people walking up and down and having a chat. Took a while to get a bit of space and get some lengths in without having to stop for someone. Was feeling tired throughout the swim and showed me how much of my swim fitness I had lost leading up to the DCT. Done approx 700 metres in total, was swimming a bit faster than usual. Have no problem swimming distance but need to work on how fast I swim.

Evening session was a short interval one. Achilles has been a bit tender since DCT and was sore after last nights run but as today went on it got better. Done a 1.5k warm up and then 8 X 200 metre sprints with a 150 metre rest session between each. Then a 1.5k cool down. Felt good through this even if breathing was a bit tougher than usual but legs felt good.

Wednesday 5th September

Turbo day today. Haven't been on the turbo for a while and was late out of work so best thing to do was to get turbo out. Done some interval work on the turbo, 12 X 1.30 mins hard with 1.30 min break inbetween. Definitely helped pass the time on the turbo, and legs were feeling it so hopefully its doing some good. Turbo has been left out overnight as well with the idea of getting some time on it in the morning, just have to motivate myself to get out of bed now!

Thursday 6th September

Another double training day today. Left the turbo out so I would use it in the morning and it worked. Out of bed at half eight, on the turbo at ten to nine and forty mins done on the turbo before work. Nothing special with the work out just forty mins of pedalling. Legs were tired after last night but woke up a bit after a while. Good to get something done before work.

After work was going to be my least favourite work out of all, fast kilometres. Mainly because the second or third time I done these I ended up sick on the side of the road. Started with 1k warm up and then done 4 X 1 kilometres around 3.55 mins. These were done with a break of 1k inbetween done around 5min. Third one of these was really tough and was struggling at the end but was surprised at how I held up throughout the session. Done around 9k in total and felt good after the session, seem to have gotten rid of the negative memories of it! Know its not fast compared to some of the logs in here but shows I'm moving in the right direction and getting faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

Nice one, 1km repeats done so they hurt, are tough, no matter what the pace. If they're hurtin', they're helpin'.

Friday 7th September

Took this as a rest day. legs were feeling tired after the week and had a long day in work so suited to take it easy.

Saturday 8th September

Long run this morning before work. 10.5k done in about 50 mins. Felt very comfortable throughout this run and never felt I was pushing it at all. This time last year I done my fastest 10k of the year. Was a stand alone 10k race in Donedea forest park, done in around 48mins 5x seconds. My 10k this morning was done above this pace and wasn't pushing. Good to see my training is paying off! Plan for rest of day is surfing with the kids in work, won't be a tri specific work out but will be a workout all the same. Going to spend bit of time surfing and then the rest pulling the kids through the surf on their boards and carting boards up and down from the beach! Nice to have training done nice and early in the day.

Sunday 9th September

Nothing too hectic today, 65k cycle with the girlf and her friends. Bit slower pace than I would have liked but was able to leave them on the hills and push it up the hills and wait for them at the top. Legs felt grand at the end, ready for more training during the week.

Monday 10th September

13.5k run done before work. Weather wasn't too bad when I got up so headed out for a long run before work. Weather turned soon enough and was drowned for the whole rest of the run, something nice and calm about running in the rain tho, not a lot of people out and soaking wet, ended up really enjoying it. 13.5k done in around 61 mins so not too slow either.

Tuesday 11th September

Turbo session tonight. 5 mins warm up followed by 8 X 1min 30sec pushing hard with 1 min cool down between each. Then a 5 min cool down. Somehow the 1 and half mins feel very very long and the 1 min cool down feels very very short! Turbo has been left out in the sitting room so I will use it tomorrow before work.

Wednesday 12th September

Morning was straight onto the turbo, 35 mins done before work, all done at steady pace with a bit of out of the seat high gear work thrown in too. Loosened the legs up after the intervals last night and set me up nicely for the day.

This evening was fast kilometres. 750m warm up and then into 4 X 1k done around 3min 50 sec pace with kilometre done inbetween each to rest. Both the fast kilometres and slow kilometres were done a bit faster than last week. Felt good after this, not as tired as last week and starting to feel bit stronger and more comfortable at the faster speeds.

Tuesday 18th September

First bit of proper training in good few days, was down in kerry for the weekend and wasn't feeling the best. Only back last night so back to training today. Long run done early today, 10k done around 4.50min pace. Felt ok, not as comfortable as I have been but put that down to few days doing nothing.

Went out for another run in the evening with the gf. 5.5K done, not fast but good to get out twice in one day. This evening then was a bit of core work, used to do a good bit of this back when I kayaked but has been a while and felt it during it. Going to try re introduce this back into my sessions, even just twice a week would be a benefit.

Turbo has been set up already for tomorrow morning to use before work.

Wednesday 19th September

Up nice and early before work (well when you dont start work until 10.30, half eight is early!). Bit of breakfast then onto the turbo, 5 mins warm up then 1.30 min right leg, 1.30 min left leg, 3 mins both legs. Done this 4 times, then 4 minutes easy into 1 min standing in big gear with 1 min recovery 4 times with 4 min cool down at the end. Legs were bit stiff but felt pretty good.

Was meant to be a run in the evening but went out with gf to collect her new bike. Meant I didn't get home until bit later and then had dinner. Back out of the run but couldn't not do anything so back onto the turbo. 5 mins warm up then 1.30 mins hard with 1.30 min steady X 8times. Legs were feeling tired towards the end of it but got thru it. Then a 5 min cool down.

Two short sessions but still good to get two in in one day. Will keep this up for the winter, know I have been neglecting my swim but do have plans to get back into the pool soon, just waiting for my sinus problem to clear up!

Thursday 20th September

No early morning session today, bit tired so didn't do one. Evening was a steady 5k with the girlf, used this as my warm up. Then into 10 X 200m sprints with 150m Steady inbetween them. Altogether done around 9k including the run to the park and back. Good mix of pace through the session and legs were feeling it towards the end. Feeling stronger over the 200m distance and am able to hold my faster pace for much longer now.

Friday 21st September

Training tonight was to be a fast 5k. I wanted to do this for two reasons, 1, To see where I am in relation to my time in May at the start of the season when I was running 5k in an average of 21min 30 sec, second reason was to see how long I could hold up the fast kilometres I have been doing.

Set off at a good pace and done the first 3k averaging around 3.55 kilometres but couldn't keep it up longer than 3k, 4th kilometre was done around 4.35 and then 5th was back around 3.55. So 5k done in 20min 15 seconds. Delighted with this time, after the slower kilometre legs felt like I could have done another 2 or 3k at the faster pace. Good bit faster than my time in May and probably the fastest full 5k I have ever run. After this session I think I need to speed up my fast kilometres, I ran 3k today at the pace I was only running 1k for my fast ones, so the speed is definitely there to go faster just need to push myself thru the training. This was another thing I realised, I need to learn to push myself more, With four fast kilometres and 1 steady one I ran close to a 20min 5k, if I had of pushed it a bit during the steady one I would have went under 20min.

Consistent sub 20min 5k's was going to be my goal for next Easter with consistent sub 20 mins off the bike by the summer. Good bit ahead of where I thought I was so hopefully I will be consistently under 20 mins by Christmas. Good to see the training working!

Saturday 22nd September

Legs felt ok after the fast run on Fri night, headed out for a cycle with the gf on her new bike. Altogether 41km done, averaging around 28k. Not especially fast but getting stronger on the bike. After this was straight into an 8k run keeping the pace around 4.40min kilometres. Felt strong at start of this but legs were feeling it towards the end. Not a proper brick session as took few mins to change shoes and tops but not too bad.

Monday 24th September

Took Sunday off, was my birthday and had been out for drinks on Saturday night and an Indian on Sunday so was nice relaxing day.

Wasn't in work until 1.30 so got up at eight with the idea of going out on a cycle, opened the curtains and nothing but rain. Back to bed for another hour and checked again but still raining. Forced myself to get up and set up the turbo, 1hour 30mins done on turbo, few sprints and big gears out of the saddle done but was sooooooo boring! After this went straight out for short fast 1k run, done around 4mins. Legs felt good on the run.

Evening was meant to be a run but the rain still hadn't stopped so back onto the turbo for 40 mins of interval work. Legs felt good but wasn't looking for ward to getting back on the turbo. Need to up the length of my fast intervals as don't think 1min is long enough. Will work on that over next few sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Happy birthday!!!! :D

Tuesday 25th September

Horrible weather today, no chance to get out before work but had to do something after work. No let off in the rain and couldn't face the turbo again so got the swimming gear out and back into the pool. First time back in the pool in a long time. Wanted to work on few things in my stroke, need to work on stretching out my arms and making sure my thumbs brush my hips on the way out. More things I need to work on but decided to start on this first! Felt good for the swim and done a mixture of lengths, pull buoy and kick board. Didn't do too long in the pool, probably about 800 metres but felt good to get back in.

Wednesday 26th September

Again nothing in the morning but day cleared as it went on so even though finishing work late got out for a run. 1.6k warm up (well run to the hill) and then 10 X 110 metre sprints up the hill using the run down as my break. then a 1.6k run home at a steady pace. Faster on the hill than the last time I done this session, legs feeling good too as first run session of the week. That has to change over the next few days!

Thursday 27th September

Another run today. 8k done around 4.30 mins, felt good thru this even if there was a bit of difference between some of the times, some were 4.20, others round 4.35 but worked on keeping it close.

Friday 28th September

Nice cycle done before work. 41km done around 33/34 kmph average, took legs a while to wake up and was bit stiff but once they did felt good throughout the cycle.

Saturday 29th September

Was working on Saturday at a sports day I helped organise. Day went well until I had to step inbetween a fight between two lads in the hall. Ended up getting chair in the leg which bruised up nicely very quickly. Leg was sore for rest of day, sort of like a dead leg so didn't do much after work.

Sunday 30th September

Leg still pretty bruised so took it handy. Done some walking and light running but leg just felt asleep. Did go out to Base2Race though and had a look at a very nice Argon E118 which they have for a very good price. Had pretty much decided on the new canyon speedmax but not sure now! Just waiting on a price to be released so I can figure out what to do.

Monday 1st October

Leg still very bruised but swelling dying down. Again took it easy but went out to Wicklow Harbour pier jumping with a group from work, so if nothing else I got a bit of time in the water, even if I was wearing a 5mm scuba diving wetsuit. Should be good to get back to training tomorrow, seems like ages since I've done any decent training!!

Tuesday 2nd October

Just a quick 5k run done today after work. Wanted to do it hard but not too hard so kept it around 4.15 min kilometres. Felt surprisingly good for this and if it hadn't been for the weather probably would have stayed out for a bit more.

Been a while since I put anything up here but in the last week have done 2 turbo sessions, one as part of a brick into a 5k run. I've done a 8k run and a 14k long run. Not a while lot but enough to keep ticking over.

Over the weekend was out in Base2Race with the gf's dad who was getting a fit done on his new bike. Sat through it with him and seemed really good. Really thorough and went through the reasons for changing things too.

While out there I got talking to them about new TT bikes, showed me a Argon 18 bike that they have built up for someone else for a very competitive price. Bike was really nice and after a bit of talking looks like I will be getting an Argon 18 E118 built up with SRAM force and Fulcrum wheels. Not sure on how deep the wheels will be but hoping for 50mm on front and 80mm on back, just waiting to hear from the shop. Because of the price of the build means I am able to get a new road bike too so looking at a new carbon Orbea or Carbon Eddie Mercyx. Waiting to see how much TT build comes in at before I pick which one. All I need after the bikes is 2 cadence sensors, new wheel and tyre for turbo and new aero helmet! GF has been very understanding about spending all this money! Even came out to see the bikes with me today! Back to training this week and hopefully get moving on the bikes!

Monday 8th October

AM -- Went out to do my fast kilometres. 800 metre warm up then into 4 X 1k fast, came in at 3.36, 3.45, 3.50 and 3.50. Definitely felt the last two but these were still done at a faster pace than I had done my last 4 at. Altogether done 8.5k so a good morning training. Onto the turbo this evening for some more!

Tuesday 9th October

Up early and on the turbo before work. 45 mins done, mix of sprints, one leg cycling and big gear sitting down. Legs were bit tired after the fast kilometres on Monday but felt ok.

This evening then was a steady paced 10k run. Took it handy throughout this and concentrated on keeping the speed consistent through the run. Legs felt grand and didn't feel bad at all at the end.

Wednesday 10th

Another session on the turbo. 1hr 10 mins done in total. Don't think I could last any longer than this, just out of boredom more than anything else! Legs were tired and kept getting in my head to quit but stuck thru it and done the full time I had planned. Bit of BMXing with the kids in work on an indoor track in the evening but nothing too hectic. Legs tired tonight tho, good nights sleep and no session in the morning should sort that out.

Again another bit of a messy weekend training wise, not much done but few sessions on turbo, one long run and one short one.

Went to club agm on Saturday night and met few more people from the club. Was a good laugh and even bought a club tri suit for next season, so next year I will be wearing the bright yellow,red and black of Activ Multisport!

As part of the club plans for next season I will also be getting coached by Bjorn and Couredelion. Looking forward to this and hoping to see some real improvements in my times with this planned training.

Bad news for this week is I'm off work for the week sick, combination of sore throat, sinuses, and just lack of energy. Few days rest and I should be grand. Good news for the week is I'm collecting the argon 18 E118 from base to race on Thursday and will be getting fit on it too. Looking forward to it and hopefully will get out on it over the weekend!

So had been off work sick all week, meant nothing much happening on training was under doctors orders to take it easy and rest. Headed out on Friday on the new bike and is going to take a bit of getting used to. Fast, very fast but also very twitchy and can feel every bump on the road. Only done about 25k but very happy with how it felt, now just need more time on it. Rest of week was nothing much, 2 slow runs just to try keep ticking over.

Looking forward to tomorrow when the proper coaching starts. Doesn't start off too busy but from looking at the plan will get a lot busier. Nice to have the sessions planned out for me and not have to think about what I'm going to do. So from tomorrow there should be more structure to the sessions and will be working off heart rate and cadence too, plenty of learning for me too.