Ever had a gun pointed at you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Yep.

Also been on the business end of Israeli Artillery & Air Force, if you're going to try it bring plenty of underwear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭JimmyChew

Was at a house party one time a few years back. A few rough looking lad's arrived into the kitchen and started throwing their weight around and giving the girls a bit too much attention. I started ****ing them out the door when out of nowhere one of them pulls out a sawn off shotgun and points it at me and says "Go handy now lad were just partying we'll be on our way soon" they loaded up into a van and took off.. when i look back i still dread what could have happened........ good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

anncoates wrote: »
    Yes. Held up once in work years,ago.

+1 they robbed the shop I was working in. Scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yes, but then I turned off my Xbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

Either there are some tall tales here or this happens ALOT more than I thought. Its happened to 80-90% of people that have replied so far. I have had a sheltered life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

m.j.w wrote: »
    Either there are some tall tales here or this happens ALOT more than I thought. Its happened to 80-90% of people that have replied so far. I have had a sheltered life!

They're all out and out liars.

I was in front of a firing squad once and I wouldn't be here now if the knob giving the instructions hadn't given me one last wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭hadepsx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

ejmaztec wrote: »
    They're all out and out liars.

I was in front of a firing squad once and I wouldn't be here now if the knob giving the instructions hadn't given me one last wish.

you had your hand on you penis, they thought you were going to smother them with sperm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

When I was about 13 some nutter came to the outside of school at lunch waving a knife and stick around.

Being kids everyone was just stood there laughing and shouting at him.

I was inside at the time and then he pulled a gun and walked inside. I was about half way down a 50 metre hall with no open doors.

Picture me bolting to the other end as this nutter waved the gun around talking to himself.

Two teachers came and tackled him.

Turned out to be a replica but was ****ting it at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Yes.........brits used to point them at the car at checkpoints in the north back in the 80's.

I was only a lad so to me it was normal to see an army man crouched in a hedge aiming at your dad's car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Pfft, a gun pointed at you, big deal. It's when they start firing, that's the killer.

*thinks about Nam*

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Biggins wrote: »
    Yes.

Nothing more to add? Something for the grown-ups on here to parse over?

I think the OP might've had a few anecdotes in mind when asking the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

It's to be expected that most have said they had. It be a pretty crappy thread if it was 80-90% people saying they hadn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Yup. One time I was cutting through a fairly dodgy estate to get back to my own in liverpool, couple of lads, one of them point a shotgun at me, asked for wallet, keys, phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Well people who haven't are less likely to reply, if they did it would be 99 Nos for every yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Pfft, a gun pointed at you, big deal. It's when they start firing, that's the killer.

*thinks about Nam*

'They told me I'd get a big parade when I came back from Nam, but instead they spat on me'

http://i.imgur.com/5KXWxl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

you had your hand on you penis, they thought you were going to smother them with sperm.

No, that was the execution next door, I was the one who asked for a free helicopter flight.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

A gatda friend tells a story of travelling along the border in the 80s as the passenger in a patrol car in the wee small hours. Hedging along the road parted and a combat wearing volunteer stepped onto the road wielding an ak47. Silence in the car for a few hundred metres, til the driver turns to my buddy and asks "did u just see what I saw ?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Just yesterday in work. Had an array of guns pointed at me. Unloaded though. Only once so far with a loaded weapon. A G36 but wasn't just at me. Was pointed at a few of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

I did once; by the Armed Response Unit.

Used to do a bit of airsofting with a few of the lads before; and I'd left my new AK in one of the lads houses (Only lived about 150 meters away in a quiet estate). Whenever I went down to him I'd forget to bring the case for it to bring it back up home. So one day he was dropping up and decided to bring it with him; alas one of the new neighbours in the area was ex-army, and saw him walking up the road with the AK by his side. (Everyone else in the estate knows that we used to Airsoft). When he arrives up, I put the gun away. And we sit down and have a cuppa coffee.

About 10 minutes later I hear a knock at the door and see the ARU And nearly every detective in Limerick at my front door! They asked if I had a weapon and I showed em though to it, while they searched the house. (Just to be safe on their behalf) got chatting to one of em, and he gave me his gun to look at! (Sure raid the house for nothing, and let me mess around with his!)

Luckily I knew one of the uniformed guards that were there, who lived in the area when I was growing up, he was a lot quicker to understand then the rest of em! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

yep, little kids in rio pulled a gun on me! u never know how your gonna react til it happens, i grabbed him and starting screaming at him and he ran off, very stupid thing to do in all honesty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

Just yesterday in work. Had an array of guns pointed at me. Unloaded though. Only once so far with a loaded weapon. A G36 but wasn't just at me. Was pointed at a few of us.

were you playing call of duty online!? team deathmatch?

Thinking about it I was 16 courting a sweet beautiful girl, I called to her abode, tipped on her bedroom window, we were talking for 20-30 mins, I was trying to get her to follow me to the promise land,

while she was happy to follow, her oul fella stepped out the back door with the shoot gun, bang, he said the first is a warning the second will be to your nuts,

needless to say (it was not recorded) but I bettered usain bolts world record,

the 2nd was out side a chippy, two guys got out of a van and approached me with a shot gun, telling me I was history, I sharted and tried to hide behind a bus stop pole, I pummeled them with chips,

never underestimate the power of chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

shane. wrote: »
    yep, little kids in rio pulled a gun on me! u never know how your gonna react til it happens, i grabbed him and starting screaming at him and he ran off, very stupid thing to do in all honesty

Here ?

Rio Guest House Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,320 ✭✭✭weiland79

Thinking about it I was 16 courting a sweet beautiful girl, I called to her abode, tipped on her bedroom window, we were talking for 20-30 mins, I was trying to get her to follow me to the promise land,

while she was happy to follow, her oul fella stepped out the back door with the shoot gun, bang, he said the first is a warning the second will be to your nuts,

needless to say (it was not recorded) but I bettered usain bolts world record,

the 2nd was out side a chippy, two guys got out of a van and approached me with a shot gun, telling me I was history, I sharted and tried to hide behind a bus stop pole, I pummeled them with chips,

never underestimate the power of chips.

Are you drunk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Yes. I got on the wrong side of a very drunken security guard. We had an argument over something he thought I had done. I got angry and turned to walk away- he cocked his gun, pointed it at the back of my head and threatened to shoot me if I moved. I got angrier so I turned around and threatened him (yes, I know, stupid). I was saved by the presidential guard who had been watching the entire unfortunate debacle unfold from some secret vantage point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭soap1978

i am the one who knocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

soap1978 wrote: »
    i am the one who knocks

Good man Walther.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Biggins wrote: »
    Yes.

Yawn.

weiland79 wrote: »
    Are you drunk?

No, why would you think i am, it is all true, ask the white knight.