Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Incidentally I see we've got Maurice Deegan, who reffed the Cork game, again for the final. James dropping a few comments into interviews about how we were not sufficiently protected from foul play in that game and hoping for an improved refereeing display in the final (without completely lambasting the guy and setting him against us) would be no harm at all I reckon.
    Fowler87 wrote: »
    There was so many bad incidents but another was when Freeman (off camera) was tripped by a Dublin back which led to another Dublin score. Afaik deegan is a solid ref in comparison to that clown mcquillan.

There was also Varley being repeatedly dragged off the ground when injured and Clarke being rugby tackled after he saved Brogan's shot to comsider as well. The last one was an obvious free out, but it wasn't given and Dublin scored seconds later to cut the gap to two. The free against Cafferkey in front of the posts for a 50/50 challenge where he was hurt himself was ridiculous as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Lads, we're well used to s%ite referee's, I'm sure James and the lads go out to play against 16 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Jimmy Macnulty

Any idea where the team will stay the Sunday night? Will it be the citywest I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Lads, we're well used to s%ite referee's, I'm sure James and the lads go out to play against 16 ;)

I honestly do not think Horan should or will say anything about the ref.

It should have nothing to do with the team perpetration and Horan will not be drawn on any comments about refs in the build up to this game, just like he was not drawn on the Mortimer issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

What was embarrassing was that Dublin still had 15 players left on the pitch, the Dubs truly lived up to there reputation. Lots of the cowardly thuggery was out of sight of the Ref (therefore not shown on TV or on Camera) but was clearly seen by the linesmen including 2 head butts to Alan Dillion in the space of two minutes, an assault on an injured player lying on the floor with a broken nose, a straight fist to AOS 's jaw etc etc....But then this crew does ref the Dublin A v B so it was already expected, it would be shameful of the GAA to allow them ref another game.

He does not ref the games and hasn't in over 2 years.

2 head butts on Dillon? Would you give it over. There was as much from both sides.

Mayo were the better team, took there chances and deserved to go through. The standard of reffing, not just on Sunday, has been awful but cowardly thuggery??:D

If you thought it was a staright fist to AOS's jaw it is obvious you are fabricating things.

As with every game recently there is as much gripe about the standard of reffing on both sides, you could pick 4 or 5 incidents involving Mayo players that Dublin fans would have issues with. Just the nature of the game and the poor ref's.

Take your deserved win and concentrate on the final. Play like the first 50 minutes and you have a chance.

Hope you win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Any idea where the team will stay the Sunday night? Will it be the citywest I wonder?

Believe it is going to Be The Regency, Donegal are in The Burlo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Review of yere clash on Sunday

http://www.livegaelic.com/news/review-of-all-ireland-semi-final-mayo-0-19-v-dublin-0-16/

We took a lot of fan pictures at the game which can be found here

http://www.facebook.com/LiveGaelic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Dose anyone no where the mayo team will be staying sunday nite of the all ireland....would it be citywest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Good article by Anthony Munnelly in the Irish Times today - Green and red army pray for an end to 61 years of hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Good article by Anthony Munnelly in the Irish Times today - Green and red army pray for an end to 61 years of hurt

This is a great line in it
    ' If you got thrown naked into the middle of a 10-acre field of 10ft-tall nettles and rolled over a few thousand times, you might get an idea of what it’s like to see Mayo get so close and remain so far away.'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

eastmayo wrote: »
    Dose anyone no where the mayo team will be staying sunday nite of the all ireland....would it be citywest?

I believe it's the Regency on the north side.

This is a great line in it
    ' If you got thrown naked into the middle of a 10-acre field of 10ft-tall nettles and rolled over a few thousand times, you might get an idea of what it’s like to see Mayo get so close and remain so far away.'

And also...
    David Brady’s pithy quote about being sent on as a sub in 2006, not to change the game but to look for survivors, neatly sums up just how bad those beatings were.

Brady was always good for the oul quote!

While I'm in the form for linking articles... here's Mort's interview with the Indo yesterday - I miss playing, I miss the lads, I miss the opportunity of winning an All-Ireland medal

Interesting interview but unless I've missed something he still didn't clearly explain why he left the team. Maybe he doesn't want to say it aloud and admit it to himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

While I'm in the form for linking articles... here's Mort's interview with the Indo yesterday - I miss playing, I miss the lads, I miss the opportunity of winning an All-Ireland medal

Interesting interview but unless I've missed something he still didn't clearly explain why he left the team. Maybe he doesn't want to say it aloud and admit it to himself
    Disappointing to see him stretch for the limelight the week it should be all about his former team mates. What a tool.

Just like the Connacht final. Can't see it having much effect on the team though, doubt many are worried about him at this stage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Why say yes to give an interview like that this week? F**k sake, sooner he is forgotten about the better. Mentioning Stephen O'Neill's comeback and then saying "It takes two to tango" - ffs. I played ball with Mort and always thought he was a douche. And that he is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Why say yes to give an interview like that this week? F**k sake, sooner he is forgotten about the better. Mentioning Stephen O'Neill's comeback and then saying "It takes two to tango" - ffs. I played ball with Mort and always thought he was a douche. And that he is
    Because he's an egomaniac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Believe it is the Regency hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

And why not? Get his side of things out n the open. Thought it was a decent interview, he came across well. Said nothing that could be seen as having a cut at his former team mates.

True, he comes across as being genuinely fond of Dillon at least. I wouldn't have him down as the vindictive type, just a bit daft to leave when he did. Nothing to say he wouldn't have filled in for Moran and kicked over a few on Sunday. Ah well, if my Auntie had balls and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

ok lets forget about mort and talk about the team.do ye see any changes for sunday i want 1 change in the back line.what do ye thnk??

naughto wrote: »
    ok lets forget about mort and talk about the team.do ye see any changes for sunday i want 1 change in the back line.what do ye thnk??

Well there seems to be conflicting reports in the media about Lee Keegan and Colm Boyle. According to the Indo Keegan's finger is still giving him trouble and won't start and the Connacht is saying that Colm Boyle is still suffering from the virus he had before the Dublin game. Could be a chance for Richie Feeney or Chris Barrett depending on what the real story is.

What do you reckon yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Half back is the line in which we are best able to cope with losses so no harm there (although majorly disappointed for whoever misses out).

Don't want any change myself tbh was very impressed with all forwards the last day and with respect Freeman did nothing to suggest he should be included ahead of one of them

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Half back is the line in which we are best able to cope with losses so no harm there (although majorly disappointed for whoever misses out).

Don't want any change myself tbh was very impressed with all forwards the last day and with respect Freeman did nothing to suggest he should be included ahead of one of them

Nah there's no point messing around with the line-up at this stage, the team that played against Dublin is good enough to do the business against Donegal, they just need to steel themselves a bit better. Doherty and O'Connor had the chances to bury Dublin, they need to be taken this time around while Conroy needs to be craftier in his shot selection. Midfield and backs are as solid as they can be at this stage bar the miraculous return of 'you know who' (not talking about Mort)

Well there seems to be conflicting reports in the media about Lee Keegan and Colm Boyle. According to the Indo Keegan's finger is still giving him trouble and won't start and the Connacht is saying that Colm Boyle is still suffering from the virus he had before the Dublin game. Could be a chance for Richie Feeney or Chris Barrett depending on what the real story is.

What do you reckon yourself?

i dont think richie feeney will start seeing that he took him off not long after he scored and did he not come on as a blood sub and kept him on in the 1st place.iam hearing boyle is over the virus but then u hear all sorts of crap the week up to the final.

i would make a change in the back line i have watch the mayo vrs dub game twice since and the amount of mistakes that a certain
    back made was shocking,i no every player can have a bad game but this was way past this.

i would make a change in the back line i have watch the mayo vrs dub game twice since and the amount of mistakes that a certain
    back made was shocking,i no every player can have a bad game but this was way past this.

Come on, don't hold back! Are you talking about KK by any chance?

ah no iam not kk have a nervous 10 mins and gave away a soft 13 yard free

i dont think richie feeney will start seeing that he took him off not long after he scored and did he not come on as a blood sub and kept him on in the 1st place.iam hearing boyle is over the virus but then u hear all sorts of crap the week up to the final.

Would said player be better utilized in a half forward role in future you reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

I'm guessing it's Donal Vaughan considering the gaps through the middle that Dublin exploited in the second half

I seriously think he'd make a better CF than CB. Unreal ball carrier and great pace and well able to pop up with a score or two when needed. He's very loose in defence at times and as you say tends to leave big gaps in the middle