Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Fear Rua - Forum Closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Welcome aboard,who were you on AFR?
    ashassin wrote: »
    Another AFR former poster reporting for duty.Will really miss the site big time as it had a great mix of sport and current affairs as well as the downright off the wall topics.Anyone remember the topic on limousin cattle from a few years back.Absolute comedy gold it was .Here is a link for those who missed it http://www.anfearrua.com/topic.aspx?id=436611

The biggest problem the site had was the owner himself.He had the best posters in the buisiness at the beginning but one by one they all left for pastures greener because of his ignorant and pigmannered attitude.Good posters got banned while the likes of peter robinson were allowed to post up every kind of anti irish claptrap without any repercussions.The opening up of accounts by the owner so he could clap himself on the back just beat all though and shows if evidence were needed what type of egomaniac we are dealing with.

All in all though when the site was good it was very good before the wummers ran riot.Hopefully this site can fill the void left by the closure of afr.I see a lot of the old heads have found refuge here already.If the wums can be controlled the gaa section here can be as good as what afr was like in the good days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ashassin

Same as i am now among others usernames.Got the red card a few times as well for very little.The last sidelining came during the whole donal og cusack fiasco where many a good poster walked the plank and never returned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

This has been a labour of love. In hard cash it has cost me more than €150,000 over the years. If I costed the time I’ve spent managing it – at even the average industrial wage – the total cost or investment would be the best part of €500,000. I have never made more than €10,000 a year on average in advertising revenue, despite trying the services of five or six ad selling agencies. It is simply not possible to make this site a paying proposition.
    Can someone explain how he could possibly have spent €150,000 on a website that has always looked like garbage? That's €12,500 each year. Maybe he spent money advertising in match programmes etc and web hosting but even still, don't know how he could invest that much money, especially when he obviously didn't spend it on the actual site itself.

I thought the same when reading it, I think he likes to exaggerate a small bit, crazy figures imo.

Can someone explain how he could possibly have spent €150,000 on a website that has always looked like garbage? That's €12,500 each year. Maybe he spent money advertising in match programmes etc and web hosting but even still, don't know how he could invest that much money, especially when he obviously didn't spend it on the actual site itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

I suppose someone had to pay Cormac, Halpin and Fallon's wages :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

guy was a fruitcake, how many aliases had he in the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,607 ✭✭✭wonga77

no way that kind of money could have been spent. simply not a chance. It takes a fair bit of personal time to run something like that, fair enough but there are far bigger and better sites that dont cost a fraction of that to run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭threeball

guy was a fruitcake, how many aliases had he in the end?

You'll be heartened to know that thats the kind of quality advisor our last two governments have had. Never had a run in with the man but his moderating policy was sketchy to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Faldo

Your man has been away with the fairys for a while now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 corkrback

I watched the site a lot but didn`t post. to be honest i thought it deteriorated badly in the last few years. a lot of the better posters left or were banned and you ended up with a load of lads talking rubbish and very few people who had any idea what was going on in the gaa

Unlike yoursel? You must know it all? Thanks for gracing us with your presence
    corkrback wrote: »
    I watched the site a lot but didn`t post. to be honest i thought it deteriorated badly in the last few years. a lot of the better posters left or were banned and you ended up with a load of lads talking rubbish and very few people who had any idea what was going on in the gaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

Unlike yoursel? You must know it all? Thanks for gracing us with your presence

He's not massively far off the mark though - some of the topics went off completely on tangents and stuff from other topics carried into the hurling topics, lads having rows etc. You had great posters as well such as carryharry, pegasus etc.

OUCH !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭glasagusban

It's true it went downhill very fast in the end. It always seemed unfair that genuine posters got banned and WUMs who p*ssed off decent posters were allowed run riot. It was definitely the moderation that killed it. I think Cahill seemed to take requests or suggestions very poorly and felt them as personal slights. It was probably unnecessary giving the huge outpouring of goodwill when he said he was ill. Still seems very sudden having just expended a lot of effort updating the site and making it mobile friendly a short time ago.

Anyway, many other AFR refugees on here? Are ye involved on other forums?

Signed up for TFK but its a bit of a mad house so probably wont post there
    It's true it went downhill very fast in the end. It always seemed unfair that genuine posters got banned and WUMs who p*ssed off decent posters were allowed run riot. It was definitely the moderation that killed it. I think Cahill seemed to take requests or suggestions very poorly and felt them as personal slights. It was probably unnecessary giving the huge outpouring of goodwill when he said he was ill. Still seems very sudden having just expended a lot of effort updating the site and making it mobile friendly a short time ago.

AFR homeless ( under a different username ) here,
    it all finished very suddenly - particularly as he had the site re-designed and updated to twitter/facebook links.
    Ever look into clarehurlersforum ?

Yep, I'm ex-AFR. Using my original username on here before it got banned 4 years ago. Will post here for all GAA matters from now on. Will miss the random stuff that used to appear from time to time. But be good to have a load of the good GAA posters from AFR on here, properly moderated so that none of the crap gets tolerated and we can have good honest discussion and a bit of craic as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I am assuming on the GAA forum, you have more non Dublin folk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Davin Stand

Just checking in. Browser here for the past couple of years, but have taken the plunge with the demise of AFR (there for about 5 years). Looking forward to good chat.

Who were you on AFR?
    Just checking in. Browser here for the past couple of years, but have taken the plunge with the demise of AFR (there for about 5 years). Looking forward to good chat.

It goes to show ya that I'd say an awful lot of lads on AFR had two or more user names..

Faldo wrote: »
    It goes to show ya that I'd say an awful lot of lads on AFR had two or more user names..

You've read the thread on the boys admiting as much over on TFK I see. The very lads who were the downfall of the old place. That dump should be wummed to death for the next 6 months. Its full of deadbeat internet hardmen. Where are all these legends of posters we heard off from AFR because from what I read on AFR and what I see over there none of them were up to much. A mutual appreciation society where they come up with gombeens like RR30 and spent their whole life on AFR anyway. Sad sad existence.

The amount of posts on both is unreal..I'm over there as well as here for now.its impossible to wum over there in fairness..

True, the entire site seems to be one big WUM.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Couple of points for some of the new users, do not think you can insult or make disparaging remarks about people or posters, this will lead to infractions/bans on here.

There aren't sub-forums for other counties/games because these would lead to a massive amount of new forums which would have a massive impact on the overall boards database.

If you want to discuss specific county related matters check out the regional forums also.

Clareman wrote: »
    Couple of points for some of the new users, do not think you can insult or make disparaging remarks about people or posters, this will lead to infractions/bans on here.

There aren't sub-forums for other counties/games because these would lead to a massive amount of new forums which would have a massive impact on the overall boards database.

If you want to discuss specific county related matters check out the regional forums also.

All fair enough but say in Clare alone, outside of the upcoming AI U21 Final with Kilkenny, the following is going on in GAA circles:
    County senior hurling QFs
    Football senior championship
    Intermediate hurling championship
    Junior hurling and football championships
    Minor hurling championship
    These all from what i saw had their own topics on AFR. Lump them all into one thread, will multiple posters and they become impossible to follow. Creating individual threads for them leavs you with another problem is so far as people who have no interest in those topics have to rawl through them to get to the topic they want. Its only a suggestion, but would it not have made more sense to have sub-forums within the GAA section for each county and appoint one or two trusted mods per county to control the content?
    I'm totally in favour of how you guys run this place, have no problem with it at all and love the idea that anyone who carris on any way out of order gets turfed out. Just making a suggestion as to how the GAA forum could be more enjoyable for everyone. There will be a lot of people looking to other boards and forums now that AFR has gone, myself included.

just pm'ed you there kstand

tatoo wrote: »
    just pm'ed you there kstand

sound thanks

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

kstand wrote: »
    All fair enough but say in Clare alone, outside of the upcoming AI U21 Final with Kilkenny, the following is going on in GAA circles:
    County senior hurling QFs
    Football senior championship
    Intermediate hurling championship
    Junior hurling and football championships
    Minor hurling championship
    These all from what i saw had their own topics on AFR. Lump them all into one thread, will multiple posters and they become impossible to follow. Creating individual threads for them leavs you with another problem is so far as people who have no interest in those topics have to rawl through them to get to the topic they want. Its only a suggestion, but would it not have made more sense to have sub-forums within the GAA section for each county and appoint one or two trusted mods per county to control the content?
    I'm totally in favour of how you guys run this place, have no problem with it at all and love the idea that anyone who carris on any way out of order gets turfed out. Just making a suggestion as to how the GAA forum could be more enjoyable for everyone. There will be a lot of people looking to other boards and forums now that AFR has gone, myself included.

There are currently 1559 forums on boards, by adding sub-forums you could multiply this very quickly I'd imagine, not only would you want a sub forum for each county and sport in the GAA but you'd have to have sub forums for the soccer and rugby forums as well.

By and large, if a game is on TV it normally has it's own thread, if someone wants to start a new thread on a particular competition, for example Clare Junior Hurling Championship, we'll normally leave it alone for a while but merge it with the overarching County thread afterwards, this means that the County Thread stays on the first page where most of the traffic is and doesn't get lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Like some others here I am a former AFR poster who had drifted away recently. I am sorry to see it go but it had become very stale. It was a pity that Liam seemed to lose interest and it can't have been easy when his health deteriorated as he announced recently.

I was always puzzled why he didn't immediately ban idiotic posters. Many of the topics were very unsubtle attempts to sabotage the site but it appears the trolls have won. Sad.