Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Ah right cool. How would the 1.6 rally differ to the 1.6 GTI? Is the rally just a different "edition"? to the GTI? Best of luck with it Milk. :)

The rally is a lighter version, with a pretty bare interior etc

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That ones 1.6, but they also did a 1.3

Ah right cool. How would the 1.6 rally differ to the 1.6 GTI? Is the rally just a different "edition"? to the GTI? Best of luck with it Milk. :)

The rallye is a stripped out version of the gti.
    Not as many toys, therefore lighter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

The rally is a lighter version, with a pretty bare interior etc
    mik_da_man wrote: »
    The rallye is a stripped out version of the gti.
    Not as many toys, therefore lighter.

Ah and that's where the "rallye" comes from. Cheers lads. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Im off tomorrow, what to do hmmz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Valid point. For some bizarre reason, thought the 740 was over €2,000 per year.

A 728i is pointless tax wise, as everything from 3001cc and up is the same (1680 EUR/year) if it's pre '07.

Engine wise, I'd definatly recommend the bigger engined 7's. Plenty of fun to be had there, too.

/M

Marlow wrote: »
    A 728i is pointless tax wise, as everything from 3001cc and up is the same (1680 EUR/year) if it's pre '07.

Engine wise, I'd definatly recommend the bigger engined 7's. Plenty of fun to be had there, too.

/M

Pretty much this, i took this into consideration when i was getting into the "Nutcase tax bracket" and was looking into Vauxhall Monaro's and 740i's (couldn't find a clean one)

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Pretty much this, i took this into consideration when i was getting into the "Nutcase tax bracket" and was looking into Vauxhall Monaro's and 740i's (couldn't find a clean one)

I have 2 cars in the nutcase bracket. My 740i was bought for peanuts. (Scally Rally requirement: the car has to be bought for under 100 GBP)

539591_10150957836413682_778413669_n.jpg

It cost me about 2k in stuff to fix initially though. Never a dime since.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,828 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

840i or nothing tbh

Not even an 850i?

Sorry i meant 840i

Sweet car though :)

Loved the 840i and 850i (impossible to get) since i was a wee nipper

As for the Monaro well becoming cheap in the UK :p (impossible to get them over here though and the VRT is lulz)

Marcusm wrote: »
    Not even an 850i?

I have only seen 1-2 for sale in Ireland lately and both rough as a badgers behind

As for the Monaro well becoming cheap in the UK :p (impossible to get them over here though and the VRT is lulz)

Look for a Holden Commodore SS instead. Same car, just in pickup form. Cheap tax, too. Commercial. A few around of them.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,828 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Look for a Holden Commodore SS instead. Same car, just in pickup form. Cheap tax, too. Commercial. A few around of them.

/M

You all laughed at me when I was considering a Vauxhall VXR8 (same as Holden Commodore Clubsport R8) about a year ago......

I couldn't drive a Yute with a straight face sorry :(

Marcusm wrote: »
    You all laughed at me when I was considering a Vauxhall VXR8 (same as Holden Commodore Clubsport R8) about a year ago......

I don't know, who you are referring to. It certainly wasn't me.

There is a regular at trackdays who brings his Holden Ute out and it's immense good craic. It's essentially a Opel Omega Pickup with a 5.7l V8 shoe-horned under the bonnet.

He started out looking for a Monaro, then realised the Commodore was essentially the same, but cheaper to import and tax. Both of best worlds, if you only need 2 seats. He's had it a few years now.

/M

/M

Are you sure its not a holden ute? thats the pickup version?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

saw an amazing merc (s class i think) driving through dublin earlier.

V12 on the side of it, looked massive, good good distance between the driver and the rear passengers.

had limo sticker in the windscreen similar to taxi.

beat of a car

07-G-something (only 4 digits long and had the numbers 1457 but in a different way)

think this is it - http://mywheels.ie/car-history-check/free-car-check-results/?VRN=07G1475

Not sure if they still have it, but there is an S500 with brabus bits normally parked on the gracepark road if you are delivering round that direction. 06-d something or other. "only" a V8, but it sounds amazing.

Looks more like a Skoda felicia pickup than an actual pickup :p

Ah don't talk to me about them, I fell out of the pick up part when I was a young whipper snapper. :o:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

What about picking up a Jag s-type or an XJ V8? wafty comfort, performance and cheap as chips.

Or go the whole hog and look for an XJR.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That BMW looks lovely, looks like next year, we will have enough money for the OH to get a nice car (I like mine just fine :) ) amazing what value you can get in cars if you are willing to put up with the tax

On the other hand, I've calculated the mpg for the gtv last weekend doing about 500 miles of mostly motorway driving, I appear to have averaged 34 mpg, am pleasantly surprised to be honest!

I've the bad habit of chucking in 20-30 at a time, so I'd to add it all up, divide by the per litre cost and then calculate it, am going to brim it this weekend and see how I go.

But I put in approx 60 litres for approx 475 miles when I was close to empty and that hits 34 mpg, given it was almost all motorway driving and I usually hit 28/29mpg in mixed I suppose it's not surprising

/waits for the naysayers :)

Maserati would be even better if serviing wasn't insane

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

What about picking up a Jag s-type or an XJ V8? wafty comfort, performance and cheap as chips.
    Referring to my last post the OH is in love with Jags

But I was in an XK (the saloon if I've gotten that right?) last weekend and thought it was very uncomfortable, now the driver was nuts, but I got out feeling I'd been in a bumper car.

It'd be an X or S type the OH would be in, not the XK

The Holden Commodore exists as saloon and pickup. The pickup is later on only referred to as Holden Ute, but the word "Ute" is actually Oz for pickup or short for utility. Yet, early Holden Utes were officially called "Holden Commodore Utility".

/M

The Holden Commodore exists as saloon and pickup. The pickup is later on only referred to as Holden Ute, but the word "Ute" is actually Oz for pickup or short for utility. Yet, early Holden Utes were officially called "Holden Commodore Utility".

/M

Oh I stand corrected, thanks for clearing that up. :) I googled Commodore ss and no pick up apeared, they only appeared for the Holden Ute. So thats where I got confused. :) You know your stuff, fair play Marlow.

Oh I stand corrected, thanks for clearing that up. :) I googled Commodore ss and no pick up apeared, they only appeared for the Holden Ute. So thats where I got confused. :)

I guess they changed it later on to make a more clear difference between the pickup and the saloon. Change is about '00.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Not sure if they still have it, but there is an S500 with brabus bits normally parked on the gracepark road if you are delivering round that direction. 06-d something or other. "only" a V8, but it sounds amazing.

i do actually know that one, and the house its always parked in.

looks very built, like the body builder of cars and it over took me once, sound is out of this world, really fascinating

have delivered to the house of the owner with it in the garden but have being too afraid to ask or talk to them about it cos their just soo cool. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

/M

I'd call a €389 difference a fair whack.
    Maserati would be even better if serviing wasn't insane

If I hadn't just bought a house, this would be in my drive right now.

3796058-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

Found out today that my internship, which ends on Friday, is being made permanent from Monday.

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    Found out today that my internship, which ends on Friday, is being made permanent from Monday.

Awesome, im on one of these too and it's ending in January i really like the job and i hope they keep me on.

Well done :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Man flu beaten! Now everyone else has it :pac: