Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory McIlroy is declaring for Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Best of luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,890 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

freddiek wrote: »
    last time i cheer for this little rodent. Spat in the face of the irish people

Lol

you-mad-bro.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Seaneh wrote: »
    The female cycling team is far bigger than the 3 member team persuit team.

Are you wilfully misrepresenting the facts or are you actually that obsessed with the british flag that you can't see around it?

No, it's your obsession with her finding it easier to get a place on the most successful women's team in the velodrome that you seem to be blinded by. What event would she walk into the british team at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Ordinarily I don't have a problem with people declaring themselves British or Irish or whatever. I'm not exactly in favour of many Republican attitudes and I can accept that NI should stay within the UK as long the most people there want it and there are no social or economic consequences for being 'Catholic'.

I have a nephew who is a very good footballer born in London to a half Irish, half English Father and an Irish Mother but who has lived here most of his life. He has played for Ireland at junior level but could be picked for England at some point and I for one wouldn't have a problem with that.

But for some reason the McIlroy thing bothers me. I can't help feeling he's making a mistake. At the end of the day he's Irish, even Ian Paisley acknowledged that at one point. But McIlroy apparently can't even bring himself to acknowledge that.

Well he can if he wants to. Perhaps he'll carry the British flag at the Rio opening ceremony. No doubt if he wins a medal his heart will fill with pride when the the Union flag is raised and 'God Save the Queen' is played.

I'll have a sour taste though. So will a lot of others.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

summerskin wrote: »
    No, it's your obsession with her finding it easier to get a place on the most successful women's team in the velodrome that you seem to be blinded by. What even would she walk into the british team at?

Between the road and track team there are 7 memebrs.

Of those 7 members, he has beaten all of them in competition in the last 4 years.

Now, pipe down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,572 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

He also declared he takes two pair of pants on course
    Just in case he gets a hole in one
    Who cares
    He's a dork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,227 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Don't see the big deal. It gives other Irish golfers a chance to shine in Rio.. and besides it's a long way off. McIlroy could be well off the boil by then.

Of those 7 members, he has beaten all of them in competition in the last 4 years.

Now, pipe down.

When? Doesn't seem to be any record of her beating any of them. If I'm wrong, I'm prepared to apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Leslie91 wrote: »
    I know Rio is miles away but can't help to be a bit disappointed by what Rory had to say ie. that he identifies more with Britain than Ireland.
    Some people have rightly mentioned that golf in Ireland is seen as all Ireland, the GUI runs the game North and South. Rory would have played all the GUI run top Amateur events, played for Ireland in the home internationals etc
    Like golf rugby is all Ireland. Imagine if rugby became an Olympic Sport... Could you see Stephen Ferris and Rory Best declaring for a 'Great Britain' team instead of Ireland. I don't think I can. And Rory is an Ulster and Ireland fan too....
    I would have thought that whatever he considers himself ie. Irish (as in Northern Irish) or British he'd at least look at it like that and declare for Ireland.
    If true.. that he will play for Britain count me among those who are disappointed.

But the island of Ireland doesn't compete at the Olympics.

It's like saying golf is an all island sport, so Padraig Harrington should play for team GB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Hang on: "checks pockets"

Nope, can't find a single ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭freddiek

Hes always been a little creep. Never trusted him on this issue. and its not a surprise

whatever the official line is, i m sure his father is privately disappointed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

summerskin wrote: »
    When? Doesn't seem to be any record of her beating any of them. If I'm wrong, I'm prepared to apologise.

Jaysus lads, give it a rest.

Hes always been a little creep. Never trusted him on this issue. and its not a surprise

Why is it so hard to accept that he sees himself as british, he has a british passport?

Not everyone in the world wants to be irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

bluecode wrote: »
    Ordinarily I don't have a problem with people declaring themselves British or Irish or whatever. I'm not exactly in favour of many Republican attitudes and I can accept that NI should stay within the UK as long the most people there want it and there are no social or economic consequences for being 'Catholic'. I have a nephew who is a very good footballer born in London to a half Irish, half English Father and an Irish Mother but who has lived here most of his life. He has played for Ireland at junior level but could be picked for England at some point and I for one wouldn't have a problem with that.
    But for some reason the McIlroy thing bothers me. I can't help feeling he's making a mistake. At the end of the day he's Irish, even Ian Paisley acknowledged that at one point. But McIlroy apparently can't even bring himself to acknowledge that. Well he can if he wants to. Perhaps he'll carry the British flag at the Rio opening ceremony. No doubt if he wins a medal his heart will fill with pride when the the Union flag is raised and 'God Save the Queen' is played. I'll have a sour taste though. So will a lot of others.

Being Irish to some people is no different to being Welsh, Scottish or English. You can also be British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

last time i cheer for this little rodent
    Mightn't agree with you, but that comment still made me laugh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

At the end of the day he's Irish

Well, Northern Irish.
    Perhaps he'll carry the British flag at the Rio opening ceremony. No doubt if he wins a medal his heart will fill with pride when the the Union flag is raised and 'God Save the Queen' is played.

I'll have a sour taste though.

Why the bitterness?

Just as McClean and Darron Gibson are entitled to declare for ROI, McIlroy can choose as he so wishes. If it does not impinge on you, it baffles me how you'd find yourself so put out.

qwert2 wrote: »
    Either way he's still a very very boring man
    Compared to Harrington he's the most exciting man in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I'm outraged. I will be writing a strongly worded email to someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

The chap wants to declare for Team GB & NI, more luck to him!

I'm outraged. I will be writing a strongly worded email to someone.
    His email is rory.mcilroy@golf.co.uk

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Well, Northern Irish.

Why the bitterness?

Just as McClean and Darron Gibson are entitled to declare for ROI, McIlroy can choose as he so wishes. If it does not impinge on you, it baffles me how you'd find yourself so put out.

Although I see your point, I don't think this is a very good example. I think it was McClean himself that said the NI football team isn't a very welcoming environment for catholic players. The fans of the team identify themselves more as British, they fly Union Jacks, sing God Save The Queen etc. etc. He sort of implied that as a catholic football player in NI you really only had one choice of team to represent.
    Of course I can't speak from experience on that but if you look at the treatment Neil Lennon got for playing for Celtic and NI, well it seems to be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

as long as this the Irish media will end their obsession with him on each sports bulletin I don't mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Of course, if he had said he would declare for Ireland, you would be saying "he's always been sound". I'm sure we are all very sympathetic that McIlroy has violated your 'trust' with regard to his own sense of identity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭Maggie 2

Well it's either he play for Northern Ireland individually or play as part of team GB. What else would you expect him to do?

He can hardly play for the Republic.
    For the Olympics it's either Team GB or Team Ireland and all Northern Ireland athletes can decide for themselves which team they want to be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Sad to see but will still wish any local lads well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Although I see your point, I don't think this is a very good example. I think it was McClean himself that said the NI football team isn't a very welcoming environment for catholic players. The fans of the team identify themselves more as British, they fly Union Jacks, sing God Save The Queen etc. etc. He sort of implied that as a catholic football player in NI you really only had one choice of team to represent.
    Of course I can't speak from experience on that but if you look at the treatment Neil Lennon got for playing for Celtic and NI, well it seems to be the case.

Motivation is a different argument imo.

Now, pipe down.

Still unable to back that statement up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

What difference does it make which country he plays for?
    For goodness sake, he's an excellent golfer.
    When did the beauty of the Olympics stop being about human performance and start being about flags and nationalist score tallies.

I mean I know it has always had that incidental undertone to it, but that is not the message that the Olympics is designed to convey, as far as I can see.

Whatever happened to enjoying great sportsmen and women do what they do best, regardless of their nationality? Why care about what flags are raised when the events are over:confused:

I'm not a golf fan, but I wish him good luck, regardless of what delegation he joins. Typical Daily Mail serving up bile.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Motivation is a different argument imo.

Well yes, of you were born in NI you are legally entitled to declare as Irish or British. My point is though, that not all sports make it as simple as picking one. There are other factors to take into account.
    Footballers don't seem to have as much choice as other sports. In golf though it is a simple choice of which nation you identify with, and if that's GB then off you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Biggins wrote: »
    Get your popcorn and sit back! ;)

How you doing over there Biggins? Enjoying the show?

I have to admit, what with the twists and turns it's like cycling through a sand trap!!