Ruair Quinn and his ahem advisors

• 03-09-2012 10:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,837 ✭✭✭

Anyone watching on rte1. The 2 young lads are embarassing and smug.

I feel like I'm watching an episode of "The Office".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Nice to see they were all having a laugh and drinking wine at the time they cut hundreds of DEIS posts.
    Not sure the parents of those poor kids would be able to find such announcements as relaxing and fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

No, watching Dallas on TV3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,837 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

It is laughable. The office indeed! Two boys are political advisors. They wouldnt know their right shoe from their left. We are paying the salaries of these twits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

All young people who are involved in politics are invariably embarrassing and smug.

I think it comes from a sense that by licking the arse of some fat, old politician, that - by association - you are somehow more worthy than everybody else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

It is laughable. The office indeed! Two boys are political advisors. They wouldnt know their right shoe from their left. We are paying the salaries of these twits.

How are they related to the bould Ruairi? Nephews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Tails142

seven schools west of dingle.. scoff scoff scoff

I hope those two young lads get the boot tomorrow morning!

Like someone else said it was as if i was watching the US office, you couldn't write better satire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

All young people who are involved in politics are invariably embarrassing and smug.

That's not true.

What about.........................

............... nevermind. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I think it comes from a sense that by licking the arse of some fat, old politician, that - by association - you are somehow more worthy than everybody else.
    And from joining Young Fine Gael/Labour/Gimpy gimp. Cults full of brainwashing smug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

They're letting the cat out of the bag.

Beardy wants to be a male model, whilst the other dude is just......unimpressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Big point that came up so far was that he cant make any changes to 80% of the education budget, as that much goes towards teachers pay. Far too high a figure. Whats the english equivalent?

The meeting where he was talking to the union and they were asked what 4 changes could they suggest and they just sat there saying nothing summed it all up. They dont give a sh*te about any sort of improvements, they just want as many teachers as possible, getting paid as much as possible, so the fatheads in the union can continue their cushy existence.

The teachers conferences and protests at same are like a bunch of babies squabbling in a playpen

It comes across as a bloody depressing place to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

i am absolutely stunned watching this.
    im stunned.
    we need to get these leeches exposed and stripped of their power and pensions.
    if any of us were as useless at our jobs we would be sacked with loss of all benefits.

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    im stunned.
    if any of us were as useless at our jobs we would be sacked with loss of all benefits.

Are you stunned?
    I take it you are talking about teachers, and their unions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Be nice to know what sort of a retainer they are getting. As with most consultants, pay does not relate to efficency, competency or intelligence or even results, it's just a gas number that is known as "sure thats the going rate". General rule with consultants is that you hire someone who knows nothing about your business to come in and look around vacantly, then pen an expensive report advising you to spend a shedload of money on shyte that bears no relationship with reality. Can't see political advisers being much different. What's the point of electing someone if they can't think for themselves but need "advisers" to tell them what to say and do? Might as well just elect the advisers so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭emo72

missed it. what was it called, will try to catch it on rteplayer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

emo72 wrote: »
    missed it. what was it called, will try to catch it on rteplayer.
    National Lampoon's Dept of Education.

Pottler wrote: »
    Be nice to know what sort of a retainer they are getting. As with most consultants, pay does not relate to efficency, competency or intelligence or even results, it's just a gas number that is known as "sure thats the going rate". General rule with consultants is that you hire someone who knows nothing about your business to come in and look around vacantly, then pen an expensive report advising you to spend a shedload of money on shyte that bears no relationship with reality. Can't see political advisers being much different. What's the point of electing someone if they can't think for themselves but need "advisers" to tell them what to say and do? Might as well just elect the advisers so.

Phil hogan was a former political adviser. So that doesn't work either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

National Lampoon's Dept of Education.

Did Quinn Dance with a sandwich?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

And from joining Young Fine Gael/Labour/Gimpy gimp. Cults full of brainwashing smug

As a former member of Labour Youth I hereby quote the above for truth. Put it this way, I joined when I was 19 and left when I was 19. Those youth political gatherings are literally political brainwashing camps.

I went to a National Labour Youth conference once and it's comparable to North Koreans praising their glorious leader. We sang the Internationale openly and the Soviet National Anthem on the sly. We talked about achieving a glorious revolution and how to topple capitalism and Zionism. This was all to feed our impressionable young minds, to make us feel like being part of something bigger.

One of the reasons why armies recruit soldiers when their young, say between 17 and 20, is because they're more vulnerable, easily influenced and their concept of death isn't as solid. All their ideas about heroism and glory are still with them and are, for the most part, uncorrupted by the realities of adulthood.

Similarly, political movements target young people who are desperate to fit in and be part of something they believe is bigger than themselves. Quite often the people who join these youth movements previously felt feelings of inadequacy and/or social isolation. In reality, their vulnerability is used as a tool to mold them into foot soldiers for the party, to forward the party's agenda.

The smugness and righteousness of these people often comes from the brainwashing that makes them perceive their "cause" as being paramount to everyone else's and that anyone who is not involved and/or rejects their "cause" is inferior. Ironically, they are often led to believe that they are the only possessors of the "truth" and that everyone else is brainwashed. In short, the fulfillment that results from being part of something one might perceive as being greater than oneself can often lead to a superiority complex.

These "advisors" to Ruairi Quinn are good examples of the by-produces of this political indoctrination process. In a way, it's similar to religious indoctrination. All obedience to the party or else shame and rejection amongst your fellow peer. You become a self-righteous self-entitled being who's fate, you believe, is to forward the cause of the party by whatever means necessary and to achieve the ultimate goal of saving mankind from suffering and damnation. Don't think, just do. Follow the leader who'll pave out the way to glory.

This is why the Nazis (Godwin's law) set up the Hitler Youth, to politically indoctrinate the youth of Germany and to solidify their ideological and moral grip on future generations. Similarly today, political youth movements are there to increase the likelihood of survival of the main parties they are affiliated with in the future, e.g, LY with the Labour Party, YFG with Fine Gael, etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I turned it off just after "Dingle haw haw haw" and just before I puked.
    These people and their attitudes really show the divide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Nice to see they were all having a laugh and drinking wine at the time they cut hundreds of DEIS posts.
    Not sure the parents of those poor kids would be able to find such announcements as relaxing and fun.

Ah FFS, what a ridiculous post. They were having a few cheap bottles of wine and some biccies before Christmas, like hundreds of thousands of other Irish workers, myself included. It wasn't an indication that they found such cutbacks relaxing or fun, as could be seen from the fact that the cutback were partially reversed. The idea that politicians or their afvisers shouldn't have a few Christmas drinks is nonsense.
    hawkwind23 wrote: »
    im stunned.

Could you point out how exactly you think they are failing at their jobs? I watched the show myself, and while I wasn't overly impressed, I wasn't struck by any particular incompetence.
    mishkalucy wrote: »
    I turned it off just after "Dingle haw haw haw" and just before I puked.
    These people and their attitudes really show the divide.

He had a point. The fact that there are seven schools on the Dingle peninsula is ludicrous and an example of gross ineffiecencies in government spending in Ireland. Try pointing that out however, and you're against rural communities, or hate farmers, or whatever idiotic statement that can be flung by people who are determined to ignore the fact that serious reforms and cutbacks need to be made, not just in education, bit right across the board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Extinction

Have you ever actually looked at a map and compared the area of The Dingle peninsula to Dublin county?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,837 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Ah in fairness the 2 boys were clueless. The young fella couldnt wipe his own nose. When he was interviewed and political advisor came up at the bottom of the screen I could only laugh. How Ruair could learn anything off him is beyond me.
    The other lad with a bit of a beard was no better. He was delighted when his essay was approved by another advisor. I can only presume they are Labour party workers who have been a plum job as thanks for putting up the posters.
    The older guy John Walsh has some credibilty and I could see why you would employ him as he is the former Education editor with the Indo. At least he knows what he is talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I was a bit shocked at the younger of the 2 advisors, he came across like he didn't know his arse from his elbow. Ruari Quinn has been in politics a long time and it seems a bit strange that he has this guy that looks about 12 'advising' him. He made some ill judged comments during the documentary and didn't seem to have any sense of how he or his comments would be perceived by people watching him. if I were Ruairi Quinn I'd be annoyed that he didn't use more self awareness, cop on and discretion.

Had the 2 advisors any special experience with education policy? It didn't seem like they did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Einhard wrote: »
    Ah FFS, what a ridiculous post. They were having a few cheap bottles of wine and some biccies before Christmas, like hundreds of thousands of other Irish workers, myself included. It wasn't an indication that they found such cutbacks relaxing or fun, as could be seen from the fact that the cutback were partially reversed. The idea that politicians or their afvisers shouldn't have a few Christmas drinks is nonsense.

Could you point out how exactly you think they are failing at their jobs? I watched the show myself, and while I wasn't overly impressed, I wasn't struck by any particular incompetence.

He had a point. The fact that there are seven schools on the Dingle peninsula is ludicrous and an example of gross ineffiecencies in government spending in Ireland. Try pointing that out however, and you're against rural communities, or hate farmers, or whatever idiotic statement that can be flung by people who are determined to ignore the fact that serious reforms and cutbacks need to be made, not just in education, bit right across the board.

You have missed my point. Did you watch the programme?
    I watched some of it and what galled me was the attitude of the people shown in the programme.
    From Ruari and his pre-interview rehearsal with his very well paid PR just so that he wouldn't be caught out fecking up live on air.
    To yer man "Dingle".
    It was HOW they spoke about people to whom they serve as "Public Servants".
    It really was a case of "I wish these people would go away and stop bothering us"

Ah in fairness the 2 boys were clueless. The young fella couldnt wipe his own nose. When he was interviewed and political advisor came up at the bottom of the screen I could only laugh. How Ruair could learn anything off him is beyond me.

They're hardly "young fellas". One of them (as far as I know) is over 30 and the other is in his mid to late 20s.

For those who didn't witness the disaster, here's a preview:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

For those who didn't witness the disaster, here's a preview:

Wow, personality overload. Somebody hire those guys for the Late Late Show!