Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,370 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Rumor has it Rogers emailed this to Joe Cole, Heard Joe likes penguins , yea that's why

please%2Bleave%2B_34a1c599f0c8da34e1241ebf695633de.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Oscorp

hefferboi wrote: »
    He meant sell carroll to West Ham or Newcastle and the price of walcott will be in or around the same as swapping them.

Ah :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Oscorp wrote: »
    hefferboi wrote: »
    He meant sell carroll to West Ham or Newcastle and the price of walcott will be in or around the same as swapping them.

Ah :o
    But big Andy is our RVP :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

opr wrote: »
    Times saying Newcastle want to take Carroll on loan for the coming season, with a guaranteed £15M permanent deal next season. What's the difference if you are going to pay the money anyway, just pay it now?

Opr

Big difference no? Pay now = -£15 million cash. Pay later = -£15 million cash

Difference is the £980,000 odd interest Ashley earns on that £15 million sitting in his own bank for a year versus paying now. so he loses a million odd paying now. And the loan wages make no difference as whether he buys or loans the wages are being paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Max I would pay for Walcott is £11m with wages no more than £50k-£60k a week, we'd be mental to give him £100k p/w. Not that I particularly want him regardless

I like Walcott, but once his pace begins to desert him, through age or injuries ala Michael Owen, he will be largely useless. He has been playing regular first-team football since the age of 16. I'd be wary of him burning out in a few seasons.

To be fair to Joe Cole as well, his wages look extortionate now given form/impact, but if we cast our minds back to when he signed, the scenario was pretty fair on paper. Signing on fee and £90k a week for a 28 year old free agent with a likely market value at the time of £12-£15m (after all Spurs, Arsenal and United all wanted him, indicating his value was still strong - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1295951/Joe-Cole-signs-Liverpool-Chelsea-ace-snubs-Arsenal-Tottenham.html).

So at the time Liverpool were signing a player with a strong value. If things went well, he'd have been an absolute steal retrospectively. As it has turned out he's been a collossal drain on resources and fairly useless on the field. Considering Lille paid 33% of his wages for a season, he has only really cost Liverpool around the £8 million mark. Which , given is limited impact, is fairly awful. Mind you a lot of players from every club have cost their clubs far higher than £8 million for just as little impact. Jamie Carragher is sitting on a £4 million a year deal right now and his impact in the last 2 seasons hasn't been a lot better.

Bottom line, Cole out is the best scenario to happen here clearly. And i would be suspicious of his motivations....he has repeatedly said it's not about the money but couldn't thrash out a deal to stay at Lille so it doesn't augur too well. Would anyone be in favour of a £5 million settlement to tear up his contract if it looks like he won't go? Save a good few million in long run.

Did Lille try to bring Cole back to France on a permanent deal?

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Oscorp wrote: »
    Did Lille try to bring Cole back to France on a permanent deal?

Nope. Lille aren't stupid.

-Ade- wrote: »
    Nope. Lille aren't stupid.

ha :) ahhh Joey hawked around a few of the papers saying he was willing to take a pay cut to make the move permanent but i think proof is in the pudding. Lille would clearly have gone as far as £30k a week so if he was that depserate to stay in France he could have made it happen. He was a relative success in Lille.

What can't be allowed to happen is a Winston Bogarde dilemma. Turfed into the reserves or youth team training and see out his contract. Disaster on all sides.

Serious question here - i've always thought Joe Cole was a likeable enough chap and always struck me like he loved playing football.......so to what extent is his fame-hungry WAG Carly at fault here?! can imagine it over dinner - "yeah babe i'm going back to play for West Ham for £60 grand a week less" ....flying kitchen knife later stays at Liverpool!

In better news, Gold & Sullivan are notorious for this type of thing to appease fans and they can still shift some more season tickets with the return of the messiah Cole to Upton Park so i can see this one coming off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

ha :) ahhh Joey hawked around a few of the papers saying he was willing to take a pay cut to make the move permanent but i think proof is in the pudding. Lille would clearly have gone as far as £30k a week so if he was that depserate to stay in France he could have made it happen. He was a relative success in Lille.

What can't be allowed to happen is a Winston Bogarde dilemma. Turfed into the reserves or youth team training and see out his contract. Disaster on all sides.

Serious question here - i've always thought Joe Cole was a likeable enough chap and always struck me like he loved playing football.......so to what extent is his fame-hungry WAG Carly at fault here?! can imagine it over dinner - "yeah babe i'm going back to play for West Ham for £60 grand a week less" ....flying kitchen knife later stays at Liverpool!

In better news, Gold & Sullivan are notorious for this type of thing to appease fans and they can still shift some more season tickets with the return of the messiah Cole to Upton Park so i can see this one coming off.

Wtf is this nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

35rons.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

SSN running with Charlie Adam going to stoke! Decent bit of business if we offload him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

I think we should keep one of either spearing or Adam, if we get injuries to 2 midfielders through the season we'll be relying on one of the young lads for cover which may be grand but may not be ideal either if we are in the mix after Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Hoki wrote: »
    I think we should keep one of either spearing or Adam, if we get injuries to 2 midfielders through the season we'll be relying on one of the young lads for cover which may be grand but may not be ideal either if we are in the mix after Xmas.
    exactly, one of the young lads with zero experience vs jay or Charlie and their selling fees. ill take one of the young lads any day. i like Charlie but his move to pool hasn't worked out. as for jay hes had plenty of game time but isn't good enough for us and can't see him improving in the near future. take the cash for them, get dempsey. reckon its worth the risk to get rid of them now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Hoki wrote: »

I kinda agree with you, any prolonged season in one or two cups and we might get light. Having said that, if these boys have to leave in order to get Dempsey in im fine with it. I really have no confidence in this team to get regular goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭doc_17

Spearing is of no use, not even as cover. He has no presence in our midfield, doesn't really want the ball and can't really tackle all that well.

If Bolton are giving a few quid then take it. He's been there long enough now and simply isn't good enough. Move him on and move a young lad up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

daithijjj wrote: »
    I kinda agree with you, any prolonged season in one or two cups and we might get light. Having said that, if these boys have to leave in order to get Dempsey in im fine with it. I really have no confidence in this team to get regular goals.

How would you feel about Carroll going and spending the money in Walcott ?

Just interested .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Leiva wrote: »

Just interested .

I don't think that's the worst scenario, certainly think the incoming would bring more to the team than the outgoing. But we could probably get better on the continent for that sort of package - that's £40M over 5 years.

Leiva wrote: »

Just interested .

I dont see any point. We need goals if we are going to win games. If we sell Carroll we need another striker and a damn good one, not that Carroll was good, but its what we need.

If Rodgers wants Walcott that much, then the club could release more funds after we hopefully could get rid of Cole this window. Walcott could have his wages but i think Theo has advisers in his ear imho. He is being offered 75k at Arsenal, for me he isnt worth that.

Walcott has terrible stats in terms of crossing the ball and providing chances, i believe he was one of the worst last year but i cant find the article, he was at 14% success anyway.

Also, this made laugh a bit.

Being Theo Walcott

This morning Theo Walcott lazily poured his Rice Crispies over his bowl, getting almost some of them in, and then getting a good fifty per cent of the milk in as well. He could have done a little better had he concentrated, but he was never really willing to do much properly, the main thing was that he got it done fast. Admiring the quality of his work, he tweeted the results. He ignored the people pointing out that he’d made a real mess of the whole thing. ‘Trolls.’ he retorted. The day was good, and after perusing the sports betting sites, he made a few hasty and terrible decisions on who to back, but the main thing was he got it done fast.

After driving to training, pranging his car a few times against the dual carriageway divider, but making it there in record time, he carelessly stuffed the rejection of the latest contract offer into Arsene’s In Tray. There were a few typos in there, but he got the gist. He’d do spellcheck next time, if he could be bothered to ask someone how to do it. It didn’t look likely.

Looking at his new tattoo, he decided he might as well try to do one himself. Getting a hot needle and splitting open a marker pen, he wrote THEO WALCO on his wrist before he ran out of space.

After a quick and eventful - three speeding tickets - ride home, he ate some lunch (half-cooked pasta) and indulged in some positive visualisation ahead of the game on Saturday. ‘Theo Walcott sprints past the full back, he’s got yards of space, the game could be decided here, he just needs to pull the ball back to Tevez and… goal kick.’

Perfect, he thought. I am ready for the big time. I am it.

:O!
    Liverpool want to sign Athletic Bilbao striker Fernando Llorente, 27, if they can sell Carroll before Friday's transfer deadline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Steven81

Stoke City have made a £5m bid for Liverpool midfielder Charlie Adam.

Manager Tony Pulis is hopeful a deal can be completed in the next 48 hours after the Scot was made available for transfer by Brendan Rodgers.

Adam, 26, had been keen to stay at Anfield to fight for his place but the Reds want to raise funds to bid for Fulham forward Clint Dempsey.

Charlie Adam factfile
    •Born: 10 December 1985
    •Makes 86 appearances for first club Rangers
    •Has loan spells at Ross County and St Mirren
    •Helps Blackpool win promotion to the Premier League in 2010
    •Joins Liverpool in a £9m move in July 2011
    •Has won 16 Scotland caps

Jay Spearing is also expected to leave, albeit on loan, with Wolves and Bolton interested in the midfielder.

Adam has only made 37 appearances for the Reds, scoring two goals, since making a £9m move from Blackpool in July 2011.

And it appears he does not feature in the future plans of ex-Swansea boss Rodgers, who replaced Kenny Dalglish at the end of last season.

Rodgers admitted he made a summer enquiry for Dempsey as he looks to reshape his squad and the unsettled United States international has not featured in either of Fulham's opening two Premier League games.

Dempsey, who scored 23 goals for the Cottagers last season, told Fulham boss Martin Jol that he no longer wanted to play for the west London club.

Speaking at a media conference on Wednesday before Liverpool's Europa League tie against Hearts, Rodgers was unwilling to comment on the futures of Adam and youth team graduate Spearing.

"We have had a number of enquiries about some of our players," said the Northern Irishman.

"I have been open and up front with all the players. You can see from Sunday's game [against Manchester City] our spirit is very strong in the group, but the reality is players want to play.

"Everyone knows where they stand at this moment. One or two of them may have decisions to make as to whether they want to be a squad player or play regularly somewhere else."

Stoke manager Pulis admitted, after his team's 0-0 draw against Arsenal, he wanted to freshen up his squad before the end of the transfer window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Steven81

Martin O’Neill is reportedly interested in registering a late bid to land Liverpool winger Stewart Downing. The Sunderland boss is said to be keen to continue his summer spending having brought in Adam Johnson and Steven Fletcher to boost his Black Cats attack.

The Stadium of Light boss is keen to bring in the Anfield wide-man as he looks to further improve his squad and may well be looking to play the 28 year old on the left hand side of his attack with Downing’s former Middlesbrough team-mate Johnson on the right.

O’Neill is a known admirer of Downing having brought the wide-man to Villa Park in the summer of 2009 and the Northern Irishman has been promised further transfer funds to make a significant offer for the England international.

Downing didn’t enjoy the best of debut seasons at Liverpool and was dropped by Brendan Rodgers in favour of talented teenager Raheem Sterling for the Premier League clash with Man City last weekend. Indeed the Anfield boss has publicly stated that the £20m signing could be better served playing at left-back, rather than his preferred left wing role.

This has led to speculation about where Stewart Downing figures in the plans of the new Liverpool boss and a move back to the North-East may tempt the Liverpool man, especially if he feels that his future on Merseyside is unclear.

A move to reunite with O’Neill could help re-ignite Downing’s career and a decent offer may well be considered by Liverpool, indeed Brendan Rodgers may feel he could bring in a further addition this summer with the help of funds from his sale.

Steven81 wrote: »
    Martin O’Neill is reportedly interested in registering a late bid to land Liverpool winger Stewart Downing. The Sunderland boss is said to be keen to continue his summer spending having brought in Adam Johnson and Steven Fletcher to boost his Black Cats attack.

The Stadium of Light boss is keen to bring in the Anfield wide-man as he looks to further improve his squad and may well be looking to play the 28 year old on the left hand side of his attack with Downing’s former Middlesbrough team-mate Johnson on the right.

O’Neill is a known admirer of Downing having brought the wide-man to Villa Park in the summer of 2009 and the Northern Irishman has been promised further transfer funds to make a significant offer for the England international.

Downing didn’t enjoy the best of debut seasons at Liverpool and was dropped by Brendan Rodgers in favour of talented teenager Raheem Sterling for the Premier League clash with Man City last weekend. Indeed the Anfield boss has publicly stated that the £20m signing could be better served playing at left-back, rather than his preferred left wing role.

This has led to speculation about where Stewart Downing figures in the plans of the new Liverpool boss and a move back to the North-East may tempt the Liverpool man, especially if he feels that his future on Merseyside is unclear.

A move to reunite with O’Neill could help re-ignite Downing’s career and a decent offer may well be considered by Liverpool, indeed Brendan Rodgers may feel he could bring in a further addition this summer with the help of funds from his sale.

If this is true, we've done alot to thin the putrid herd at Anfield

Downing is one i don't see leaving unless the offer is too good to be true. Him, Enrique, Coates and Henderson are all safe from last year's purchases. Doni, Adam and Carroll not.

That just reminded me, Wenger wanted Downing when we signed him but was put off by the price. I dont think it will happen but if Walcott forces Arsenal's hand maybe a swap deal could happen.

After season, you think he'd still want him?
    And with the stick he's already getting for RVP and Song, he's not going to get many fans for signing a Pool reject...

Dickerty wrote: »
    After season, you think he'd still want him?
    And with the stick he's already getting for RVP and Song, he's not going to get many fans for signing a Pool reject...

Downing didnt have a great season but he is given far too much stick. He has averaged 3-4 goals a season his entire career, he wasnt bought to do that. What he was bought for he actually did ok, making chances. He was just behind Suarez for us in the stats and well ahead of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,846 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Ben Smith:

@BenSmithBBC: #CFC have spent most (£673m - gross) in PL since Jan 03. #MCFC i2nd (£572m), #LFC 3rd (£414m) then #MUFC £352m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

I dont see any point. We need goals if we are going to win games. If we sell Carroll we need another striker and a damn good one, not that Carroll was good, but its what we need.

If Rodgers wants Walcott that much, then the club could release more funds after we hopefully could get rid of Cole this window. Walcott could have his wages but i think Theo has advisers in his ear imho. He is being offered 75k at Arsenal, for me he isnt worth that.

Walcott has terrible stats in terms of crossing the ball and providing chances, i believe he was one of the worst last year but i cant find the article, he was at 14% success anyway.

Also, this made laugh a bit.

Being Theo Walcott

This morning Theo Walcott lazily poured his Rice Crispies over his bowl, getting almost some of them in, and then getting a good fifty per cent of the milk in as well. He could have done a little better had he concentrated, but he was never really willing to do much properly, the main thing was that he got it done fast. Admiring the quality of his work, he tweeted the results. He ignored the people pointing out that he’d made a real mess of the whole thing. ‘Trolls.’ he retorted. The day was good, and after perusing the sports betting sites, he made a few hasty and terrible decisions on who to back, but the main thing was he got it done fast.

After driving to training, pranging his car a few times against the dual carriageway divider, but making it there in record time, he carelessly stuffed the rejection of the latest contract offer into Arsene’s In Tray. There were a few typos in there, but he got the gist. He’d do spellcheck next time, if he could be bothered to ask someone how to do it. It didn’t look likely.

Looking at his new tattoo, he decided he might as well try to do one himself. Getting a hot needle and splitting open a marker pen, he wrote THEO WALCO on his wrist before he ran out of space.

After a quick and eventful - three speeding tickets - ride home, he ate some lunch (half-cooked pasta) and indulged in some positive visualisation ahead of the game on Saturday. ‘Theo Walcott sprints past the full back, he’s got yards of space, the game could be decided here, he just needs to pull the ball back to Tevez and… goal kick.’

Perfect, he thought. I am ready for the big time. I am it.

That is hilarious. Just sent it to my Arsenal loving mate.:D