Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

And to make matters worse 15m is in our usual price range for new players,that makes it even more sickening imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

wasnt bothered about hazard or lucas not signing and delighted we didnt get Baines. however, seeing the one top class CM player who was available for value go to Spurs, really does annoy me.

sickened to be honest. another year of mediocrity in central midfield beckons :(

That's a step too far. Ok, Dembele is a good player. He would of been a good addition but let's not get carried away. He wasn't going to come in and solve our problems and I'm not really sure how he'd play especially beside Carrick.

We aren't signing anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Just been cheered up a bit by someone on twitter saying that

"Dembele moves a step closer to joining Real Madrid by joining Spurs."

Thought that was quite funny.

'Missing out' on signing Dembele is not sickening.

FFS some lads would want to get a grip.

Why? Leave the insulting remarks at the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,010 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Yeah, forget Dembele! I for one cannot wait to see Cleverly and Anderson take Europe by storm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,646 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

That's a step too far. Ok, Dembele is a good player. He would of been a good addition but let's not get carried away. He wasn't going to come in and solve our problems and I'm not really sure how he'd play especially beside Carrick.

I actually thought himself and Carrick would make a good partnership,he would have helped protect the back 4 and retain poession and also looks good going forward.This formation to me looks good and has a nice balance.
    Carrick
    Dembele

Nani
    Rooney
    Kagawa----

RVP

GSPfan wrote: »
    Why? Leave that insulting remarks at the door.

How is it insulting?
    Yeah, forget Dembele! I for one cannot wait to see Cleverly and Anderson take Europe by storm...

When did Dembele take Europe by storm?

We have always given young players a chance at this club and I'm sure people weren't silly enough to think that we were going to sign Dembele with Cleverley, Scholes, Carrick, Giggs, Fletcher and Powell all still on the books. Never mind Anderson who would almost surely be out the door if Dembele signed.

Last year in Europe we were shít because we played Giggs, Jones and Park in midfield and our defence played so deep because we had nobody to play the ball (KAGAWA!) high up the field. Also when we had a decent midfield Rooney or Welbeck couldn't hold the ball and the formation Fergie played in Europe last year was rubbish and it exposed us badly.

Now I'm not excusing the midfield but people have said United's midfield is crap for years. The same midfield that has belonged to a team in 'decline' over the past decade. I think that if Anderson or Cleverley can't force themselves in the team by the end of this season Ferguson is going to spend money there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭jambofc

why isnt it?
    on last season's and so far this season's performances he would be a vast improvement on any of our midfield :confused:

he is fast,quick thinking,strong,will get stuck in if need be,good passer,a presence in the middle,why would anyone that know's our midfield not be sickened by him moving for 15m somewhere else?
    him or strootman would be perfect for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,988 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

TheTownie wrote: »

Fergie-league-record-at-MUFC.jpg

Wow, in the history of the Premier League we've never been out of the Top 3 :D

Meanwhile in Liverpool for the same period they've only been in the Top 3 6 times :D:D:D

@Eli Manning

You never answered why I should get a grip?

You have a tendency to blurt out stupid stuff in response to other peoples posts. You used "FFS" and "Get a grip" in response to me posting a simple message about missing out on a player to Spurs who we were bidding for a week ago and who had a great game against our midfield 3 days ago.

I find it insulting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Sahin and Dembele lost without much of a fight. So we bid 5m for Dembele? If Fergie saw something he wanted dont p1ss about with small change and make a decent offer. Don't give the opposition time to come in. He'll be at another team and we could have had him.

Its the same sinking feeling with Sahin. If we showed any interest he would have come here. Liverpool ffs. What a waste. These half hearted attempts at getting a player annoy me. If either was a winger you just watch the interest. 30m for Moura, and unproven kid yet nothing for Dembele and Sahin. Its strange.

We all know Fergie loves his wingers and a four striker rotation but in 99 we had a top class midfeild to compliment them. We no longer have that and get overrun there. He must have a lot of faith in Clev, Carrick and Anderson. I hope he's right. So far Cleverly has been Carrick.5 imo. I'm still waiting for this amazing CM player I keep hearing he is to turn up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Why buy Dembele when we have a powerhouse in Giggs.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Why buy Dembele when we have a powerhouse in Giggs.

Ah come on, the only time Giggs has been a powerhouse over the last 2 years was when he was wit that Imogen one

scudzilla wrote: »
    Ah come on, the only time Giggs has been a powerhouse over the last 2 years was when he was wit that Imogen one

Chelsea CL 2010/11 season. Short memory.

Meh, Clev>Dembele. Need cover in midfield for Carrick, not someone to stunt Cleverly's growth. I'm happy enough with the midfield when the centre backs come back other than the lack of quality cover for Carrick. Jones can do it in the smaller games but I wouldn't trust him if Carrick got injured or there was another injury crisis in defense.

That said, Jones has had some very good games in the position against decent opposition but for United he tends to roam a bit too much for my liking. Carrick doesn't do it enough imo and should pick a few more times to contribute in a more advanced position but when Jones plays there he gets forward far too much, if he could find a balance he wouldn't be too bad at all. Still, with Jones injured something has to be done because there is nobody with the skillset to play the deeper midfielder at the club outside of Carrick and Jones and that is a big problem as for one of them it's his 3rd choice position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Dembele is a big miss, we can't bet better CM for 15M. He has all the attributes to become even better CM. He offers physical presence that we lack in midfield too. Close control, dribbling is better than any of our CMs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Guardian saying Rios out for another 2 weeks, won't be back till the Wigan game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Guardian saying Rios out for another 2 weeks, won't be back till the Wigan game.

Good news, only misses the Southampton game then.

Line up predictions??

De Gea
    Rafael Vidic Evans Evra
    --- Carrick Cleverley
    Val -- Kagawa -- Nani
    v.Persie

I'd like to see Buttner get a run out and maybe even Powell. Southampton will be well up for it though, so it'll be a difficult enough game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭SilverFox261

Good news, only misses the Southampton game then.

Line up predictions??

De Gea
    Rafael Vidic Evans Evra
    --- Carrick Cleverley
    Val -- Kagawa -- Nani
    v.Persie

I'd like to see Buttner get a run out and maybe even Powell. Southampton will be well up for it though, so it'll be a difficult enough game.

I wouldn't like to see either of them play away from home on their first competitive game tbh. It'll be Evans' first game back in a while, so we'll need as many match fit, experienced players around him to make sure he gets decent game time without getting overrun.

I like Powell and Buttner from the little i've seen, but id prefer if SAF would stick with a tried and tested first 11 at the weekend, particularly against a very decent Southampton team.

It's a decent Southampton team but a team that we should be beating, and beating comfortably

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,954 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Like how City beat them comfortably? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭SilverFox261

Like how City beat them comfortably? :P

Pretty much this. They fought well and we have a few players not fully fit. I wouldn't like to take any chances, even if we should be beating them comfortably.

Obviously me wanting to see Buttner and Powell get a run out is based on the scenario that we're comfortably ahead with 20-30 minutes to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Fully agree with Eli Manning. Dembele is a good player but Im fully brhind Clev getting his chance to run the show for us this year.

Some of the hand wringing,despair and doomsday predictions in here over the Summer would be over the top in a mid table club's threaf never mind United's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Spideog Rua

Liam O wrote: »
    Meh, Clev>Dembele. Need cover in midfield for Carrick, not someone to stunt Cleverly's growth. .

Cleverly is 5ft9 at 23 years old. I don't think he's going to grow any enough to catch Dembele at 6ft1. :D

Dembele at 15m is a no brainer. I'd love somebody like Fellani, but Dembele is clearly available and put on a show for SAF at the weekend. The lack of investment in this area is really fecking frustrating when we can all see the players available. Lack of value is a bull**** excuse. Fergie needs to take his head out of the early nineties and needs to adapt to current market conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,112 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Cleverly is 5ft9 at 23 years old. I don't think he's going to grow any enough to catch Dembele at 6ft1. :D

Dembele at 15m is a no brainer. I'd love somebody like Fellani, but Dembele is clearly available and put on a show for SAF at the weekend. The lack of investment in this area is really fecking frustrating when we can all see the players available. Lack of value is a bull**** excuse. Fergie needs to take his head out of the early nineties and needs to adapt to current market conditions.

Look Fergie does not see CM as a problem,he has spent 50 ish million last 2 summers and only bought Powell for CM to my reckoning.
    CM is not an issue for Fergie,so we move on to the season aheasd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭denlaw

Hi lads , hearing from mate in manchester that utd have put a bid in for dembele...anyone hear this ...?

denlaw wrote: »
    Hi lads , hearing from mate in manchester that utd have put a bid in for dembele...anyone hear this ...?

First I've heard of it anyway.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

denlaw wrote: »

Too late. I expect him to be announced as a Spurs player before I go for lunch.