Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Just passing on a message from Jame Gumb:
    I'd like to wish the lads in the United thread well. I enjoyed being a positive contributor to that community.

I think this is an apt and nice way to draw the line under the thing now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

United beers in James gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

re: No Sporty Chevrolets for under 23 y.o. players.

I'd say its as much to do with Fergie not wanting the publicity of a Chevrolet wrapped around a tree by a youth player. The media would be all over that.
    Really can't wait for Friday now. Regardless of whether we are done in the transfer market or not, I still hold out hope for a CM. And the next few days will get progressively more annoying when it doesn't materialise. At least come Saturday I can accept it didn't happen and forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Tottenham seem to be favourites to sign Dembele.

Twitter is saying Zenit are offering £25million for Nani.

See ya Nani. If true.

Out of interest, how much have we spent this summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

GSPfan wrote: »

See ya Nani. If true.

£42.5m according to SSN earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

See ya Nani. If true.

See ya if true? GTFO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Went on the beer tonight . Missed alot of pages . See jame gumbs name mentioned alot . Did i miss something . Could do with an update .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

£25 million wouldn't be enough to buy Nani's left leg in my opinion.

Wish this transfer nonsense was over. I liked it when we were in the market for players. ****ing hate it when our best players are being rumoured to be on their way.

If they are going to sell him then they better not sell him for £25 million.

cloptrop wrote: »
    Went on the beer tonight . Missed alot of pages . See jame gumbs name mentioned alot . Did i miss something . Could do with an update .

Read it, it's worth it.

Also on Nani, I say again i'd hate to see him go, but if he does, it sure as hell would want to be for a lot more that 25mil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

cloptrop wrote: »

Jame Gumb = Sean Bateman

Gumb (perma?)banned, bateman will be back in the soccer forum.
    Few people now being like, "ah sure i knew it all along, sure he spelled weird like wierd." and other stuff.
    seems like people liked him this time but there wasnt too much to give out about so the jury is still in session. (i thought he was grand so far anyway)

Also Berba told everyone to calm down, and we did.

£25 million wouldn't be enough to buy Nani's left leg in my opinion.

Wish this transfer nonsense was over. I liked it when we were in the market for players. ****ing hate it when our best players are being rumoured to be on their way.

If they are going to sell him then they better not sell him for £25 million.

I would have been happy enough with Rooney going for 50M if that had come to pass but nani for 25, close to what hes worth but with fees all over the shop its hard to tell.

I'd be shocked if United got more than 25million for him to be honest. I just don't see much money being spent from teams other than a few English and PSG.
    What other team could trump the 25million bid?

Jame Gumb = Sean Bateman

Gumb (perma?)banned, bateman will be back in the soccer forum.
    Few people now being like, "ah sure i knew it all along, sure he spelled weird like wierd." and other stuff.
    seems like people liked him this time but there wasnt too much to give out about so the jury is still in session. (i thought he was grand so far anyway)

He won't be back in the SF.
    Jame Gumb wrote: »
    Ah...okay.

Thanks.

Seeing as I won't be returning to the Soccer forum, I'd like to wish the lads in the United thread well. I enjoyed being a positive contributor to that community.

Thanks for your time.

J

was on berbas facebook there, have to say doesnt look as effortlessly cool as before, should defo be puffin a cigar in a leisure suit in the sunny manchester photos, with a butler or supermodel lookin sullen in the background, beside a swimming pool.... maybe thats just me

alproctor wrote: »
    He won't be back in the SF.

saw that, have my doubts.

what (in particular) was the bateman account banned for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Sean Bateman is permabanned from the SF for trolling, I believe.

I would have been happy enough with Rooney going for 50M if that had come to pass but nani for 25, close to what hes worth but with fees all over the shop its hard to tell.

Can't see how that'd be close to what he's worth.

That Lucas chap moved for £30 million or whatever it was. Has played a handful of games for a club in Brazil and a few games for the Olympic team.

Nani has won 3 Premier Leagues and a Champions League. Has played nearly 200 times for one of the biggest teams in the world and 60 times for his country.

If Nani is sold for £25 million then United are ****ing clowns. Should be getting closer to 50, and more likely 40, for a player who has proven himself in arguably the biggest league in the world and one who is entering the prime of his career.

I really hope we don't sell him.

That Lucas chap moved for £30 million

Yeah but he's not worth 30 million!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Nani's crazy if he goes to the Russian League. He just needs to sort his head out and realise he's at the best club in the world and playing in the best league.

I've heard a few ppl say Zenit can fook of with there 25m. That price is not far off the mark though. Nani is inconsistant and never really made that break thorugh his ability promised. I thought he had the talent to really distinguish himself from the pack but it hasn't happened. I would hate to see him go though.

Also, I feel so dirty after the whole Jame Gumb incident. I complimented a couple of his posts and thought he was a good sort. If he reappears in the guise of Bateman I wont know how to treat him. From uber troll to worthy contributer :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

I really hope this Nani stuff is BS I definitely don't want him sold. Yes he can be frustrating at times but he's also a more than capable sublime match winner.

Selling Nani will only weaken our squad.

Can't see how that'd be close to what he's worth.

That Lucas chap moved for £30 million or whatever it was. Has played a handful of games for a club in Brazil and a few games for the Olympic team.

Nani has won 3 Premier Leagues and a Champions League. Has played nearly 200 times for one of the biggest teams in the world and 60 times for his country.

If Nani is sold for £25 million then United are ****ing clowns. Should be getting closer to 50, and more likely 40, for a player who has proven himself in arguably the biggest league in the world and one who is entering the prime of his career.

I really hope we don't sell him.

The price of a single player doesnt reflect market price, look at Carroll, bebe, steven fletcher. Sometimes teams pay over the odds, ie above market value. Nanis market value with 2 years on his contract should be somewhere between 25-30 million, depending on uniteds need for him and who they were selling to.

I really hope this Nani stuff is BS I definitely don't want him sold. Yes he can be frustrating at times but he's also a more than capable sublime match winner.

What if selling Nani buys us Dembele? Thats hardly weakening the squad. If selling Nani is to balance the books then I agree with ya. Wouldn't like that to happen at all.

I've heard a few ppl say Zenit can fook of with there 25m. That price is not far off the mark though. Nani is inconsistant and never really made that break thorugh his ability promised. I thought he had the talent to really distinguish himself from the pack but it hasn't happened. I would hate to see him go though.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I have a feeling that you may be a tad harsh on Nani because you're expecting him to become the next Ronaldo.

Personally, I think he may have it in him but he has never been offered the freedom that Ronaldo was given.

As it is he's a different player to Ronaldo, and he will never be Ronaldo. For me Nani is an assist king. There hasn't been any other winger like him in the league over the past few years. Bale and Valencia have produced but only in spurts. Nani has contributed on a consistent basis since the start of 2010.

He is the best winger at the club and in the top 3 in the league in my opinion. There are also very few in the world who are better than him.

Fair enough he may not be as consistent as his talent suggests he should, but then who is? The only two players in the world who are consistently producing the results that their talent suggests are Ronaldo and Messi. Maybe Iniesta could be included in that as well.

Most others produce in spurts. That goes to show how good Messi and Ronaldo are and how far they are ahead of everyone else. I don't think Nani will ever be on that level but he shouldn't be knocked because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

What if selling Nani buys us Dembele? Thats hardly weakening the squad. If selling Nani is to balance the books then I agree with ya. Wouldn't like that to happen at all.

Yea I'd see a bit of logic in it as the long craved CM is a wish of us all but there's nothing solid suggesting that at the moment. Granted there's nothing solid really suggesting Nani being sold other than rumor for now.

I just get uneasy when talk of us selling young or primed players comes up, I'd fear regret of seeing him really shine elsewhere.

I still feel nauseous seeing Tevez in that City shirt even though them circumstances are completely different.

Lads you can debate Nani's ability till you're blue in the face but this could all come down to Nani's contract demands. If United and him are way off in terms of wages then he has to be sold now if possible.
    Its Unfortunate but its gotta happen. I doubt its down to his ability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Selling Nani puts us in a much weaker position in terms of the first team and the squad regardless of whether it is to buy Dembele, it weakens a different area of the field which will not be addressed.

Nani and Valencia are two excellent wingers, and Young is very good back up, but he is not and should not be a first choice winger at United, he is not good enough in my eyes, its simple as that. If Nani is being sold the player coming in to replace him needs to actually replace his position in the team. Dembele would not do that so despite me wanting Dembele for quite a while (I believe I was the first to mention him seriously at the end of last season) I would not be in favour of shipping Nani out to bring in Dembele, he will not be costing over 20million and if the club were seriously in the market for Lucas/Hazard etc the money is there for him without having to sell one of our best players.

At this stage I just wish the window closed, and Nani signed a new contract to get this stuff over with, if he is sold it will drive me insane! I would prefer to start the season with Nani in the team and the current central midfield then Nani out and Dembele in it.

Unless of course Fergie is moving away from his wingers philosophy and going to channel the attack through the centre primarily. That would make it a different proposition for me, but one I have not considered as of yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Lads you can debate Nani's ability till you're blue in the face but this could all come down to Nani's contract demands. If United and him are way off in terms of wages then he has to be sold now if possible.
    Its Unfortunate but its gotta happen. I doubt its down to his ability.

Nani has consistently said he is very happy at the club, there is no reason to think his demands are ridiculous, he should be paid in line with the top bracket of players at the club, he has earned that and he is entering his prime, this will more then likely be his last big contract, this stuff comes out a lot when players are negotiating their last big contracts. They do their best to get the best deal possible, the club normally does its best to save as much money as possible. It has happened before with plenty of players at United, even Roy Keane.

I can't see what club has the money and the need for Nani and can't see him accepting a move to Russia, he is more ambitious then that.