Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(Almost) Live From Hell City. Part 1 - My Japan Diary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Dreamcast is fully loaded. 50/60hz switch, mod chip and a BIOS flash. :)

Ooh hardcore :D Must get a chip for my own actually. I've the 60Hz switch & bios mod done too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

I got mine from Robert at Console Goods. It works just grand. The only reason I flashed the BIOS was to change the boot up logo from PAL blue to NTSC-J (and U I guess :D) orange.

Not sure if he still sells them though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,417 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Actually, I have 6 modded consoles now.

He has nothing on Enternow :D. Check out all the stuff he's modded for me!

Megadrive 1 50/60Hz/overclock
    Megadrive 2 50/60hz
    Sega 32X 50/60hz
    Snes 50/60hz (and a nice little LED! :D)
    Sega Nomad screen & battery mod
    Amiga cap replacement
    Vectrex cap replacement
    PSone Modchip
    Gamecube region switch
    Dreamcast region switch

I'm sure there's more I'm forgetting about. I'm beginning to run out of consoles. Must start sending him on kitchen appliances next. 60hz toaster ftw!

o1s1n wrote: »
    He has nothing on Enternow :D

I say we drop ImmediateEntrance and SolderGod in to a pit and make them fight to the death. :D

I may be clutching at party straws here, but the PS2 could be the decider. When SolderGod tells you "installing a PS2 chip is difficult boss", you have an almost spiritual awakening, like that episode of The Simpsons where Homer ate an astronomically hot chilli.

It is only then, that you understand the true nature of the beast and bow to those that have mastered the art of soldering*.

*and can mod two PS2's in one sitting in a single afternoon like they were having a cup of tea. :D

Master of the Universe

Megadrive overclock - that is all!

Hey I've done PS2's too ya know :p But in reality my skills are definitely inferior to Solder God's, TV is a masterclass in the art & a true and true gentleman to boot. The PS2 is almost as tough as they get soldering wise.

The list of what I've done is in my sig with logs & pics for everyone to reference if they fancy a bit of diy. Hardest mod I've done would be a PS2 chip install but I done it before I started making logs. I've stopped doing them though as they're a total time-sink & risk of borkage is high

o1s1n wrote: »
    Megadrive overclock - that is all!

The actual work involved in that was easy, what was hard however, was figuring out the wire lenght/signal attenuation sweet spot. For reference, shorter wires = good. Took a fair bit of trial & error that

My PS2. Proof, if any were needed, of the PS2 and it's soldering difficulty factor:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80449037&postcount=509

That was my PS2 chunky. It worked fine, but we found out the problem wasn't the install, it was my drive unit which was ruined.

I'm keeping the PS2 as an HD Loader unit (you'll understand why in the next week or so... :)). The PS2 slim is NTSC-U, that is now home to the modchip and will be taking it on the chin like a true champ!

Anyone who tackles the PS2 modchip and wins is a solder genius in my eyes. One for the bravest of solder soldiers. :)

(you'll understand why in the next week or so... :)).

Banned.

See you in two weeks

*oh wait, I'm not a mod here...you win this time yang..but watch your back :p

That wasn't a mysterious GET! post....... or was it? Oh fu.......

*END TRANSMISSION*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Thanks for the heads up on Mikado, heading to Japan on Thursday and will be staying in Shinjuku for a few days. Cant wait to pay it a visit :)

vangoz wrote: »
    Thanks for the heads up on Mikado, heading to Japan on Thursday and will be staying in Shinjuku for a few days. Cant wait to pay it a visit :)

Enjoy. There is a great ¥270 restaurant next to the Golden Gai entrance. Stop in there if you are nearby. Then head up to Takadanobaba and buy me a Heavy Metal Raiden t-shirt! :)

Master of the Universe

Then head up to Takadanobaba and buy me a Heavy Metal Raiden t-shirt! :)

Those tshirts are great, I want one too!

Anyone know how the hell you buy one?!

http://gogo-tour.mi-ka-do.net/goods.php

Enjoy. There is a great ¥270 restaurant next to the Golden Gai entrance. Stop in there if you are nearby. Then head up to Takadanobaba and buy me a Heavy Metal Raiden t-shirt! :)

Sweet, I'll keep an eye out....... for the restaurant of course. Thanks for unwittingly introducing me to Heavy Metal Raiden!

No probs, they have a YouTube channel too, excellent muzak. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Donald7948

Japanese really makes great robots

No probs, they have a YouTube channel too, excellent muzak. :)

Already found, listening to it in work now. Are those videos taken in Mikado?

No, though HMR have played a few gigs there I think. You can buy tickets at Mikado though from the little shop upstairs.

The t-shirts are hanging on rails as you go up the stairs.

I want a blue one!

So do I, we cant risk bumping into each other with the same shirt. Any other retro gaming cover bands I should kniow of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭safetyboy

So do I, we cant risk bumping into each other with the same shirt. Any other retro gaming cover bands I should kniow of?

This guy is awesome. Been a fan for a long time, I just wish he'd make more videos. Preferably Winds of Thunder covers!

Pyongyang, did they (Mikado) have any of the Parodius series? Specifically DA! ?

Any recommended night spots, preferably rock bars? There's only so much I can gleam from the internet, I've a fair idea of what to avoid from being in Japan on holidays before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Pyongyang, did they (Mikado) have any of the Parodius series? Specifically DA! ?

Any recommended night spots, preferably rock bars? There's only so much I can gleam from the internet, I've a fair idea of what to avoid from being in Japan on holidays before

Have you been to a Maid café yet?
    It's an experience everyone should try if in Japan.

Steve SI wrote: »
    Have you been to a Maid café yet?
    It's an experience everyone should try if in Japan.

Yeah, went to one in Aki, observing the Japanese patrons was the best part :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Yeah, went to one in Aki, observing the Japanese patrons was the best part :D

I find the cafes very interesting but the local pervs are a sight to behold. I dunno how the ladies put up with creepy feckers (big tips help i guess). Went to one the other evening as they were having a Super Mario Kart tournament and that was great.

Steve SI wrote: »
    I find the cafes very interesting but the local pervs are a sight to behold. I dunno how the ladies put up with creepy feckers (big tips help i guess). Went to one the other evening as they were having a Super Mario Kart tournament and that was great.

I only went once and the local lads definitely fulfilled a stereotype , the ones I seen, reminded me of what teenage boys would act like around a tabloid glamour model, it was very funny though!!!

I was looking at the 8 bit cafe and Muteki Mario in shinjuku, they seem to be right beside each other. Has anyone been to these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭penev10

Any other retro gaming cover bands I should kniow of?
    The Advantage are the best one imo. All NES covers.

There's also a band that do a metal tribute to Metroid which is quite good but can't remember their name.