Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Re: this new documentary. While it will be really interesting to see the goings on bat the club, I really have reservations about the whole thing. For example, surely Sterling isn't going to be happy for footage of him getting a scolding from his boss being broadcast around the world?
    I for one can't wait to wstch it with a bucket of pop corn. Seems like a stupid yhing for the club to be doing. Makes yhe place into a circus or something. Madness.

You'd know alot about the circus alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

djPSB wrote: »
    I was roaring at Suarez to get away from it, with the way his finishing was lately.

But he came up trumps. It's odd that he has such good technique for free kicks, but it lets him down at times in general play.

Gerrard has been no better. Christ the man used to be one of the best players in the world when the ball dropped to him on the edge of the box. His shooting from outside the box these days is horrendous. I don't understand it as technique in those situations should have very little to do with his age.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭witnessrenegade

So would anyone go with the same line-up from today for next week? With Sahin in for Lucas and Agger back in for Coates? Great game today, we were robbed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,913 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

daithijjj wrote: »
    Some people around here are in serious denial. If it was said to you 3 years ago, that in 3 years time we would have as manager, the man who has just been sacked by a team at the bottom of the championship, there is no doubt in my mind you would be calling for the owners to be fked out on their arse before it came to that.

What he did at Swansea changes things slightly, that is all it does. Im almost certain, having seen what he did at Swansea, that he had more converts to this job, if, and its a big if, there was a DOF in place alongside him. He doesnt, all we have signed so far is 2 lads he probably had in his phonebook and another lad who's manager was in his phonebook. Thats grand, will it take us to the next level?. How big is his phonebook and how much sh1te can drip from Tom Werner before some people get it?. It has nothing to do with Rodgers the man, all criticisms are directed through him but at the owners. I like Rodgers and i have no issue with what Lloyd says either.

I dont want to be here in another 3 years, 3 years filled with mediocre results with fancy diplomatic bollo*ks dripping from the owners. If i had a look into my crystal ball and told ye our manager in 3 years would be Keith John Hill (google) what would ye think?. Progress?. Challenging for the league title?.

I hope Rodgers does very well. I dont think we will go anywhere under him but i hope we do. I also hope fans see through this sh1te that comes from our owners and get a grasp of the bigger picture.

We have probably doubled our turnover since David Moores, yet we are still offering new players wages similar to what the players got under Moores 10 years ago. The business wasnt under threat under Moores so what is the story with wages?.

Wake up people, its not a question of prudence, its more related to honesty (We want to increase wages- Tom Werner) and competence in regard to what these owners think they can achieve and what they can actually achieve. We have signed 4 players this summer, 3 of them combined get less than Ashley Young and the other one we have to give back in 9 months (he is probably on Bellamy's wages). Ambition?, i dont see it from the owners.

Despite this, i will be fully behind the team, like i was under Moores, doesnt mean im a dissenting heretic wanting to be proved right by bad results. The lack of progress that some think will come from things currently is an observation more than a 'desire' to be proved right. Folk need to be able to distinguish between things before engaging in the 'you are anti Rodgers' spiel.

Time is ticking too. It gets harder with every season of this that passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,327 ✭✭✭✭klose

In fairness to rodgers he knows his place that he has to earn the respect of the fans etc.. I'm not saying its gonna work for him but I'm liking the way things are looking. Bringing in the young lads is brilliant, out with the old in with the new and it worked perfectly, looks like even more of the reserves will get a look in in the Europa like morgan for example.
    If kenny was still here sterling would still be in the reserves and carra would have started today and he'd try his best to play his main xi in all 4 competitions. Rogers deals much better with the media then kenny in his last spell tbh his transfer dealings have been more impressive too, early days I'm aware but ill stick by that point. I don't think its unreasonable to be excited about rodgers time here..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Some people around here are in serious denial. If it was said to you 3 years ago, that in 3 years time we would have as manager, the man who has just been sacked by a team at the bottom of the championship, there is no doubt in my mind you would be calling for the owners to be fked out on their arse before it came to that.

3 years is a long time in football. A lot can happen in that time. Also one bad job doesn't mean he's a poor manager.
    We have probably doubled our turnover since David Moores, yet we are still offering new players wages similar to what the players got under Moores 10 years ago. The business wasnt under threat under Moores so what is the story with wages?.

Wake up people, its not a question of prudence, its more related to honesty (We want to increase wages- Tom Werner) and competence in regard to what these owners think they can achieve and what they can actually achieve. We have signed 4 players this summer, 3 of them combined get less than Ashley Young and the other one we have to give back in 9 months (he is probably on Bellamy's wages). Ambition?, i dont see it from the owners.

We've probably also doubled our expenditure since Moores day as well. Last year we made a loss of £50m, what do you expect the owners to do? I see plenty of ambition from the owners actually. Paying 4 lads less than Ashley Young doesn't make someone ambitious. I never thought Purslow was ambitious because he was dumb enough to give Joe Cole £90k a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

really good interview with Suarez from Friday
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/aug/24/luis-suarez-liverpool

Suarez on Rodgers
    Rodgers's approach sets him apart in England, Suárez says. "There are lots of teams here that aren't very well set up tactically. He's a coach that can see that if you can work tactically you can derive a lot of benefit from that; you can be different. If you're well organised, and you can play the ball, you can be successful."What does he mean by tactically poor? "Well," he says, starting to signal positions on the table with his fingers. "If I am playing centre forward here and I drop off the front into this area, both centre backs might come with me in England. And then a team-mate can go into the space and be one on one with the goalkeeper."
    Signalling to the right-back position, he says: "Or, if you look at their line of four at the back and this guy always goes up the pitch and never comes back, then you can exploit that. Or if both full-backs go up, then you isolate the two centre-backs. When one full-back goes the other should stay and a midfielder drops in, but there are teams where that doesn't happen and you can take advantage. There are coaches who see that and coaches who don't. He sees it."
    Then there is Liverpool's commitment to possession. "It is as the manager says: if all your defenders are very open and the goalkeeper is able to play a bit, it is impossible for the other team to get the ball off you. Then you have the midfielders who come in to get the ball off the back four and you play. His way of looking at the game is very intelligent and I think he's right. It's impossible for the other team to get the ball off you unless you make a simple mistake, a bad pass, an individual error."
    Against West Brom that was exactly what happened. But contrary to some critics, coaches such as Rodgers would argue that does not mean the model should be thrown out. Confidence is needed to play this way, and that takes time. The temptation when under pressure is just to hoof it; you need nerve to keep playing and you learn that and are better for it. As Suárez points out, the hoof solves nothing either. "For me, playing in England where all the centre-backs are tall and strong, the long punt up the pitch is no good to me. I need the ball on the floor.
    "It is always a difficult thing to start with a new manager and a new team system but I think we played fairly well against West Brom. We knew it would be difficult. It's OK because we trust in the new manager and we are all very happy with him.
    "We now press higher up the pitch and it has to be collective, organised. If I go to pressure the man, I lead the pressure but I need to be backed by Steven and by, if we go by the first game, [Fabio] Borini or Stewart [Downing]. And if we all pressure together, then it works. But it's not easy. You need to be clear in the idea, you need to work at it and try to adapt to it bit by bit. Then, with time, you will be able to impose it.
    "Obviously, we're not going to play like Barcelona but the aim is similar. The manager has been studying in Spain, in Barcelona itself, and he was in Holland too, where they play good football. The idea is nice, my team-mates are very happy with it. The idea is to have the ball all the time, to pressure to get it back. Keep the ball, don't panic, look for the spaces at the right time, not play so fast, so desperately, as we did last season.
    "It is a new season, we have a new coach, a new idea, a new style that is different to the one we had before and that's difficult. It will work, but it will take time."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

opr wrote: »
    Gerrard has been no better. Christ the man used to be one of the best players in the world when the ball dropped to him on the edge of the box. His shooting from outside the box these days is horrendous. I don't understand it as technique in those situations should have very little to do with his age.

Opr

Something that i've been wondering about over the past few years too, i miss those GGGEEEEERRRAAAAAAARRRDD screamers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Oscorp

I'll be excited if/when we start beating lesser teams with comfort. We've been able to raise our game against the top sides on ocassion over the past three years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Something that i've been wondering about over the past few years too, i miss those GGGEEEEERRRAAAAAAARRRDD screamers.

Think it's more that other teams have cottoned onto him shooting from range. They close him down much earlier and he never gets the space, so that when he does have a go he's more often than not snatching at the shot.

MD1990 wrote: »
    really good interview with Suarez from Friday
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/aug/24/luis-suarez-liverpool

Suarez on Rodgers

There has been a veritable avalanche of positive media articles on Rodgers since he got the job, and from all corners of the media too (traditional journalism both tabloid and 'broadsheet, blogs, TV, forums, etc). It means nothing. If he doesn't win enough games all the positive vibes in the footballing world won't see him stay here long term.

During 2006 - 2009 there was plenty of negative stuff on Benitez floating around. You could read all manner of negative stuff about squad rotation, the folly of zonal marking, poor signings, negative tactics and bad media handling / man management. And none of it mattered. Why? Because he kept winning enough games to make him untouchable. When he stopped winning as many games it all caught up with him.

The point is that the media really means **** all. Win games and you get to keep playing. Lose too many games and you're cut. This manager will be ultimately judged by results, as all before and after him have been and will be.

Think it's more that other teams have cottoned onto him shooting from range. They close him down much earlier and he never gets the space, so that when he does have a go he's more often than not snatching at the shot.

He's also not as explosive an athlete as he was in his pomp. He doesn't spend as much of the game in space and he doesn't get off shots as quickly as he used to. Time is undefeated unfortunately. :(

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

The point is that the media really means **** all. Win games and you get to keep playing. Lose too many games and you're cut. This manager will be ultimately judged by results, as all before and after him have been and will be.

Not by you though, you don't need to wait for that to judge him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭ASOT

Where can I find and stats for tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭EchoO

Nuri Sahin: Xabi Alonso convinced me to join Liverpool FC

“I spoke with Xabi lots of times,” said Sahin.
    “When he heard Liverpool were interested in me, he started telling me about Liverpool. He is still in love with Liverpool Football Club. It's crazy how he was telling me about Liverpool.
    liverpool-fc-news

“He was saying 'go there, you will love it. The fans will take care of you and love you' and things like that.
    “He said Anfield is the best stadium in the world. Xabi won a lot of trophies here, and hopefully we can do that too.”

http://www.chesterchronicle.co.uk/chester-sport/liverpool-fc-news/2012/08/26/nuri-sahin-xabi-alonso-convinced-me-to-join-liverpool-fc-59067-31701251/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Allen was immense. Sterling too. Johnson also.

But for me the most impressive performance was from Shelvey. He had a shocker the other night, and was thrown in against the champions in difficult circumstances. He didn't put a foot wrong. Showed great character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

3 years is a long time in football. A lot can happen in that time. Also one bad job doesn't mean he's a poor manager.

We've probably also doubled our expenditure since Moores day as well. Last year we made a loss of £50m, what do you expect the owners to do? I see plenty of ambition from the owners actually. Paying 4 lads less than Ashley Young doesn't make someone ambitious. I never thought Purslow was ambitious because he was dumb enough to give Joe Cole £90k a week.

3 years is a long time, you dont want to be here in 3 years with a nice balance sheet and yearn for the days we made 2 cup finals. You arent a shareholder.

Our expenditure in neither here nor there, if you are going to hold one man to account for 'spade in the ground' comments you better be ready to hold your chairman to account for 'we want to increase wages' comments.

Stop talking about the 50m loss like it has anything to do with normality. 70% of that loss was a 'exceptional item' on the balance sheet and written off. It was not an annual expenditure and furthermore it would not have been included in FFPR even if it was.

Purslow didnt give Joe Cole 90k per week. He gave Joe Cole less than what Harry Kewell got for signing for us nearly 10 years ago (per week + a sign on fee which was paid over the length of his contract inclusive). Kevin Nolan was on more of a weekly wage playing in the Championship last year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Why do people think they know what players are earning every week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Did I miss this immense. Shelvey performance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Did I miss this immense. Shelvey performance?

Ah he played well in fairness. He was muck on thursday, but much better today. Maybe immense is a bit strong of a term, but he played very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

He played very well. Immense is too strong.

Same for Sterling, he played well & all things considered, deserves praise, but looking at his performance it was a good performance & not anything more. Over exaggerations like he gave more than Downing did all last season aren't helpful, Downing had plenty of games last season which were better than Sterling had today.

3 years is a long time, you dont want to be here in 3 years with a nice balance sheet and yearn for the days we made 2 cup finals. You arent a shareholder.

Our expenditure in neither here nor there, if you are going to hold one man to account for 'spade in the ground' comments you better be ready to hold your chairman to account for 'we want to increase wages' comments.

Stop talking about the 50m loss like it has anything to do with normality. 70% of that loss was a 'exceptional item' on the balance sheet and written off. It was not an annual expenditure and furthermore it would not have been included in FFPR even if it was.

Purslow didnt give Joe Cole 90k per week. He gave Joe Cole less than what Harry Kewell got for signing for us nearly 10 years ago (per week + a sign on fee which was paid over the length of his contract inclusive). Kevin Nolan was on more of a weekly wage playing in the Championship last year.

Who said anything about a nice balane sheet? In 3 years time I'd like to support a financial stable football club, not some football club a few days away from administration because the owners were complete fools.

I never held any owner to account for 'spade in the ground' or whatever say he came out with. I pay little attention to what owners say - 90% of it is bull****/spin. The same with players and managers. I much prefer paying attention to what they do instead.

Of course it's to do with normality. Selling Torres for £50m was exceptional. When the Torres sale and the stadium costs are taken out we still made a £34m loss. Who gives a toss if it would be included in the FFPR or not.

The fact Harry Kewell got that much just highlights how poorly the club was run 10 years ago. Also the fact Nolan was on more weekly in the Championship means nothing to mean, probably explains why that club was in the championship. I'm delighted the days of over-paying for players is over, seems your not though so fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

He played very well. Immense is too strong.

Same for Sterling, he played well & all things considered, deserves praise, but looking at his performance it was a good performance & not anything more. Over exaggerations like he gave more than Downing did all last season aren't helpful, Downing had plenty of games last season which were better than Sterling had today.

I don't believe that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

That doesn't surprise me.

Sunderland opening day last season, Downing was excellent for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

monkey9 wrote: »
    Ah he played well in fairness. He was muck on thursday, but much better today. Maybe immense is a bit strong of a term, but he played very well.

Thought he was fairly average myself...two things I remember about his game were the 'hollywood' pass which got intercepted and led to Tevez's chance and his dodgy tackle...I was also convinced it was him that gave the ball away for the second goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,938 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Its very easy to extract certain numbers and pad them how you want.

Signing on fee or not Cole is costing the club $90k per week and it was a crazy deal

If you argue that he's on less well that's good isn't it? Comparing him to Kevin Nolan, do you think Cole should be on more than Nolan who plays every week?

As for the 'increase wages' , have they not done so?

Aren't players like Suarez and Skrtel on increased wages with their new contracts? I'm sure Agger will be too soon.

They have always said that they wanted value in contracts so getting rid of high earners who contribute little is good practise to me.

Also why the obsession with wages? Having a higher wage bill does not guarantee success. In fact LFC have often had a higher wage bill than Utd.

To compare the finances of the club under Moores to today is laughable.

Moores ran the club like an amateur and did not maximise the clubs revenue potential and then sold us to H&G.

Your comment in the other post about Keith Hill is strange.

A lot can happen in 3 years and every case is diifferent.

After all, if someone had told me in 1990 that LFC would not have won the title again in 22 years I'd have laughed at them.

I'd also have laughed at them if I'd been told that Kenny would leave the following year and come back and win the title with Blackburn.

In 2009 I would never believe that we'd finished 7th the following year and not qualify for CL for at least 3 years.

No doubt Rodgers has a lot to prove but I think you should accept that he could be the right person. Maybe, just maybe we've got an up and coming manager at the right time.

The owners didn't just appoint them on their own but sought advice from other football people.
    I think they should be afforded the time to see how their policies for this season pan out and don't forget that it's less than 2 years since they bought the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭frankled

I'm more of a reader here than a poster, but I feel that if you are going to judge Rodgers it is only fair to judge him on what he has done in the short time he's been here. So far he hasn't put a foot wrong whatsoever, from the words that come out of his mouth to the transfer business he has not only accomplished so far but has attempted too. And I didn't want Kenny to go back in June.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Thought he was fairly average myself...two things I remember about his game were the 'hollywood' pass which got intercepted and led to Tevez's chance and his dodgy tackle...I was also convinced it was him that gave the ball away for the second goal.

It was Gerrard who gave that ball away. Also, Shelvey was only inches aways from making it 3-2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,153 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Re: this new documentary. While it will be really interesting to see the goings on at the club, I really have reservations about the whole thing. For example, surely Sterling isn't going to be happy for footage of him getting a scolding from his boss being broadcast around the world?

It's TV, there will be an arc. I'd bet anything the next bit of this episode will show Sterling knuckling down and then a little montage of goals/assists in training, and some encouragement yelled by Rodgers from the touchline, followed by bits of the interview in which Rodgers says how much Sterling has come on after just a few weeks working in the new system.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

That doesn't surprise me.

Sunderland opening day last season, Downing was excellent for example.

Downing played ok in that match alright, but the only times i can remember Downing having anywhere near as effective a game as Sterling today was against lower league opposition in cup competitions!