Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

That is a concern with Jose but i get thr impression from interviews he regrets leaving England and would be prepared yo stay long term at abig club there.

Moyes has no European experience and when he has had money to spend has done so very poorly. I rate him highly but not United highly.

United are the sort of club who will be looking for a long term manager though so Moyes would have plenty of time to build up experience, If Jose was to come out and say he has no interest in going back to England who do you think would be the favourite to replace Fergie ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

While I am a big fan of Mourinho and his achievements, one thing that would stick in the craw should be become United boss is his association with and affinity for Chelsea. He will be forever associated with the Terry/Cole/Lampard/Drogba era and that doesn't sit well with me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Solskjær, so long as he gets his arse in gear and manages at a higher level before then. Or get him in as assistant manager to Fergie/Mourinho for a couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Caveman1 wrote: »
    United are the sort of club who will be looking for a long term manager though so Moyes would have plenty of time to build up experience, If Jose was to come out and say he has no interest in going back to England who do you think would be the favourite to replace Fergie ?

Jaysus tough call.Pep as long as hes available will always be linked but I share Jame Gumbs concerns about him.

It will need a big personality with a touch of arrogance not to be intimidated by the role.

Guys like Klopp, Pellegrini strike me as guys worth watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Solskjær, so long as he gets his arse in gear and manages at a higher level before then. Or get him in as assistant manager to Fergie/Mourinho for a couple of years.

Never actually thought of him but if people are talking about a manager with experience surely Solskjaer needs a few years in a much better league ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

cloptrop wrote: »
    Im getting a strong feeling fergie is gone next year and guardiola is lined up for the job.
    The van persie thing being fergies last hurrah at doing a champions league this year.
    Pep having a year break.
    The huge amount of interest in young footballing players.
    If i was an itk id tweet this .
    Id prefer Jose myself. And I think yhe club would too.

I reckon the Bebe thing was basicalky a sweetener to get well in with Joses agent. He doesnt even seem happy at Madrid. Only biding his time till Utd comes up IMO.
    Iv said on here before id prefer jose. But I think the deal is already done.
    Jose is like marmite publicitywise I know Saf is aswell but doing things like poking assistant managers in the eye wont go down well with the board.
    I reckon pep took the year off to get his family moved and stuff . I cant see him leaving barca and just hoping to get a good job in a year . Without thinkingtoo much there isnt any other ageing managers waiting to retire at the top clubs in europe.
    Having total control of the club is a rare thing at these top clubs too .
    I know the evidence is circumstantial at best but I reckon there is already an agreement in place.
    Football is changing according to g neville the other night and pep ( regardless of the players he had) is the best man for changing united to this style.
    He has alot of experience and is young enough to manage united for the next 20 odd years.
    I could be a mile off the mark though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Fellaini player / manager.

Caveman1 wrote: »
    Never actually thought of him but if people are talking about a manager with experience surely Solskjaer needs a few years in a much better league ?

He does. Also worth bearing in mind Molde basically did a Mzn City in Norway and had major financial support. We cannot let sentiment have any influence in this huge decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭adox

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    I think if we win the league or the Champions League at Wembley, Fergie will walk at the end of this season. Better to exit stage left with the crowd crying out for more than at a low ebb.

While Utd will have a good shout for the league again this season, I just cant see them in the final mix up for the CL.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Jose is the only option, the only one with the personality to replace SAF. Lets not make the mistakes that Liverpool have made or United made when Busby left.

We need the special one.

Let Solskjaer take a job at Wigan or Blackpool and do well there and maybe he could be considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Feck the League and Europe.

I`m old, and i love the FA Cup, i love the semi-finals, i love cup final day, and i love winning the FA cup.

Since i have been on this earth, this is the longest spell that United have gone with out winning the FA cup...and i miss it.

I know its not the priority for most, its like having a girlfriend that is not the best looking or the most intelligent, but she pleasure you in other fantastic ways ( involving ice cream ). While you like to flaunt your good looking girlfriend to impress your friends, you always think of that girlfriend and her HB delights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    I would not like to see Guardiola take over. I'd question his actual coaching and managerial ability as in my view Barca's success is more about a uniquely gifted group of players and less about him. No doubt I'll be castigated for that view.

And rightly so. Guardiola took over a group of players in disarray, turfed out some of the mainstays of the Rijkaarrd era and the biggest personalities in the squad like Ronaldinho and Deco, remodelled Xavi from a player that saying something this was even possible to contemplate into one of the greatest midfield orchestrators of all time:

36571844.png

He also presided over not only the development of many of this amazing generation of Barcelona players (and the bunch now beginning to come through like Alcantera and Tello) at underage level in his time as B manager, but also managed their transition to the senior squad and the presided over the development of the likes of Iniesta and Messi into behemoths of the game.

Check yourself before you wreck yourself yo - everything Barcelona have done well in the last five years has Pep's stamp all over it.

keane2097 wrote: »
    And rightly so. Guardiola took over a group of players in disarray, turfed out some of the mainstays of the Rijkaarrd era and the biggest personalities in the squad like Ronaldinho and Deco, remodelled Xavi from a player that saying something this was even possible to contemplate into one of the greatest midfield orchestrators of all time:

36571844.png

He also presided over not only the development of this amazing generation of Barcelona players at underage level in his time as B manager, but also managed their transition to the senior squad and the presided over the development of the likes of Iniesta and Messi into behemoths of the game.

Check yourself before you wreck yourself yo - everything Barcelona have done well in the last five years has Pep's stamp all over it.

But could he do similar at a club in ehich he hsdnt been immersed all his life and one which hadnt the embarrassment if riches ready on a plate that he had at Barca?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Pep has only done good with a group of good players. United have a group of good young players.
    Hes perfect in a way . Horses for courses.
    Id be more worried giving him the villa job where hed have a set of poo players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

But could he do similar at a club in ehich he hsdnt been immersed all his life

Dunno
    one which hadnt the embarrassment if riches ready on a plate that he had at Barca?

Did you read the post? Xavi, Iniesta etc were far from an embarrassment of riches when he took over. Messi was 20 and had had scored a whopping ten goals the season before. He got rid of half the squad and turned the kids he had left into an embarrassment of riches.

They'd just been ridden by Madrid who finished 18 points ahead of them in La Liga the year before, they'd also ended up ten points behind Villareal.

A year down the line Pep has utterly changed the starting lineup and the style of play, they win La Liga by 9 points, steamroll the Champions League and are being hailed as the best team of all time. This is the same season he has turfed out Ronaldinho, Deco and Edmilson, not to mention Zambrotta, Thuram and Oleguer.

Pep is a fucking boss.

Dunno

Did you read the post? Xavi, Iniesta etc were far from an embarrassment of riches when he took over. Messi was 20 and had had scored a whopping ten goals the season before. He got rid of half the squad and turned the kids he had left into an embarrassment of riches.

They'd just been ridden by Madrid who finished 18 points ahead of them in La Liga the year before, they'd also ended up ten points behind Villareal.

A year down the line Pep has utterly changed the starting lineup and the style of play, they win La Liga by 9 points, steamroll the Champions League and are being hailed as the best team of all time. This is the same season he has turfed out Ronaldinho, Deco and Edmilson, not to mention Zambrotta, Thuram and Oleguer.

Pep is a fucking boss.

Im only playing devil's advocate really.Having a young Xavi, Iniesta and Messi still gives you s decent base and he kbew them like no other having seen them develop since they wrre knee high. Pep at any other club other than Barcs has question marks over it at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Evra at CB??? good lord....whats the point of that, at all?

surely if he doesnt want to play Carrick there, then its got to be

Rafael Vidic Wooten Evra.

thats our best available back 4 at the moment, no doubt at all. whats the point in having young players if your not going to play them during an injury crisis.

unless he is planning on playing Vidic, Carrick Evra as a back 3 with Valencia and Giggs as attacking full backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

This article sums up Pep pretty damn well if you ask me, was published in FourFourTwo last Summer. It's a great read but I'll not copy and paste as it's quite long.
    Xavi wrote:
    We were just back from winning the Euros with Spain and instantly I could sense a different atmosphere, new standards and much more emphasis on getting fit. I recall saying to [Andres] Iniesta, ‘We’d better hop on this train or it’ll pass us by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Ferguson said Buttner would be involved on Saturday, although most likely starting on the bench.

The 23-year-old has been brought in to provide back-up to left-back Patrice Evra, who Ferguson admitted could be a option in central defence.

"Patrice Evra could actually play at centre-back, he has done in the past. But it (Buttner's arrival) gives us a stronger squad, that is the most important thing," he added.
    http://www.football365.com/news/21554/8014258/Ferguson-rules-out-more-buys

We're not getting a midfielder either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

i think players who played in the premier league for the last while will see moyes has earned respect. ok he doesnt have much exposure to europe but i dont think that should matter. it was guardiolas first managers job. i also think the comments about what has he won as a player is also a bit stupid cause it doesnt matter what they won as a player they could have won everything as a player and make a poor manager and could have won very little and be great managers. we dont have the same kinda players who have a complete lack of respect like the chelsea players did with AVB. ferguson has drilled respect into them and the chelsea players were bigged up too much by mourinho as the untouchables as he called them giving them big heads and too much power.

i never want to see mourinho manage united cause he is a disgrace to football. his antics are disgusting and the way he has dragged must teams he has managed through the dirt and he is the last person i want to see in charge of us. sure he wins but at what cost? he also attacts the kinda scummy players i dont want at united. and does not have a good track record with young players getting a go.

as for pep i have a feeling he will be at chelsea by the end of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Xavi was the boss in Barca for a long time it just took people fcuking ages to realise and he actually replaced Pep in the team. Xavi was entering the prime of his career under Pep and people forget that before Pep arrived he had already won La Liga POTY before his bad injury.

Pep made everybody better though. I would love to see him at United.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Pep did an incredible job at Barca. Shocked that anyone would suggest otherwise. But its probably for another thread. As Jose's history and the idea of World Class players potentially not respecting Moyes.

Just noted a article from the express about United signing players from South/Central America. Fabio, Rafael, Anderson, Valencia, Hernandez, Henriquez on the way, Moura was chased, rumours of interest in more players. I hadn't really though about it before.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

@magnumbud

Guardiola was a top player though so the players probably respected him instantly. Moyes wasn't. I'm not saying it's right, but I'd be worried that the modern diamond earring clad Bentley driving multimillionaire footballer might be likely to tell someone like Moyes to go and f..k himself or demand to know what he's ever achieved if the going got any way tough.

I like Moyes - Don't get me wrong. I especially like his philosophy regarding youth players and that would fit well with United. But he's never won a meaningful trophy, he didn't play at the highest level, he's never had to deal with high expectation levels and he's never managed world class players or had to deal with the transfer of world class players.

Moyes could do a great job but it'd be too much of a punt in my view. On balance, it should be Mourinho. I reckon that he's the only one with the presence to replace Fergie, and he appears to want the job which always helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Technophobe

Evra at CB??? good lord....whats the point of that, at all?

surely if he doesnt want to play Carrick there, then its got to be

Rafael Vidic Wooten Evra.

thats our best available back 4 at the moment, no doubt at all. whats the point in having young players if your not going to play them during an injury crisis.

unless he is planning on playing Vidic, Carrick Evra as a back 3 with Valencia and Giggs as attacking full backs.

Agreed re Wooton

Whilst I (largely) think they were wrong, we don't want to replicate the whole Pogba, Fryers thing again. Can you blame Wooton if he was disappointed tomorrow at not playing a role?

He played well pre-season apparently.
    We have only one fit first choice CB.
    We are playing at home.
    Fulham are good but no world beaters.
    Carrick got a bit of a runaround on Monday and is needed elsewhere....

If not tomorrow, then when?? ... (and dont say League Cup or whatever its called now..he would be playing in a weakened team then anyways)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

If Carrick is selected at centre back again, Wooton would be well within his rights to "do a Pogba".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Pep Guardiola hijacking the thread again. I'm already sick of him. Think I'll skip the next ten pages.

i assume since people are on about wooton doing a pogba/fryers that he is in the last year of his contract?

glad to see Fryers didnt get his move to spurs and is off to standard liege

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Do you expect Rafael to start this weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,801 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Heading to OT via Pool. Lets av a good result tomorrow. Cmon United!