Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Des wrote: »
    what the holy jesus does it have to do with Liverpool though?

The thread's Chief Scout has the horn for him dontchaknow!2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Anyone know of this mexican lad liverpool were looking at , now united seem to be buying .
    Herrara olympic midfielder.

What the hell dude, I'm in this thread, not provoking anyone, making fairly reasonable points, and you hvae a go at me? :confused:

christ almighty, it's like the old days before I took you under my wing. and mentored you.

:(

They don't like us United types in these here parts Dessie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

what the holy jesus does it have to do with Liverpool though?

nothing....but it has a lot to with the LFC superthread fantasy football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,913 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

gafferino wrote: »
    Top 4 is the absolute priority. Getting to the latter stages of Uefa Cup is good though. A win would be fantastic.

Won't get near top four this year no matter how much it is focussed on or labelled as the top priority...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,625 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

25412715.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Vicxas wrote: »
    What would you prioritise then?

I wouldn't prioritise either per say, although league finishing position is crucial if Rodgers wants to keep his job. I'd simply manage the squad like I said in my earlier post to try and do as well as possible in both competitions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Des AND Roger?? Mother of God. I`m off. See ye later lads.

What the hell dude, I'm in this thread, not provoking anyone, making fairly reasonable points, and you hvae a go at me? :confused:

christ almighty, it's like the old days before I took you under my wing. and mentored you.

:(

Des is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Des is actually a friend of mine.

Not quite sure who you are tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mr Alan wrote: »

<3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭CL7

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Dickerty wrote: »
    Yes I do, thanks. I used a different term because that was the suggestion being made, that he was almost giving away this result. I don't think "throwing in the towel" is a particularly poor choice of terminology.

As it happens, Des didn't respond to any of my other responses. Go figure.

Phoning in a performance means going through the motions. Throwing in the towel means giving up. Two different mentalities completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Brendan Rodgers has confirmed Raheem Sterling is in contention to make his first competitive start for Liverpool in tonight's Europa League clash with Hearts at Tynecastle.

The 17-year-old has notched up four substitute appearances for the Reds' senior side and impressed during the pre-season schedule.

Rodgers admitted: "There's a big possibility that Raheem will start. For a kid who is 17 years of age, he has been very good.

"Raheem is a player who has impressed me over the course of pre-season. He has got better and better every day.

"He understands his responsibility in the team and his team ethic is good. Plus when he gets the ball his quality has been excellent.

"Something I want to do over the years here is get young players with talent and personality into the group and into the team. He is certainly one who has shown up well."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Des rocks my world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

mayordenis wrote: »
    As much as Cole is done, useless, overpaid etc. etc. which is all true. The fact of the matter is that Pacheco has been rejeced by 4 Liverpool Magers, the Athletico Madrid manager and by the Rayo Vallecano manager, I like the lad but at some stage people hve to bow to superior judgement.

That is not true as the player was injured for most of his loan period there and the Athletico part of the deal was part of a weird set up between the two clubs. Effectively Athletico paid for the loan but Rayo were to get the use of the player instead of money that was owed between the clubs. Then the player got injured and Rayo were stung.

My own take is that Pacheco is not good enough, but that he is a better player than a squad/bench space waster like Cole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

gafferino wrote: »
    Brendan Rodgers has confirmed Raheem Sterling is in contention to make his first competitive start for Liverpool in tonight's Europa League clash with Hearts at Tynecastle.

The 17-year-old has notched up four substitute appearances for the Reds' senior side and impressed during the pre-season schedule.

Rodgers admitted: "There's a big possibility that Raheem will start. For a kid who is 17 years of age, he has been very good.

"Raheem is a player who has impressed me over the course of pre-season. He has got better and better every day.

"He understands his responsibility in the team and his team ethic is good. Plus when he gets the ball his quality has been excellent.

"Something I want to do over the years here is get young players with talent and personality into the group and into the team. He is certainly one who has shown up well."
    Statement of the obvious there by BR really isn't it.

Sterling should of course be in contention after the pre season he's had.

PaulieC wrote: »
    Statement of the obvious there by BR really isn't it.

Sterling should of course be in contention after the pre season he's had.

He was asked a direct question about whether any of the young players would be in contention for the game, and Sterling's name was brought up. All Rodgers did was answer a very basic question with a stock answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭jenno86

Des is grand.

But this Sterling, hes like Des' younger brother coming into the thread acting up on front of him trying to be cool.

Kess73 wrote: »
    He was asked a direct question about whether any of the young players would be in contention for the game, and Sterling's name was brought up. All Rodgers did was answer a very basic question with a stock answer.
    You'd swear I'm being critical of the guy Kess, I'm pointing out that it's hardly a news worthy story - the dogs in the fúcking street know Sterling is the best youth prospect we have coming through atm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

You'd swear I'm being critical of the guy Kess

It came across a little bit like that tbh, I thought you were having a go also.

You'd swear I'm being critical of the guy Kess, I'm pointing out that it's hardly a news worthy story - the dogs in the fúcking street know Sterling is the best youth prospect we have coming through atm

Your post read like it was being sarky about Rodgers for saying something so obvious. Now I know you did not mean it in that manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Alot of people dont watch preseason. Its typical tabloid fodder for the part time fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Phoning in a performance means going through the motions. Throwing in the towel means giving up. Two different mentalities completely.

Tomato, tomato
    Potato, potato

Actually, that doesn't so well in a non-verbal capacity...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Won't get near top four this year no matter how much it is focussed on or labelled as the top priority...

At last LuckyLloyd..I agree with you on something.

No chance. City / UTD / Chelsea are in a different league in terms of the squads they have & Arsenal & Spurs are looking more settled than us which means a lot across a season. Newcastle have great options up front and a serious force (Tiote) in midfield so we can't take finishing above them for granted. Different when we had a fully fit and explosive Gerrard & Torres combo to rely on and a fit and capable Carragher, those days are gone I'm afraid.

Ps...saw Tommy Smyth on ESPN last night for the first time. Wow...what a muppet, it's like someone let me granda watch the football in the pub for an afternoon and handed him a mic after a few pints. Sub-tabloid analysis.

jenno86 wrote: »
    Des is grand.

But this Sterling, hes like Des' younger brother coming into the thread acting up on front of him trying to be cool.
    Actually I'm Raheem's Da.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Im sorry :o.....
    @Richard_Buxton_: MARCA are claiming Nuri Sahin is expected to join #LFC today after #AFC move hit a stumbling block

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The new Willy I think.

It came across a little bit like that tbh, I thought you were having a go also.

Maybe your guard is up from people having a go at you Desmond :pac:
    Your post read like it was being sarky about Rodgers for saying something so obvious. Now I know you did not mean it in that manner.

I'm never sarky :)

Leiva wrote: »
    Im sorry :o.....

Noooooooooo, not this again !!