Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Poulson has signed a 2yr contract with Ajax :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

Leiva wrote: »

Saw that earlier poor Ajax:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

skywalker wrote: »
    Baring in mind this is all hypotheticals based on a wiki page. . . but Ill bite.

Do you feel Assaidi merited a special mention amongst our incoming signings as an especially exciting player?

I know pretty much nothing about Assaidi, and neither do you I'm assuming - I therefore can't assemble a concrete opinion on whether he's exciting or not, whereas our scouts and Rodgers would have a better idea.

I doubt Rodgers was talking about Assaidi, but if he was, what about it - we'll have to wait and see. My expectations this season have been lowered and I'm simply sitting back and waiting to see what happens on the pitch this season.

I think what I've seen with Assaidi is a prime example of Economics - snob goods, where people feel the price reflects the quality - do you think Assiadi doesn't deserve special mention as an exciting player because you hadn't heard people drooling about him being the next big thing online or because he cost us very little?

Do you think perhaps most would have jumped to the conclusion that it might have been a big(ish) name player & that making a comment like that about a player 99% of the fanbase had never heard of was perhaps setting the supporters up for a letdown? & maybe saying nothing would have been a better strategy in this instance.

Saying nothing wouldn't have been a better strategy for me - honestly, I think Rodgers wanted to show that we're going after exciting players - we've been linked with Tello, Sahin, Ramirez etc. - there's plenty of time for us to sign more players it's worth mentioning at this point.

Just say we don't sign anymore players (which I doubt will happen) and Rodgers is questioned about the 'exciting players' he mentioned then I would imagine the response will be something along the lines of 'we were working hard to sign a number of players, didn't work out for us in this window but we'll continue to work hard scouting players and go again in January' - and honestly I'm fine with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

I was hoping Coates and Skrtel would play together on Thursday in preparation for the City game. But I expect it to be Carragher and Agger tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Leiva wrote: »

First we steal Assaidi, now this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

[QUOTE=gaelicred;80375878

SoyMadridista then reported he had cleared out his locker and was on his way to LFC.

SoyMadridista now reporting Jose has told Sahin if he joins Arsenal he won't play for Real again, he has to join LFC if he leaves on loan.

biggrin.gif[/QUOTE]

They seem reliable then.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    They seem reliable then.

As reliable as the rest of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I doubt Jose cares that much, and if he does Sahin should tell him to GFH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

I doubt Jose cares that much, and if he does Sahin should tell him to GFH.

or tell him "no way jose" :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

On this day in 2004 Xabi Alonso and Luis Garcia were unveiled as Liverpool players.

Opr

opr wrote: »
    On this day in 2004 Xabi Alonso and Luis Garcia were unveiled as Liverpool players.

Opr

Oh how times have changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Opr

*sings with tears in eyes*...'Those were the days my friend...'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Opr

What about Antonio Nunez? :p

Alonso, 22, cost £14m. Garcia, 26, cost £6m.

This year, Allen, 22, cost £15m and Assaidi, 24, cost £2.7m.

If either of them can come close to what those lads did in their first season we will be doing extremely well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Liverpool (provisional squad): Reina, Jones, Kelly, Agger, Carragher, Coates, Flanagan, Shelvey, Lucas, Adam, Allen, Henderson, Spearing, Downing, Borini, Carroll, Wilson, Robinson, Sterling, Eccleston
    i think the team will be
    Reina
    Kelly Carragher Coates Robinson
    Shelvey Allen Henderson
    Downing Borini Sterling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭witnessrenegade

Would like to see

Reina
    Kelly Coates Agger Robinson
    Spearing Henderson
    Jonjo
    Downing Sterling
    Carroll

Theirs no point playing Lucas or Borini unless we really need to, they will be starting Sunday and the more rest they have the better. Great game to test out the younger players in the squad, plus gives Andy a chance to prove his worth for 90 mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

60 minute run out might be good for Lucas. He's still a bit off the pace fitness wise so the more gametime he gets the better once he doesn't over do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

60 minute run out might be good for Lucas. He's still a bit off the pace fitness wise so the more gametime he gets the better once he doesn't over do it.
    I'd prefer to have him fresh for the City game and let him empty the tank there tbh rather than run the risk of injury from playing too frequently too soon and getting injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Opr

At the time one was a very good player and the other was a good player. It's not like they were both world class. When we had signed Torres and Masch, that's when we had really hit the big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

if we sold Carroll
    i would use the money to get Remy from Marseille

At the time one was a very good player and the other was a good player. It's not like they were both world class. When we had signed Torres and Masch, that's when we had really hit the big time.

Torres was a risk at the time. A lot of people were saying he was too weak or not prolific enough to justify the transfer fee. He was a big name to be fair though and certainly had me ecstatic when he signed.

With regard to Masch he had a big reputation, as did Tevez, but people still saw it as an odd move considering he didn't even make West Ham's bench. Loan move was a fantastic deal for us. Had to laugh at the time when people were giving out about the 17m we ended up playing for him.

One thing that drove me insane from 2007 onwards was people calling us a two man team. We had Reina, Alonso, Masch, Gerrard and Torres to say the least. Suddenly when Alonso left rival fans told us we were screwed. So much for being a two man team then :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Knex. wrote: »
    Torres was a risk at the time. A lot of people were saying he was too weak or not prolific enough to justify the transfer fee. He was a big name to be fair though and certainly had me ecstatic when he signed.

With regard to Masch he had a big reputation, as did Tevez, but people still saw it as an odd move considering he didn't even make West Ham's bench. Loan move was a fantastic deal for us. Had to laugh at the time when people were giving out about the 17m we ended up playing for him.

One thing that drove me insane from 2007 onwards was people calling us a two man team. We had Reina, Alonso, Masch, Gerrard and Torres to say the least. Suddenly when Alonso left rival fans told us we were screwed. So much for being a two man team then :rolleyes:

Was he known to be a bit injury prone when he signed? Can't remember, but I still think, he didn't recover 100% from the first bigger injuries in the second season at Anfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Liverpool are paying Borini ~£45k, Allen ~£40k & Assaidi ~£20k = £5.46m per season. That equates to what Spurs are paying Adebayor alone. -- LiverpoolScout (@LiverpoolScout)

Don't make me choose as I don't think you will like the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

PaulieC wrote: »
    I know pretty much nothing about Assaidi, and neither do you I'm assuming - I therefore can't assemble a concrete opinion on whether he's exciting or not, whereas our scouts and Rodgers would have a better idea.

I doubt Rodgers was talking about Assaidi, but if he was, what about it - we'll have to wait and see. My expectations this season have been lowered and I'm simply sitting back and waiting to see what happens on the pitch this season.

I think what I've seen with Assaidi is a prime example of Economics - snob goods, where people feel the price reflects the quality - do you think Assiadi doesn't deserve special mention as an exciting player because you hadn't heard people drooling about him being the next big thing online or because he cost us very little?

Saying nothing wouldn't have been a better strategy for me - honestly, I think Rodgers wanted to show that we're going after exciting players - we've been linked with Tello, Sahin, Ramirez etc. - there's plenty of time for us to sign more players it's worth mentioning at this point.

Just say we don't sign anymore players (which I doubt will happen) and Rodgers is questioned about the 'exciting players' he mentioned then I would imagine the response will be something along the lines of 'we were working hard to sign a number of players, didn't work out for us in this window but we'll continue to work hard scouting players and go again in January' - and honestly I'm fine with it.

Your absolutely right, I know next to nothing about Assaidi & am prematurely judging him primarily based on this, the fact that none of the more knowledgeable posters seem to know about him either, & his pricetag. Thats not to say I wont be absolutely delighted if he proves himself praiseworthy.

I say again, this is most likely just someone taking the piss editing the wiki page & Were probably boring everyone to tears dissecting it. BUT, for the sake of argument, lets assume for a second it was an accurate quote, & Ill explain why I think Its a stupid move.

I dont see the point in talking up an unnamed new signing that has practically no name value to most fans, like its something they should get excited about, why not just let him loose on the pitch & prove himself there, if hes good enough, thats exactly what he'll do. By saying anything your just raising expectations & putting something out there for people to beat him with.

I thought something similar anytime Ive heard Brendan talking about Andy Carroll. I keep thinking just shut up & redirect the conversation to something you do want to talk about. Every time he mentions him hes pushing him closer to the exit, which may be his plan, but hes also driving his price down by making his intentions towards the player crystal clear for the world (Mike Ashley) to see & allow them to lowball us. Rodgers comes across as very media astute sometimes, but other times he lets the mask slip & you can see hes still getting used to this new level of media scrutiny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Would like to see

Reina
    Kelly Coates Agger Robinson
    Spearing Henderson
    Jonjo
    Downing Sterling
    Carroll

Theirs no point playing Lucas or Borini unless we really need to, they will be starting Sunday and the more rest they have the better. Great game to test out the younger players in the squad, plus gives Andy a chance to prove his worth for 90 mins

That team demonstrates how weak our back up options are, especially compared to other teams.

djPSB wrote: »
    That team demonstrates how weak our back up options are, especially compared to other teams.

Sad but true, Rodgers said himself that our squad is small, we need two more attackers before the end of the window, 9 days left till the end of the window!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Junior Hoilet just said on Sky Sports that we were in for him before he signed for QPR.

Seems to be a growing trend this. I suppose we offered him the managerial position as well.

Knex. wrote: »

Seems to be a growing trend this. I suppose we offered him the managerial position as well.

Or the Dof position!

Pic's put up of training, are we going by bib's to see who is playing tomorrow??