Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Nuts102 wrote: »
    We are rumoured to be interested. Havent seen him play just heard he is a tough tackler. Maybe a bit like De Jong who would add bite to the midfield. Would be interested to hear from anybody who saw him play. He is only 22 and for that price he is worth a punt.

Hes not s DM.More a box to box type apparently,good passer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,049 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Nuts102 wrote: »
    We are rumoured to be interested. Havent seen him play just heard he is a tough tackler. Maybe a bit like De Jong who would add bite to the midfield. Would be interested to hear from anybody who saw him play. He is only 22 and for that price he is worth a punt.

How on earth in this day in age is 10 million regarded as a punt??????

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

?? What part of his tweet do you actually like?

The Yes part at the start, Welbz in the middle and the ! right at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

DM-ICE wrote: »
    The Yes part at the start, Welbz in the middle and the ! right at the end.

I must say, the "!" made it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Valencia very not good why get number7 that not equal Owen and not equal beckam's left foot!?!?!?!.you should Chang number 700!?!?!

Seriously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

How on earth in this day in age is 10 million regarded as a punt??????

He is young and highly regarded if United are looking at him. If he doesnt work out we will still get 5 or 6 million. 10 million is not exacly a huge figure for a cm these days and we could do with a cm. If we could get Dembele for a similar fee i would prefer Dembele. Best case scenario he turns out to be a good player. Worst case it doesnt work out and we lose a few million we are not going to lose the 10 million so he is worth a punt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Can you give it a rest with that? Literally nobody said anything even remotely close to that.

Lighten up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Lighten up

Try being funnier, or at least not persisting with snide little remarks for two days and pretending they're jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Before I say this lads I'm in no way saying it's an excuse for any player(s) performance or condition on Monday night but,

Did anyone else think that the new shirt's material appeared to hold sweat a lot more than other shirts and that the sight of someone drenched in sweat then in turn could've made people perceive someone to look more gaunt or out of shape than they might actually be?

As I said I'm in no way trying to make an excuse for certain players performances with this but more so a possible explanation as to why the likes of Vidic looked leaner even though he doesn't appear to be when compared with pictures of him in seasons past.

I'm just spouting ****e but it's a slow day.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭shizz

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    Before I say this lads I'm in no way saying it's an excuse for any player(s) performance or condition on Monday night but,

Did anyone else think that the new shirt's material appeared to hold sweat a lot more than other shirts and that the sight of someone drenched in sweat then in turn could've made people perceive someone to look more gaunt or out of shape than they might actually be?

As I said I'm in no way trying to make an excuse for certain players performances with this but more so a possible explanation as to why the likes of Vidic looked leaner even though he doesn't appear to be when compared with pictures of him in seasons past.

Ah here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

2 GIFs incoming.
    Lighten up

bEiTL.gif
    keane2097 wrote: »
    Try being funnier, or at least not persisting with snide little remarks for two days and pretending they're jokes.

th_Chris_Jericho_1.gif

I spent yesterday defending Rooney. Try not making stuff up.

Mark Ogden wrote on the Telegraph site that (based on United sources) United 'will not entertain' any offers for Nani or Hernandez.

Hernandez agent said Chica wants to stay at United.

Nani has not yet agreed a new contract but has been assured he is still a key part of Fergusons's plans.

United are looking to sell ot loan, Berbatov, Macheda and Berba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,246 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Adamcp898 wrote: »

I noticed that meself to be honest i said it a few times when i was watching the game. It shouldnt make a difference how pros play though at the end of the day.

That jersey is very heavy though ive only wore it once since i bought it the fact u sweat so much in it is turning me off wearing it. To be honest if i had of known how heavy to was never would of bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Vidic did look very sweaty as did Rooney but Rooney still played crap while Vidic did okay.

I have the replica jersey and the material feels a bit like those awful shiny tracksuits they had in the 80's.

I wonder why they don't put the breather holes in the sides on the replicas like they do on the players jerseys?

I spent yesterday defending Rooney. Try not making stuff up.

Monday plus Tuesday = two days. Don't waste your time on pedantry with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭markc1184

recyclebin wrote: »
    Vidic did look very sweaty as did Rooney but Rooney still played crap while Vidic did okay.

I have the replica jersey and the material feels a bit like those awful shiny tracksuits they had in the 80's.

I wonder why they don't put the breather holes in the sides on the replicas like they do on the players jerseys?

The players jersey is different to the one we buy in the shops. There are breather sections under the arms and down the sides they are just not very noticeable.

EDIT: Read that wrong. Apologies.

Monday plus Tuesday = two days. Don't waste your time on pedantry with me.

Your right. It is a waste of time with you but here goes. What snide marks did I make Monday and to whom? please enlighten me. Yesterday was defending against ppl calling Rooney fat and obesse so where are the two days of snide remarks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

Valencia very not good why get number7 that not equal Owen and not equal beckam's left foot!?!?!?!.you should Chang number 700!?!?!
    Keno 92 wrote: »
    Seriously...

Sounds like he's from Cavan...
    dahat wrote: »
    Mexico midfielder Herrera

How solid is this move lads?
    Would he be a ready to go player or to be eased in gently?Seems to be alot of chat about him and at 10million he aint cheap so must be usefull......

Did he play at the Olympics? If I'm thinking of the same guy, he played brilliantly against Brazil in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,366 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Mark Ogden wrote on the Telegraph site that (based on United sources) United 'will not entertain' any offers for Nani or Hernandez.

Hernandez agent said Chica wants to stay at United.

Nani has not yet agreed a new contract but has been assured he is still a key part of Fergusons's plans.

United are looking to sell ot loan, Berbatov, Macheda and Berba.

If we manage to sell him twice, it'll be good business.

recyclebin wrote: »

They are also very loose fitting. Worst Jersey in years imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Tim Vickery talking about Henriquez. Says hes an exceptional finisher. (Skip to 19:58min).

Video here of Henriquez' two goals in the Milk Cup against NI. Second one a nice goal.

Also, Ezequiel Cirigliano talking about the Man Utd/Man City speculation;
    "I don't know where the information comes from," he told devotoradio.com.ar.

"First I heard that it was Manchester City, then Manchester United that were interested in me, but there has never been any proposal.

I also heard that I was wanted in Spanish football, even that I had an agreement in place with Real Madrid, but that isn't true.

I want to stay in Argentina and at River."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Anyone else seeing more possible BS about Fergie ready to axe Nani from the first team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

TheBunk1 wrote: »
    Did he play at the Olympics? If I'm thinking of the same guy, he played brilliantly against Brazil in the final.

Yeah I'm almost sure he is who you and I think he is.

I remember actually watching the final and towards the end said something like "Jesus I'd take him in our midfield!" to a United supporting mate, who has just linked that rumour to me on Facebook. Funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

I remember actually watching the final and towards the end said something like "Jesus I'd take him in our midfield!" to a United supporting mate, who has just linked that rumour to me on Facebook. Funny that.

Yeah its just the name rang a bell when I heard it. Was only half watching the final but remember some lad stood out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,649 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

He played in the final and in two other games.One of their midfielders looked very good in 2 of the games I seen them.Not sure if its him tho.

Yeah okay your right. Lets sell Rooney and give Anderson, who has been non existant, injured, overweight and down right pants for consecutive seasons, more wages just because he came on a kicked the ball wide.
    Rooney would have had a good game if he took one shot from distance that went wide? Eh no.
    But on the bright side, Anderson shot wide from distance. He should start against Fulham.
    SlickRic wrote: »
    why the holy hell are you focusing on this? nobody said he should be starting, with or instead of Rooney...all people did was say fair play to him for shooting.
    Jaysus, relax. It was tongue in cheek but its not me who focused on this.
    I nominate myself.

Rooneys Fat. Fellani is the new Roy Keane, Andreson is our new star player, FERGIR IS TOO OLD TO MANAGE UTD ANYMORE

WAHAHAHAHAHAHGARBLELELELELELELLELELELELELLEOHOHOHOHOHOHOUHUHUHUHUHUHUHOHOHOHOHOH
    Can you give it a rest with that? Literally nobody said anything even remotely close to that.
    Lighten up
    Your right. It is a waste of time with you but here goes. What snide marks did I make Monday and to whom? please enlighten me. Yesterday was defending against ppl calling Rooney fat and obesse so where are the two days of snide remarks?

Hope this helps.

Please desist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

f*ck right off, nothing and i mean nothing, compares to last season. i was at Wembley for 11 final, was in moscow so ive experienced both sides of the coin.

ive also experienced the 6-1, ive been there for our last minute winners against them.

dont you f8cking dare try to tell me which hurt more, cos you just dont have a f*cking clue. this place is being shown up today for what it is, a bunch of glory hunters who just dont get the importance of a league title and what it means for our club.

I have a feeling this was directed at me before it was removed? Had to go back to work so didn't see it.

You read my post wrong first off. I said the decider vs City. As in the game at Eastlands. To me it was always City's title after that. So yeah, imo and in the opinion of loads of other mancs I know the Barca finals hurt more. I'm not talking about last minute winners here. Maybe 2011 hurt the most for you because your're too young to remember other heartbreaks. The 1997 semi vs Dortmond when we should've won comfortably over 2 legs sticks in the mind. That was when we were trying to make the breakthrough in Europe and it felt like it would never come. The league we blew to Arsenal a year later. Each person has an opinion on what hurt more, so stop getting your knickers in a twist over someone's opinion.

You say those who value the CL more are Glory Hunters. Well your just making our point there aren't you. It's valued more because there's more glory. It's the only real competition in the world where the top clubs face off and one which we haven't won all that often in our history. Like you, i've experienced both sides of the coin too. I was at the game vs Chelsea in 2011 where we wrapped up the league. i was also at the CL semi in 08 where we beat Barca. I'll never experience an atmosphere like that again. Sheer joy anticipation and giddyness over what was ahead. It was a feeling that winning the PL couldn't match.

The majority of regulars at OT value Europe more, nobody can convince me otherwise of this. Since Matt Busby, United and the European cup have been intwined in emotion. There can be no question of which Alex values more either.

This is a forum, and hence here there are generally people of a higher education and IQ than an average football fan. People see things logically, i.e the CL is a lottery that needs luck and is only a few games, whereas the League is the bread and butter, the culmination of a seasons work and the best team wins, hence more important. So I can understand why the league is commonly accepted as more important here. But it doesn't work like that for the normal fan. At their most basic level, what a fan of a team wants most is glory. And currently, there is no bigger glory than the Champions League

J. Marston wrote: »
    If we manage to sell him twice, it'll be good business.

Oops, I meant Bebe but couldn't bring myself to type it, thats my excuse anyway.

Last night i was asking will Hernandez go back to Chile:pac:

Hope this helps.

Please desist.

Just as I thought, your two days of snide remarks comment was rubbish. Most of those are from Tuesday and the rest out of context and not close to snide and other not even from me. Maybe your easily offended and I'll take that into account the next time I make light of the threads meltdown. There has been some over the top stuff but good banter also in the last cople of days, its only you tht felt the need to go on the defensive and drag up my post history. Anyway I'm done with it.