Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

dahat wrote: »
    Henriquez has been granted a work permit..........

Didn't he say that Fergie see's him playing in the first team? Makes me wonder even more now if what i was told was true about PSG. I'll be disappointed if Hernandez is sold. I'd much rather see Berba and Macheda gone ahead of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Kagawa's through balls were brilliant last night. Really would love to see him play behind Rooney or RVP. Really think RVP signing is just going to push players out of their best position to accomadate players. We might have signed a world class striker but if we are going to play players out of their best positon we are weaker overall.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

A disgrace?

85 goals in the last three seasons and he missed a lot of 10/11. Thats two seasons he has been close to the 40 goal mark.

People have gone into meltdown today after the loss last night. It was only one game ffs. If Rooney curled in an equaliser none of this would be said. One shot on target and he would still be our star player but no, hes fat and should be dropped instead.

What Giles and Dunphy say is meaningless. Didnt you know Ronaldo is a brat, a spoofer and will never be a great player.

Ronney for some reason is taking the brunt of the frustration for last nights loss. Is he the new Park now?

Berbatov bags a load of goals and hes a lazy player who doesnt do it in the big games. Ronney scores loads in all types of games and he's a fat disgrace.

Some posters in here are an embarresment. Loss is a part of football and life. Last nights will not be the last, please learn how to act appropriatley when it happens again.

Dude, with all due respect you're wrong...100% wrong.

Rooney is a disgrace. He's a professional athlete being paid £1m a month and comes back unfit and overweight after the summer. This is the guy who was gonna f..k off to City a few years ago. The passion and emotional investment that people like us put into supporting United is more important than blind loyalty to someone that demonstrated no respect for us back then and no respect for us last night when he turned up unfit and obese.

Calling other posters "an embarrassment" and requesting that they "act appropriately" in the face of such behaviour is pretty insulting and disrespectful TBH. Nobody should throw their toys out of the pram because of a loss. But a loss in circumstances where our "star player" can't be bothered to look after himself and thinks that it's okay to show up fat and out of shape? Not acceptable and never should be.

Open your eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Jame Gumb wrote: »

Rooney is a disgrace. He's a professional athlete being paid £1m a month and comes back unfit and overweight after the summer. This is the guy who was gonna f..k off to City a few years ago. The passion and emotional investment that people like us put into supporting United is more important than blind loyalty to someone that demonstrated no respect for us back then and no respect for us last night when he turned up unfit and obese.

Calling other posters "an embarrassment" and requesting that they "act appropriately" in the face of such behaviour is pretty insulting and disrespectful TBH. Nobody should throw their toys out of the pram because of a loss. But a loss in circumstances where our "star player" can't be bothered to look after himself and thinks that it's okay to show up fat and out of shape? Not acceptable and never should be.

Open your eyes.

Lol he was hardly fat and unfit. He wasn't 100% as sharp as we'd like him but that'll come soon. If anything him being unfit(if he is) is down to the staff, the pre-season and Fergie obviouslt thought he was grand if he started the game and played 90 mins.

Actually just noticed you called him obese in your post. I shouldn't have even replied.

I am so p..sed off with Rooney it isn't funny.

Having said that, I shouldn't have called him obese...that's taking things too far. I stand by overweight and unfit though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

I was as frustrated as anyone last night watching Rooney. I think he looked a little unsure of what role he was playing. He linked up well with Kagawa a couple of times but there was no-one running in behind. The one time Welbeck made one of those runs, Shinji found him with a great pass but he hesitated and Jagielka got back.

Rooney is a disgrace. He's a professional athlete being paid £1m a month and comes back unfit and overweight after the summer.

I don't have HD satalite myself but the quality must be amazing or feel you're there on the pitch or the sideline that everyone can see how unfit and overweight Rooney was last night yet Ferguson the manager of Manutd for 26 years can't see it or can any of his full-time coaching staff, sports science staff or anyone else involved. The mind boggles :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Vidic Pre injury 2011 v 2012. Just thought I would look up old pics to see if anything other than the hair changed. Decide for yourselves.

131525560-nemanja-vidic-of-manchester-united-clashes-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=fOqRSGnZREbdOD5U9z9TH6bq%2bHJgXtmCXTIWMk%2fMNy1pn%2bx%2fB%2b078oExzrM2HrZQjO%2faVqTsC4CEsoF9Jrwd%2bF5QkR4V5m6vG%2fIrIAmKuS0%3d

150166115-nemanja-vidic-of-manchester-united-in-action-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=GkZZ8bf5zL1ZiijUmxa7QR4dlWAOQ4znDVJU3iAsSNJUutit5fGrIu%2b700rZ%2fLeTWRF7euE9wTGAmZIRUfPyIxIBfv6AfgiyXBXQBlTkwdQ%3d

Don't see any muscle loss myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

Vanbis wrote: »
    Didn't he say that Fergie see's him playing in the first team? Makes me wonder even more now if what i was told was true about PSG. I'll be disappointed if Hernandez is sold. I'd much rather see Berba and Macheda gone ahead of him.

I'd imagine he'll end up playing reserves and training with the first team with the odd League Cup appearance thrown in.

The problem with Berba and Macheda is there doesn't seem to be any real interest in them. Even a loan deal would be good now to just get them off the wage bill.

Chagan wrote: »
    I'd imagine he'll end up playing reserves and training with the first team with the odd League Cup appearance thrown in.

The problem with Berba and Macheda is there doesn't seem to be any real interest in them. Even a loan deal would be good now to just get them off the wage bill.

Macheda loans spells have been a disaster for him personally wherever he has gone. I'm surprised no one has come in for Berba and id imagine it's his wages which is probably a big problem yet he seems resigned to leaving the club and has said so himself several times so will be taking a pay cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Re: Rooney fitness, I agree he wasnt as sharp as he could be but lets not forget, Everton played at incredible intensity for an opening game of the season. I heard Phil Neville saying after the game they were brought back for pre season, so it seems their entire squad was better prepared for that game than we were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Did i not see rooney sprinting back to his own area late on to break up a counter attack? Doesn't seem like the actions of a fat overweight person to me. He wasn't on his game last night but some posters are talking complete **** on the subject

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I think the issue with Rooney is expectation. The way he burst onto the scene, people now expect more of him. He was tipped to be the best in the world by some and he hasn't lived up to it. He still scores plenty of goals. If a lesser known, and lets be honest, more likeable player, say Welbeck, scored the goals Rooney does, he'd be praised no end.

Rooney is a very good player but people look at him as of he's a great player, which he has yet to prove to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,801 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Some of the reaction here has been comical to read. Thanks for the laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Rooney is rightly judged to high standards. At 16 he sensationally ended Arsenal's long unbeaten run with a screamer and then burst on to the international scene at Euro 2004. His United debut was certainly the greatest I've ever seen and even negative naysayers like Dunphy and Giles described him at the time as "potentially the greatest player that the world has seen since Pele".

Yes he scored goals last season but he has not and is not fulfilling the promise that he showed back in those early years. That's what annoys people in my view.

I think you make your point well about Rooney being out of shape last night and that not being acceptable. And I agree with that. Edit: Actually I can't say you make the point well because you have gone overboard on it, but I agree that he doesn't look as sharp as he should be.

But this talk of him having not fulfilled his potential and the dismissal of his last season as anything less than excellent is nonsense. He wasn't just good compared to Andy fùcking Carroll, he was godlike compared to Andy fùcking Carroll. He was on a par with RVP as one of the best forwards in the world. Nowhere near Messi and Ronaldo obviously, but nobody is near that pair.

He scored a boat load of goals, linked up play well, ran his bollocks off to always be in space and fought for every scrap of a ball that our makeshift midfield could offer.

The truth is he has been living up to his potential, you just aren't fairly recognising all that his realised potential has brought to the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Open your eyes.

Since Rooneys public announcement that he wanted to leave he seems to have become a lighting rod for the blame after a defeat. After the 1-0 defeat to City last season people were saying he looked overweight. He has always been a big lad and people use his weight as a stick to beat him with.

After he decided to stay with us he gave us some great preformances. Thats not an excuse for what he did but he obviously saw the error of his ways and committed. Last season he was very good.

Rooney is not fat, he didn't show up fat. He may be lacking match fitness but hes not fat. Repeating it is just crazy.

Look at this photo from last night. His chest is big. He has done some strenght and conditioning work. His arms and legs are slender, look at how the jersey drapes loosely around the waist area. He is puffing his cheeks out which means he is exhaling air and his stomach would be pushed outwards whislt doing this as its impossible to suck it in and exhale air, yet there is no bulge but instead room in the jersey. If you were to grab this jersey and pull it tight you would see a slender waist, not as lean as some of the others on display but certainly not fat.

Everton+v+Manchester+United+Premier+League+42Acv4ZgjVal.jpg

He may not be 100% match fit but he's not fat. People need to stop using him as a scapegoat. There were many problems last night but he is getting awful abuse on here.

I said it before and I'll say it again. If he scored a header, deflected shot or gave an assist none of this would be said. Now all of a sudden he's a pig and not fit to wear the jersey. Knee Jerk stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,368 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Vidic Pre injury 2011 v 2012. Just thought I would look up old pics to see if anything other than the hair changed. Decide for yourselves.

131525560-nemanja-vidic-of-manchester-united-clashes-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=fOqRSGnZREbdOD5U9z9TH6bq%2bHJgXtmCXTIWMk%2fMNy1pn%2bx%2fB%2b078oExzrM2HrZQjO%2faVqTsC4CEsoF9Jrwd%2bF5QkR4V5m6vG%2fIrIAmKuS0%3d

150166115-nemanja-vidic-of-manchester-united-in-action-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=GkZZ8bf5zL1ZiijUmxa7QR4dlWAOQ4znDVJU3iAsSNJUutit5fGrIu%2b700rZ%2fLeTWRF7euE9wTGAmZIRUfPyIxIBfv6AfgiyXBXQBlTkwdQ%3d

Don't see any muscle loss myself.

He's 12% less intimidating with hair. He needs to shave it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Deank wrote: »
    I hope to god that isn't true and Berba was there a makeshift defender.
    I know a lot of you here have been slating Chico, offsides etc, but IMO he could be as big a legend at the club as Ole was, similar sort of striker too.

Solskjaer was by far a better footballer than Hernandez.
    By far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Rooney photo

Spot on, I reckon.

Granted he was poor last night, but he is NOT fat, nor anything like it.

Saw that pic on facebook earlier, and immediately thought of some of the posts on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

alproctor wrote: »
    Solskjaer was by far a better footballer than Hernandez.
    By far.

In his prime he was, I 100% agree with you, but Chico is still only 24 and has they potential to be every bit as good as Solskjær IMO....

But has Rooney fulfilled the potential that he showed when he burst on to the scene? No in my view.

One thing that hasn't been mentioned in his defence is how Fergie has f..ked him around over the years. During "the Ronaldo years" he was often stuck out on the left. In the last few years, he's often stuck up front on his own which just frustrates him in my view. To get the most out of him, he should be given a free role off a main striker. With Kagawa on the scene though now, that's unlikely to happen.

The conundrum is that United's best team probably can't feature Rooney, RVP and Kagawa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

his stomach would be pushed outwards whislt doing this as its impossible to suck it in and exhale air
    That's not not true by the way,I've just done it,not that I have much of a stomach but it still worked.
    And I probably looked a bit of a freak puffing out my cheeks and acting weird here in front of people in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Honestly the stuff being written in here since last night is beyond ludicrous. Think I'll avoid until Saturday when hopefully we beat Fulham and maybe then the banging of the face off the keyboard posters will have subdued a bit.
    It's football,opinions are going to differ,especially after a defeat.
    Granted,there's been a few ridiculous posts over the last few pages,borderline trolling from a couple that I would imagine are not even United fans but there's always the ignore function if you don't want to read what they are saying.....

I'm fully aware of that cambo I have no problem whatsoever with difference of opinion, in fact it's why I like this forum.

But you have as you say granted some of the posts are ridiculous and while some might be opposing fans trolling quite alot are United fans completely over reacting and going to crazy lengths slating individuals.

I was no more happy with our overall performance last night than the next person but for god sake it's ONE game we lost, long long way to go yet before these kind of slander posts are warranted.

Right now I'd personally rather look forward to Saturday that's the beauty of it the next game is only a few days away.

So what do people think our line up will be? Will a buzzing Fulham carry last weeks form with them to Old Trafford? Are we all looking forward to the Champions League group draw?

Point is folks we'll recover from last night and move forward, our team are slated enough by all the ABU's out there let's not give them a helping hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

vidic looked like wes brown!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Fair play to the lads defending the Rooney insults. We get that enough from opposing fans and its ridiculous to be listening to it in here.
    I thought he looked stuffed last night but not fat. Fergie said very recently Rooney struggles for form immediately after coming back from injuries because of his physique. He reckons he needs games to build up his form. So lets see what happens. If he plays out of his skin on Saturday and bangs in a few I want apologies from all you guys.

Also.... I think my haircut theory is definitely Correct looking at Vidic pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

cambo2008 wrote: »
    That's not not true by the way,I've just done it,not that I have much of a stomach but it still worked.
    And I probably looked a bit of a freak puffing out my cheeks and acting weird here in front of people in work.

Ok it is possible but not a natural movement. Like the old patting your head and rubbing your stomach tirck. Both can be done with practice but Rooney was in a game and would not have been trying to do this unnatural movement.

Your are constantly getting your breathing going in games like this and trying to regulate it so for him no deviation would have been possible

Also the Jerseys this year are very loose fitting. The seem baggier on the players. I think Rooney went with an XL. It seems big on him and makes the players look slightly different from last season. Hence a skinny Vidic and a fat Roonster.

I thought Nani was muck last night, in the early stages I thought his pace was electrifying. He was so quick and I thought he was going to tear through Everton but my god his decision making. He cant seem to cross a ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

2 very interesting articles on here. One on new formation, one on the everton game. Hes an intelligent tactical analyser this guy if you havent read him before.

http://www.zonalmarking.net/2012/08/21/ferguson-showcases-a-4-2-1-3-against-everton/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

But has Rooney fulfilled the potential that he showed when he burst on to the scene? No in my view.

Well let's see, how do we quantify such a thing? He's been the absolute heart and soul of the biggest and one of the best teams in the world for the last 6-8 years, since he was a teenager, consistently being one of the team's top performers every single season. He's the 4th highest scorer in the club's history at the age of 26, he has 366 appearances and scores on average every other game. He's a 4 time Premier League Winner and Champions League Winner.

Na, he's ****. Sell him.

We are damn lucky to have him, because we sure as shít wouldn't have won so much without him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Rooney has fulfilled his potential (and arguably gone beyond it when compared to some other teenage players). Just because he isn't a ballon d'or winner doesn't mean he is not one of the best forwards in the world.

at 26 he has 75 caps
    A European Cup, 4 PL titles.
    PFA, FWA Player of the year in 09-10.
    180+ goals in 330(36sub) games. That is 1 goal in every two games for United.

Against AC Milan alone he has 6 goals in 6 games :eek:!

Outside stats and awards he has led United since Ronaldo left. Sacrificed himself during that period and when we actually had Ronaldo to do whatever the club needed on the field. He has performed well in Big fixtures and small alike. Domestically and in Europe.

I should have replied with - The idea of Rooney not fulfilling his potential makes me lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Any of you rate Michael Dawson? I'm a bit in shock at the notion of Spurs selling him to QPR.
    This may seem a bit extreme but I'd offer Rio in a direct swap if they'd take it. Rio has really gone down in importance these days. If he was sold tomorrow I'd barely miss him.