Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

But on the bright side, Anderson shot wide from distance. He should start against Fulham.

why the holy hell are you focusing on this? nobody said he should be starting, with or instead of Rooney...all people did was say fair play to him for shooting.

but aside from that...yes Welbeck could be dropped, but the problem I would have with him if I were a Utd fan, and a problem some fans seem to share with me in his regard, is that he looked tired and overweight.

what's wrong with dropping him to the bench when you have so many attacking options now? it'll either give him a little kick up the whole, or give him time to sort out his fitness.

i don't see what the fuss is about that. it's probably part of why RVP was bought. nevermind the fact he can play with Rooney, he can also take the pressure off Rooney having to play every game anyway. i don't see the harm when you have the squad you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Welbeck seems to have ankles tied to his feet. His accelaration is no longer evident and the ball seems to get stuck under his foot for his first touch. Lets hope his sharperness increases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Welbeck seems to have ankles tied to his feet. His accelaration is no longer evident and the ball seems to get stuck under his foot for his first touch. Lets hope his sharperness increases.

I couldnt believe how slow he was when he was through on goal and then Jagielka tackled him and cleared the ball. Somehow I think Hernadez would have been away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

bullvine wrote: »
    I couldnt believe how slow he was when he was through on goal and then Jagielka tackled him and cleared the ball. Somehow I think Hernadez would have been away.

Or offside somehow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

SlickRic wrote: »
    why the holy hell are you focusing on this? nobody said he should be starting, with or instead of Rooney...all people did was say fair play to him for shooting.

but aside from that...yes Welbeck could be dropped, but the problem I would have with him if I were a Utd fan, and a problem some fans seem to share with me in his regard, is that he looked tired and overweight.

what's wrong with dropping him to the bench when you have so many attacking options now? it'll either give him a little kick up the whole, or give him time to sort out his fitness.

i don't see what the fuss is about that. it's probably part of why RVP was bought. nevermind the fact he can play with Rooney, he can also take the pressure off Rooney having to play every game anyway. i don't see the harm when you have the squad you have.

Jaysus, relax. It was tongue in cheek but its not me who focused on this. Rooney has been getting a slating on here this morning and Anderson who has added nothing to the team for years gets praised from numerous ppl for shooting wide, so I replied

If Rooney had shot wide in addition to what he did last night it would have been "he is unfit and lost his finishing touch". RVP also struggled to get into the game, even though he only had 15mins I expected a bit more of an impact.

Some of the abuse towards Rooney has been out of order though. "He is a fat mess" "panting like a rapist" "and other nonsense. Really? Is there need for this. The Irony of this is compounded further by the Anderson praise. This is the first start to a season where he hasn't looked overweight.

But anyway, I would like both RVP and Rooney to start Saturday. If the physicallity of that game is also too much, introduce Welbs or Berbatov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

bullvine wrote: »

From the replays you could see he had the opportunity to tap it ahead of Jagielka's tackle.

He either meant to put his foot between the ball and Phil (which is what he did) or fúcked up trying to tip it beyond Phil's tackle. The tackle then went through his foot.

Either way he fúck it up in some shape or form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

First game out of the way, terrible terrible performance, most of them still playing like it was a pre season game unfortunately.

No idea why Val was played ahead of Raf at right back either, the strange team selections starting already. When the team plays without natural width it tends to struggle, particularly when playing compact teams, it makes it too easy for them to just jam the middle.

Everton played really well last night and for the record, if Fellaini did play like that against every team he wouldnt still be at Everton.

United got no more then they deserved and hopefully it will serve as a kick in the ass for one or two of them, cannot afford to be playing catch up from the start, the days when teams can afford slow starts and win leagues are gone, its not the end of the world, Everton away is a tough fixture. Not normally for United I guess but it is a tough place to go and win, especially when they turn up in the way they did last night.

Couple of positives, Kagawa looked very good, its another 90 minutes for Vidic to get back to himself, Rooney got another game under his belt and RVP got the debut out of the way. Oh and of course, DDG was excellent, kept that score respectable. Fergie deflecting to the media is hardly surprising but hopefully he is not letting the team have any illusions about whether that performance was acceptable or not. If needs be Rooney can be dropped, we have an adequate replacement in terms of a goalscorer now and Kagawa and RVP together could be lethal. The reliance on Wayne is not even close to what it was.

His poor general play has gone on for quite a while now and its genuinely worrying me. I am sure he will come good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭adox

Calling for him to be dropped after one game is the usual over reactionary stuff.

But its really not. If it were a case of over reacting to a bad display then Im sure there would be calls for 5 or 6 players to be dropped.

Its Rooneys condition that is the reason so many are calling for him to be dropped. He looks unfit to my eyes and to others that have posted about the same on here. Never mind about match fitness, he looks out of shape, which is unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,118 ✭✭✭✭dahat

adox wrote: »
    But its really not. If it were a case of over reacting to a bad display then Im sure there would be calls for 5 or 6 players to be dropped.

Its Rooneys condition that is the reason so many are calling for him to be dropped. He looks unfit to my eyes and to others that have posted about the same on here. Never mind about match fitness, he looks out of shape, which is unacceptable.

Pretty much agree with people on Rooney but surely the club know how fit or unfit he is?
    Surely he did a bleep test when he got back in to the club plus i am sure the club assess condition of players on a regular basis.If the club are aware that he is that unfit and lacking basic condition and continue to play him at the highest level that is just laughable........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

cloptrop wrote: »
    Stats can be used to argue any point..

You sound more and more like mufcboy1999 every day.

Every time someone posts a stat, you pedal this.

It depends how you use them. They are useful to back up points if used correctly.

To dismiss legitimate use of stats to prove points, and say "stats can be used to argue any point" is a bit like saying like a cop saying "forensic evidence can be used to prove any one committed this crime" and then just ignoring the evidence.

Quite a few times, people have slated Nani, and when you say, he scored Y amount of assists (more than anyone else in the league), it easily proved they were talking out of their hole. Legitimate & undeniable.

Hernandez had a poor second season, well, actually if you compare his 1st and 2nd season in terms of goals, assists and minutes played, they are very similar. Legitimate use of stats for a guy who is there solely on his predatory instincts.

It's lazy to dismiss any posts or points the second you see a stat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,838 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Out of shape or not I'd still expect a player to have a decent first touch.
    Rooneys first touch last night was abominable ,it was coming back off him faster than it was hitting his foot.
    He has always had a poor first touch but last night was really bad .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,367 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Mars Bar wrote: »
    I like this one myself.

Man Utd Facebook ‏@MUFC_Facebook
    suck bull bollocks Alex, shouldnt hav started welbert

Welbert. Such a red neck sounding name!

Started laughing out loud when I read ''suck bull bollocks Alex.''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Rooney10 wrote: »

It depends how you use them. They are useful to back up points if used correctly.

To dismiss legitimate use of stats to prove points, and say "stats can be used to argue any point" is a bit like saying like a cop saying "forensic evidence can be used to prove any one committed this crime" and then just ignoring the evidence.

Quite a few times, people have slated Nani, and when you say, he scored Y amount of assists (more than anyone else in the league), it easily proved they were talking out of their hole. Legitimate & undeniable.

Hernandez had a poor second season, well, actually if you compare his 1st and 2nd season in terms of goals, assists and minutes played, they are very similar. Legitimate use of stats for a guy who is there solely on his predatory instincts.

The point re:Fellaini's misleading stats was pretty well made tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Rooney10 wrote: »
    Stats can be used to argue any point..

Quite a few times, peopble have slated Nani, and when you say, he scored Y amount of assists (more than anyone else in the league), it easily proved they were talking out of their hole. Legitimate & undeniable.

You must have just read the first line of my post. You dont seem to have noticed how I then went on to show him how his own stats were showing the player to be a bit if a headless chicken when it comes to flying into tackles and leaving himself out of position more than any other midfielder in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭aperture_nuig

You must have just read tge first line of my post. You dont seem to have notuced how I thenn went on to show him how his iwn stats were shiwing the playerr to be a bit if a headkess cgicken when it comes to flying into tackles and leaving himself out of posution more than any other midfielder in the country.

p008tfgc_640_360.jpg

You must have just read tge first line of my post. You dont seem to have notuced how I thenn went on to show him how his iwn stats were shiwing the playerr to be a bit if a headkess cgicken when it comes to flying into tackles and leaving himself out of posution more than any other midfielder in the country.

p008tfgc_640_360.jpg
    I edited the post fat thumbs do not a good post make.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Am I right in saying the Fulham game at the weekend will not be televised due to the fact it's on Saturday at 3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Macca07

Looks like we have a new penalty taker too

I edited the post fat thumbs do not a good post make.

Ah yeah I knew you were typing on a mobile device of some sort. Cheap shot by me.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Am I right in saying the Fulham game at the weekend will not be televised due to the fact it's on Saturday at 3?

Think it's on Setanta .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,367 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Do people still watch football on telly?
    I like this new streaming thing you can watch pretty much any match you want . Rupert murdoch doesnt choose for you ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,175 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I like this new streaming thing you can watch pretty much any match you want . Rupert murdoch doesnt choose for you ,

Of course they do. Bigger screen and no buffering. Why would you not want to watch it on telly if you could?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Wow.

All summer all the talk was "I can't wait for the season to start" so that we would have better discussion about actual football.

The last 20 pages of this thread are a tornado of knee-jerk reactions, rage, total abandonment of common sense and general bull****.

Roll on pre-season 13/14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Macca07 wrote: »
    Looks like we have a new penalty taker too

The next Denis Irwin.

Can't tell too much from that video though. At times it looks like he's playing as a left winger or even a striker, not a left back.

Also it doesn't show any of his defending. He has a fantastic eye for goal though and looks comfortable going forward. Looking forward to seeing him play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭stesaurus

I don't understand people who watch streaming. Sitting cramped over a small cream trying to make out who the hell is who and listening to some arabic commentator.

Live in the stadium > HD TV Screen >>>>>>>>>>Crappy streams

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Yeay, didn't think it would be on. Happy now.

And I will always choose to watch a game on my big TV on a comfy sofa over a small computer screen and an awkward office chair :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

s.welstead wrote: »
    I don't understand people who watch streaming. Sitting cramped over a small cream trying to make out who the hell is who and listening to some arabic commentator.

Playing in either team>Live in the stadium > HD TV Screen >Crappy streams

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

s.welstead wrote: »

I hook my laptop up to my HD TV, the LOF HD stream is about as perfect as you can get. You would never know it was a stream and it would even be better than SD imo. It costs me about 5 quid every couple of months, Sky Sports HD would cost me €50 per month.

You do the math.