Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I got bored and made this Kagawa wallpaper because Shinji is the man.

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h230/mikeyt086/Gingham-Home1.jpg

As always feel free to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

keane2097 wrote: »
    What game were people watching that they think Fellaini's performance says anything about our midfield? He played farther forward than Rooney for most of the game. The closest he came to our MF was marking Carrick.

It says that the United midfield does not have a player like Yaya or Fellani who get going when the going gets tough. Fellani won possession often tonight from long balls in both midfield and upfront. He played like Yaya did for City at the end of last season and on Sunday. Yaya's performance on Sunday, a continuation from the end of last season, and Fellani's tonight showed what United lack most of all. I for one would take Fellani over Van Persie right now!

Kagawa looked good tonight; Nani didn't really play at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Let's get this straight about Fellaini; he bossed Michael Carrick around. Had he done that to Vidic, then he would play up front every game and would be an excellent striker.

The reality is that Moyes sent him out to specificly target Carrick with his physicality and height. A valid and clever tactic but it doesn't turn Fellaini into the fix for our midfield problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

Let's get this straight about Fellaini; he bossed Michael Carrick around. Had he done that to Vidic, then he would play up front every game and would be an excellent striker.

The reality is that Moyes sent him out to specificly target Carrick with his physicality and height. A valid and clever tactic but it doesn't turn Fellaini into the fix for our midfield problems.

Did you see his control of the ball tonight? He was taking it from head to feet for fun! He's more of a fix for the midfield problem than anyone at United right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Fellaini woul be awesome signing, he did everything in every position. Playing as a striker, won aerial balls, created chances and created all sort of problems for defense.

Then when they were 1-0 ahead dropped deep and covered lot of ground by closing the midfield and won ground duels. Funny thing was when he was behind the player (who was ready to head the ball), so effortlessly he pushed the player or moved ahead of the player and brought the ball down. It was like big 6 plus feet bully playing against kids in park.

Not starting Anderson was a mistake, at least he tries to make use of the ball in the final third and drives the midfield. Most importantly he is physically stronger than any of our midfield player.

Kagawa was awesome, can't wait to see him how he does at OT against Fulham.

I'm not saying that Fellaini wouldn't improve us. I'm just saying that last night's performance was down to a very specific set of circumstances that were in favour of his playing style. He also did not play as a midfielder. He was a target man striker, for all intents and purposes.

Scholes is getting off very lightly in here for his performance last night I feel. He was a complete liability and up there with the Rooney's and Nani's in terms of bad performance. Everything from his tackling to his passing was one level below normal and he was a passenger for most of the game.

I'm not saying that Fellaini wouldn't improve us. I'm just saying that last night's performance was down to a very specific set of circumstances that were in favour of his playing style. He also did not play as a midfielder. He was a target man striker, for all intents and purposes.

Yeah, but if we have player like Fellaini we could have stopped him dominating our midfield.

He didn't dominate our midfield. He dominated Carrick, who was in defence.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

DDG, Vida and Kagawa. the rest of them were shocking.

Valencia at right full was beyond clueless. Get Raf in there. So much wrong with the team last night. Even if Rio was in there I don't think we'd have gotten anything from that game. Centre mid was so so poor.

Even when the ball was in midfield, we couldn't win even a single header. Cleverley couldn't win a single aerial duel (not his fault though) against him. Not every ball was played directly to the box, he won many balls in midfield.

Our midfield with the ball was very good but without we struggled big time. It was too easy for Fellaini.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Yes Darren Gibson and Phil Neville dominated our midfield.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Was it just me who noticed that he kept going wide and won far more battles with Valencia and Evra than he did against Carrick.

I saw Valencia winning one header against Fellaini and that was enough for me to give MOTM for Valencia. Then later in the second half Vidic won one header, so it was tough to choose between the 2.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Fellaini wouldn't have won so many of those headers if Rafael was on the pitch.

In the pre-match interview SAF said he left Chico out of the squad to make room for some defensive cover, I reckon towards the end of last season it would have been Berbatov that would have been sacrificed. Anything in that do ya think?

But anyway, Kagawa needs to start every game ever. :)

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    I saw Valencia winning one header against Fellaini and that was enough for me to give MOTM for Valencia. Then later in the second half Vidic won one header, so it was tough to choose between the 2.
    Vidic won 2!! The beast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

lordgoat wrote: »
    Yes Darren Gibson and Phil Neville dominated our midfield.

With a whole 46 successful passes between them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

In the pre-match interview SAF said he left Chico out of the squad to make room for some defensive cover, I reckon towards the end of last season it would have been Berbatov that would have been sacrificed. Anything in that do ya think?

Yeah you would think Berbatov would have been left out of the squad with Chico on the bench. I really hope there isn't any issues in the backround.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭adox

I wonder is Fergie just putting Valencia in the side for the sake of it as he thinks so much of him?

I mean with Carrick playing at CB, it seemed madness to stick another non defender in the back 4. Add to that Vidic just back after 8 months and the liability that Evra is these days, he seems even more bizzare in hindsight.

I would give Wootton a run out at the weekend(If Rio is still unavailable). We need defenders defending and hell we need Carrick back in CM, especially if we are going to play so many forward thinking midfielders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Foul humor. What an anti climax that was . Need to get rvp fit asap so he can carry us like he did with arsenal.
    In all fairness though we were just outmatched physically. Please jaysus get some feckin steal un the squad and give vidic some grub he looks more like solomon kalou than the big hulking centre half he used to be.

So Evans will be the first defender to be back and he won't be available for game against Fulham. Again Carrick will play as CB. Happy days. sigh..

Hopefully Wootton will play as CB against Fulham as playing Carrick as CB, we are weakening 2 positions in one shot.

Rafael Vidic Wootton Evra in defense. Kagawa, Carrick, Anderson, Nani, Rooney, Welbeck/RVP as attackers/midfielders however they want to line up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

Was it Fellani's mop causing the illusion or did Vidic look very slender last night? Thought he looked about a stone and half lighter than normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

My thoughts. Firstly, I don't think any team would have beaten that everton team last night. They played like a team out to impress, and they did just that. United were extremely make shift, in most every position. Ferguson doesn't seem to know what his best starting eleven is, and I agree with many and say that it doesn't include scholes and cleverly playing together.

I'll probably be in the minority but Wellbeck is not a man utd player. Whenever he gets the ball I expect him to fall over, be dispossessed or balloon the ball over the bar. Simply not good enough.

Vidic, as someone said, did not look like he had never been gone. He was a yard or two off the pace and is a few matches from being back to himself. I also wish he would stop this annoying habit of pulling player's jersies...especially when they are going nowhere, like Coleman was near the end there.

I have a fear that RVP won't be able to fit into this team because ferguson will be stubborn and persist with sub par players like wellbeck.

Rooney was terrible - you'd think the signing of RVP would spur him into trying to show that he's still the top man.

AND WHEN DID WE STOP PUTTING TWO MEN ON THE POSTS FOR CORNERS???

Nani and Anderson are United's two most frustrating players. If they don't buck up their ideas soon they should be sent packing.

I still belive we can win the league and won't panic about last night - everton were the last team we wanted to be playing in our first match.

I do wonder about some of Ferguson's decisions at times and really wonder how he can't see the obvious at times. Maybe players like wellbeck and Anderson do wonderful things in training?

Vidic, as someone said, did not look like he had never been gone. He was a yard or two off the pace and is a few matches from being back to himself. I also wish he would stop this annoying habit of pulling player's jersies...especially when they are going nowhere, like Coleman was near the end there.

To be fair, Coleman was going somewhere, the fact that Vidic fouls him would indicate this. He rightly conceded the free.
    Nani and Anderson are United's two most frustrating players. If they don't buck up their ideas soon they should be sent packing.

Anderson didn't really do anything wrong when he came on IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cdb

From this mornings Guardian

Sir Alex Ferguson blames defeat at Everton on lack of finishing touch

Sir Alex Fergeson bemoaned Manchester United's finishing and his side's inability to harness Robin van Persie as they were beaten by Everton in an early blow to their hopes of reclaiming the Premier League from Manchester City, who began their challenge by beating Southampton on Sunday.
    Ferguson chose to start Van Persie on the bench, introducing the striker only after 68 minutes as his team lost 1-0 to Marouane Fellaini's goal. He said: "It was a pretty good game and there wasn't anything between the two teams. We were the better football team, they had eight shots on target and David de Gea [the United goalkeeper] did very well for us in that way. But we had the possession and made some great openings without actually finishing it. We were a wee bit [disappointing] in terms of finishing off the approach play we had. Other than that we played good football, good combination play, and on another day we would have won the match.
    "There were a couple of moments: Tom [Cleverley's shot was] blocked by Phil Jagielka on the line. We had these kind of moments but the team worked well and played some great football. It's difficult here. You have the crowd influencing the referee all the time."
    On Van Persie, who entered the match to play alongside Wayne Rooney in a 4-4-2 formation, Ferguson said: "We played around him too much, we didn't show enough penetration and, with Robin in your team, you know you want to use his ability against centre-backs in situations he is very good at. But we didn't use him enough."
    With Rio Ferdinand, Chris Smalling, Phil Jones and Jonny Evans all injured, Ferguson had only Nemanja Vidic of his recognised central defenders fit and he was making a first senior appearance following injury last December. This forced the manager to field Michael Carrick as an emergency centre-back.
    "That is a problem but we coped quite well. I don't think you can criticise their performance in that respect," said Ferguson. "It was just difficult to handle him [Fellaini] when they were knocking these balls up to him. He is a handful, a big, tall, gangly lad, and they just lumped the ball forward to him, that's all they did. They worked from that base all the time and they got a goal from him, so it's justified. Michael did fine, good on the ball, and he applied himself well; they all applied themselves well.
    "I don't think any [of the defenders] will be fit for Fulham on Saturday. Hopefully Jonny Evans is getting near to be able to start. With a good week's training it will bring him on a bit and in a couple of weeks he will be okay."
    David Moyes, the Everton manager, said: "I'm really pleased because I thought the team performed ever so well and got a great result. We haven't started the season very well [in recent seasons] and even tonight's result doesn't tell you you've started the season well. Just like if we'd lost tonight we would not have said we started the season badly. You probably judge it after about 10 games how you start the season."
    Fellaini said: "It's a great start to the season for us. We started well and we kept going. It was a good performance from us. For the goal, it was a good corner and I just tried to get my head on it.
    "We had a lot of chances in the first half and I felt that, if we kept going, there was a chance we would score."
    A positive omen for United is that they are the only Premier League club to have lost their opening match and gone on to claim the title. They have done it twice.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/aug/21/manchester-united-everton-premier-league

1) Blame our finishing
    2) Blame the referee
    3) Don't criticise the performance

:(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

As I said yesterday, at least Anderson took a shot.

I don't understand why we aren't trying to just shoot the ball at the net nowadays. It's become clear that teams will play 10 men in the box against United. When that happens, we simply cannot just work the ball into the box. Crosses are obviously a good try. But why don't we just blast the ball into the box? Ten players means the chance of numerous deflections and an impossible task for the goalkeeper to keep a good eye on the ball.

I'm not saying it's a perfect situation, but it seems to be something we barely try anymore...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

To be fair, Coleman was going somewhere, the fact that Vidic fouls him would indicate this. He rightly conceded the free.

Anderson didn't really do anything wrong when he came on IMO.

Coleman wasn't going anywhere. We had cover from the midfield. And Anderson did nothing, full stop. And he seems to be putting on a lot of weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

cdb wrote: »
    3) Don't criticise the performance

he will behind the scenes.

and lads, Fellaini beat up Carrick and Valencia, not the midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Corvo

My thoughts. Firstly, I don't think any team would have beaten that everton team last night. They played like a team out to impress, and they did just that. United were extremely make shift, in most every position. Ferguson doesn't seem to know what his best starting eleven is, and I agree with many and say that it doesn't include scholes and cleverly playing together.

I'll probably be in the minority but Wellbeck is not a man utd player. Whenever he gets the ball I expect him to fall over, be dispossessed or balloon the ball over the bar. Simply not good enough.

I have a fear that RVP won't be able to fit into this team because ferguson will be stubborn and persist with sub par players like wellbeck.

Rooney was terrible - you'd think the signing of RVP would spur him into trying to show that he's still the top man.

AND WHEN DID WE STOP PUTTING TWO MEN ON THE POSTS FOR CORNERS???

I still belive we can win the league and won't panic about last night - everton were the last team we wanted to be playing in our first match.

I do wonder about some of Ferguson's decisions at times and really wonder how he can't see the obvious at times. Maybe players like wellbeck and Anderson do wonderful things in training?

All a bit of an over reaction to be honest. First game of the season and we never kick in for another few games.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Still need about 2 world class midfielders, what we isnt good enough. And Rooney needs a kick up the arse