Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Sahin appears to be on his way, Reports gathering pace on M'vila and Llorente though i doubt all 3 will come, Its most unlike Wenger to be splashing the cash like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

wonga77 wrote: »
    Sahin appears to be on his way, Reports gathering pace on M'vila and Llorente though i doubt all 3 will come, Its most unlike Wenger to be splashing the cash like this

Llorente is a distant third as far as I can see. Still, cross fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

A last hurrah ? Maybe he's dropping project youth for the more prosaic let's try and win something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

greendom wrote: »

A last hurrah ? Maybe he's dropping project youth for the more prosaic let's try and win something.

Maybe he's been at Jacks marching powder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

We don't play with a DM in the first place.

Indeed. However we could do with a more defensively minded midfielder in the trio we usually play - Arteta did it Saturday and maybe he can do it for the season.

We will not be signing Llorente having bought Giroud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

I'm 90% confident we have signed Sahin, but there is know way Llorente and M'vila will be signed as well.

And if they are signed.... Well then This manger we have isn't Wenger but instead a Alien who supports Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Not sure about M'vila, would love to get Llorente though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I must say I found today's newspapers quite over the top. We drew a match and suddenly the word 'crisis' is being thrown our way. Pages and pages of how Arsenal are fecked this season, while Liverpool seem to have gotten off very lightly in terms of criticism after their pathetic mauling by West Brom. Why are we the ones getting all the flak when Liverpool's situation looks a lot worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Galvasean wrote: »
    I must say I found today's newspapers quite over the top. We drew a match and suddenly the word 'crisis' is being thrown our way. Pages and pages of how Arsenal are fecked this season, while Liverpool seem to have gotten off very lightly in terms of criticism after their pathetic mauling by West Brom. Why are we the ones getting all the flak when Liverpool's situation looks a lot worse?

Because it's current and it hooks people. Evidently it worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Was Wenger not vocal of our attack 3 the other day ? I think we could be leaving the 4-3-3 simply because it was designed for Cesc and then it suited RVP as he had played there when it was incorporated for Cesc.

The signing of Sahin and M'Vila if they both go through will allow us to play a more static 4-4-2 or 4-2-3-1 ( which you could argue we played the other day )

On a side note, Chelsea played some really excellent football at times today, Oscar looked good when he came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Todays newspappers were borderline retarded in all honesty, its just lazy journalism for lazy readers to ill informed or to lazy to form there own opinions but sometimes I can fall into that bracket to :o, not being a snob:).

I had two United fans today try tell me that we would struggle to make Champions League Giroud was a flop becaue he missed one sitter, and Podolski couldnt hack it at Bayern so was destined to be a flop aswell when asked if either had seen either players play before both said no :rolleyes:. The only good thing from all of this is its the same every year and every year I get some satisfaction at least in proving fans of all teams wrong on that front, we just seem to be the team the media love to bash, Liverpool lost 3-0 and yet in the papers it was all about how Arsenal will struggle etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Hopefully we get Shain and one from Llorente/M'Vila. Would love for Wenger to give the two fingers to van Pursestrings, "No ambition eh?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

dorgasm wrote: »
    Hopefully we get Shain and one from Llorente/M'Vila. Would love for Wenger to give the two fingers to van Pursestrings, "No ambition eh?"

Ya would love it if we signed a few juicy players in the last two weeks of the transfer window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭stuchyg

not sure if this is allowed but can I give a blog a quick plug. Goonerrepublic.com

Yet another Irish run Arsenal blog.

Not sure on the M'vila deal as Wenger is doubtful of his mentality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

640766452.jpg?key=15362048&Expires=1345412596&Key-Pair-Id=APKAIYVGSUJFNRFZBBTA&Signature=wGPsMH8trk3jqOvyRGD7I7W~FBH26t7tHiEQ0kNw8WpgoNQwHT3fN5iGGcvoqd7BwYOdrgLo3jzldBc6hiC8MUm19qcJSKIM~VC5cQYY1fnPUpGrEmJSGTFHTd~fCi51A2RsHHK2-EQL9tjxlNzjhGb1rGVeZJqomiV8acAUVhQ_

Wonder if Wenger mentioned this to Barca. Isn't the selling of faulty goods in contravention of European law ?

In fairness to Song he may had all of them traits but hes been nothing but a gent on twitter since he left, it is a new account but does seem to be real having conversations with Frimmpong, Afobe etc and retweets of them

He had this to say

All i can say now is that i am thankful to all the arsenal support i have received with my 6 years here. I would be nothing without you all!

Also i must thank Arsene Wenger for everything he has done for me. He noticed me and made me into who i am today, i wish him all the best.

Regardless of how he left regards attitude etc at least in public he has done the decent thing.

As for Aguero hope hes not to badly injured but if City are going to start panicing looking for a striker imagine how much we could have got for the dutch traitor of them if they were in a panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

this is the story from that back page link

By John Cross Comments 19 Aug 2012 22:35
    Lazy, late, bad attitude: Arsenal couldn't wait to get rid of Alex Song...

As midfielder flies to Barcelona for medical and to agree personal terms around £70k/week the real story behind exit emerges from Emirates...

Floored character: Arsenal felt Alex Song was far from a model professional - and were happy to get shot of him
    Victor Fraile / Getty
    Arsene Wenger decided to sell Alex Song to Barcelona after completely losing patience with the Arsenal midfielder.

The Gunners boss offloaded Song in a £15million move, with a deal already lined up for Real Madrid starlet Nuri Sahin to bolster the midfield.

But the truth behind the Cameroon star’s departure is that the club decided to sell after he continually turned up late for training, was seen as being lazy, drove the coaching staff to distraction and lacked defensive discipline.

Training grounds for concern: Arsene Wenger has not been impressed with Alex Song's performances off the pitch
    Lintao Zhang

Song, whose contract was due to expire in 2015, also pushed for a new deal but the club became suspicious when they were told Barcelona were interested.

Song then told Arsenal he wanted to leave last week and the club made no attempt to stand in his way.

But the fact he wanted out forced Arsenal’s hand – and they decided to sell, even though they were under no pressure to move on a player who had the club’s leading assists record, with 11 last season.

Barcelona moved to set up the deal quickly and Arsenal are now looking to tie up Sahin on a one-year loan deal, even though he is a different style of player.

Song flew to Barcelona yesterday to undergo a medical and agree personal terms of around £70,000 a week.

Wenger even alluded to the fact that there was more to the Song deal than he wished to disclose.

The Arsenal boss had doubts midway through last season and that is why they scouted Rennes midfielder Yann M’Vila.

And the last few weeks have only confirmed his decision to sell Song.

Wenger said: “There are different reasons, I don’t want to come out with that now, but it happened. Every case is individual and maybe one day I will explain everything.

“We are left with that decision and now we have to face it and deal with it in the correct way.

“Hopefully we can. Possibly we will bring in a player, if not we have plenty of midfielders.

“We make the players here. All that have left were made here or made a name here or came here very young.

“Fabregas, Clichy, Adebayor, Henry, Nasri, all of them. Song came at 17.He had a lot to do but he did it.

“I believe part of our club is to influence people’s lives in a positive way. You would prefer to influence it in a positive way for yourself but it does not always happen.”

:pac::pac: according to The Mirror, Tottenham want Chamakh on loan for the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

:pac::pac: according to The Mirror, Tottenham want Chamakh on loan for the season.

He'd probably start scoring for them.
    Would they take Squillachi I wonder ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

batistuta9 wrote: »
    this is the story from that back page link

That last bit is quite depressing. You really have to feel for the boss sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

That last bit is quite depressing. You really have to feel for the boss sometimes.

Shocking if it true! It is just very bad form and never expected that from Song tbh.

Absolutely, you'd have to feel for the boss the way things have panned out with all those players - its very clear he didn't want some sold [Nasri] and others just threw what he did for them in his face and refused to play for the club again/acted the bollox in training [Song, Fabregas]. Obviously the club attempted to do something about this by having the youngsters on highly paid long term contracts but all that's succeeded in doing is tying the likes of Bendtner and Denilson to the club.

He gets very unfair press at times does Wenger. I've no doubt in my mind without him we'd be in the same situation as Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Look, here is my take players leaving a club. It's a job to them. By the time 90% of the players we are talking up today reach 35 they will be getting paid fluc all.

That means they have another 40 or 50 years to support themselves on what they earn now. If they attract the attention of a club that can pay them more and increase their profile, meaning more external sponsorship advertising then they will move and fair play to them. The days of never ending club loyalty are well and truly over. Arsenal will rarly see the like of wright, seman, adams, dixon et al again.

However all player are replaceable.......remember when ye lost henry the club did not implode

racso1975 wrote: »
    Look, here is my take players leaving a club. It's a job to them. By the time 90% of the players we are talking up today reach 35 they will be getting paid fluc all.

That means they have another 40 or 50 years to support themselves on what they earn now. If they attract the attention of a club that can pay them more and increase their profile, meaning more external sponsorship advertising then they will move and fair play to them. The days of never ending club loyalty are well and truly over. Arsenal will rarly see the like of wright, seman, adams, dixon et al again.

However all player are replaceable.......remember when ye lost henry the club did not implode

I'd broadly agree. However losing 2 first teamers a season, as has happened since the Invincibles season, is killing the progress of the team. The rabbits AW pulls out the hat to replace them merely have us standing still when we could be moving forward. I agree the reality of the situation is that loyalty is a redundant concept in football, however this hasn't stopped Gerrard staying with Liverpool, Rooney staying with United and Lampard/Terry staying with Chelsea. You need that type of foundation in the squad - players who get what it means to play for the club and those quoted do. Ultimately that should be our goal - everyone committed to the club and improving every season.

Hopefully with the sponsorship deals up for renewal in the next couple of years we'll have the cash inflow to allow us spend ~£30m per season on transfers and wages that'll allow us keep our players and add quality where its needed. For all the oil dollars washing around the game you can still only play 11 players a time and we certainly have the ability to source 11 that can compete at all levels - so long as the asset stripping thats been going on stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

That means they have another 40 or 50 years to support themselves on what they earn now.

I don't buy the 'short career' excuse for footballers who lack loyalty. They make more in a week than most do in a year. A few years on 'only' £70k per week would have a person made for life. It's quite the retirement nest egg. Not to mention any reasonably succesful footballer, when he does decide to hang up his boots, can walk into a job as a pundit/journo/presenter or whatever. Then there are more directly football related career choices too; coaching, scouting, management etc.
    Premier League players don't suddenly go hungry once they hit 35.

I don't buy the 'short career' excuse for footballers who lack loyalty. They make more in a week than most do in a year. A few years on 'only' £70k per week would have a person made for life. It's quite the retirement nest egg. Not to mention any reasonably succesful footballer, when he does decide to hang up his boots, can walk into a job as a pundit/journo/presenter or whatever. Then there are more directly football related career choices too; coaching, scouting, management etc.
    Premier League players don't suddenly go hungry once they hit 35.

Yeah i get the 70k a week point but you also have to realise that the lifestyle they lead while getting paid that is one of somebody gets paid 70k a week. Flash cars clothes watch's holidays etc. and in fairness how many of the great footballers of the 90's have jobs that are well paid or have a huge level of success post football

cson wrote: »
    I'd broadly agree. However losing 2 first teamers a season, as has happened since the Invincibles season, is killing the progress of the team. The rabbits AW pulls out the hat to replace them merely have us standing still when we could be moving forward. I agree the reality of the situation is that loyalty is a redundant concept in football, however this hasn't stopped Gerrard staying with Liverpool, Rooney staying with United and Lampard/Terry staying with Chelsea. You need that type of foundation in the squad - players who get what it means to play for the club and those quoted do. Ultimately that should be our goal - everyone committed to the club and improving every season.

Hopefully with the sponsorship deals up for renewal in the next couple of years we'll have the cash inflow to allow us spend ~£30m per season on transfers and wages that'll allow us keep our players and add quality where its needed. For all the oil dollars washing around the game you can still only play 11 players a time and we certainly have the ability to source 11 that can compete at all levels - so long as the asset stripping thats been going on stops.

Rooney held utd to ransom last year for more money and got it. Lamps/Terry were involved in a fairly successful Chelsea squad having won the league where big money was being paid. Gerrard was speculated a few years ago however the move never happened so i'll concede on him being the last loyal footballer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

so i'll concede on him being the last loyal footballer

Without a doubt Gerrard is the exception to the rule but without a doubt he will be getting/got a huge bonus payment to sweeten the deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Without a doubt Gerrard is the exception to the rule but without a doubt he will be getting/got a huge bonus payment to sweeten the deal.

totti's another one & even de rossi so far anyway + there are more too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

I know it sucks having RvP and Song leave in the last week, a bit demoralizing but it seems like Wenger has the bit between his teeth this transfer window and won't leave the team short going into the new season. I saw a lot of positives in the game on Saturday, the team just needs to settle and get into a rhythm. Once that happens The Arsenal will be a handful for any team they come up against this season.