Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Nah, overtaking lane.

Really, jaysus! :eek:

EDIT: I realise you were being sarcastic. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Lovely evening for a blast into the wicklow mountains I think....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Sold the Clio!

Bought a 1998 Astra 1.7TD estate, 200K on the clock with 1 previous owner! Tested until 10/12.....€300! Bloody delighted with it, toolboxes and cleaning stuff loaded into the back already. If I could get a reasonable insurance quote I'd actually keep it! Handy for hauling the dog around. I got it from my 'contacts' brother!

Also, my 'contact' is on the way out to me with a 2L Rover 75, €300 delivered from Balbriggan. I don't even know what its like :pac: He says everythings bang on except the ABS light which has come on...

Bloody glad I met this chap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I fecking loled just now...

I ordered tyres from eiretyres, which looked like Irish company? Then it had all the Uk references and contact details. Now I got a tracking number for my tyres and those are coming from germany... Like WTF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I ordered tyres from eiretyres, which looked like Irish company? Then it had all the Uk references and contact details. Now I got a tracking number for my tyres and those are coming from germany... Like WTF!

Yep sounds about right, didn't you know that Germany own Ireland now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,834 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I'd be very surprised if any Irish person named a business eiretyress. Doesn't surprise me that it's German although a bit surprised that they don't source stock through an Irish distributor. Is there a long delivery time?

Marcusm wrote: »
    I'd be very surprised if any Irish person named a business eiretyress. Doesn't surprise me that it's German although a bit surprised that they don't source stock through an Irish distributor. Is there a long delivery time?

Despatched on 10 th and will be here only at 17!!! I would have ordered from uk then...

What is really weird is that shipping is free...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

More than likely built into the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

New car has just arrived :cool:

More than likely built into the price.

i would have ordered from blackcircles, but they did not let me choose ireland for shipment. they dont ship to ireland anymore? price would have been same. i used them before and they delivered next day to me.

i really hate to wait for deliveries...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Despatched on 10 th and will be here only at 17!!! I would have ordered from uk then...

Offer much sooner than the estimated delivery times though. Speaking of couriers in general, not eiretyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

cgal093 wrote: »
    New car has just arrived :cool:

Jimbob 83 wrote: »

Cgal is male.

Still a mad bitch !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Time for a spin up around Howth head and then onto Portmarnock and the back of the Airport and St. Margarets I think. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

A week for tyres?

I ordered tyres from the UK for the T/A last year during the snow on a Tuesday afternoon and they were delivered Thursday morning. They be 'speciality' tyres too!

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    A week for tyres?

I ordered tyres from the UK for the T/A last year during the snow on a Tuesday afternoon and they were delivered Thursday morning. They be 'speciality' tyres too!

i know... if i would have known that i would not had ordered from them... looks like god it self is against me getting my mx5 sorted... :rolleyes:

well lads, so my next item to sort is a set of lock nuts.

this is irish company? anyone know anything about these?

http://shop.mcgautostyling.com/us-racing-aluminum-lug-nuts-l52-m12x1-5mm-red-blue-silver-black-titanium-for-wheels-with-acorn-tapered-seat-fittings-most-aftermarket-wheels.html

then again is there anything specific i need to look in to lock nuts? i know i need that size, but i dont know about quality. these ones look same as the ones for 70eu... so i wonder is there any difference or only paying for name?

well lads, so my next item to sort is a set of lock nuts.

this is irish company? anyone know anything about these?

http://shop.mcgautostyling.com/us-racing-aluminum-lug-nuts-l52-m12x1-5mm-red-blue-silver-black-titanium-for-wheels-with-acorn-tapered-seat-fittings-most-aftermarket-wheels.html

then again is there anything specific i need to look in to lock nuts? i know i need that size, but i dont know about quality. these ones look same as the ones for 70eu... so i wonder is there any difference or only paying for name?

I don't know much about lock nuts but I do know from experience that the McGaurd ones will rust up very easily if you use an acidic wheel cleaner so just know that ;)

I second what MM said, mine are in bits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Oh ho I hate French electrics!!!!

Having just finished work, as I walked out the back gate I saw a 2007 LR Defender parked up, as I walked by I had a quick glance at the windscreen and saw to my amazement that the insurance disc was out of date since May 2011(!) and the tax was out since October 2010. I was raging that this guy was out the driving this actual car. Made a quick call to local Garda station who said they'd be up for a look in about 10 minutes.

Result. Hopefully one less sh1thead on the road by now.

I don't know much about lock nuts but I do know from experience that the McGaurd ones will rust up very easily if you use an acidic wheel cleaner so just know that ;)

you talking about the ones i linked? sorry, you lost me there a bit. or you talking about all their stock?

I only looked at the ones in the link now and that's not what I'm talking about. They are ordinary nuts whereas I mean the safety ones.

Oh lord. You're going to have the "fair play" people and the "mind your own business" people at ya now :P

If somebody's wishes to come at me with "mind your own business" and so on they can rightfully get stuffed. If this clown is going around with no insurance on a public road for more than a year(!) then I'll make it my business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

166man wrote: »
    If somebody's wishes to come at me with "mind your own business" and so on they can rightfully get stuffed. If this clown is going around with no insurance on a public road for more than a year(!) then I'll make it my business.

Yeah, tax is more a "moral" argument, but christ driving uninsured!?

I only looked at the ones in the link now and that's not what I'm talking about. They are ordinary nuts whereas I mean the safety ones.

you mean brand "mcguards" are crap?

sorry, i am a bit tired today.

anyway, i wonder if those will do the job?

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Yeah, tax is more a "moral" argument, but christ driving uninsured!?

Yep, if someone doesn't want to pay tax for two years go right ahead. They'll get caught eventually, insurance or lack of insurance could directly affect me and as a user of public roads it's my business that the chancer be caught.

Are banded steelies safe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Are banded steelies safe?

Nope. But they do look :cool: