How many nights per week do you drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 buzzardflute

Nice thread,pulls the truth out about the problem all us irish folk have now with cheap beer.

I drink at home or in the pub three night a week,when i do i intend to get locked so its always ten pints of guinness in the pub or ten bottles of tyskie at home,on a tyskie at home buzz this evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I'd have a bottle of red once a week.

I had about 2, maybe less, on Friday. I was out then though.

Having my usual one at home tonight.

Love being tipsy on my own. I do craic myself up ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

syndeyfife wrote: »
    I'd have a bottle of red once a week.

I had about 2, maybe less, on Friday. I was out then though.

Having my usual one at home tonight.

Love being tipsy on my own. I do craic myself up ;)

When you say you were out and had the wine, do you just randomly buy the bottle from a bar and drink it from the bottle or throw it in a glass or what?

It was only after I realised I should have bought a bottle, but I just got glasses of red all night. Idiot :mad:

syndeyfife wrote: »
    It was only after I realised I should have bought a bottle, but I just got glasses of red all night. Idiot :mad:
    Yeah I agree on that one :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Slightly left field on this topic but was wondering if anyone has had serious problems from drinking?

Not your average" slept with someone I shouldn't" or "fell and cut my knee" type thing.

Real problems from the demon drink...........

mishkalucy wrote: »
    Slightly left field on this topic but was wondering if anyone has had serious problems from drinking?

Not your average" slept with someone I shouldn't" or "fell and cut my knee" type thing.

I never did anything *bad* but for a good few months I met this girl online form another country and eventually it went from "ah I won't go out this week" all the way to "may aswell just drink at home" and I'd end up drinking 3-4 times a week. We're talking about 8 cans of cider.
    So nothing light by any means.

Eventually I kinda tore myself out of it because I thought it might be the cause of a medical problem (it wasn't) but I pretty much just stopped drinking so much.

It was mostly a mixture of being o nthe dole and being indoors and bordem I think. Lasted probably 14 months.

Is that what you meant?

I never did anything *bad* but for a good few months I met this girl online form another country and eventually it went from "ah I won't go out this week" all the way to "may aswell just drink at home" and I'd end up drinking 3-4 times a week. We're talking about 8 cans of cider.
    So nothing light by any means.

Eventually I kinda tore myself out of it because I thought it might be the cause of a medical problem (it wasn't) but I pretty much just stopped drinking so much.

It was mostly a mixture of being o nthe dole and being indoors and bordem I think. Lasted probably 14 months.

Is that what you meant?

Kind of I guess.

What had me thinking was a story I heard about someone(female) who drank a whole bottle of spirits on night out(she's not a kid either).
    I like a drink but was shocked that she didn't have a seizure etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Only Twice.

daytime and night-time.

Kind of I guess.

What had me thinking was a story I heard about someone(female) who drank a whole bottle of spirits on night out(she's not a kid either).

Oh I have lots of those stories (not about me luckily). But there is one or two girls who are part of my "group" that are known to down near enough a bottle of vodka as a "pre-drink" then hitting the clubs at about 11 or 11:30. They could just be used to it and not realizing how much damage they're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭OMARS_COMING_

Kind of I guess.

Lol what??

Thats a standard weekend for thousands of people around Ireland,male and female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

zero

Lol what??

Thats a standard weekend for thousands of people around Ireland,male and female.

Just for clarification, I mean a litre bottle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Recently gave up drinking as I was sick of the bloat and the hangovers but before this, I'd drink maybe 4 or 5 beers 3 or 4 times a week.
    Had to pack it in when I found out how many carbs and empty calories are in my favorite dark German beers.

I have an awful habit of letting years of emotions go after Ive had a few drinks. Been through a hell of a lot in my life, think the worst and Ive been through it....

Learned my lesson now though, Ill be a stone hearted b*tch and I'll be grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭validusername1

one or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭steveLFC24

Probably 3 nights a week, about 3 or 4 cans/pints on those nights. Rarely get drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I don't drink, so none.

When I did drink the most was probably 2-3 nights per week and I probably got drunk on all those nights. That was only for about 6 months though. Overall it was probably drinking and getting drunk once a fortnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Dead Man Walking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Depends whats going on.
    I could go a few weeks without anything or I could have a drink two or three nights a week.
    Trying to cut it back as much as I can though. Whether I drink a glass of wine or a bottle I seem to spend the next day with the runs.

I looked at your user name and then thought mmmm....:)

Then I read that part of your post and thought ugh....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

3 nights typically not that much. One night a month serious binge drinking session

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I'd drink just once a week, and would most likely get drunk when I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

I don't drink every week, but when I do I usually have no memory of it the next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

none, maybe once a month if even

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Dr.Zeus

I live within spitting distance of 5 pubs........and would visit maybe one of them at the weekend. I'd have a few beers or glasses of wine at home maybe 3 or 4 days a week. OK, for weekends away...........different story Rory.......
    The funny thing is I'm 43 and I have a few friends well into 50's and 60's.......they can put it back something serious when out........I'm seeing something of a trend where people are drinking more as they get older!
    I read somewhere that the more a man drinks the more likely he is to keep his hair!
    Ted Danson must be on a bottle for brekkie!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭Dude111

whirlpool wrote:
    IF THE ANSWER IS "NEVER," THEN REPLY SAYING SO. I forgot to include that option in the poll.
    Ahhhhhhhh i see!!!

I do not drink,cant stand the taste,its horrid :D

My "beer" is either Coke or Pepsi/Iced Tea,etc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I drink a bottle or 2 after a sh!te day in work,

I havent been drunk in a very long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I drink maybe ten-fifteen times a year. Nothing against it, just don't like myself when drunk and know I don't know when to call it quits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Usually drink most weekends but that would be having a few cans at home rather than going out on the lash, don't do that as much these days.

Prefer it too, having a pack of beer and just relaxing in the house for the weekend with the tv and the gf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured