Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would date a smoker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Well, I'm a smoker so yeah. It'd be hypocritical not to.

I actually find something sexy about girl's smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

God would date a smoker, so would Jesus..

For shame AH, for shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

No, its true. If you have good hygein and stuff. People will be none the wiser, that you smoke.

Bull****.

(Unless hygein is some new, more successful type of Oust...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Have done loads of times - the older I get, the less appealing it is. The odd ciggie with a drink is grand but a daily, habitual smoker - would be an issue for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

_Gawd_ wrote: »
    Get off your high horse you half eejit, ye.

YOU CAN DO IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

bnt wrote: »
    Absolutely not. Not only for what it is (smell, expense, etc.) but for what it says about the person. It is so obviously bad, in more than one way, that you have to be wilfully ignorant to keep doing it.

Its an addiction, its not something you stop doing at the drop of a hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭yellowtrout

I smoke so it wouldn't bother me but my other half quit smoking a year ago and can't stand the smell of it, which I understand but it's annoying-he has a short memory!
    I would date a smoker but only if I smoked too-if I quit then I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

I'm a smoker and my girlfriend isn't, She says she doesn't mind the taste, and she rather likes to smell of smoke (When its being smoked - I doubt its the after smell) And I always feel bad about being a smoker when I'm with her. Shes my first non-smoker girlfriend, so I find it quite hard on myself, as I feel quite guilty.

Hence, I'm actually cutting back, and planning on quitting too; because I don't think its fair on her. She doesn't nag about it or anything at all, but still! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

No, don't like the smell of smoke, and definitely not in my own house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

No. I'm in my 20s. We grew up knowing that smoking had only negative effects to your health. So no, I wouldn't.

Actually just to add: if they were trying to quit or didn't smoke all the time (just maybe at a break in work or something) I wouldn't be totally against it. But anyone who smokes a lot and at home, there's no way I'd date them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

The Snipe wrote: »
    I'm a smoker and my girlfriend isn't, She says she doesn't mind the taste, and she rather likes to smell of smoke (When its being smoked - I doubt its the after smell) And I always feel bad about being a smoker when I'm with her. Shes my first non-smoker girlfriend, so I find it quite hard on myself, as I feel quite guilty.

Hence, I'm actually cutting back, and planning on quitting too; because I don't think its fair on her. She doesn't nag about it or anything at all, but still! :P

In the interest of fairness tho she should compare the taste difference between a smokers and a non smokers .. for ehh science i guess..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Skuxx

I always had it in my mind that I wouldn't! But then I started to really fancy the girl who works in the local shop, I eventually asked her out and by the time she pulled out a fag on our first date, it was to late, I was in love!!! I'm very glad now I didn't put a stop on the whole thing just because she was a smoker! 18 months on and shes on the way to quitting, 2 months off 'em now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

You would have to be some kind of emotional cripple to make something as common as smoking the deal-breaker in a relationship.

Actual real-life conversation I had:*

"You are the kindest guy ever, you have the mind of a scientist, arm like a rocket and a cock like a Burmese python. But you smoke. No, I know that for most people, smoking is a transient thing and you will probably give up in a few years but the smell is bad. What do you mean you had to look past things too? What do you mean I always smell of cheese and onion crisps? What do you mean when you say that you were willing to look past the fact that my mother looks like Mo Mowlem's uglier twin that they kept in the attic and fed fish heads and that I'll most likely turn out that way? How very dare you? Only I may set the arbitrary rules of engagement. It is only I who needs to look past heinous flaws such as smoking. I am perfect. You should count yourself lucky that I actually deign to speak to a lowly smoker such as yourself."

*Dramatisation. May not have happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I don't smoke, wouldn't find smoking a turn-off though. I did briefly date a smoker, didn't really affect me in any way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

yes i would
    and i currently am

suppose that i smoke i dont really give a sh*t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

I suppose the people who are so vehemently against dating a smoker, would have no problem going out on first date and getting hammered, or going out with someone who's idea of fun is getting wasted every weekend. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Bad Panda wrote: »
    I suppose the people who are so vehemently against dating a smoker, would have no problem going out on first date and getting hammered, or going out with someone who's idea of fun is getting wasted every weekend. :rolleyes:
    Actually, I wouldnt date a smoker and I also wouldn't date a heavy drinker.
    I'm happily married to a great guy who doesn't smoke and, like me, has better things to be doing than getting wasted.
    We enjoy a glass of good wine with a steak though. : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

You would be wrong with that supposition.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

Actually, I wouldnt date a smoker and I also wouldn't date a heavy drinker.
    I'm happily married to a great guy who doesn't smoke and, like me, has better things to be doing than getting wasted.
    We enjoy a glass of good wine with a steak though. : )

if thats the case why you in after hours?
    people here are generaly wasted when on this haha

do you live in dublin? if yes i bet you any money i can guess where you live...

TBH if my date's choice of venue was a club or a pub that doesn't serve a good meal, I wouldn't consider dating her either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Giselle wrote: »
    You would be wrong with that supposition.

Oh would I?

Well I'm not completely wrong because I know people like who I've described.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

everyones posts about how it's disgusting, how it smells off your clothes, how it leaves a bad taste in your mouth :rolleyes:

I'm a strong believer that if you look after your hygiene, non of above will occur.

I smoke - but after having a smoke i will always spray some body spray/perfume on me, take a mint. I would never smoke in doors, always out doors, never smoke in my car or in my home.

It's like saying I'll never date someone who drinks because he stinks of beer, breath smells of beer and can't bare the smell of farts :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭rn

my answer is yes. Firmly in the anti-smoking group myself, never have never will smoke. Thought it would be a deal breaker, but turned out its just something I accept now... Its just her thing, doesn't really bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

any hole's a goal, whether they smoke or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,374 ✭✭✭✭listermint

syndeyfife wrote: »
    It wont smell like cigarettes, unless they are homeless!!!!!

Nobody even notices the smell of cigarettes, 2 people fancy each other and they pull, great. It doesnt come into account! Ive yet to meet anyone who notices the smell off me.

Ive often said oh what do you think of smokers, they say they are horrible etc, I say im a smoker and they quickly change their tune.

Youre attracted to them or youre not, if smoking turns you off in terms of a relationship fair enough, but they are always good for a shag lol
    No, its true. If you have good hygein and stuff. People will be none the wiser, that you smoke.

Im sorry kids, but your kidding yourself if you think people dont notice the smell of smoke of you. In fact its hilarious if you think they dont.

Christ i can smell it off my hands from the pint glass that has been through the wash who knows how many dozen times.

Look the long and short of it is, if you smoke and your happy have at it. I wouldnt go out with you, ive no issue being your friend. But in terms of kissing you and sleeping beside your smokey hair and smokey face and smokey clothes day in and day out. Get up the yard.

And in fairness sydney most people can get the shex, there is always someone looking for the shex smoking or not there is someone out there that will have no issues getting on you.

But if you firmly believe others cant smell it off you then your what is termed as 'smokers delusion'

They can smell it, they just arent making an issue of it and if they are happy with that then fine. Your none the wiser, and they want their end.

Oh would I?

You know everyone well enough in this thread to say we'd be fine with going on a date and getting hammered?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Oh would I?

So, what you are saying is, if you like to get hammered, then you must also like smoking, or people who smoke?

I just dont see any link between not wanting to date a smoker, and going out getting drunk.

robbie7730 wrote: »
    So, what you are saying is, if you like to get hammered, then you must also like smoking, or people who smoke?

I just dont see any link between not wanting to date a smoker, and going out getting drunk.

I think the poster was trying to say we (in this thread) who wouldn't date a smoker would be fine with dating a heavy drinker or are heavy drinkers ourselves. I think it was more of an irony thing (you oppose smoking but are fine with drinking heavily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'd possibly make an exception for someone i was really into in, but in general no. My attitude to smokers has always been to fúck them, then fúck them out:)
    Life is too short to spend it with someone who smells like an ashtray. Smokers breath quite literally turns my stomach, and no matter what any of you think, chewing gum, breath sprays, mouthwash - absolutely nothing covers the stench. I can tolerate that shít for small time frames, especially if i'm drunk or if there's sex on offer, but all day every day would be just too disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    everyones posts about how it's disgusting, how it smells off your clothes, how it leaves a bad taste in your mouth :rolleyes:

I'm a strong believer that if you look after your hygiene, non of above will occur.

I smoke - but after having a smoke i will always spray some body spray/perfume on me, take a mint. I would never smoke in doors, always out doors, never smoke in my car or in my home.

It's like saying I'll never date someone who drinks because he stinks of beer, breath smells of beer and can't bare the smell of farts :rolleyes:

You are just kidding yourself, smokers smell. End off. Smokers just can't smell themselves or other smokers as smoking reduces your sense of smell and taste by a large margin over non smokers.

I have been to parties where 1 or 2 smoke and the next day I have to wash my clothes as they reek of smoke. Even in pubs years ago it was the same. The person hosting the party would even say it that the place reeked the next day of smoke. Body spray and perfume over smoke make it worse and trap in the smoke smell. Same with mints, the smoke is still there. Beer and farts go but smoke sticks into everything, just look at all the chemicals in them ffs.