Unpopular Opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭OMARS_COMING_

Australia is over rated,completly over rated.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    You like their TV shows though ^^^

u wot m8

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,349 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I read a critique of that and it had me convinced that there was more to it. Bone density was a minor factor according to the research I saw.
    The bone density notion has zero scientific value. The diffs between African and European bone densities average out to nil. The swimming thing is much more likely to be a cultural difference. People used to think similar about tennis until arthur ashe and then the williams sisters came along.

It doesn't take much observation to see why. In sports where very little equipment is required Blacks can do well. So running etc has a lot of those folks in it. Swimming, cycling etc requires expensive gear so you see bugger all making it. Then throw in the cultural stuff and again it's down to access. US blacks have access to the equipment of Basketball and excel in it. South American and European blacks have access to football equipments and can excel in it. An obvious one is Ice hockey. Whites completely dominate the sport. Race advantage? Nope, they just have cultural aspirations and access to ice rinks. With a few interesting exceptions it's all about the access. Ditto with IQ differences for the most part, though other selective pressures may be at play.

BTW I have no problem with the idea of racial or more correctly populations differences. Indeed the "we're all the same" notion can be just as scientifically dubious as differences clearly exist from the DNA up, but the extreme/obvious differences are slight, found in non average people in a population and colour is the least of it. EG those long distance lads from places like Ethiopia and Kenya have local adaptations to altitude that mean its more likely that some are gonna be shít hot runners. Sure they're black, but a black population from say Nigeria are going to be left behind by them in a long distance race just as much as a white population from France.

Black sprinters would be another population with some differences. In the majority of cases they're descendants of Africans enslaved in the past, rather than "African Africans" so to speak. This may have been a selection pressure that gives an advantage in sprinting. You see far fewer of them lads and lasses in the long distance events.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I like Tom Cruise, I'm a fan of his work and from what I've read he is always available and classy to fans who queue at film openings

Seems to be an unpopular opinion these days

As all over boards.ie comments about his beliefs and how he is a nut and a loon
    Like transubstantiation every Sunday in your parish makes more sense.......

What does his personal beliefs have anything to do with his work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

I like Tom Cruise, I'm a fan of his work and from what I've read he is always available and classy to fans who queue at film openings

Absolutely nothing
    He draws the crowds to his movies , gets paid very well and if he decided to blow all his money on glass hammers it's his business.
    Some people believe in the Loch Ness monster and Big Foot so what he believes in is irrelevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I like Tom Cruise, I'm a fan of his work...

Most of his movies are above average. Some great stuff in his younger days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Eminem is overrated. For every good song there are about 5 awful songs. Anything after the Marshall Mathers EP I wouldn't even rate.

I would bang the arse off Angela Merkel if it cleared Irelands Debt.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Black sprinters would be another population with some differences. In the majority of cases they're descendants of Africans enslaved in the past, rather than "African Africans" so to speak. This may have been a selection pressure that gives an advantage in sprinting. You see far fewer of them lads and lasses in the long distance events.

The slaves would've been West Africans yeah? Even now West Africans tend to stick to the sprints while the long-distance runners are mainly from East African countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Scarface is not as good as what people make it out to be. It's very long drawn out and Al Pacino over-acts quite a good bit in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

MJ23 wrote: »
    Scarface is not as good as what people make it out to be. It's very long drawn out and Al Pacino over-acts quite a good bit in it.

Al Pacino over-acts in almost every role he's ever done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,030 ✭✭✭✭Penn

RVP 11 wrote: »
    I would bang the arse off Angela Merkel if it cleared Irelands Debt.

I'd bang her if it just cleared my debt...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,343 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Sea Filly wrote: »
    Well, in America it genuinely is a "thing". But it's not to do with a lack of ability, it's more cultural and a hangover from segregation.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-11172054

There's a woman in the comments section who moans that she's too poor to afford to bring her children to the pool and also that it would ruin her 300-dollar haircut. Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Russell Brand said on the Graham Norton Show that he thinks people take the piss out of Tom Cruise because it's entertaining. I think he is dead right and that this applies to many celebrities who get stick, we do it because it's fun as bad as that is and I'm guilty of it from time to time myself. Also Cocktail is class I've seen it nearly five times I'd say :o

Opening up Ireland to Polish workers and other countries drove up rent and drove down wages in areas like hotels and barman where I spent a few years working

Neither of these suited me

I know we followed the UK but I would have preferred higher restrictions like Germany and France did

Many on boards will say immigration was great of course and I'm backwards

But I'm neither a business owner or a landlord and from my point of view, I didn't see many benefits to it

you are right and not only were the Poles allowed in every Tom, Dick and Harry from every other country were left in all thanks to Mary Harney.
    Anyone remember Aine Ni Chonaill from the Immigration platform who wa derided up and down the country and called a racist for asking for controls on who came in.We knew NOTHING about those who sauntered into Ireland during the boom whether they had a criminal backround etc.The Nigerians flowed in here despite European law staring that a person seeking asylum must claim that right at their FIRST port of call.There are no flights from Lagos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

mackg wrote: »
    Russell Brand said on the Graham Norton Show that he thinks people take the piss out of Tom Cruise because it's entertaining.
    Russell Brand should try doing something that's entertaining, that would be a nice change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

me bolly wrote: »

you are right and not only were the Poles allowed in every Tom, Dick and Harry from every other country were left in all thanks to Mary Harney.

No, just states in the EU.
    Anyone remember Aine Ni Chonaill from the Immigration platform who wa derided up and down the country and called a racist for asking for controls on who came in.We knew NOTHING about those who sauntered into Ireland during the boom whether they had a criminal backround etc..

We still don't. And they don't know anything about ours, as I'm sure the Spaniards and English could tell you.

The Nigerians flowed in here despite European law staring that a person seeking asylum must claim that right at their FIRST port of call.There are no flights from Lagos

You seem to be in a state there, as you're running from free movement within the EU to asylum policy, which is from the Geneva conventions.

As regards the whole "first port of call" crap. you'll note the following which explains where you're wrong
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056544373

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Russell Brand should try doing something that's entertaining, that would be a nice change.

You should watch his stand up show around the time he was banned from the BBC. Brilliant stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Sometimes I wish I was black:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

1ZRed wrote: »
    Sometimes I wish I was black:o

Why? Sounds like its big enough already :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Professor Knowall

deleted

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 363 ✭✭FishBowel

MJ23 wrote: »
    And it's a bleedin' remake.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

As long as i do no harm and understand other peoples objections i am not troubled here on boards but socially is another matter altogether .If Boards.ie were a Pub the Guards would close it down on opening day .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

paddyandy wrote: »
    As long as i do no harm and understand other peoples objections i am not troubled here on boards but socially is another matter altogether .If Boards.ie were a Pub the Guards would close it down on opening day .

Because it stays open "after hours"?

ba dum tish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Why? Sounds like its big enough already :D

Not because of that!:p

I would love to be able to dance and talk black without looking like a dumbass white boy!

If only for a day:( :D

Nodin wrote: »
    No, just states in the EU.

We still don't. And they don't know anything about ours, as I'm sure the Spaniards and English could tell you.

You seem to be in a state there, as you're running from free movement within the EU to asylum policy, which is from the Geneva conventions.

The government does NOT KNOW how many non nationals are living in this country today. You trot out the statement that the 'low'number asylum seekers
    can be 'handled' by this state.The laws set down in Ireland were half baked and I'll conceived in a time where it was pc to be seen to help all.
    Now that we are in the doldrums it is clear that measures should have been put in place starting with Natuonal Identity cards .
    If a non national arrives here they are issued a temp visa where they are allowed to work for 3 years. After the 3 years if they have not committed a crime they are at leave to apply for citizenship.
    Those who do not register for the national identity card are fined or deported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

There's a woman in the comments section who moans that she's too poor to afford to bring her children to the pool and also that it would ruin her 300-dollar haircut. Brilliant.

Lulz, nice spot!

Mike, I totally agree with you. I don't like how he comes across but yeah, it has feck all to do with his acting. 'Collateral', for example, is a great film!

Paparazzo wrote: »

He is entertaining. :o Now that's an unpopular opinion! :pac:

Tom Cruise is probaly the greatest man on the planet.