FC Barcelona Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

I thought Planas was getting promoted?

Or was that Muniesa and Bartra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭CongoPowers

Yeah, Bartra and Muniesa will be promoted to the first team. Planas recently signed a contract extension until 2014, but will stay with the B team for now.

I'm not sure how recent this pic is, but I hadn't seen it before today. Benzema is one of the few Madrid players I have time for, always comes across as a genuine guy.

Nine minutes of highlights from Messi's performance against Brazil for anyone who hasn't seen. American commentator - "Thank you Lionel! Thank you God for letting me watch this! Thank you God for having Lionel Messi be a football player!" Wow. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Seen Milito retired today, honestly thought he was at Barca longer than 07-11.

Sad. Injuries held him back as a player. It’s a real shame, he could have been so much more for Barça and Argentina. He was supposedly Messi’s closest friend while at the club.

Speaking of Leo, most may have seen it already today, but I love this pic of himself and Pep after their last game together. (for now :))

And these two videos are worth seeing;

All of Messi’s 26 goals for Argentina. His chip against Mexico in the Copa América is one of my favourite goals of his.

And if any of you are really bored one day, here are all of Barça B’s goals this year in half an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,798 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Tito had his first press conference today as manager. Jordi Roura is his assistant and he confirmed that both Alves and Keita will be staying for next season.

Great news. I thought Tito spoke well in his first press conference.

Xavi has just told RAC1 that it seems as if Jordi Alba is about to sign and that he would be a great addition to the squad. So himself and a centre-back, I wonder who it will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Botia?

See, I wouldn't mind that. Personally, I'm happy with a left-back for the summer. But Tito was clear in saying that Barça's priority is a CB as well as a LB (which is almost a done deal) now, so I imagine the club have been working on it already. These things change every week though, Barça could just settle with Piqué, Masche, Puyol and Bartra as the four centre-backs to start the season, but seeing as Jordi Alba is only costing in the region of 12M, we know the money is there to sign a good CB. Whatever the case, I'll be disappointed if our first choice pairing isn't Piqué and Mascherano after the season the latter has had. It would be wrong to just forget the effort he's made.

EDIT: Hold on, completely misread again. I always do this with Bartra and Botía :) With regards to Botía, I don't think the club have any real interest in bringing him back, he's only been mentioned as a bargaining chip for other players the club are after. I like him, he's done well at Sporting, but Barça probably feel that there's no point in having him with the likes of Bartra and Muniesa to be promoted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

Hi folks! Haven't been able to get on-line lately, again kudos for keeping the thread ticking over!

Just wondering what people make of Alba then after getting a good look at him in the Euros? I know 3 game's isn't much to go on but I've seen a bit of Valencia this season too. I think the reason Tito is so interested in him is because of is cheapish price tag. Some where between 12-18m will probably seal the deal, which would leave over some spare change for a CB! On that note, I've been happy enough with Pique, he seems to be getting sharper and sharper every time he plays for Spain. We need him back to his best for next season.

I wonder will Xavi end up playing too much for Spain this summer? With France in the Quarters I can see Del Bosque changing his line-up a little bit. I'd like to see Xavi rested, Iniesta deployed deeper in his place and Navas/Pedro getting the nod. I think this France back four is a liability and wouldn't be surprised if Torres and/or Llorente get some time. Their presence alone will open up avenues for the smaller players. Any way sorry enough waffling about Spain :P

Has anyone in the Euros caught the eye? I personally think Kyriakos Papadopoulos would be an absolute peach of a defender for us. He does well with the ball at his feet and has a decent range of passing but he is an absolute beast in the air and for me one of the best defenders in the group stages of the Euro's

I read some where recently that Tito is happy enough with our forwards and wide players. I can see Villa featuring through the middle much more often next season.
    Found this earlier (watch it on youtube and press CC for sub titles)

“Cristiano Ronaldo is not the second best player in the world, he is the twelfth best. The top eleven are all Barcelona players.”

– Cheeky bastard Sandro Rosell speaking in Barcelona on Tuesday.

Jordi Alba will be a great signing, I hope the deal is closed in the next day or two. I also hope the club doesn’t overspend on a centre-back. Some of the names being thrown around seem unrealistic. The likes of Javi Martínez and Hummels would cost way too much.

I don’t think del Bosque is comfortable with leaving Xavi out, the team has looked a lot weaker whenever he’s been missing. They have to learn to be less reliant on him, and so do Barça starting next season. He should be used slightly less each season from now on, both for his own fitness and Cesc/Thiago’s roles in the squad.

I thought Rakitskiy was impressive again. Barça were linked with him a while back, but I guess people will be reluctant to sign a Ukranian CB after Chygrynskiy :) I’m pretty sure he was actually Chyg’s replacement at Shakhtar, strangely enough.

Haha, Sandro does sound a bit daft, but yeah, it was said jokingly. He was right to say that the campaign for CR winning the Ballon d’Or doesn’t exist outside Spain. Cruijff was also saying that Messi has already done enough to win it, but that there are “sometimes surprises”.

Edu Campadabal (mentioned above) and Pol Ballesté (very good goalkeeper) have been let go by the club. More shocked about Edu considering he would have been useful for the B team next season, but I suppose people at the club know better/have their reasons. Pol Ballesté had a bad season really, injuries kept him out of the team and Ondoa hasn't looked back since getting his chance. All the other lads I mentioned will be promoted, and now Jordi Quintillà will too.

This is a really great video of Messi’s dribbling.

Joan Àngel Román looks sure to join Barça B now, he said he's expecting good news soon on his twitter. Brilliant signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Guillem Balague ‏@GuillemBalague
    In Spain it is being reported that Didier Drogba is arriving tomorrow to Barcelona to sign for FC Barcelona

Guillem Balague ‏@GuillemBalague
    Drogba has got a clause that allows him to leave Shangai Shenhua for free if Barcelona came calling. He will meet the Spanish club tomorrow

Should fit right in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Drogba joining Barca wow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

MD1990 wrote: »
    Drogba joining Barca wow

If it happens Ill buy you a coke or a house, whichever you wish

He has already signed for a chinese club, he has been banging on about how he wants to be the David Beckham of China etc

Also how mental would it be to have a clause in your contract that would say, "Days after signing for us, if Barcelona suddenly become interested in you, you can break your contract with us with no penalty and sign for them on a free transfer"?

Are people actually fcuking insane?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I wouldn't be surprised if he had such a clause for a club since he probably had all his demands catered for to sign for Shanghai - in case he's offered Anzhi or Qatar money, but that club being Barcelona would be incredulous.

dfx- wrote: »
    I wouldn't be surprised if he had such a clause for a club since he probably had all his demands catered for to sign for Shanghai - in case he's offered Anzhi or Qatar money, but that club being Barcelona would be incredulous.

Walk me through how you consider this plausible, I'm having serious difficulty with it.

Key points I need explained

*Why would Barcelona be interested?

*Why would the Chinese club agree to be made fools of in such a manner?

*Why would Barcelona wait until he signs a reportedly huge contract with another club to declare an interest in him?

*Why would Barcelona be willing to offer him the ridiculous money it would take for this deal to go through?

*Why would Barcelona be interested? I know, I asked already, but it really is a puzzler

Not having a pop at you, would genuinely be amazed if there was truth in this

I don't see why Barcelona would want him either or why he'd want to go to Barcelona either. I doubt he'd fit in right away either.

All I said was that I wouldn't be surprised if he had such control in the deal with Shanghai to demand clauses. I did say it was incredulous, remember.

If he is getting the 200k a week wages that have been reported for the length of contract that has been reported, I doubt he would get a better deal anywhere else tbh

Ballague bang on the money again eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

kryogen wrote: »
    Ballague bang on the money again eh
    most of the time i think he is accurate though

MD1990 wrote: »
    most of the time i think he is accurate though

He tends to cover both sides of a situation, and you know if you throw enough **** at the wall some will stick,he is a joke tbh

He will post something to his blog claiming something, if it is right he gets to say he knew all along, if its wrong it is deleted.

The man is a clown

^ I don’t know about other clubs in Spain, but he has no connection to Barça, yet carries on as if he’s in the know before anyone else. I’m not his biggest fan :)

I see it was mentioned in the Liverpool thread, but man, so sad to hear about Miki Roque. For anyone to die of cancer at that age is tragic. Puyol is a class act for his involvement, but we knew that already.

Good to hear the club have made a record profit this past season. I know Sandro doesn’t have too many fans, but the club have been more responsible financially since his arrival. We’ve even got good value in the transfer market, to be fair. If the club are to stick to the €40M budget for transfers, we will presumably have €25M left for a centre-back after signing Jordi Alba. Surely we can get what we need for that! I hope we don’t have the same old story of fans setting their hearts on a certain (expensive) player and the club giving in without thinking it through.

Fair play to our own dfx- for becoming a mod on here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,798 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Surprised Barca aren't making a move for Vertonghen, obviously I'd be much happier if he went to Spurs but he seems like the real deal* according to reports.

*have only seen him play once

Haha, I’m a bit surprised myself. Ajax seemed to be offering him to Barça for a while. But Frank de Boer said that Guardiola just wasn’t interested when they spoke about a possible move. It’s weird, because I’m not sure what he’s missing. He’s a very good defender, confident on the ball, can even play at LB and could be used in a defence of three. Oh, and he would be cheaper than the alternatives we’re reading about. Who knows. He does seem to have his heart set on playing in England, though, so I guess he will move to Spurs and do well there.

I suppose Guardiola and now Tito just have other players in mind too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Ballague is the very worst kind of journalist. As kryogen said above he'll just repeatedly claim completely different sides of a situation all over the internet. Then when something does/doesn't happen he'll link to his previous claim and state he knew all along. Completely ignoring the other claim he made that said the complete opposite would happen.

The two summer before Cesc left he was guaranteeing he had signed for Barca. Then when he finally did the next summer he was pointing out that he knew Cesc would move to Barca like it was some big shock signing. The world and his dog knew Cesc was moving to Barca, just a matter of when.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

The more I see of Abla at the later stages of this tournament the more I want to see him sign! I feel Valencia are waiting for some kind of higher offer from the likes of city even though it seems he himself would prefer a move to Barca.

Iniesta again was great last night! He is the closest thing Spain have to Messi,l popping up in Space and being able to skip past tackles. Did brilliantly in Xavi's position in extra time. A joy to watch! :D

Pedro was immense in extra time, he add's an extra dimension when he comes between defenders and looks up. Felt he should have been brought on much sooner for Silva, who tbf played ****e last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

Barca are after agreeing a fee for Alba according to the official site. A medical will take place next week and the fee is around €14 mill. He has been pretty impressive in the Euros so far and it's a pretty good piece of business by Barca.

Fantastic signing.

His dad has been speaking to RAC1 just now, saying what you'd expect really. That Jordi is delighted to be going "home", proud of his time at Valencia and that he's always got on well with the Barça lads on the NT etc.

Cruijff thinks he's been the revelation of the Euros.

I'm just glad the club have sorted this sooner rather than later, paying the extra two million on the original offer is definitely worth it. Typical that Sandro still held out for less than the 15M asked though. So stubborn :P

Delighted with the club's start with regards to transfers. First Joan Román and now Jordi Alba.

Does this mean Barcelona can 'claim' him as part of the winning team if Spain win on Sunday?:pac: