If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Prometheus *SPOILERS FROM POST 1538*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

krudler wrote: »
    in the extended version she meets Dallas who the alien has cocooned and is turning into an egg, its a brilliant way of showing how the xenomorph can extend its species without the presence of a queen.

'Parthenogenesis' exists on earth, in small creatures\insects mostly, but, quite recently, scientists are pretty sure it is part of the Komodo dragon's life cycle too.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,678 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

^^ it would only take one facehugger to start a colony anyway, they can impregnate a host with a queen if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭WatchWolf

This a pretty good analysis/interpretation. It cleared up somethings for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,456 ✭✭✭leakyboots

WatchWolf wrote: »
    This a pretty good analysis/interpretation. It cleared up somethings for me.

After sitting through that ****heap of a film, do you really expect me to watch a twenty minute analysis of it?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I love how he could basically assemble the entire film just from the trailers, tv spots and stills :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Any film that requires me to watch an explanatory documentary to understand it == FAIL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Has this article been posted here yet? Some interesting theories in it that--if taken to be true--would clear up some of the missing plot elements at least. It's fairly long but a good read.

http://cavalorn.livejournal.com/584135.html#cutid1
    Any film that requires me to watch an explanatory documentary to understand it == FAIL

Yeah, well, you know, that's just like, your opinion, man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

i like the movie and i wish i could say 'i like it very much' or 'i love it'.

As a huge fan of alien/aliens (i watched them again lately, they are truly some timeless classics), i expected more. The movie is fine really, nothing too bad or nothing too good, just like the original Alien but the original Alien was unique in so many ways (especially the plot and how RS handled some classic moments) so in comparison, Prometheus seems ordinary and lack of passion.

It is no doubt that Prometheus is the best 'alien' sci-fi since alien3, for me anyway. My god, i hated AVP and the predator reboot so much. However there were many moments in the movie really ruined my overall enjoyment of the movie.

1.the practice of the scientists in the film is shocking. Taking off the helmets?!!!! I don't think anyone who done basic biology would consider doing that. As far as i concern, alien can be bacteria/organism in the air, there is no fcking way that these scientists wouldn't aware of that.

2.I wonder how would the mums feel when they saw Shaw started to running around RIGHT AFTER she did a c-section of herself. *facepalm* jesus. the writer. *facepalm* and RS gave a green light for that script???! I have a mixed feeling on the staples though rofl

3.the character David. ya, sure, able directly communicate with alien by learning all the earth languages in 2 years. and the character overall, imo, is poorly written or should i say, is weakly written. I really couldn't care enough for him after Weyland showed up. Such an irony, 'Try harder' is actually what i would say to the writer. Such a pity because Fassbender's performance is of course the best among the crew.

4.zombie dude. why did you open the door to check out some unknown object (on an alien planet). i mean why do these people feel so 'safe' out there?? the whole massacre part can be deleted and no one would care.

5.rambo pilots. ye.

6.10hours pregnancy is fine, as reflecting to the human baby's 10months. alien octopus's (extreme) superior growth rate, is fine. what baffled me is that, where is the food source. In alien/s movies, you can see the infected human is extremely sick and tired -> the thing is sucking the host's energy in order to grow, simple biology. Yet Shaw didnt seem to show any sign of being infected. and then, a short period of time later, the baby octopus has turned into a HUGE octopus without any food source, HUGE MUSCULAR octopus with UBER STRENGTH that can tackle the giant alien. Ya sure, alien's food source is oxygen now?

The good thing is that though, Prometheus seems has less 'boring' moments than Alien but then it is evident that Prometheus is less 'scary' than Alien. Not sure was it because the non-mature rating or because RS handled things differently this time.

Overall this is a must see for alien/aliens fans but i wouldn't recommend it to non-alien fan. Can't wait for director cut though, I wish RS can improve my enjoyment from the cinema version. Probably won't be much difference since the basic of the plots/script in this movie is just weak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Thought it was incredible. Fassbender was fantastic.

i have to say his performance is the best among the crew. but the character is just weak especially after weyland showed up.

oh and vicky is clearly not a cyborg? i mean, i suppose the captain had a good night?:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

gotta say - he is truly a remarkable actor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭WatchWolf

The movie isn't perfect, that's for sure.

What I think is the most unfair criticism is that there are "too many unanswered questions".

In more recent years this Steven Spielberg fueled accumulation of movie goers has arose. People have become so accustomed to a film being wrapped up in a nice little bow, that they feel the need to get angry if a question is posed by the film. It's a shame that audiences have been closing there minds towards interpretation or ambiguity in films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,974 ✭✭✭SuprSi

OctavarIan wrote: »
    Has this article been posted here yet? Some interesting theories in it that--if taken to be true--would clear up some of the missing plot elements at least. It's fairly long but a good read.

http://cavalorn.livejournal.com/584135.html#cutid1

Now that's deep! Very interesting read, but wow there's some real smarts on show there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Went to see this with the gf and we both really enjoyed it (she had seen none of the alien films). I will admit though that there was a feeling of lost potential to it, not to mention the ambiguity of many aspects. On top of that, about half way through, the tension seemed to slip out of it somewhat. Otherwise I actually must admit I enjoyed it, and what more can you ask for really.

I havent read the full thread but I'm wondering if anyone has heard an explanation for why the spacejockeys are so hostile?

WatchWolf wrote: »
    The movie isn't perfect, that's for sure.

What I think is the most unfair criticism is that there are "too many unanswered questions".

In more recent years this Steven Spielberg fueled accumulation of movie goers has arose. People have become so accustomed to a film being wrapped up in a nice little bow, that they feel the need to get angry if a question is posed by the film. It's a shame that audiences have been closing there minds towards interpretation or ambiguity in films.

there's a big difference between ambiguity and sh1tty scriptwriting though.

dr gonzo wrote: »
    Went to see this with the gf and we both really enjoyed it (she had seen none of the alien films). I will admit though that there was a feeling of lost potential to it, not to mention the ambiguity of many aspects. On top of that, about half way through, the tension seemed to slip out of it somewhat. Otherwise I actually must admit I enjoyed it, and what more can you ask for really.

I havent read the full thread but I'm wondering if anyone has heard an explanation for why the spacejockeys are so hostile?

because thats the why. its Lindelofs go to answer for plot holes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

dr gonzo wrote: »

I posted this on the previous page: http://cavalorn.livejournal.com/584135.html#cutid1

It's just a theory, but the best one I've found by far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

OctavarIan wrote: »
    I posted this on the previous page: http://cavalorn.livejournal.com/584135.html#cutid1

It's just a theory, but the best one I've found by far.

lotta nonsense in that article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭shizz

I think some of this may have been in the other article but it's an easier read SPOILERS

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,678 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Going to be a 20 minute longer extended cut on the Blu-Ray: http://collider.com/ridley-scott-prometheus-deleted-scenes-interview/172202/

Also, it could have been a lot worse:
    Movies.com: We had heard it was scripted that the Engineers were targeting our planet for destruction because we had crucified one of their representatives, and that Jesus Christ might have been an alien. Was that ever considered?

Ridley Scott: We definitely did, and then we thought it was a little too on the nose. But if you look at it as an “our children are misbehaving down there” scenario, there are moments where it looks like we’ve gone out of control, running around with armor and skirts, which of course would be the Roman Empire. And they were given a long run. A thousand years before their disintegration actually started to happen. And you can say, "Let's send down one more of our emissaries to see if he can stop it." Guess what? They crucified him.

THank feck that didn't happen :eek:

Source: http://www.movies.com/movie-news/ridley-scott-prometheus-interview/8232

Good interview with Scott though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Going to be a 20 minute longer extended cut on the Blu-Ray: http://collider.com/ridley-scott-prometheus-deleted-scenes-interview/172202/

But it kinda did, all the reference points about Christmas and something Happening 2000 years ago, I already mentioned Jesus like 20 pages ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

Don't know if this has been posted already, but it looks like the marketing for the sequel is already in the works...

Also check out this site here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

al28283 wrote: »
    lotta nonsense in that article

I wouldn't say its nonsense exactly, it seems to be a very thoughtful treatise on the recurring themes brought up in the film , but it hasn't really changed my opinion of Prometheus, religious symbolism in of itself does not a good film make just look at Superman Returns.

Creating a film with a bit of depth where if you dig a little you will find new aspects to enjoy is one thing, making a film so ambiguous that you need to research for days after it to make any sense or get any enjoyment out of it is another. The film has to be compelling in it's own right stripped of it's overarching themes , this film just wasn't imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Eggy Baby!

Link here where the writers talk about questions that are on people's minds about the film:

http://io9.com/prometheus/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Mickeroo wrote: »

But it kinda did, all the reference points about Christmas and something Happening 2000 years ago, I already mentioned Jesus like 20 pages ago.
    Yeah, I think it was definitely implied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

seraphimvc wrote: »
    a short period of time later, the baby octopus has turned into a HUGE octopus without any food source, HUGE MUSCULAR octopus with UBER STRENGTH that can tackle the giant alien. Ya sure, alien's food source is oxygen now?

Well, the original alien did exactly the same thing. It clearly didn't eat John Hurt, since he was fine at breakfast. It basically just hid inside him, and then burst out and scurried off as a little skinny foot-high alien.

Then it mysteriously swelled into an eight-foot monster within hours.

Well, the original alien did exactly the same thing. It clearly didn't eat John Hurt, since he was fine at breakfast. It basically just hid inside him, and then burst out and scurried off as a little skinny foot-high alien.

Then it mysteriously swelled into an eight-foot monster within hours.
    I know both cases are far fetch (they are sci-fi in the end of day), but i am fine with alien all these years mainly because the key physical feature of alien is skinny, and it was a full baby when it burst out so who knows what was it eating/drinking while it disappeared. I dont even mind if water can be a food source, we saw it hiding/taking off its skin in the wet dark area of the ship.

the octopus was taken out of her body (ie it was not ready to burst out/survive on its own) and its size is HUGE after a short period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

I love all the discussion and links (here's another one) but Christ Im almost burned out-

http://www.ropeofsilicon.com/what-is-going-on-in-prometheus-a-universe-of-questions-answers-and-theories/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

seraphimvc wrote: »
    I know both cases are far fetch (they are sci-fi in the end of day), but i am fine with alien all these years mainly because the key physical feature of alien is skinny, and it was a full baby when it burst out so who knows what was it eating/drinking while it disappeared. I dont even mind if water can be a food source, we saw it hiding/taking off its skin in the wet dark area of the ship.

the octopus was taken out of her body (ie it was not ready to burst out/survive on its own) and its size is HUGE after a short period of time.

We know these creatures are engineered by an alien race, so maybe they are engineered to grow without food, we are not talking about normal life as we know it, they have been specifically designed for a certain reason. Who really knows what science they come from, I found a lot of things wrong with this film but that wasnt one of them.