Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Size of our support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,980 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

MANUTD99 wrote: »
    There is more happy people in another thread giving out about "common" people hanging flags & bunting outside houses.

I seriously don't get these moanbags at all.

I have no doubt the Irish will be the best supported county in the Euro's. Looking at some of the games in Ukraine there seems to be a lot of empty seat.

Love that video. The Polish fans dancing away with them, even the one-armed lad stopping the Polish lad walking through, making him sit down to jump up again. Top support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭MANUTD99

Mushy wrote: »
    Love that video. The Polish fans dancing away with them, even the one-armed lad stopping the Polish lad walking through, making him sit down to jump up again. Top support.

Aye there is another one of Croatian fans and Irish fans all having a few beers together enjoying the atmosphere.

Fantastic too see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

lordgoat wrote: »
    true lionheart fans

That's tomorrow ;)

Right, drink time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I know not 'everybody' is on the dole but a lot of those that aren't have mortgages, families etc and the general picture painted is that it's been all doom and gloom for years...until now.

Just going from experience here. Times were always tight growing up in the 80s, mother on her own with the 3 of us. Most parts of the year would be a struggle but come birthdays and Xmas, she would somehow always make sure we never went without, even at the age where Santa was real and our "xmas lists" included Sega Mega Drive, SNES, etc which at the time when new cost a fortune.

What i am trying to say is ...... Where there is a will there is a way.

A lot of these fans may be struggling big time back home but have made sacrifices in their lives to ensure they make it to support the team. That might be going out less on weekends (or not at all) or getting your shopping from Lidl/Aldi, bringing packed lunches into work versus a sandwich in O'Briens.

I'm not excessively nationalistic but can't help be proud of Traps Army who made it over there. Fair play to you all and hope you have the times of your lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

THFC wrote: »
    Always bitter. Some day you'll learn to just live and let live :)

Hoping the team does well is bitter now ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

We're all gonna be dead one day!! There's nothing wrong with blowing your money away on a trip to the Euros!!!

Promote the country and promote it well!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,407 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Pain in my stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,079 ✭✭✭✭dahat

monkey9 wrote: »
    We're all gonna be dead one day!! There's nothing wrong with blowing your money away on a trip to the Euros!!!

What a ****e attiude.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,407 ✭✭✭✭noodler

dahat wrote: »
    What a ****e attiude.........

??

I think you might have missed the spirit the in which the post was intended.

The suggestion wasn't that you use your kid's college fund or let the bank take the house in exchange for a trip to the euros!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭eugeneious

532815_10151840340800441_1935272140_n.jpg
    last night in Poznan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Best fans in the world without a doubt.

Fields of Athenry trending in the UK and Ireland and RVP tweeted about it. Amaing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,472 ✭✭✭✭CSF

paddy978 wrote: »

Fields of Athenry trending in the UK and Ireland and RVP tweeted about it. Amaing.
    Having been at every home qualifier, trust me, we're not the best fans in the world. The atmosphere is like a morgue in the Aviva sometimes.

We're great at getting drunk and singing on the big occasion, but thats it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

paddy978 wrote: »
    What absolute rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

CiaranC wrote: »
    What absolute rubbish.

Brilliant now you've decided to come and try and ruin this thread.

By not being like 'OMGZLOLZ THE FIELDS OF ATHENRY SOUNDED SO AMAZING, WE'RE SO MUCH CRAIC!!!!! LETS MAKE A FEW FATHER TED QUOTES!!!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭joe123

CSF wrote: »
    By not being like 'OMGZLOLZ THE FIELDS OF ATHENRY SOUNDED SO AMAZING, WE'RE SO MUCH CRAIC!!!!! LETS MAKE A FEW FATHER TED QUOTES!!!!'

Edit: Actually **** it. I cant be arsed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

They arent even the best football fans in Ireland :pac:

joe123 wrote: »
    Jesus Christ. Shut up.
    No.

Sounded great on the night fair play to them but I'm kinda sick of the constant back slapping in the media and net here about being the best in the world. Supporters and Ultras groups do it all over the world every week.

It's not pissing on a parade to object to all the back slapping.

CiaranC wrote: »
    They arent even the best football fans in Ireland :pac:
    Ah thanks:D

A lot of the crowd looked suicidal at the end. So upset it looked like they were laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭useurename

They traveled to support the team. As Irish supporters they are wise enough to know they are playing one of the great teams of all time.We got demolished tonight on the pitch. So what if the begrudgers on here want to slay the atmosphere at the Aviva on Wednesdy night in October against Andora or even Slovakia.This is the Euros.We are the minnows.The Green Army is a huge diverse group coming together to support the team.Give it a break with the negative vibes.The team are technically inferior to the rest, not the fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

CSF wrote: »
    The atmosphere is like a morgue in the Aviva sometimes.
    Same applies to the other tenants of the Aviva, was dead for all of the 6N campaign...

Garseys wrote: »
    Same applies to the other tenants of the Aviva, was dead for all of the 6N campaign...
    Yeah but sure rugby is ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Chief Executive Speaks:
    The Football Association of Ireland would like pay tribute to our fans who have once again proven that they are amongst the very best in the world. The atmosphere that our supporters generated in the stadium was phenomenal and has brought great pride to our country. Our players and management are disappointed that they could not get the result tonight that would have kept us in contention to qualify for the knock out stages and give the fans what they are hoping for.

CEO of the Football Association of Ireland, John Delaney, said ‘The Irish fans have made many sacrifices to follow our squad and have been absolutely amazing. The abiding memory that we will take away from this match will be the many thousands of Irish fans singing the ‘Fields of Athenry’ right up to and beyond the final whistle. They are a credit to the game and to our country. On behalf of the FAI, the squad and management team I would like to thank them for their incredible support.’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

monkey9 wrote: »

As my uncle says, you can't bring it with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,050 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,588 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Brendan Clarke said it perfectly really - https://twitter.com/BrenClarke1/status/213384097224065025

Best fans in the world? Not a chance. We have the loudest at this tournament though. Where are they during qualifiers when you can hear a pin drop in Lansdowne?

L'prof wrote: »

Legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,050 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

stovelid wrote: »
    Legend.

In your eyes, never in mine!