just smoked my last I hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭cordangan

Day 21:
    Still off them. Silly to say but they were my daily treat. Have no treat now other than smelling better. Thanks to all for your help and anyone considering giving them up then give this a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭campo

Day 21 Also last night was tough as it was the 1st time I went out for a few beers since I quit, and every time I took a sip from my pint all that was in my head was a cig be nice now.

So I decided to call it a night pretty early as I knew if I stayed out longer I would have buckled , woke up this morning with less of a hangover and had no cig last night so all good

Also as an added bonus the mouth ulcers that I have been suffering with for last 2 weeks are now gone also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Mr Bump

I am of the fags 4 Months, 1 Week, 6 Days, 22 hours, 5 minutes and 47 seconds (134 days). I have saved €1,922.61 by not smoking 4,047 cigarettes. I have saved 2 Weeks, 1 hour and 15 minutes of my life. My Quit Date: 09/01/2012 01:00

This is what its all about, also the health benefits, when you look at it like what i have shared above you really start to say no no no no i will never smoke again,
    So well done to you, keep the faith, you have to do this day by day, i still do it day by day,
    Also you will not feel like a super fit person over night, it will take a lot of time, with regards to the weight, well i have put on a stone, would eat wood with lice in it just to keep my mouth moving, so tomorrow i am going to tackle that by starting training fitness program,
    Hope some of the above keeps you on track when you see the benefits
    cordangan wrote: »
    Day 21:
    Still off them. Silly to say but they were my daily treat. Have no treat now other than smelling better. Thanks to all for your help and anyone considering giving them up then give this a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

hi guys keep up the good work/battle. i'm off them since 17/8/99 at 10.30 am
    Was smoking 40 a day easy 50 if i could get them then got a perferated ulcer ( sorry about spelling) brought straight to icu then operated on, a month in hospital to recover, when i was leaving the hosp, the doc said if i smoked like i did i would be dead 6 months later thank god i've never touched one again hope ye stay off them! keep it up lab man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭downwithpeace

cordangan wrote: »
    Day 21:

Well done and I direct you to the fruit sections, not only do you smell better but you can taste better, try a new fruit each day, mix them up, go nuts with mixed nuts. There's plenty of good things out there, clean taste buds :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Fair play cordangan. I smoked for a lot of years and like a lot of people, gave up loads of times! It's been 13 years since I've touched one and I've no plans to go back either!! It was really hard to stop but I kept saying to myself, "jeez yesterday was hard, I'm not doing that again". Take up a hobby, sport of some sort is best but anything to occupy the mind for the first few months.

Don't be tempted back by the "I'll just have one, sure that'll be fine". It's a slippery slope, which for me, after almost a year had me back to square one within three days on both occasions. It's going to get easier and easier as every day passes and complacency is your only enemy!!!
    Keep up the good work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭frulewis

I've been trying to give up for ages but I just couldnt lose the fear, still haven't but I met a man over the weekend who I haven't seen in a year. He's the type that would always be having the craic, fit, healthy etc and always and I do mean always have a fag hanging out of his mouth. Well fast forward a year and he's got throat cancer and looks like a famine victim - no teeth, skinnier than I ever thought possible and barely able to talk. He saw me smoking and he says to me 'I'm not going to preach to you but cop yourself on and give them the feck up!' I'm not trying to shock or scare anyone but I think I've had my eureka moment and thought i'd share it with ye. I'm really aware of my smoking now and I hate it! I'm gonna read Allen Carr tommorrow and smoke my last few fags, here's hoping :D Fair play to evryone who is staying off them, I'm in for a rough ol' time like the rest of ye i'd say!!

Rough time is what your mate has, your mind will say to you that you are the victim and will say that there are people in their 90's that are smoking and are not sick. Your mind will say that even if you give them up you might still get cancer ....shur for every 3 people you see 1 of them has cancer or will develop it. Now you have to be able to stop and say I have copped on and no amount of mind tricks will have me smoking again. That is the hardest. Nicotine is deadly....it's fair hard to clear out of system, but after 3 days it will be almost physically gone from the system and you are left battling the mind. Alan Carr helps but he cannot stop you , only you can do it, and you will if you keep posting daily and et us know for real whether you pass or fail. Everyone here was magnificent ....no judgement....just real life as it is. Definitly helped me....29 days today and no intention of going back again. One piece of advice......there is never a right time so just do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭frulewis

rough ol' time is not the word for it but he's amazing staying really positive so you're right what i'll go through giving them up is nothing in comparison! Fingers crossed tommorrow will be my day :eek:

frulewis wrote: »
    rough ol' time is not the word for it but he's amazing staying really positive so you're right what i'll go through giving them up is nothing in comparison! Fingers crossed tommorrow will be my day :eek:
    Well did you start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 MrsNice

Vizzy wrote: »
    Don't give up at this stage !
    You have only another 24 hours and the nicotine will have cleared your system.
    Don't be worrying about stuff like putting on weight or being cranky,that will pass and the urges will get less intense and more infrequent.
    I went from 20- 25 a day,every day for nearly 30 years to "Nil" overnight!
    Believe me if I can give them up,you certainly will.
    You have to want to though( I mean really want to).

Hang tough

Nicotine is not leaving the system if you are using NRT.

Day 55:
    I have put on some amount of weight. I walk a mile almost daily but no strenuous stuff. Had a longing 1 day recently but they are too damn hard to stop again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭BidillyBo

as someone said giving up smoking is easy I've done it loads of times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

BidillyBo wrote: »
    as someone said giving up smoking is easy I've done it loads of times

Its bizarre that you would register with this site just to post the above!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Dead Man Walking

Fair play cordangan

Posting here because i'm giving up tomorrow and this is like signing my name to it. Have 4 smokes and about 2 in rolling tobacco left and gonna finish them tonight.Been building up to today for a couple of months now. So here goes

Fair play cordangan

Posting here because i'm giving up tomorrow and this is like signing my name to it. Have 4 smokes and about 2 in rolling tobacco left and gonna finish them tonight.Been building up to today for a couple of months now. So here goes

How did it go today?

Not bad. Last night after my first 24 hours I ended up smoking one that was left over. So its been 24 hours since that last one. Feelin ok, eating a lot. Tryin not frustrating myself by following the thought of, what if... nip the thought in the bud and I don't wind myself up. It's not an option so i don't go down there. Tomorrows another day but feelin ok

This is the hardest choice you will ever make in life. You are doing brilliantly . Next comes the mind games. You versus the inner voices. Have one Shur it's only one ciggie. Keep posting even if you fail. 2
    more days and the nicotine will be almost gone from system. I hope you make it through today.

Another 24 hours under the belt. Really felt the withdrawals for the first time when I woke up this morning. It was like a buzzing and bubbling in my blood. Didn't even want a smoke, but just sat it out for a couple of hours and fell asleep again. Been feeling fine since I woke up after that. Busying myself doing things, a couple of times I found myself saying, I'll just finish this then have a break for a smoke. Force of habit. Gave the ol curtains in my room a run through the washing machine as I'm starting to smell a bit better now.
    Feeling pretty positive at this stage with a bit of distance but I'm aware complacency will eat me alive. All the best the those quitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭sevg

Am giving up the fags myself tomorrow. Hadn't realised how much I was spending on them a week over here until I came back from a holiday with duty free ones. They kept me goin for the past 2 months and I was surprised bout how much of my wages I had left at the end of the week. Finished the last box tonight so when I wake up there'll b no fag with my coffee. Worried though about how I'll cope with the cravings especially seeing as my partner smokes and we have always smoked in our house. Dreading it but also am looking forward to it aswell.

The best thing to do is not drive yourself mad by fantasizing what it would be like to have a smoke. Just try nip the thought in the bud when it arises each time and say, it's not an option to have one so I won't start imagining what it's like again. 20 seconds into fantasizing about having a smoke and it becomes a lot harder to break the thought. Just nip it in the bud each time and say, it's not an option.

Best of luck tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭B0 SELECTRA

e cigs the best way to give up smoking

sevg wrote: »
    Am giving up the fags myself tomorrow. Hadn't realised how much I was spending on them a week over here until I came back from a holiday with duty free ones. They kept me goin for the past 2 months and I was surprised bout how much of my wages I had left at the end of the week. Finished the last box tonight so when I wake up there'll b no fag with my coffee. Worried though about how I'll cope with the cravings especially seeing as my partner smokes and we have always smoked in our house. Dreading it but also am looking forward to it aswell.
    Did you give in and have a cig?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Honest opinion

Vizzy wrote: »
    cordangan,firstly well done.
    I would agree 100% with username though.You are probably only one smoke away from being back on them( I was off them for 18 months and then one night I tried one cigarette,was back to 20 the following day:mad:)
    This time around I actually want to give them up and I promised myself that if I gave up that I wouldn't put any other pressure on myself by staying away from the pub,or worrying about weight etc.
    I had my first night out after 3 days off the fags with no problems.However I would never suggest that approach to anyone else cos I know the pressure that people are under when they have a few drinks and "the guard is down".
    But whatever works,eh?
    I'm glad to hear that you are beginning to feel a bit more positive about yourself and that will also increase your chances of staying off them.

Keep with it.

Thats a realy good point the exact same thing happened to me i was off them for a year without fail and then when i was out one night i was offered a smoke.

In my inebreited state i accepted and became a full time smoker again for almost a year :( although ive quit again and been good for sixth months so im quite confident! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

But surely right, if you slip up on a night out, pi55ed up, you don't HAVE to go out and buy 20 the next day?

If I slip in those circumstances, there's no way in hell I'm buying fags. I'll just put up with whatever cravings for a few days and back on track.

If I've broken the habit, and psychologically I'm fairly free of it, there's not a chance I'm going to relearn all that just because I had an error of judgement while under the influence.

Why throw it all away?

''Ah sure, that's it now, I smoked, might as well go back to them full time''.

No, fucking, way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

The worst thing about giving up the fags is the amount of depression and weight gain afterwards,i find after a fag im happy,im relaxed and chilled out,if i dont have one i get agitated and depressed.
    Im kind of on them now at the moment because i like how skinny i am now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Weren't you the person having a go at youths of today and their drug use in another thread?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

No i wasnt having a go,im saying that the drugs and the choices of drugs have changed dramatically,which would explain the random aggressive outbursts and so on..When i was younger all we could hope for was getting a fake id and having a few jars a bit of hash and an e in a pub that,and be happy out that was our scene,now its fits and fights is what i was saying that they get cheap beers and alcopops and some crazy head shop gear thats being illegally sold on the markets..I wasnt having a go,i was merely explaining why there could be such aggressive outbursts,obviously im not saying leave donnan off the hook either..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Honest opinion

But surely right, if you slip up on a night out, pi55ed up, you don't HAVE to go out and buy 20 the next day?

If I slip in those circumstances, there's no way in hell I'm buying fags. I'll just put up with whatever cravings for a few days and back on track.

If I've broken the habit, and psychologically I'm fairly free of it, there's not a chance I'm going to relearn all that just because I had an error of judgement while under the influence.

Why throw it all away?

''Ah sure, that's it now, I smoked, might as well go back to them full time''.

No, fucking, way.

Its a slippery slope how do you think people who quit and go back on them slip up? do you think people just decide to buckle and then go buy a 20 pack?

No it stems from one moment of weakness where you accept one or ask for one and it snowballs from there. I don't appreciate your attitude all i can say is good luck and i hope you cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

My attitude? Not appreciated? You're easily offended.

My opinion is if you're off fags 12 weeks, 18 months, whatever, and you smoke while drunk, leave it there.

People are always saying "I just had one, was drinking etc". It you do, then leave it. Don't smoke when sober. Don't relearn all the habits you've fought hard to unlearn.

If you don't agree that's cool. No need to get snarky.