Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 (End of March 2012 onwards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Local_Chap wrote: »
    With Michael Owen being left go by United,would ye take him back at Liverpool on a pay as you play deal?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2012/0517/321268-owen-is-let-go-by-manchester-united/

Personally I wouldn't,he hasn't had enough game time over the last 2-3 years and even on a play as you play deal I think he would still be a risk.

Will any club take a chance on him though?

Everton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Betfair have AVB as fav ahead of Martinez and Rodgers, with Rafa and Frank R a-ways back.

But at the end of the day, the odds are only based on what people are betting, which is really a wishlist for Pool fans everywhere. If Guardiola hadn't said he was taking a year off, he'd be near the top. As it is, even having said that, he's STILL at 44s... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Betting suspended on PP for next LFC manager....WTF

pplfc.jpg

I need to take a break from the interwebs.. otherwise my head will asplode

Exploding-head.gif

Ignore the betting markets on shop sites like PP, they mean absolutely nothing.

Dickerty wrote: »
    But at the end of the day, the odds are only based on what people are betting...

Really???

:p

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Can anyone help me with a bit of logic?

I'm hearing assertions that FSG won't consider Rafa because they already "went back" with Kenny.

What's the logic behind this? It doesn't make an iota of sense if you think about it for more than 5 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

spockety wrote: »

I'm hearing assertions that FSG won't consider Rafa because they already "went back" with Kenny.

What's the logic behind this? It doesn't make an iota of sense if you think about it for more than 5 seconds.

They don't want to go back going forward.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

ush wrote: »
    They don't want to go back going forward.

It makes no sense.

The only thing that matters is future success for the club, and therefore increased value of the investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Local_Chap wrote: »
    With Michael Owen being left go by United,would ye take him back at Liverpool on a pay as you play deal?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2012/0517/321268-owen-is-let-go-by-manchester-united/

Personally I wouldn't,he hasn't had enough game time over the last 2-3 years and even on a pay as you play deal I think he would still be a risk.

Will any club take a chance on him though?

Do these pay as you play deals even exist?

Anyway no, he's useless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

What do you think the transfer budget will be for the summer ? FSG are going to have to back the manager well in the transfer Market. It would be disastrous if they were to bring in the new manager and give him **** all to spend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

They won't go for Rafa because he wants too much control at the club. I dont think FSG want that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭Sappy404

ricero wrote: »
    What do you think the transfer budget will be for the summer ? FSG are going to have to back the manager well in the transfer Market. It would be disastrous if they were to bring in the new manager and give him **** all to spend

Don't be surprised if they sell the club. No stadium at this juncture suggests they aren't really willing to invest heavily.

What a few tv and radio reports said this morning was that the new manager will get an additional £30m towards transfers.

Now this could be bullcrap or it could be something put out by the owners to try and settle down the support.

Personally I hope it is just media bullcrap as I would hope that the owners would not be making it known we have X amount in the kitty as that woud only see clubs adding a few million onto values and we saw enough of that with last summer's inflated fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Sappy404 wrote: »

Don't be surprised if they sell the club. No stadium at this juncture suggests they aren't really willing to invest heavily.
    Give us a sheikh oil baron so and il be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

BBC Sport reporting an estimated £30m. Wouldn't be at all disappointed with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

I dont think we'l have a budget per say. The owners will spend whatever needs to be spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Kess73 wrote: »
    Are we invading Clare? You are meant to keep me updated on these things, Tackie.

Not if I can help it :)

amiable wrote: »
    Not if I can help it :)

Thought you were back in Limerick?

I am but I wouldn't be bothered with Clare :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

What happens if Martinez or AVB come in and we are in freefall by Christmas? Should they be sacked? Would we again need another caretaker manager to steer us safely to the summer?

amiable wrote: »
    I am but I wouldn't be bothered with Clare :)

It's better than most of Tipperary.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

Morzadec wrote: »
    BBC Sport reporting an estimated £30m. Wouldn't be at all disappointed with that.

Doesn't go very far these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

I'm sure he'll have the Suarez money to spend as well.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

opr wrote: »

Opr

Was thinking that earlier .

Opr

That would give Liverpool about 75 mill to spend I'd imagine once Suarez is sold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

What happens if Martinez or AVB come in and we are in freefall by Christmas? Should they be sacked? Would we again need another caretaker manager to steer us safely to the summer?

No whoever is brought in should be given 2 seasons minimum and at that should only be sacked if the club is battling relegation. The last thing the club needs is to go down the Chelsea route of sacking a manager every time the media get on his case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

It's better than most of Tipperary.:)

King Kenny has just been sacked and this is the best you lads can come out with?

Our club is in freefall and if the bookies are correct, we could have AVB or Roberto Martinez at the helm.

Show some respect to Dalglish lads.

LONG LIVE KING KENNY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,744 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Opr

Bad feeling this will be the next thing :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

spockety wrote: »

Because they want to go forward with a clean break, look at all the heads that are rolling. They are not doing it because they like paying off contracts!

Hiring RB would be a bad idea, look at the mentality here (and on RAWK) fecking eulogies every page or so! Imagine what the dynamic would be inside the club, I could see a "table/lampshade" moment sooner rather than later. Why risk it? They don't need to so they won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Opr

And the Reina money:(

I've a bad feeling he could feel it's time to move on now.