Internship scheme offers 5,000 work placements to people on the dole

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

look up the jobbridge website plenty of free labour schemes there sucking jobs right out of the economy no tax back to government..

joan burton must like the idea of handing huge cashed up multinationals free workers..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I checked out fas jobs in my local area - over 2/3 of 'jobs' are internships or CE rates. I check it every few days as I am looking for work, but decided to tally it up today.

Nothing will change job-wise as long as Jobbridge is allowed to continue.

7,000 interns @ €50/week for either 6 or 9 months. A million euro a month it is costing the State. Huge success :D

I can't be bothered talking about it anymore to be honest - and no offence OP - but really, it isnt going to go anywhere in a hurry.

It is a massive success to businesses looking for free labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Merged with original, ongoing thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Here's an example of one,
    The intern will gain practical experience in Electro Mechanical Assembly. The intern will receive formal/informal training in the following: Control Panel wiring and Harness wiring manufacture, cutting, crimping and assembling cables. On completion the intern will have attained skills in time management, production procedures, team work, maintaining records etc.
    Skills Requirements

Ability read and understand engineering specifications.

They are looking for a general operative who's willing to do the same work as other g o's for €50 a week on top of the dole.Then they wonder why nobody wants to take up the positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭sonic.trip

yore wrote: »
    sonic.trip wrote: »
    I've been considering doing one of these just to get experience in engineering, which I haven't been able to get in Ireland since getting my degree but 50 quid is no incentive at all, it would cost me more than 50 euro a week in petrol to get to some of these places, never mind my lunches and clothes etc. I think it's a good idea if you're 18-20, been unemployed for a few monts or years and sare still living at home with your parents, for people who are not I think it's degrading.

I'm also an electrician and when you put it into perspective I can earn 19-20 euro an hour, it's a joke.

If you are currently working and earning 20 Euro an hour then jobsbridge isn't designed or meant for you.

It's a bit like someone giving out that their BTEA should be a grand a week because that's what they'd earn as a blocklayer

EDIT: you're post is also basically saying, it's ok for everyone else but not for me!!

Where did I say I was employed? I'm an electrician by trade but could never get experience in engineering here due to the downturn in construction and nobody will take you on without experience. I would rather get experience and a career in engineering but i was saying if I didn't I could get 20 euro an hour as an electrician.

I'm not saying its for everyone else and not me, I think it's a good idea in theory but some of the jobs are total slave labour that I have noticed and 50 euro a week is no incentive when there is a lot of travel involved to get there + the cost of lunches and uniforms etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I can't get a job,an internship or a CE scheme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

sonic.trip wrote: »
    Where did I say I was employed? I'm an electrician by trade but could never get experience in engineering here due to the downturn in construction and nobody will take you on without experience. I would rather get experience and a career in engineering but i was saying if I didn't I could get 20 euro an hour as an electrician.

I'm not saying its for everyone else and not me, I think it's a good idea in theory but some of the jobs are total slave labour that I have noticed and 50 euro a week is no incentive when there is a lot of travel involved to get there + the cost of lunches and uniforms etc.

So if someone has a degree to teach English and decides that they want to go back to college to become a barrister they can complain about not getting dole because they "could earn x amount an hour". If it's a choice for you to not take that 20 Euro an hour, then you aren't in the same boat as someone who has either an internship or dole.
    If you could be earning 20 an hour as an electrician and are giving out about people blocking you onto the dole, then feck off and work for your 20 Euro an hour while you are looking for the engineering job. Don't be bleedin' moaning about it
    If you aren't getting any work as an electrician, and that's a hypothetical 20 quid an hour, sure I could be earning thousands an hour if I went playing soccerball for some premiership team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

I checked out fas jobs in my local area - over 2/3 of 'jobs' are internships or CE rates. I check it every few days as I am looking for work, but decided to tally it up today.

Nothing will change job-wise as long as Jobbridge is allowed to continue.

7,000 interns @ €50/week for either 6 or 9 months. A million euro a month it is costing the State. Huge success :D

I can't be bothered talking about it anymore to be honest - and no offence OP - but really, it isnt going to go anywhere in a hurry.

It is a massive success to businesses looking for free labour.

Using your own figures, and seeing as how the jobsbridge top up is one-fifth of those 7,000 people's dole, that means they would be getting 4 million from the state for sitting on their holes.

I think the taxpayer is getting more value for money giving them that extra million for stimulating the economy.
    Not stimulating the economy? Look at all the posts moaning how it cost people the extra 50 quid a week in expenses anyway........ Never mind helping struggling business keep afloat. (There are more than just Tesco on the scheme)

ok name a few places other than supermacs,hewlitt packard,smurfitt and tesco that are not seen as taking advantage of free labour,i would be interested to hear it.and whats your experience of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

What i find most distrubing about the whole scheme is it artificially supports those businesses who cannot survive without free labour.

Its offensive that my own company is able to manage just fine without free labour, and do quite well too, but that i must compete with those who in an open market would have gone bust long ago.

The whole scheme is well-intentioned and overall a positive, but it is breathtakingly poorly implemented.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    What i find most distrubing about the whole scheme is it artificially supports those businesses who cannot survive without free labour.

Its offensive that my own company is able to manage just fine without free labour, and do quite well too, but that i must compete with those who in an open market would have gone bust long ago.

The whole scheme is well-intentioned and overall a positive, but it is breathtakingly poorly implemented.

Yup

Ecco shoes advertised under this, how are other shoe shops to compete?
    Spar advertised - these companies will be more competitive. Others will need to do the same to keep up with them.

Tax revenues decrease and unemployment increases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Does anyone here work in law?
    I was told of a practice called 'deviling' whereby solicitors or barristors(not sure) take on an apprentice, who is a law student, and gets the apprentice to do a huge amount of their work, just so that the established person will give the apprentice a reference.

Is it true? It sounds utterly deplorable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Out of curiosity, does anyone here actually know anyone on this scheme?

I do, and he's fucking delighted to be off the dole and getting trained in a trade by a company who otherwise wouldn't have been able to take him on.

Plus he gets benefits like a van and a mobile.

I showed him this thread on FB, he just laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

In Galway I applied for an IT Technician job 2 years ago through WPP scheme. It was with a disability organisation and apparently I was only one of two or three people that should up to the interview.

It was a great job and place to work in. When my contract was up they posted up my vacancy again, this time on jobbridge. About 3 people applied for the job and only 1 showed up for an interview.

Another IT group that dealt with out networked phones in that job had me recommended to them since they put an ad up on jobbridge and only got 1 applicant who they took on but had to let go because they would barely show up to work at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

In Galway, I applied for an IT Technician job 2 years ago through the WPP scheme. It was with a disability organisation and apparently I was only one of two or three people that should up to the interview.

It was a great job and place to work in. When my contract was up they posted up my vacancy again, this time on jobbridge. About 3 people applied for the job, only 1 showed up for an interview and he himself had zero IT experience so he couldn't be taken on (it was a role supporting 60 centers and schools across the county so some experience was needed)

Another IT group that dealt with our networked phones in that job had me recommended to them since they put an ad up on jobbridge and only got 1 applicant who they took on but had to let go because they would barely show up to work at all.

I ended up getting a paid job before working with those chaps, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Does anyone here work in law?
    I was told of a practice called 'deviling' whereby solicitors or barristors(not sure) take on an apprentice, who is a law student, and gets the apprentice to do a huge amount of their work, just so that the established person will give the apprentice a reference.

Is it true? It sounds utterly deplorable.
    its true. they work for a year.

I'm starting an internship next month.
    out of work 2 1/2 years and retrained with a web development degree. I now need experience to get me a paid job.

the extra 50 Will cover petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

Seachmall wrote: »

I do, and he's fucking delighted to be off the dole and getting trained in a trade by a company who otherwise wouldn't have been able to take him on.

Laughed at his paycheck I guess.

maninasia wrote: »
    Laughed at his paycheck I guess.

Laughed at the condescending nature and evident superiority complex of people such as yourself, I suspect.

He who laughs last and all, when I work I get paid, it's a funny concept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Are you working at the moment?

Are you sitting on the bog posting this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

What company, Supermacs? Or some company that wants a moron to clean their jacks for 50 quid a week? - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65085023&postcount=125

He also gets paid. And he gets a skill. And he gets a van. And he gets a phone. And he gets a job.
    What company, Supermacs? Or some company that wants a moron to clean their jacks for 50 quid a week? - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65085023&postcount=125
    A trade company.

You see, those who work in a trade need to be trained. And when they're being trained they don't make any money for their employer. This makes it difficult for an employer to take on another employee as it requires a large initial investment. However, a trained employee pays for himself. This scheme allows employers to train employees for only 50 euro a week, and the employee gets an additional 50 euro a week he wouldn't have gotten otherwise. And at the end of the scheme the employee has been trained and thus the employer with minimal initial investment now has a fully trained employee for minimal costs.

You're pointing out people who are taking advantage of this scheme. That is not a fault of the scheme but of the requirements needed to partake in the scheme. But for my mate it has worked out very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Are you sitting on the bog posting this?

No, I'm sitting in my office at my Job Bridge placement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

That might be a valid point, but consider this, if you went to a soup kitchen line and offered a man in it a roast dinner to come back and clean your flat, letting him know that he can still have his soup, plenty of people would tell you that are exploiting him etc...

But you could bet a tenner that he would take the dinner nonetheless.

That might be a valid point, but consider this, if you went to a soup kitchen line and offered a man in it a roast dinner to come back and clean your flat, letting him know that he can still have his soup, plenty of people would tell you that are exploiting him etc...

But you could bet a tenner that he would take the dinner nonetheless.

I'll be sure to point out that he's the poor victim of manipulation and exploitation this evening.

He does a job. He gets paid for it. He also gets benefits.

That's how I make a living too. Damn, am I being exploited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

He also gets paid. And he gets a skill. And he gets a van. And he gets a phone. And he gets a job.

A trade company.

You see, those who work in a trade need to be trained. And when they're being trained they don't make any money for their employer. This makes it difficult for an employer to take on another employee as it requires a large initial investment. However, a trained employee pays for himself. This scheme allows employers to train employees for only 50 euro a week, and the employee gets an additional 50 euro a week he wouldn't have gotten otherwise. And at the end of the scheme the employee has been trained and thus the employer with minimal initial investment now has a fully trained employee for minimal costs.

You're pointing out people who are taking advantage of this scheme. That is not a fault of the scheme but of the requirements needed to partake in the scheme. But for my mate it has worked out very well.

It is a fault of the scheme because the scheme should not allow this blatant abuse to happen. Why is this crap still happening with this scheme, its been going on for about a year now, the government could've sorted this out if they wanted to, but obviously it makes their employment stats look better when you have people working as slave labour instead of showing up as being on the dole.

Why is this crap still happening with this scheme

Bureaucracy.

But there's at least one less person who will be on the dole in a couple of months. For that person the scheme has been a success.

The others who are doing jobs with no prospects are victims of the previously mentioned bureaucracy, but cancelling the scheme entirely wouldn't benefit anyone.

Employer requirements need to be restricted. The scheme itself works when done properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 CYPRUSBABY

Could someone give me examples of where Supermac's are taking advantage and exploiting the JobBridge scheme? What proof do you have? Or what information have you that they are a prime example?

supermacs were hiring for ce scheme through fas,there was a wwp 1 scheme through fas for ecco shoes,shoe sales,ie selling shoes and getting paid by welfare!!

training internships via jobbridge for warehouse operatives,getting paid by welfare,at the end they get experience and have upskilled blah blah blah is what it says in the job description,basically in other language youre not going to be taken on and paid..

thats just one of a few examples i can think of,if you are in any doubt,take a look at the jobbridge site yourself,9 months of free labour..

fas schemes were even worse(no cooling off period before hiring more free labour staff),and the schemes some of them lasted up to 4 years!!

the fas hiring rate was very poor,thats why they are going to scrap a lot of the free labour quangos and merge them into one(jobbridge),i suppose 9 months free labour is better than 2 years free labour..and a lot of people did these schemes to simply top up their dole,didnt want employment,for those that did want employment,these schemes are a big let down,as having fas or jobbridge on your cv can make you look like a dole layabout..