Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Charlie Casanova

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I read a review - admittedly the Clarke one. When I saw it contains the line (paraphrasing) "You think I'm the bogeyman? No I'm not, I'm you." I made up my mind.
    Seriously, that "deep, philosophical" nugget about how we're all responsible for society's woes and no better than a sociopath, a sociopath is just doing what we long to do, bla bla, is the stuff of teenagers trying to look intelligent on After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

At least he only needs 100 people to see this to break even. It looks like horrendous, self-indulgent tripe. I won't be watching it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Went to see it.

Some of the worst dialogue I've ever heard. Poor direction and things that are supposed to be shocking that are just laughable:
    A woman getting her dog to perform oral sex on her

I laughed out loud at some of the lines

Man to escort: "Teach me how to make my wife love me."

Charlie Casanova himself wasn't so much a sociopath as a whiny annoying d*ckhead. And the actress who plays his wife was just awful.

Don't even go to see it as a curiosity piece.

I bet McMahon will hear stories of people walking out and think, "they couldn't handle my truth!" but really I think people are just walking out because it's poorly made sh*te.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Going by his rant, something tells me McMahon will simply dismiss any negative press as the evil Cultural Elite hating from their ivory towers & that they / the audience aren't ready for The Truth.
    At least he only needs 100 people to see this to break even. It looks like horrendous, self-indulgent tripe. I won't be watching it.

One would wonder; Bus Ads aren't cheap & the advertising campaign was fairly prominent on these shores. I was actually amazed something this low-budget was running with such a slick advertising campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

pixelburp wrote: »
    One would wonder; Bus Ads aren't cheap & the advertising campaign was fairly prominent on these shores. I was actually amazed something this low-budget was running with such a slick advertising campaign.

I'm guessing funding came in off the back of the film's success at American film festivals. StudioCanal seem to be the ones funding the advertising.

Think I'll check it out tonight.

Galvasean wrote: »

Don't say I didn't warn you......

Not going to write too much about this as it's just a dreadful piece of trash that isn't deserving of anything more than a few words.

Charlie Casanova is by far one of the worst things I have ever seen. A truly atrocious piece of film making that is badly made, atrociously written with some of the worst dialog I've ever heard and with some truly dreadful acted. Charlie tries hard to be the Irish Patrick Bateman but instead comes across as a whiny baby who lost it's bottle. Truly deplorable film making of the worst kind, the only redeeming factor is that you can get up and leave when ever you feel like it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,790 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Going by his rant, something tells me McMahon will simply dismiss any negative press as the evil Cultural Elite hating from their ivory towers & that they / the audience aren't ready for The Truth.

That's the thing - every speech he's given has said how the film was designed to provoke. But it's not provocative, it's merely poorly made. There are potentially interesting points in the film. But it's such a challenge trying to root that stuff out that it's not worth the hassle at all.

As for the Cultural Elite? Well, if the posters of the boards.ie film forum are considered the Cultural Elite, I can consider that a good day :P

That's the thing - every speech he's given has said how the film was designed to provoke. But it's not provocative, it's merely poorly made. There are potentially interesting points in the film. But it's such a challenge trying to root that stuff out that it's not worth the hassle at all.

As for the Cultural Elite? Well, if the posters of the boards.ie film forum are considered the Cultural Elite, I can consider that a good day :P

Everything I read from McMahon, just makes me hate the film a little bit more. It's obvious that be believes that his film is a strikingly original piece of cinema that somehow challenges the status quo when in reality it's a poorly made film whose terrible message is poorly told and amateurish. I've seen a lot of comments comparing the film to A Serbian Film which is ridiculous beyond belief. A Serbian Film may be hard to watch but there is a message and it is made by talented professionals who understand the medium and how to tell a story.

Having read some of McMahon's short scripts it's clear that he does not understand and how to use film to tell a story. Charlie Casanova is his first film and while it's admirable that he made the film on such a small budget and got it out there it does not make the film any more watchable. People like Scorscese, Tarantino, Kubrick, etc are all entitled to have massive egos as they have put in the time and proven themselves time after time. McMahon is a nobody who has made one film but to read his many public statements regarding the films negative critical reception, one would think that he is an industry veteran who has repeatedly challenged cinematic norms and crafted films which define their genre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Galvasean wrote: »

I'm guessing funding came in off the back of the film's success at American film festivals. StudioCanal seem to be the ones funding the advertising.

According to IMDB, the budget is half a million, so McMahon is just being misleading with the 900 euro.

I was wondering if I should see it, one of the cast is a work colleague, otherwise I probably wouldn't have paid it much attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

baalthor wrote: »
    According to IMDB, the budget is half a million, so McMahon is just being misleading with the 900 euro.

That figure must include the marketing budget so because the film received no funding from outside sources. There's no way the filmmakers would have raised half a million off their own back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

I went to see this despite the poor review Donald Clarke gave it, wanting to support Irish cinema and all that.

It is one of the worst films I have ever seen. It looks like it was acted, scripted and directed by a bunch of particulalry dim-witted transition year students.

The dialouge is pretentious and occasionaly hilarious (unintentionaly).

Forr me its up there with Crushproof as the worst Irish film to ever get a cinema release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,112 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Arrogant idiots involved in making it were on Live Line they completely put me off seeing it, apparently the reason for the appalling reviews is that "its so groundbreaking" that critics don't understand it :rolleyes:, as opposed to it been a piece of crap.

Anyone who is interested in seeing the film simply to see what all the fuss is about should take their money and go see How I Spent My Summer Vacation aka Get the Gringo. Both films have similar production histories and were a lobour of love for those involved. The only difference is that HISMSV is a competently made, entertaining, witty piece of film making that is never less than boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Also Jeff Who Lives At Home and The Raid are on, both terrific movies that need a bigger audience than they're gonna get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Arrogant idiots involved in making it were on Live Line they completely put me off seeing it, apparently the reason for the appalling reviews is that "its so groundbreaking" that critics don't understand it :rolleyes:, as opposed to it been a piece of crap.
    I'm listening now and am actually cringing. If you can't accept a difference of opinion you frankly deserve all the criticism you are going to get.

Hearing Joe Duffy reference Gaspar Noé was kinda amusing though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Could this be Ireland's answer to 'The Room'?

"...a fantastic piece of shít..." foxyboxer
    "...a fantastic piece..." the marketing team

Clarke is correct to point out the blatant misquote.
    A critic's reputation is everything. To be noticed commending such rubbish can be very damaging.

There was potential with this but the final product is the reason why bigger budgeted screenplays go through major drafts and re-writes, possibly even employing a script doctor to patch things up but the budget wasn't there to engage that.

e_e wrote: »
    I'm listening now and am actually cringing. If you can't accept a difference of opinion you frankly deserve all the criticism you are going to get.

Hearing Joe Duffy reference Gaspar Noé was kinda amusing though!

Especially when yer wan patronisingly says "it will appeal more to the disadvantaged" in her D4 accent! The main thing that annoyed me, as I said, was that according to them virtually NO critics are advanced enough to see how groundbreaking it apparently is (even ones like Peter Bradshaw in the Guardian who gave it one star, Bradshaw frequently recognises the brilliance in really unconventional but amazing stuff like Enter The Void), one of them said it was just like the way "Citizen Kane and Bonnie and Clyde" weren't praised by all critics at the time of their release (oh the arrogance, to mention them in the same breath as their yoke!). What's the chances this shower have invented a completely new and never seen before form of cinema like Eisenstein, Welles, Godard and the initial Dogma stuff over their lattes in the IFI cafe (with their well thumbed copy of Film Making For Dummies on the table), eh?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

See? I said it a few posts back from yours, it's obvious the makers of this are suffering from delusions of grandeur & bad reviews will simply ping against the hull of their unflappable & misplaced confidence.

They would no doubt dismiss criticism here as the mere ramblings of housebound nerds, maybe throw in a few zingers about living in mom's basement and whatnot. So I say let them have their 15 minutes, ignore 'em and move on.

See? I said it a few posts back from yours, it's obvious the makers of this are suffering from delusions of grandeur & bad reviews will simply ping against the hull of their unflappable & misplaced confidence.

They would no doubt dismiss criticism here as the mere ramblings of housebound nerds, maybe throw in a few zingers about living in mom's basement and whatnot. So I say let them have their 15 minutes, ignore 'em and move on.

I resent that, I have a great view from the window in mom's attic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,790 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I like to think our rejection of the film makes us the supposed cultural elite.

[/smug]

I like to think our rejection of the film makes us the supposed cultural elite.

[/smug]

You should check out my new book "How to be part of Irelands cultural elite on €10 a day". If you don't like it, it's because its written in a revolutionary new way that you people wouldn't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'm finding this whole debacle more interesting than any urge to see the actual film :pac:

Ha just listening to Liveline now and Mark O'Connor talking about how he made his film Stalker 'in reaction' to Charlie Casanova.

That would be fine and all, but his awful debut Between the Canals is - if anything - considerably worse than Charlie Casanova :pac:

Cannot wait to see Stalker.

Film advertising misusing quotes from reviews is nothing new, it's an accepted part of the industry and while Clarke's article was a little unnecessary McMahon's reaction has been one which can only be called absurd. There is nothing worse than a film maker who refuses to accept any criticism and even worse is one who believes that any criticism is down to some elitist agenda or misunderstanding of the material. Charlie Casanova is not an intelligent film, it is the cinematic equivalent of some misguided teenagers angry manifesto.

A lot of people are going to go and see the film due to the whole furor that has been int he media of late and that's a real shame as each ticket sale is only going to inflate McMahon's already over inflated ego and lead him to think that his film is in fact of note.

If only cinemas kept a note of walk-outs.

100 people bought tickets. When the film ended only 25 remained.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The liveline bit is here if anyone wants a listen:
    http://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/rteradioweb.html#!rii=9%3A3286010%3A53%3A14%2D05%2D2012%3A
    Starts at 36:45
    Terry McMahons twin is on, he acted in it. He knows every review about this film, knows loads of historical reviews but says he never reads reviews.

Also, he said it hurts his brother when people get personal. Lucky his brother wasn't personal in his letter to The Times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

And just watched the trailer, it has all the "awards" at the end are all just official selection. And one of them is the Clones Film Festival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭duckworth

This Terry McMahon guy is the new Tommy Wiseau!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Lads can ye stop insulting the Room here please? It's one of my favourite films. It's infinitely more genius than this.