Internship scheme offers 5,000 work placements to people on the dole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

The scheme is bull**** it does not tackle one root cause of our unemployment problem.
    I repeat we do not have high unemployment because we had no internship scheme.

Root cause me hole. It's nothing to do with unemployment. It's purpose is to get practical experience for graduates and people who've been sitting on their arses for a few years. Masters level degrees might help you get a job....... but they doesn't "tackle one root cause of unemployment".......so lets scrap them shall we :confused: You said you left Ireland because you didn't want to work for free. You are now working in Australia (presumably after gaining experience) yet say you won't come back. If you came back in a year or two, do you not think that you'd have the experience to get a job. Or would jobsbridge block that? Have you ever regretted not just biting the bullet and doing the internship over here? You sound a bit bitter. Don't be. The experience will be good for you

yeah we have high unemployment because of these schemes who the feck is going to hire paid staff with these joblockers in the way..

As I posted before, these people http://jobsearch.monster.ie/jobs/?cy=ie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

look at the fas website,and jobbridge there are companies/franchises involved that can well afford to hire..those jobs what could be paid jobs advertised are occupied by free labour..thats what takes away from communities.

http://jobseeker.fas.ie/Default.aspx?q=B+fomdowzS8kaDnSlUDk1zaMUPiFEeNrNWjviinu490thmC2C0u+DIP/wq2E2rFLT0kPLgcXDanWlPv1BADXYD2OqtxiT1eIaL3UN+Mx2TvlpIXjGKY9eOmRW+V3I2A7y3

'' Retail Assistant (CE Scheme)

« Previous | Next »
    Back to Search Results CE Eligibility Print this Page
    Created on: 14/05/2012 | Updated on: 14/05/2012 | Displayed until 21/05/2012 6 days from now

Based in WATERFORD CITY Ref. ES-683257
    Description
    Duties : stock control, till operation, shop/store room cleaning. This position will include Saturday work. See eligibility link above.

Salary: €CE Rates
    Number of Positions

Contract Type
    Other

Days, Hours & Start Date
    Days per week: Not specified
    Hours per day: Not specified
    Hours per week: 19.5
    Start Date: May 2012''

This is an example of the abuse of the scheme..shops that can well afford to hire..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

that link doesn't go to a specific job.

The email is for a recruitment agency, which is very weird, considering the ad then talks about stock :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

http://jobseeker.fas.ie/Default.aspx?q=B+fomdowzS8kaDnSlUDk1zaMUPiFEeNrNWjviinu490thmC2C0u+DIP/wq2E2rFLT0kPLgcXDanWlPv1BADXYD2OqtxiT1eIaL3UN+Mx2TvlpIXjGKY9eOmRW+V3I2A7y3

« Previous | Next »
    Created on: 14/05/2012 | Updated on: 14/05/2012 | Displayed until 21/05/2012 6 days from now

Description
    Duties : stock control, till operation, shop/store room cleaning. This position will include Saturday work. See eligibility link above.

Number of Positions

Contract Type
    Other

Days, Hours & Start Date

This is an example of the abuse of the scheme..shops that can well afford to hire..

CE schemes are a different kettle of fish. Strictly for the long-term unemployed and they usually go to people who are disadvantaged in seeking employment - disabled, unskilled, basic education etc. As you can see there participants only work 19.5 hours a week and get a significant increase in their payment. CE schemes genuinely help people and I don't believe they displace employment on a significant scale. Due to the circumstances of the participants and the part-time nature of the work it's less prone to the kind of abuses we've seen with JobBridge.

Ive worked in FAS where i seen full time workers hours cut,ive seen jobs advertised for selling ecco shoes in a shoe shop,that could have been a full time paid job..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Ive worked in FAS where i seen full time workers hours cut,ive seen jobs advertised for selling ecco shoes in a shoe shop,that could have been a full time paid job..

Fair enough but I know people who've been really helped by CE schemes so wouldn't knock them.

What about a scheme where an employer might take on an "intellectually challenged" person. Someone with a slight intellectual disability but who could be well able to do a job. However the chances of them getting a position via the usual competitive process would be virtually zero. If they got a position via a CE scheme, would you call them a job-blocker???? You could make a huge difference to someone's life by getting them that position..... It might not be a position that would exist otherwise

im not talking about people with disabilities looking for work,im talking about people with no intellectual disabilities with education and experience looking for work,only to see jobbridge or ce attached to them (ce rates)i seen a few recently,and these are companies who can afford to employ /hire staff and pay them ,but dont,because these schemes are in the way,thats why i refer to them as job blockers..they create unemployment,even in the boom years fas sucked up jobs that could have been paying postions

coming out of college and having no practical experience can be a major "disability" for a lot of industries..... A temporary one and one that could be easily fixed if only there was some way that the government might entice employers to take them on......

okay then what about shelf stacking?..and every person that takes a job anyway,gets training there is usually a 2 week initial training periods,well anywhere from 2 weeks up to a month..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,318 ✭✭✭Wompa1

And a big reason there are no jobs is because those 7,000 internships are offered.

If they were not available, the jobs would be offered. Not all obviously, but plenty such as admin and receptionist people etc are necessary for companies to be run. Those roles were always filled by paid employees in the past.

As long as companies can get away with free labour, many will take that option.

I'm not being cheeky or condescending with this. But I'm wondering if you have examples of what kind of business requires admins and receptionists?

okay then what about shelf stacking?..and every person that takes a job anyway,gets training there is usually a 2 week initial training periods,well anywhere from 2 weeks up to a month..

I dream of shelf stacking. Oh, to be going into work every morning, wondering what it will be today; will I be on the biscuits, the household goods, or maybe even the fridges. Once, for my birthday, they let me stack the sweet shelves. That was the happiest day of my life

There are far more interesting jobs than shelf stacking available. Maybe you even have examples of a few internships that are looking for shelf stacking. It doesn't mean the scheme should be scrapped. Are you looking for a shelf stacking job yourself? Nothing wrong with being a shelf stacker. Shelfs won't stack themselves and shops are useless with empty shelves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Has anyone heard of any stories were someone who went into one of these schemes(slave labour camps) who has done damage to a company?

Such as: while operating a cash register, under charged customers, or damaged stock, as a result of them not caring, as getting €50 a week for 40 hours wouldn't really be a motivation for certain people to do a good or proper job.

Just be curious is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭sonic.trip

I've been considering doing one of these just to get experience in engineering, which I haven't been able to get in Ireland since getting my degree but 50 quid is no incentive at all, it would cost me more than 50 euro a week in petrol to get to some of these places, never mind my lunches and clothes etc. I think it's a good idea if you're 18-20, been unemployed for a few monts or years and sare still living at home with your parents, for people who are not I think it's degrading.

I'm also an electrician and when you put it into perspective I can earn 19-20 euro an hour, it's a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Has anyone heard of any stories were someone who went into one of these schemes(slave labour camps) who has done damage to a company?

Such as: while operating a cash register, under charged customers, or damaged stock, as a result of them not caring, as getting €50 a week for 40 hours wouldn't really be a motivation for certain people to do a good or proper job.

Just be curious is all

Sounds potentially hilarious.

How much damage (not actual stealing of cash) do you think one could do. :pac:

Sounds potentially hilarious.

How much damage (not actual stealing of cash) do you think one could do. :pac:

Well I worked in a centre/star style shop before, and it would be very easy if your not paying attention to undercharge someone who pays with card, or to give out the incorrect change.

Now imagine your in a sports store(like the one who had a job on one of these schemes for a trainee manager, well it wasn't really a trainee manager post but one of a till jockey), if I was to undercharge someone for a golf club, maybe miss a "0" on the credit card machine, they might be getting a €300 club for €30...now that's a sizeable loss.

Now to do anything like thing intentionally would be thief I suppose, but I'm only coming at it from the stand point of not double checking your work, because its not financially worth your time to do so, since slave labour is wrong and all that

sonic.trip wrote: »
    I've been considering doing one of these just to get experience in engineering, which I haven't been able to get in Ireland since getting my degree but 50 quid is no incentive at all, it would cost me more than 50 euro a week in petrol to get to some of these places, never mind my lunches and clothes etc. I think it's a good idea if you're 18-20, been unemployed for a few monts or years and sare still living at home with your parents, for people who are not I think it's degrading.

I'm also an electrician and when you put it into perspective I can earn 19-20 euro an hour, it's a joke.

If you are currently working and earning 20 Euro an hour then jobsbridge isn't designed or meant for you.

It's a bit like someone giving out that their BTEA should be a grand a week because that's what they'd earn as a blocklayer

EDIT: you're post is also basically saying, it's ok for everyone else but not for me!!

« Previous | Next »

Description

Number of Positions

Contract Type
    Other

Days, Hours & Start Date

What sort of a job are you looking for? Are you trying to get one of these jobs you keep posting as if they are jokes? Is that your problem? Have you applied for positions doing "stock control, till operation, shop/store room cleaning" and are bitter because you didn't get called for interview? :confused:

Well I worked in a centre/star style shop before, and it would be very easy if your not paying attention to undercharge someone who pays with card, or to give out the incorrect change.

Now imagine your in a sports store(like the one who had a job on one of these schemes for a trainee manager, well it wasn't really a trainee manager post but one of a till jockey), if I was to undercharge someone for a golf club, maybe miss a "0" on the credit card machine, they might be getting a €300 club for €30...now that's a sizeable loss.

Now to do anything like thing intentionally would be thief I suppose, but I'm only coming at it from the stand point of not double checking your work, because its not financially worth your time to do so, since slave labour is wrong and all that

Hey, mistakes happen, but if someone is that much of an idiot to let that happen a few times on a job that's giving them an important start...............well frankly, the reason they're on the dole might not be solely related to the recession!

yore wrote: »
    Hey, mistakes happen, but if someone is that much of an idiot to let that happen a few times on a job that's giving them an important start...............well frankly, the reason they're on the dole might not be solely related to the recession!

Well if I was forced onto a job on the scheme, I really wouldn't care about doing a proper job to be honest, getting €3 an hour...feck that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Well if I was forced onto a job on the scheme, I really wouldn't care about doing a proper job to be honest, getting €3 an hour...feck that

Thats too narrow minded.

It's not €3 an hour. Its €3 an hour and experience.

When this recession is over, those who worked on these schemes will stand head and shoulders above those who stayed home and did nothing.

Interviwer: "so, what did you do for the last 2 years?"
    Job-seeker: "nothing"
    Interviewer: "nothing at all? what about those work schemes?"
    Job-seeker: "nah, its below me to work for low pay and experience"
    Interviewer: "Well, that 'little as possible' attitude is not welcome here, get out of my office"

yore wrote: »
    What sort of a job are you looking for? Are you trying to get one of these jobs you keep posting as if they are jokes? Is that your problem? Have you applied for positions doing "stock control, till operation, shop/store room cleaning" and are bitter because you didn't get called for interview? :confused:

No,but i was on a FAS scheme

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Thats too narrow minded.

It's not €3 an hour. Its €3 an hour and experience.

When this recession is over, those who worked on these schemes will stand head and shoulders above those who stayed home and did nothing.

Interviwer: "so, what did you do for the last 2 years?"
    Job-seeker: "nothing"
    Interviewer: "nothing at all? what about those work schemes?"
    Job-seeker: "nah, its below me to work for low pay and experience"
    Interviewer: "Well, that 'little as possible' attitude is not welcome here, get out of my office"

Already have 4 and a half years experience in retail, and all of the schemes would offer nothing to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Already have 4 and a half years experience in retail, and all of the schemes would offer nothing to me

Thats understandable, but employers don't hire for experience alone.
    Doing something, anything, is better than doing nothing, and doing nothing will stand out in bright fluorescent pink to any prospective employer.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    Thats understandable, but employers don't hire for experience alone.
    Doing something, anything, is better than doing nothing, and doing nothing will stand out in bright fluorescent pink to any prospective employer.

I keep myself busy building myself towards achieving a few life goals

http://www.herald.ie/news/intern-pla...0-3103338.html

i have seen job adverts for free labour schemes that should be paid employment,what is to stop them from using it as a revolving door system,yes they have the 6 month cooling off period,but what happens when companies only use it to hire free extra christmas staff(the busiest time for places like tesco) every year?and in the cooling off period simply dont hire in the off winter months..

these free labour schemes suck what could be a paid job advertised out of the community these are job blockers..for the young/unemployed or recently let go,or even long term unemployed,to see ce rates or neg doe,due to it being an internship attached to a job brings dissapointment..some of these companies involved in these internship free labour scams can well afford to hire but dont due to these guys...and do you really need to be on a 9 month learning curve to wipe tables?

aside from all that,i would like to hear peoples thoughts and opinions on what they think of the jobbridge extension?and did anybody ever hear of jobfit and why they closed down in july 2011?and what they think of the current fas situation?has anybody on boards.ie ever worked on one of these free labour schemes,have they any stories to tell?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Slavery is alive & well, where can I get one.