Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pronunciations that drive you mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭Solair

"Sah-her-day" for "Saturday" really drives me mad!

There are some very odd pronunciations of London in Ireland too.

I don't actually mind mispronunciations that much but it's the kind of guttural lazy sounding ones that really get me. If it sounds awful, and provokes a bad reaction, you'd think people might consider that maybe they might try and figure out a different way of saying it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Peugeot is pronounced "puh-joe" (where the j is softer and rolls a little. it's not like the name "Joe")

Not really a pronunciation but I can't stand when people type "off" in instead of "of".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,803 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

summerskin wrote: »
    WTF? never heard anyone say that in England. it's Puhh-zho

Really now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Opel, I hear it pronounced as Vauxhall ;)

opel brand name is not registered as a car brand in the uk hence why they use vauxhall

similarly why bulmers cider in ireland is called magners in the uk.. cos there is actually another cider brewery in the uk called bulmers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Think you missed the smilie there

I wasn't being serious

murpho999 wrote: »
    Really now?

Correct pronunciation is at the end of this clip: (Skip to about 0:25 to avoid a lot of soppy shots of people looking unusually sloppily happy with their car mechanic!)

It's actually hard enough to find any French YouTube clips saying "Peugeot" as the company's own ads never speak the name, it's all logos and flashy animations and car reviewers never refer to the name it's always the "306" or whatever :D

Maybe it's just one of those words that nobody likes pronouncing!

Basically, to pronounce it correctly develop a breathless female French VO artist voice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭plys

Ward-ropes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

'Tay' for tea and 'babby' for baby :mad:. I also have a cousin who refers to me as his cousint

A N.E. Donegal thing:

Windies = Windows.
    Windystools = Windowsills.
    Cyar = Car.

Dublin ones :

"Me Ma " - My Mother.
    "Me Da" - My Father

Cork verb mix-up:

to leave ≠ to let.

For example, the Beatles did not sing "Leave it be".
    You do not "leave the cat out" unless you are trying to snub the cat during a conversation.
    You were not "left out of the bus" unless the bus driver hates you!
    The judge did not leave him off lightly. He let him off lightly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭whatsername42

When the Yanks pronounce Iraq "Eye-raq" - drives me crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Gaaaaarrrrrdeee....The RTE pronunciation of Gardai.

Its Gore-Dee.

It's Mammy, not mom ya wannabe Yank

The other Cork one that surprised me:

Two (correctly pronounced)
    Too (correctly pronounced)
    and
    to (pronounced as Tuh!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Krispie

Solair wrote: »
    You do not "leave the cat out" unless you are trying to snub the cat during a conversation.

Great thread. Each response from Solair just reminds me soooooo much of the great Sheldon Cooper (Big Bang Theory). Keep it up bud, fascinating stuff:cool:

Cork verb mix-up:

to leave ≠ to let.

The judge did not leave him off lightly. He let him off lightly!

I was wondering if I was the only one who goes demented at this

"she was queueing outside until the shop opened, she should have been left in"
    ?!?!
    left in from when? the night before?
    or "can you please leave me know"
    that just doesn't make any sense at all

I amn't liking this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭The Little Fella

My big culchie accent produces a few variations.

Normal no.....noooooo

Sulking no.....no

Angry no.....nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

film comes out as filum, sandwich is sangwich and so on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

British pronouncing bra as brar, and the shampoo ad for your hay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

My big culchie accent produces a few variations.

Normal no.....noooooo

Sulking no.....no

Angry no.....nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

film comes out as filum, sandwich is sangwich and so on
    Did you never have a hang sangich in Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

bluewolf wrote: »
    I was wondering if I was the only one who goes demented at this

"she was queueing outside until the shop opened, she should have been left in"
    ?!?!
    left in from when? the night before?
    or "can you please leave me know"
    that just doesn't make any sense at all

'By your leave' is close enough to 'allow me / let me' that you can see where it comes from. Don't really get why you're bothered by it.

There's some promo on Sky that runs before Modern Families. Sponsored by Bath Store...

I hear it as "Bar Stool"

The UK pronunciations of Bath are quite odd.

Varies from "Barf" to "Bah-th"

Also the classic London One, Two, Free, Four ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

murpho999 wrote: »
    Really now?

Am I missing something? They both said "puh-jo".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

There's some promo on Sky that runs before Modern Families. Sponsored by Bath Store...

I hear it as "Bar Stool"

The UK pronunciations of Bath are quite odd.

Varies from "Barf" to "Bah-th"

"Bah-th" if you're southern/posh, "Bath" (flat 'a') if you're northern. "Barth" if you're actually from Bath.

dpe wrote: »
    Am I missing something? They both said "puh-jo".
    I think people are hearing Rs that aren't there in the English pronunciation of Peugeot. Which is probably why some people drink Larger in Ireland. (Over-compensating for their non-rhotacism.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭beegirl

Girl I work with says 'exossted' instead of exhausted and 'slepp' instead of slept - these often occur in the same sentence which makes it all the more annoying!

Also, when people say 'could of' instead of could've or could have :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,257 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

"I faw you wanted to go to the fuhbow match?"

FTGFOP wrote: »
    I think people are hearing Rs that aren't there in the English pronunciation of Peugeot. Which is probably why some people drink Larger in Ireland. (Over-compensating for their non-rhotacism.)

They're not 'hearing' it. The speakers are throwing in an intrusive R-sound because their phonetic system cannot cope with the EU sound jumping to a soft G.

The other Dublin/ East coast issue:

I was cuking dah recipe from me cukery buke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

A lot of these are just because of accents which I think is a good thing, I pity the day when we all speak in a crap generic accent, what gets me is simple things that people say rather than pronounce like when most soccer players say 'at the end of the day, our backs were against the wall but we done well to get back into the game'.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

Where I'm from, we say "sangwidge" all the time (although the blaa is the preferred accompaniment for our ham!).

Back in the day, I remember walking by a shop in Madrid that was selling "Sangüiches" for 250 pesetas a pop. How I would have liked to snap that one on my camera phone and post it up on Facebook, but that was back in the day when all that sort of stuff was in the futuuuure...

They're not 'hearing' it. The speakers are throwing in an intrusive R-sound because their phonetic system cannot cope with the EU sound jumping to a soft G..
    The British one to my ears sounds like "Pair-jo".

An English person* doesn't pronounce the R in 'pair' so what's the point of saying they pronounce Peugeot as 'pair-jo'?

*(with exceptions such as those from Devon)