Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pronunciations that drive you mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭Solair

Can you be a bit more pacific...(instead of specific. :mad::mad:).

Ahhhhhh!!!!

That's not a mispronunciation! It's just lack of education, stupidity, illiteracy or all three!

I remember correcting an essay which contained a reference to the 'Specific Ocean'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

Can you be a bit more pacific...(instead of specific. :mad::mad:).

Ahhhhhh!!!!

Heard someone on Ireland AM say this over and over this morning.. I wanted to punch the tv!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

Solair wrote: »
    To a French speaker, it's a bad a pronunciation as "l'oueeek-endh" is in English :)

Er, no its not. It just isn't. The English pronunciation is in the normal range of French dialects, Pew-joe isn't anything like any of them. Its just not.

And its "Spring Onions" not "salad onions". And its cupboard not press while we're at it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I wouldn't worry about it too much. Peugeot is difficult to pronounce in English!

The UK common pronunciation of it is totally incorrect too!

"Pair-jo"

If anything, the Irish attempt at it is slightly better than the British mispronunciation of it :D

Neither are accurate, but it's a French word!

The Germans would just pronounce every letter of it, same with the Spanish.
    Renault in Spain is R-E-N-A-U-L-T vs "Rehnn-Oh!"
    If anything, someone from Drogheda would have a better chance of getting it right, with the French-style uvular-R

Er... that is close enough to the correct pronouciation of Renault.
    And no, the English pronouce it more recognisable than the Irish... I never got that at all. If you want to promouce it as if it was an English word, surely you'd go for Pyew-got, not Pyew-sho?
    Pur-sho would be close enough to correct.

Pronouncing the common phrase "Hi guys!" as "Houy gouys!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Because the sound fits Irish phonetics better than the English version.
    The English also insist on calling perfectly good 'scallions' salad-onions!
    Scallions works fine in the US and Ireland :D

I mean, you might as well start calling satsumas "baby oranges".

I've never heard scallions called salad onions anywhere in the UK. They call them spring onions.

Gyalist wrote: »
    I've never heard scallions called salad onions anywhere in the UK. They call them spring onions.

Tesco loves calling them "salad onions". :D
    Clearly it's new Tesco-speak.

Shenshen wrote: »
    Er... that is close enough to the correct pronouciation of Renault.
    And no, the English pronouce it more recognisable than the Irish... I never got that at all. If you want to promouce it as if it was an English word, surely you'd go for Pyew-got, not Pyew-sho?
    Pur-sho would be close enough to correct.

As a French speaker, I can assure you both are horribly wrong !
    But than again, anyone trying to squeeze French phonetics into English will find it they don't quite fit.

At least the Spanish just borrow the word and pronounce it in Spanish - reading it letter-by-letter, as per Spanish phonetics.
    Sometimes I think English makes too much of an attempt to pronounce loan words without either respelling them or just not worrying about the pronunciation as long as it fits into English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

I was in St. Pancras train station in London and overheard a nearby woman say on the phone "Yeah, I'm currently in Pancreas station".

No you're not, you idiot. Unless the station is suddenly part of the endocrine system and the trains are now producing insulin, I'm pretty sure you're not currently in a pancreas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

harney wrote: »
    ash-hume instead of assume :(

Works if you say it in a nordie accent :)
    Carlos_Ray wrote: »
    English pronunciations of Irish names especially football players. A lot of Irish people are starting to use the English pronunciation now ffs.

KAY-HILL instead of Cahill.

Tim Cahill pronounces it as Cayhill
    We use what the man wants himself, it's his name

As a French speaker, I can assure you both are horribly wrong :D

Really? What part of France would you be from, if I may ask?

But, just in general - neither pronunciation is accurate. The British one to my ears sounds like "Pair-jo"
    The Irish one sounds like "Pew-jo"

You should just call it whatever is comfortable in English, which is exactly what French-speakers do with loan words / trademarks borrowed from English, German, Japanese etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Everybody outside my family mispronounces my surname. That annoys me. When I correct them on it sometimes they will tell me I'm wrong. That makes me what to slap a bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I've often heard Irish people say Wimble-ton instead of Wimbledon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

something is very addictable

its addictive ffs

Jester252 wrote: »
    Everybody outside my family mispronounces my surname. That annoys me. When I correct them on it sometimes they will tell me I'm wrong. That makes me what to slap a bitch

What's worse is when you have a surname that is pronounced a particular way and someone says "Oh you mean --- (mispronounces name horribly or says an entirely different name)"

I have had a few incidents were I have gone FFS ! I know how to pronounce my own name!!!

School teachers and bank officials are the worst for that!

Gyalist wrote: »
    I've often heard Irish people say Wimble-ton instead of Wimbledon.

That's just a case of never having read the word / being a bit deaf.
    Auvers wrote: »
    something is very addictable

its addictive ffs

The only response to that is :

"Me fail English, that unpossible!" (Ralph Wiggum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

A woman I work with describes herself as "volumptuous" and she also pronounces pyjamas as "perr-jarr-merrs".

This bothers me immensely.

OT but women who repeatedly describe themselves as voluptuous unprompted tend to annoy me. If you're so curvy, fabulous, real woman etc surely the world can see that and doesn't need to be told?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

The man on the Innocent Orange Juice ad, he pronounces "orange" in one syllable like "ORRNGE" Bleugh!

and "Gorrthee" for gardaí on the RTE news. and anything said by Rachel Allen really. :s

Spent a lot of childhood (practically grew up) in the Southwest.

But, just in general - neither pronunciation is accurate. The British one to my ears sounds like "Pair-jo"
    The Irish one sounds like "Pew-jo"

You should just call it whatever is comfortable in English, which is exactly what French-speakers do with loan words / trademarks borrowed from English, German, Japanese etc etc.

I'm well aware that there is no exact English equivalent to the French "eu" and German "Ö" or "oe" sounds, but there are a few close seconds.
    If people here were to pronouce it Pyew-got, I wouldn't have that much of an issue. What drives me mental is the nonsensical half-and-half that is Pyew-sho, Hala-peeno instead of Halapenyo, Eyebitha instaed of Ibiza and many many more.

And since I happen to drive a Peugot, that one tops the list for me. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

http://translate.google.ie/?hl=en&tab=wT#auto|en|peugeot

Listen to the French and English pronunciations. Not a million miles apart. In Ireland on the other hand...

At least the Spanish just borrow the word and pronounce it in Spanish - reading it letter-by-letter, as per Spanish phonetics.
    Sometimes I think English makes too much of an attempt to pronounce loan words without either respelling them or just not worrying about the pronunciation as long as it fits into English.

English manages ok, I've only ever heard Irish people mangling words in that god-awful way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

SolpHadeine

Pattren

Finnance

Scaffs

Sahurrrday

I'm well aware that there is no exact English equivalent to the French "eu" and German "Ö" or "oe" sounds, but there are a few close seconds.
    If people here were to pronouce it Pyew-got, I wouldn't have that much of an issue. What drives me mental is the nonsensical half-and-half that is Pyew-sho, Hala-peeno instead of Halapenyo, Eyebitha instaed of Ibiza and many many more.

And since I happen to drive a Peugot, that one tops the list for me. :mad:

You get so called, "proximate substitution" when attempting to pronounce a foreign word. So, it can go many ways and it depends on the speakers dialect / which phoneme they happen to find fits the word best. That will create plenty of odd variations.
    It's quite possible that a Hiberno-English speaker will jump to a different substitute phoneme than a Southern English speaker, which I think explains the Peugeot thing. Irish/American speakers tend to dislike intrusive "r" sounds, where as English people insert them all over the place.

Ah, I had a great one in Belfast:
    A waitress corrected my correct pronunciation of fajita to "Fah-jiy-tah"

She shouted back to the kitchen: "Two orders of fah-jiy-tas"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,945 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Jam-Bon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Tescos
    Doesn't bother me but it seems to bother some people

The girl in the deli asks if I want buh-hur

Ah, I had a great one in Belfast:
    A waitress corrected my correct pronunciation of fajita to "Fah-jiy-tah"

She shouted back to the kitchen: "Two orders of fah-jiy-tas"

Bruschetta is another favourite of that.
    although you have to admire the sheer stubbornness of a waitress who will correct (obvious) native Italian speakers more than once...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Heathrow is a funny one.

It's common enough to hear it pronounced as "Hea - throw" in Ireland
    where the correct way is "Heath - Row"

Bruschetta is another favourite of that.
    although you have to admire the sheer stubbornness of a waitress who will correct (obvious) native Italian speakers more than once...

Meh, it happens in other countries too.

The one that really annoys me is the odd interpretation of a cappuccino in France, Spain and elsewhere!

You expect coffee with frothed milk and instead get some kind of huge creamy thing with a massive dollop of spray-on chantilly cream and sprinkles.

It's not the pronunciation, but rather the entire concept!

I ordered one in Bilbao and got : a few shots of espresso, layer of whipped cream, topped with chantilly cream (spray can stuff), then a cross-cross of chocolate sauce and an umbrella!

So, I am a little less harsh on Irish waitresses mispronouncing bruschetta, if they at least deliver something resembling one! :)

Meh, it happens in other countries too.

The one that really annoys me is the odd interpretation of a cappuccino in France, Spain and elsewhere!

You expect coffee with frothed milk and instead get some kind of huge creamy thing with a massive dollop of spray-on chantilly cream and sprinkles.

It's not the pronunciation, but rather the entire concept!

I ordered one in Bilbao and got : a few shots of espresso, layer of whipped cream, topped with chantilly cream (spray can stuff), then a cross-cross of chocolate sauce and an umbrella!

The umbrella bit actually made me laugh out loud here now!