If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

More miles mean more improvement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Well done!! Congrats to both you and Ian.....and great report!!!! :) Good luck on the 28th! :eek: (6 hour track race?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Amazing report to go with a top notch race, Ray! I had no idea your ankle bothered you as much as it did, top marks for keeping going, and posting an amazing time, too!

You certainly deserved it after your training.

Best of luck with the 6-hour race. Take care of that foot first.

With that amount of training you're doing it's scary to imagine how good you might become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Brilliant race report Ray, and an amazing achievement! You've got major strength mentally and physically to keep going. Hope the ankle heals up asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Grellan

Great run Ray, I can't believe to did that on a dodgy ankle - respect. I was with you from about mile 10 to 19. Ye passed me at mile 26 but I stuck in there for a 5:02 finish (a 22 minute PB) - it's hard on your own. I met you and Ian briefly after the race. till next year, Grellan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

week 14
    mon=injured
    tues=injured
    wed=injured
    thurs=16 miles x 7.27pace(felt realy tired,ankle still at me)
    fri=rest
    sat=28 miles x 7.57pace(ankle felt runnable or im getting used to the pain,never struggled so much during a training run,connemara has took alot out of me for sure).
    sun=8 miles
    weeks total=52miles

week 15
    mon=13miles
    tues=21miles
    wens=rest
    thurs=23miles(struggeled realy bad,stopped 6 times for 30secs to walk)
    fri=rest
    sat=30miles x 7.26pace(done my first session on the track for my 6hr track race on the 28th,felt realy bouncy and zapped the energy out of my legs,but i was worried about the cornering,that didnt bother me,but it sure was boring,i managed 2 hrs until i got dizzy:)
    sun=10miles x 7.03pace am + 7miles x 7.49pace pm
    weeks total= 104miles(happy to hit the 100 this week,it might make the legs tired but it puts my head in a good place.

week 16
    mon=25miles(13m am + 12m pm)
    tue=rest
    wens=14miles
    thurs=11miles
    fri=16miles x 7.24pace
    sat=16miles x 7.59pace
    sun=8miles x 6.43pace
    weeks total=90miles
    (since monday i have been suffering bad with fatigue,every run this week bar fridays was cut short,something wasnt right,then friday night my stomach has had bad pains and ive had diearria,and passing blood,getting my blood looked at tomorrow and a chat with the doctor,i have a hernia for 2 years now that i havnt got sorted yet,i hope its nothing to do with that,this is all i need now with my 6hr race on saturday)

Take it easy before your race. Please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Take it easy before your race. Please!

just back from the doctor,got blood tested,no results for a week,he said its not my hernia thats causing the problems,have to get a camara down me to see whats going on,he has to wait for the blood results to come back to see whats happening,said it could be some bug or something more serious with my bowels,he advised me to do no running and complete rest until results are back,i told him my plan for saturday and he nearly fell of the chair,if i feel better my saturday im going,if not im going anyway,fingers crossed

I'm sure I'm wasting my time in telling you to take it easy on yourself but I really think you should. It sounds like serious stuff and your health is more important than any race.
    In the meantime you could try and rest as much as possible between now and Saturday, you've got more than enough miles in those legs and the rest can only help you.
    I'll keep my fingers crossed for you Ray

CRAWLEY 6HR TRACK RACE REPORT
    got on the 9.15 bus from tramore to dublin airport with arrived in dublin at 1.30,my plane over to england wasnt leaving until 4.05,plenty of time to relax and get something to eat,of i went a checked my bag in and a foreign later mumbelled something to me,all i understood was look at the big screen,i ask what and got the same answer,ok,so off i went for something to eat,i eat a dinner and my stomach went into cramps again and had a few visits to the toilet,get my results on tuesday to see whats happening there,so a 2.30 i went down to the big screen and stood there looking up at it waiting for where to go,every few minutes on certin destenations it would say go to gate 2,except my flight and a few others,i presumed it was delayed.3.45 came and i rang my misses to check online to see if it was delayed,she said it wasnt,i panicked and found a rynair tesk and ask the lady she said your to late now the wont let you on,pure panic set in,in the end after argueing my bag was took of and had to pay another 110 euro and wait until 7.40 for the next plane,i didnt miss this one and arrived at my hotel at 10,ended up walking for 30 mins trying to find a shop and got back to my hotel at 11,had something to eat and straight to bed,i met my friend at the hotel at 7 in the morning for breakfest and race talk,i had a great breakfest but my stomach was in a bad way,a mix of nerves and a virus,of we headed to the crawley track,had a race briefing,the olympic torch was there from the 1965 olympics i think and everyone got to run a lap with it with it lighting,my tactics was to get the win and try and beat the course record of 46.7miles,so i was going to run the first 2 miles hard to not let anyone no my pace,i went out a 6.20pace and 2 guys flew past me,my friend said they where running 5.30 pace,that blew my goal out the window and didnt have a plan B,i just kept running hard for about 4 miles hoping they would slow down ,put no way were day,these were serious runners,then my stomach started playing up and had to make a detour to the toilet area,about 100 meters of the track,i lost 10 min in the first hour,then in the second hour my data base on my garmin went full,what a time for this to happen,threw my watch at my friend to sort it out,then more stomach troubles,another trip to the toilets and again in the 3rd hour,i think i lost almost 17min in this time,i realy didnt want to continue any more but if you give your best on the day you can walk away pround and still be a winner, so i just ran and ran,i hadnt a clue what sort of mileds i was covering only ever hour when day put up the leaders board,i was in 3rd,and then on the fifth hour day made a mistake and i was in 4th,this confussed me and had to stop to sort it out,but the new what happened and back into 3rd i went,with 14mins to go my friend shouted you have 44miles done,with my calculatins i had run nearly 47 with going arond on different lanes and running to the toilets and back,so i ran as hard as i could,i ran 2x 6.30miles,and ended up 46.odd,near the course record,well the old one,as the leader ran a new british record,i think 52miles,yes 2 marathons back to back in 6 hours and the guy that was second ran 50.odd mile,the guy in second ran a 2.33 in london last week as training,theywere both qualafiying for britain for the up and coming celtic plate,when the race was over i just collapst on the ground,but felt no tiredness,strange maybe adrenuline taking over,had a shower and went up to the prize givings,first prize to first place,the guy in fourth won the vets title,then the lady gave the second guy a prize,and then i got called up,i only thought there was a prize for first,just shows you if you NEVER GIVE UP,you get your rewards,i got the coolest prize ever 2 cast iron and bronze trainers with the crawley 6hr 2012 on the side,over the moon,i proudly looking at them now,so of i went back to the hotel had a dinner,and went to gatwick airport,yes went to wrong terminal but had plenty of time to find the right one,arrived back in dublin were a friend picked me up and back in tramore by 1.30 sunday morning,i cand wait to do this one again next year,think i could ru near 50miles if everything falls right on the day,bring on the rest of 2012.:)

I'm thrilled for you Ray, congratulations, fantastic run for you and a wonderful prize. I could almost feel the stress in your report, so nice to have a great result at the end of it.
    Now PLEASE rest and recover properly:) you surely deserve a break now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Yes, serious congratulations for you! Do take a little well deserved break, at least until the test results come back....then easy does it for a bit. If you can, post a photo of your uber cool prize. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Great running Ray... Super stuff....Cant wait 2 c how u perform when ur 100% fit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

Well done. You're crazy but well done. I don't know how you can keep that training going. Fair play.

I knew you were going to run it, stomach troubles or not. That's a serious achievement, congratulations! Well done!

week 17
    mon=rest
    tues=rest
    wed=rest
    thurs=6 miles x 7.22pace
    fri=rest
    sat=46 miles(crawley 6hr track)
    sun=8 miles
    weeks total=60miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Wow, you are made a strong stuff Ray :eek: Congrats on another fantastic achievement.

3rd place prize:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Larry Brent

,my tactics was to get the win and try and beat the course record of 46.7miles,so i was going to run the first 2 miles hard to not let anyone no my pace,i went out a 6.20pace and 2 guys flew past me,my friend said they where running 5.30 pace,that blew my goal out the window and didnt have a plan B.:)

Excuse my limited ultra racing knowledge, but is going out hard at the start of an ultra race not a strange choice of tactic?

hi larry
    that early pace wasnt hard,hard,and it was only going to be for a short period,so no energy lost,i still managed to do the last two miles in almost the same pace,but i no where your coming from,if its only a short period its not a problem,i wanted to test everyone else or even trough them off a bit,but two other guys had the same plan:)

these are my hourly laps in the crawley 6hr track race
    1st hour=31 laps+toilet break
    2nd hour=31 laps+toilet break
    3rd hour=31 laps+toilet break
    4th hour=33laps+ NO TOILET BREAK
    5th hour=27 laps(im trying to find out what happened in this hour as i ran at the same pase to the end,at least 4 or 5 laps missing,thats where some of the extra millage i ran went i think)
    6th hour=32 laps
    i got word saying that the miles i covered was a irish record but when i checked it myself i think i am the fastest in a 6hr track race but there guys that have ran much quicker in longer distances,they just take there first 6hr splits.:p
    after my first 6hr race it has got me thinking about trying a 100k or even a 12hr race,i think i could of plodded on a that pace for a good few hours more,i didnt have the speed to go faster but i felt like i could of ran alot further,fingers croosed for the future,i just hope the misses doesnt read this:D

week 18
    mon=rest
    tue=11miles x 7.58pace
    wen=rest
    thurs=8miles x 7.11pace
    fri=8miles x 7.22pace
    sat=rest
    sun=rest
    weeks total=27miles
    decided to take it real easy for a week as i think i deserved it,i ate as much junk food as possible,got results from the doctor saying my blood test came back grand but still refurred me to hospital about my bowels,so next up for me is the portuma 50k in less than 6 weeks,so training begins tomorrow for that,im going to run it hard but not hard,hard,i would love to do a 50k at sub 3hr marathon pace,but going to wait until next year for that,3.45 sounds good enough for this year:)

week 19
    mon=22miles x 7.59pace
    tues=10miles x 6.45 pace
    wed=15miles(8miles am x 7.19pace +7miles x 7.09pace pm)
    thurs=10miles x 7.27pace
    fri=rest
    sat=rest(sore foot so decided to be smart for once a didnt run on it)
    sun 26miles x 7.50pace
    weeks total= 83miles(wanted to do at least 100miles this week but foot was sore so missed a day,but on the good side my foot is fine now,roll on next week:))

week 20
    mon= 5miles
    tues=20miles at 7.27pace
    wed=rest
    thur=23miles(5x6.52pace+18miles at 8.30pace)
    fri=25 miles(5miles x 7.05pace am+20 miles at 8.30pace pm)
    sat=8 miles x 7.11 pace
    sun=20miles x 7.02pace
    weeks total 101miles(had a rub on tuesday and my legs felt like concrete blocks until today,had a lovely run today,makes up for all the hard work on bad runs):)

week 21
    mon=32miles(17miles x 7.37pace am)(15miles x 8.30pace pm)
    tues=10miles x 7.11pace
    wen=18miles(8miles am)(10miles x 6.50pace pm)
    thur=rest
    fri=8miles x 6.43pace
    sat=10miles x 7.23pace
    sun=22miles x 7.19pace
    week total=100mile
    (didnt get any long runs in this week due to work family and heat,but starting to feel realy strong and speeding up a bit too,havnt been injured for 6 weeks,i think the body is getting used to the bigger milage,was just doing portuma 50k as another medal in the bag and keep the appitite flowing,but now im thinking i might have a crack at running a good race:)

week 22
    mon=18 miles(10miles x 7.32pace am,8 miles x 6.58 pace pm)
    tues=24 miles(13mils x 7.44pace am,11 miles x 7.52pace pm)
    wens=rest
    thurs=7 miles x 7.29pace
    fri=rest
    sat=26 miles x 7.09pace
    sun=27 miles x 7.57pace
    weeks total=102 miles
    (missed a couple of days training,just coulnt motavate myself to run,but still managed to run 100mile week,so happy enough,so portuma 50k on saturday week,not sure what training to do until then,might leave the longer stuff and work on some speed for a change).

week 23
    mon=14 miles x 7.35pace
    tue=rest
    wens=20 miles x 6.48pace(only intended to do 12 of theses than i went to 14,than 16,than 18 than 20,was going to keep going until marathon distance but soon relised i was a half hour late to get home and i have a 50k race next week,just got in the zone and forgot everything else,was
    amazed that i ran theses on empty and took nothing out of me,bring on portuma)
    thurs=rest
    fri=14 miles x 7.54pace
    sat=10 miles x 6.33pace
    sun=12 miles x 7.18pace
    weeks total 70miles(not injoying my taper week as i just miss running long,but i will be fresh as a daisy for saturday for the first time this year and injury free,bring it on:).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

ray, how you fixed for portumna? you looking forward to it?

just a q. do you ever find it hard to get out the door for some of those long runs? i find it hard enough doing 5 or 7 miles but they're nearly over before you start, but you face 15, 18, 20+ regularly , ? how do you find them and is it hard to stay motivated. thks