Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 (End of March 2012 onwards)

Thought Gerrard came across quite well but the questions were píss poor, yer man is a terrible interviewer.

I missed the start btw, was it recorded? The interview I mean, presuming it was seeing as we play today?

Horrendous show the Late Late is tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Bring back pat kenny I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Rekop dog wrote: »
    Coo in any wayl? Is this hipster talk? You could tell you're not in the Late Late Show demographic

He's getting closer by the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

Kess73 wrote: »
    It is a shyte show imho. Comes across as a show for boggers or the over 50's. A person would want to be some right idiot to think that disliking a shyte show makes them coo in any wayl.

If RTE want to say that close to a million people watch it, then that is up to them. But I doubt that 1 in ever 4 or so people in the country stays in to watch that show every Friday. But given that the tv viewing figures in this country are far from accurate I guess RTE can say whatever they like to justify mediocre shows and even more mediocre presenters.

As for how Gerrard came across, well I would be surprised if he did not come across well as he is quite good with the media and very experienced in dealing with them. He could probably do a low level interview with the likes of Tubridy in his sleep.

its when you compare tubs to norton and the old johnny ross show, you realise why the late late is behind...exactly the reason you mentioned Kess...aimed at the old potatoe irish demographic. The guests are generally shocking. primarily b-listers who shouldnt be there. last night was an exception with bish and gerrard. but even ardal o hanlan was a dissapointment.

the show needs a revamp. they wont cut it, because its the longest running chat show in the world as far as i know, and they dont have the balls to cut tubs.

pains me to say it, but the toy show has even slumped. its like its hosted by the grinch.

thing is though...if you brought it someone like norton, and changed the format, would RTÉ be even able to draw those kind of celebs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Feck sake you would know our league campaign is well and truly over when the Late Late Show is the topic of discussion on the superthread on match day :pac:

Leiva wrote: »
    Feck sake you would know our league campaign is well and truly over when the Late Late Show is the topic of discussion on the superthread on match day :pac:

im just surprised such discussions had started much earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Lets talk about the latest fashion trends on the High street

143565592ap011_liverpool_fc.jpg

I dont know why we are doing derp training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Gerrard came across well.

It's good to have a captain like him, especially when compared to scumbags like Terry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

The late late is for aul wans lads who gives a fck. Yous should be out on the piss of a Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

eldwaro wrote: »

Flanno and Maxi are winning anyway.

eldwaro wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

djPSB wrote: »
    Gerrard came across well.

It's good to have a captain like him, especially when compared to scumbags like Terry.

Yeah sound out, we all beat up the occasional DJ from time to time when they don't play our music of choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

It is a shyte show imho. Comes across as a show for boggers or the over 50's. A person would want to be some right idiot to think that disliking a shyte show makes them coo in any wayl.

If RTE want to say that close to a million people watch it, then that is up to them. But I doubt that 1 in ever 4 or so people in the country stays in to watch that show every Friday. But given that the tv viewing figures in this country are far from accurate I guess RTE can say whatever they like to justify mediocre shows and even more mediocre presenters.

As for how Gerrard came across, well I would be surprised if he did not come across well as he is quite good with the media and very experienced in dealing with them. He could probably do a low level interview with the likes of Tubridy in his sleep.

A show for boggers now eh, jesus i wont even go into that one. The show is what it is - i dont expect groundbreaking interviews on it , its laidback friday night tv & if it was gone im sure a lot of people would have a void in their Fridays. It probably is aimed at the older generation & i personally know 2 people who freakishly look forward to it every friday one well under 50 & the other above 50 :)

Lol just as i typed that the mother in law started raving about Steven Gerrard being on the LLS, it seems he's a dote!

Yeah sound out, we all beat up the occasional DJ from time to time when they don't our music of choice.

Innocent

Yeah sound out, we all beat up the occasional DJ from time to time when they don't our music of choice.

No idea what you are talking about I'm afraid

Martin Skrtel is on Football Focus today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Didn't know Ryan Tubridy was on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Yeah sound out, we all beat up the occasional DJ from time to time when they don't play our music of choice.

I stopped reading after this part, I hope I didn't miss any important transfer news or firings.:pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 16,755 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Tv viewing figures are as accurate here as anywhere else, they are done by the same independent company as most countries. They are also used by advertisers and media buyers to determine how much they pay, so you can be sure they are pretty accurate. Nothing to do with a TV company 'saying' how many watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭PFL

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2136374/Kenny-Dalglish-Liverpool-replace-Damien-Comolli.html
    Kenny Dalglish insists Liverpool’s summer rebuilding plans remain fluid even though he has admitted the club urgently need to replace Damien Comolli.

Liverpool’s American owners are continuing to assess what step they should take next after dramatically sacking Comolli from his role as Director of Football 16 days ago.

Principal owner John W Henry and Chairman Tom Werner have been consulting Dalglish in the interim and the manager will be fully involved in whatever appointment they decide to make.

But Dalglish, who has always had the final say on signings, has dismissed the suggestion that not having a Director of Football will impinge on Liverpool’s transfer policy.

‘We are not idle,’ said Dalglish, whose side face Norwich on Saturday evening at Carrow Road. ‘The owners haven’t decided how they are going to replace Damien but that doesn’t mean the work has stopped.

‘Anything we have got to do, we will continue to do the best we can until the owners make the decision on how they want Damien’s role replaced. There is no guarantee that they will replace Damien like for like.

‘The people (who come in) will just take up the conversations we have had. We know where we are going. The Director of Football role in this country is much maligned.

‘I think people just have something against the job title or the principles. For me, the role Damien played was a fantastic help. I think it would be for any manager, as long as everyone knows the lines that they cannot cross, that’s fine.’

Steven Gerrard is expected to return to action on Saturday evening after missing last week’s defeat to West Brom with a tight hamstring and he, surprisingly, is one of seven Liverpool players in the 80 names who could potentially play for team GB at the Olympics.

Gerrard will not make the final 18 if, as is expected, he plays for England at Euro 2012 but Martin Kelly, Stewart Downing, Jordan Henderson, Andy Carroll, Craig Bellamy and Charlie Adam are all in the reckoning and Dalglish will not put pressure on his players to make a decision over playing.

‘I loved playing for my country,’ said Dalglish. ‘I suppose it depends what age you are and really what you want. But for me I would have sided with the club.

But, as I say, I played 102 times for my country so it wasn't as if I was shy about playing for them. I am not going to be critical of anyone who wants to go and play.’

Most interesting bit of the piece, makes methinks Comolli pissed kenny of someway or overstepped his role;
    I think people just have something against the job title or the principles. For me, the role Damien played was a fantastic help. I think it would be for any manager, as long as everyone knows the lines that they cannot cross, that’s fine.’

Any suggestions for players similar to what Newcastle did in last summers transfer window e.g Ba, Cabaye etc.

p.s Players must cost less than £5m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Kenny and Clarke were over at the Montpellier match last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

copacetic wrote: »
    Tv viewing figures are as accurate here as anywhere else, they are done by the same independent company as most countries. They are also used by advertisers and media buyers to determine how much they pay, so you can be sure they are pretty accurate. Nothing to do with a TV company 'saying' how many watch.

RTE used to give out viewing figures that were amazingly accurate. Figures like 749,354. Amazing accuracy right down to exact viewing figures that countries with much more modern (and close to fully digital) set ups could not match or verify to the same level.

Then again Ireland has a great history of honest reports at the highest levels so I would assume that the National broadcaster would have the same high and honest standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

monkey9 wrote: »
    Kenny and Clarke were over at the Montpellier match last night!

Yep. There were quite a few very good players on display in that game. Fingers crossed with get one or two of them to replace some of our underperformers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Gerty

djPSB wrote: »
    Any suggestions for players similar to what Newcastle did in last summers transfer window e.g Ba, Cabaye etc.

p.s Players must cost less than £5m

Hoilett is the one player from the Premier league that i think would be a good addition. A great one in fact.

Here is a list of premier league Bosman's in the Summer -
    http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/69/transfer-zone/2012/01/03/2828361/premier-league-bosman-list-didier-drogba-and-all-the-players

If anyone has a European one, that'd be interesting. I couldn't find one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Yep. There were quite a few very good players on display in that game. Fingers crossed with get one or two of them to replace some of our underperformers.

My immediate thought was that it would be Giroud in particular they were looking at.

This thought came into my head during the week and i know he's in his thirties now, but we should put a bid in for Di Natale of Udinese. He's exactly what we need, a finisher. He probably wouldn't leave because he seems to genuinely love Udinese and i think even turned down a move to Juventus, but still, we could at least try!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Gerty wrote: »
    Hoilett is the one player from the Premier league that i think would be a good addition. A great one in fact.

Here is a list of premier league Bosman's in the Summer -
    http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/69/transfer-zone/2012/01/03/2828361/premier-league-bosman-list-didier-drogba-and-all-the-players

If anyone has a European one, that'd be interesting. I couldn't find one.

http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/en/spieler/vertragsende/basics_L1_2012.html

select the league at the top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭Sappy404

monkey9 wrote: »
    This thought came into my head during the week and i know he's in his thirties now, but we should put a bid in for Di Natale of Udinese. He's exactly what we need, a finisher. He probably wouldn't leave because he seems to genuinely love Udinese and i think even turned down a move to Juventus, but still, we could at least try!

Udinese have as much chance of signing Steven Gerrard off us.

Quick, somebody mention some controversial fachts!