Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Irish people use Plastic basins in Sinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

Nobody's mentioned rinsing the dishes after washing them. This makes me want my blue blanket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

A bit of forward planning would help here. Check the washables first.

Exactly. The few times I have forgot to chuck some liquid, I've used the bathroom sink or chucked it outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

newmember? wrote: »
    I'm .a little pissed off. I gave the explanation/reason in the 5th post and people are still sh*teing on without even giving me thanks.

F*ck yis all.

Sorry, we generally ignore new members. :p

I got thanked on, like, my fifth post. But I'm just awesome. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

I believe it is due to olden days when everybody needed to save every penny they earned. It was rare to own a home. And as a rental, one wanted to preserve every component of a rental, including the sink stopper, lest they be charged to replace it when they moved to a better home. A crazy notion, yes, but quite possibly the correct notion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭MalteseBarry

bnt wrote: »
    I've never done it (not Irish), but I can think of another reason: the metal of the sink has much higher heat conductivity than the plastic, so the water is likely to stay hotter for longer in the plastic basin. It's Science, People! :cool:

I think its much more scientific, much more hygenic, and a much better use of my time to use a dishwasher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭ro09

If you use the sink itself to wash dishes the dishes will scratch the metallic surface , it will look terrible but also there is space around the basin to alllow you to still use the tap if you want to otherwise without the basin your sink would overflow.

Anyway dont mind 'some people' from the states they think they know it all about everything, that they are some sort of superior race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

FTGFOP wrote: »
    Nobody's mentioned rinsing the dishes after washing them. This makes me want my blue blanket.

Oh yes they did.

I think some people react to "basin in the sink" like others react to "reinemachefrau" (see 13:40). :)

I think its much more scientific, much more hygenic, and a much better use of my time to use a dishwasher.

I wouldn't call it scientific exactly, but you're dead right. Thing is, nearly always a need arises for a kitchen sink. And when you have a kitchen sink you realise how restricting just one is.

Go outside or off to the bathroom to chuck our dregs etc? Fret over sink stoppers? Amazing how people adapt to poorly designed kitchens as well as holding on to old domestic habits like they're cultural treasures.

It's an odd thing about human nature, IMO. You might think that our domestic practices are relatively unimportant in the grand scheme of things. But let someone try to criticise our methods -- or worse, impose theirs -- and watch the sparks fly.

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    Oh yes they did:
    wrote:
    Having "washed" the dishes in this putrid effluent, it is essential to pile them up on the crud-encrusted dish-rack buried under a mound of toxic suds rather than rinse them in fresh running water.

That's not the kind of mention I was hoping for! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

it's quiet simple: so we can run the tap before we put water into the kettle when we make tea.
    think about it.
    we have the dinner.
    take the plates etc off the table put it in the basin.
    if we didn't have a basin we would have to run the cold water into the hot wash up water.

Grew up in a sink-within-a-sink household but have done well enough without since leaving home. I don't put the dishes in the sink until I'm ready to wash them so the above doesn't really come up. I can see how it would be handy though.

Hate bending to reach down into the sink, I might get a basin and wash the dishes on the counter! Then rinse in sink. Then drain on draining board.

sheesh wrote: »
    it's quiet simple: so we can run the tap before we put water into the kettle when we make tea.
    think about it.
    we have the dinner.
    take the plates etc off the table put it in the basin.
    if we didn't have a basin we would have to run the cold water into the hot wash up water.

I have.

These ought to be standard. Why the fiddliest messiest option is standard is beyond me.

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    I have.

These ought to be standard. Why the fiddliest messiest option is standard is beyond me.

My mammy is a sink-in-a-sink person but she's getting the kitchen replaced soon and the new one will have a double sink so hopefully that'll put paid to the basin, except for spud washing (which is understandable, you don't want to chuck soil down the sink).

I was just going to say am I of the only people who was brought up with two sinks side by side. Have only ever seen the 'sink within a sink' phenomenon in the Netherlands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I was just going to say am I of the only people who was brought up with two sinks side by side. Have only ever seen the 'sink within a sink' phenomenon in the Netherlands
    Pics or gtfo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I grew up in Holland and we had the ancient polished granite one-piece sink and draining board until the house got a makeover and we were catapulted into the 21st century with a new stainless steel yoke with two sinks side by side and the small one for washing veg in the middle, complete with pull out tap that looks like a shower attachment.:p
    Then the parents sold the house and we moved to Ireland..

Johro wrote: »
    Pics or gtfo.

Not in the habit of taking pictures of plastic basins inside sinks mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

http://www.iqcontent.com/blog/files/Irish_kitchen_sink.JPG

Sorted.

Never got this...had one i every rental place ive been in, and theyre still there... but I use the dishwasher!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

I have one of those big Belfast sinks and with a small basin in it it's like one of those la de da double sinks, oh the luxury. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Its beacuse people don't want to scratch or dirty their nice clean sink. Its like how some people leave the plastic on the furnature in case it gets a stain, or the nice crockery and cuttlery that only comes out once a year for Christmas.

Basically, we're cheap.

Or inefficient and habit-dependent at the very least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 tina2006

It is because we live in a limestone area so we have hard water. So if we were to leave water in a sink we get like a scum around the side, I learnt that in science today - I am 13!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

Washing feet, you cannot stand in the sink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

I feel really sophisticated, I don't do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I hate this, I think it's really common for some reason and the basins always seem dirty to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 fatfacee

its just lazy i say..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Archeron

The only thing I've seen basins used for is puking into when someone is too sick to get out of bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

When we were younger my mam took all the stoppers away so me and the brother couldn't flood the place. A basin would overflow into the sink and the water would drain away, well thats why we did it in our house anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭libnation

Plastic basins can end up stinking