Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 (End of March 2012 onwards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

We need to win two of our last four games (not likely based on form this season) in order to match our worst ever Premier League points total.

Even if we win all four, we will only once have finished on less points.

That is the extent of Dalglish's failure at Liverpool. He had financial backing, he had the backing of the supporters, and it has all gone wrong, unfortunately.

"all gone wrong" is a bit of an overstatement.

How many games this season have gone like the one today? I know you don't get points for trying but our problems are very clearly rectifiable.

Our style is so far divorced from the turgid, eye-rending horse**** we played under hodgson to the point where I'm enjoying watching us. Right up until we get in the box.

Kenny and the managements failure has been hamstringing the team with a lack of goals. While it's important and has been devastating, like I said, it's possible to fix.

That we've the worst chance conversion rate in the league is telling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭joe123

Gbear wrote: »
    "all gone wrong" is a bit of an overstatement.

How many games this season have gone like the one today? I know you don't get points for trying but our problems are very clearly rectifiable.

Our style is so far divorced from the turgid, eye-rending horse**** we played under hodgson to the point where I'm enjoying watching us. Right up until we get in the box.

Kenny and the managements failure has been hamstringing the team with a lack of goals. While it's important and has been devastating, like I said, it's possible to fix.

That we've the worst chance conversion rate in the league is telling.

This a million times. Its clear people who mention Hodgson either a) Dont actually watch all that much football or are b) just trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

FSG heads must be spinning at the moment. I don't follow the baseball but the Red Sox had another epic collapse yesterday. Manager also under severe pressure.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Better than Hodgsons football.....woodwork....bad finishing. Wake up lads, we're sh1te. Fcking embarrasing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

Better than Hodgsons football.....woodwork....bad finishing. Wake up lads, we're sh1te. Fcking embarrasing.

i think there is a lot to be said for our luck...like ive never seen anything like today! was insane!

i think the season just cant end soon enough. get a signing or two in, but not a complete overall...

this is all about minds and men now, not millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

The table never lies after 34 games . . . except when it comes to Liverpool, it seems.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Dominated the game and had plenty of chances. Once again finishing just not up to scratch. Feel like a broken record saying that nearly every game. Hopefully that problem is addressed this summer because alot of games would have had very different outcome.
    Happy to see the regular defense back but showed signs of rustiness, pretty poor from Johnson to gift them the ball and Reina didn't do much better. Better team didn't win today but the more clinical team did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

eldwaro wrote: »
    i think there is a lot to be said for our luck...like ive never seen anything like today! was insane!

i think the season just cant end soon enough. get a signing or two in, but not a complete overall...

this is all about minds and men now, not millions.

i think its about minds and men, and millions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

I don't think you can blame luck we've been missing chances for the last year. The lack of composed players around the box is the problem, everything seems hurried.

i think its about minds and men, and millions

yeah sorry i was getting a little too poetic there...trying to get a better slogan than next year :P

we do need to invest, but we are not as far away as the 'neutrals' would like to make us think...

striker would be nice, a centre mid to play along side lucas to free up gerrard/henderson for when gerrard is banjaxed. one winger...not two...and were good. unless we can get a world class center half for nothing. other than that we'll survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

Assuming Suarez plays in the team then the immediate thing people are gonna look for is Carroll: Out, Big Name Goalscorer:In

That alone is not going to suddenly bring us up to 4th, a greater overhaul is required imo (Henderson, Spearing - Lucas should take care of that issue, Downing etc). We played good stuff today but we've seen all this before, if the team is to move forward i think more than just a replacement for Carroll is required.

When it comes down to it, its the signings that have hurt us.

If we had Demba Ba instead of Carroll, Cabaye instead of Adam and proper winger instead of Downing we would be much better off this season.

Playing the same way, same tactics but a few different signings and things could of been so different.

But whatever anyone says we have improved so much over the ****e Hodgson had us playing.

Kennys fate is sealed imo in the summer and I hope we win the cup for him. Id take another season under Dalglish as I think some people expect to much to soon.

Its clear our football has improved and it cant be denied we have been incredibly unlucky in so many games.

Im just waiting for the "Benitez returns" and 80% of people going overboard slagging him off. I for one would love to see him back.

He bought a lot of dross but he brought us Reina,Arbeloa,Garcia,Alonso,Torres,Skirtel and Mascherano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Clinical striker & a wide player & I'd be happy to go into next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Rafa Benitez is exactly what this current squad needs right now.

A manager who puts the club first . doesn't suffer fools and inflated attitudes. who clearly lays out his stall and let's everyone know their benchmark.
    fall short and your out.

None of this putting players on pedestals and being way too close to ever get the respect of a true gaffer.

I love Kenny for the way he is Liverpool Football Club through and through , but now it's time to do as he says and move aside if the club could be doing better without him as manager .

Assuming Suarez plays in the team then the immediate thing people are gonna look for is Carroll: Out, Big Name Goalscorer:In

That alone is not going to suddenly bring us up to 4th, a greater overhaul is required imo (Henderson, Spearing - Lucas should take care of that issue, Downing etc). We played good stuff today but we've seen all this before, if the team is to move forward i think more than just a replacement for Carroll is required.

A central midfielder and a pacy winger are absolutely crucial imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Christ that was painful. Can't believe the lack of effort toward the end.

True but when youve missed over 20 chances again in a league match its just human nature to be deflated and disillusioned. Not good attitude to have with a cup final in the horizon though. Only four games left to go thankfully in the clubs worst ever league season:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,222 ✭✭✭✭klose

I dont know what to say still haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

A central midfielder and a pacy winger are absolutely crucial imo.

Midfielder would be nice, but without sounding like an idiot, Lucas changes the whole complexion of our midfield.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Clinical striker & a wide player & I'd be happy to go into next season.

Very light in midfield. Lucas being the only one I'd be happy to see in there on a regular basis. Shelvey probably looking his most able partner at this moment in time.

sure look...four games left until we can finally start hearing about transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I don't get how Rafa had a very similar last season to this one, but without the cup success but Kenny must step aside and Rafa should come in.
    I think if FSG do make changes then they will drop the going back to the past idea and bring their own man in.

murpho999 wrote: »
    I don't get how Rafa had a very similar last season to this one, but without the cup success but Kenny must step aside and Rafa should come in.
    I think if FSG do make changes then they will drop the going back to the past idea and bring their own man in.

Tom Hicks and George Gillete say hello.

tomandgilly2-383x480.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

joe123 wrote: »
    Tom Hicks and George Gillete say hello.

As bad as those owners were I don't see how they were completely responsible for how the team performance had dropped from previous year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

If we sign snoogie doogie in the summer all our problems will be solved.

murpho999 wrote: »
    As bad as those owners were I don't see how they were completely responsible for how the team performance had dropped from previous year.

The stuff that we know went down is probably only a small portion of the amount of crap Benitez had to deal with.

Im sure its not easy battling with your bosses on a constant bases and trying to manage a football club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

This kind of argument pisses me off to no end. Why? Because it isn't an argument.

Our chance conversion rate is embarrassing alright, but generally we've mostly played good football. Today we played some brilliant stuff.

I don't think I or anyone else on this forum is suggesting that this form is good enough and that we'll get a medal for being good sports at the end of the season.

But calling us ****e when it's a very specific part of the game we're ****e at is silly.
    The table never lies after 34 games . . . except when it comes to Liverpool, it seems.

It doesn't lie but it's about correctly identifying the problems. That we're that far down the table doesn't mean we're entirely ****e.
    We largely have a good defence. We create buckets of chances. The bizarrely awful chance conversion rate, the ludicrous numbers of times we've hit the post and sitter after sitter that we've missed can be blamed on Kenny, but only to a degree.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing. Ignore value for money for the moment. Did anyone, at the start of the season, correctly predict "we're going to have sub-relegation level finishing and goalscoring"? I don't think they did.
    We see the problem now. Give Kenny a chance to rectify it. It is massively holding us back.

Saying Henderson, Spearing etc aren't good enough doesn't really work. Was it down to them that we didn't score today? Or on numerous other occasions? It's a nonsense argument that ignores the real issue.
    Then we'd need to sign 4 attacking players. Andy isn't a goalscorer but he can be handy for tough away games and as backup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

I'd happily lose the remaining league games if it means winning the cup.

today was typical of us all season not gona dwell on it now though, roll on may 5th

redzerdrog wrote: »
    I'd happily lose the remaining league games if it means winning the cup.

today was typical of us all season not gona dwell on it now though, roll on may 5th

I'm not giving Kenny the get out clause (which some here have been doing for two months now) of saying that the league no longer matters.

Our position is embarrassing, given our outlay on players last summer. There is no way of dressing up defeats to Wigan, QPR, West Brom etc as unlucky. We are just a poor team at the minute

100 million worth of new players and we are still lacking in the same areas we have been for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Thought we played really well today but another one of those day's in front of goal
    At this stage i can't wish this season to be over quick enough :(

*After we win the FA cup* ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Gbear wrote: »

Did anyone, at the start of the season, correctly predict "we're going to have sub-relegation level finishing and goalscoring"? I don't think they did.
    We see the problem now. Give Kenny a chance to rectify it. It is massively holding us back.

It's only really since Xmas it has been so bad. Spurs suffering it now but the worrying thing for us is it's more or less half a season of poor form!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.