Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 (End of March 2012 onwards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

With Milan probably signing Riccardo Montolivo from Fiorentina, Aquilani will probably end up coming back to Liverpool in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

The Importance of being LUCAS :(

http://www.eplindex.com/13934/the-importance-of-being-lucas-opta-stats-analysis.html

Win-perct.jpg

"That gives us a 50% win rate with Lucas and only a 28.6% rate without him. That is a remarkable 21.4% difference. Furthermore, we only lost 16.7% of all games Lucas featured in compared to a terrible 42.8% of games without him. In terms of points with or without Lucas this is a 16 point difference over a 38 game season."

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

opr wrote: »

http://www.eplindex.com/13934/the-importance-of-being-lucas-opta-stats-analysis.html

Win-perct.jpg

"That gives us a 50% win rate with Lucas and only a 28.6% rate without him. That is a remarkable 21.4% difference. Furthermore, we only lost 16.7% of all games Lucas featured in compared to a terrible 42.8% of games without him. In terms of points with or without Lucas this is a 16 point difference over a 38 game season."

Opr

Meh.. A sizeable number of "without Lucas" games were also without Suarez and Agger. You'd need 100's of games to account for things like that.

I still think we'd be a hell of a lot better off had he played every league game but I don't think it'd be to the tune of 16 pts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If the worst happens with Aquilani his contract should be terminated. Set fire to in front of LFCtv cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Gbear wrote: »
    Meh.. A sizeable number of "without Lucas" games were also without Suarez and Agger. You'd need 100's of games to account for things like that.

I still think we'd be a hell of a lot better off had he played every league game but I don't think it'd be to the tune of 16 pts.
    I make no attempt to conceal my man crush on Agger

But him not being in the team is a huge loss to us imo

He's had his injury problems and he's never been a reliable player for us but when himself an Skrtel were at the back for a string of games we were fairly commanding at the back - the argument can be made that it's down to Skrtel not having to play at LCB but it's down to Aggers ball playing ability and surging runs out of defence.

Lucas was a huge loss but if we're to challenge for top 4 next season we'll need Agger or we'll have to bring in a player of similar quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Win-perct.jpg

Opr

Not disagreeing with you, but how many games is the "with Lucas" statistic based on?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I think it's based on this season which obviously isn't remotely a large enough sample to make definitive statements like the EV with him in the team would equate to a further 16 points but I still think Lucas has been the single biggest factor in our season falling apart with him being the domino which has caused many of the other problems. You might even argue that it isn't just the loss of Lucas but the fact that we have had NO other capable midfielders in the centre of the park since he got injured.

Opr

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

This Aquilani deal seems like a never ending saga.

The latest is that his agent has said it's not a case of 25 games to make the deal automatic but 25 points. A start is worth 1 point and a sub appearance is worth half a point. He's currently on 22.5 points with 5 games left.

Opr

I honestly just laughed out loud. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

This Aquilani deal seems like a never ending saga.

The latest is that his agent has said it's not a case of 25 games to make the deal automatic but 25 points. A start is worth 1 point and a sub appearance is worth half a point. He's currently on 22.5 points with 5 games left.

Opr

Milan have signed Montolivo for next season too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

If Aqua comes back, play him - he's damn good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

G.K. wrote: »

I used to think that but any time i watched him this season until he got injured he was absolutely awful, often he worst player on the pitch. I'd have been glad to have him a year ago, now...well, i don't hold out too much hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭Glico Man

G.K. wrote: »

While I agree with the sentiment, and the opinion, I (and many others) just want this thing over and done with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Morzadec wrote: »
    Does anyone know anything about this Finnish kid from this thread?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056612856

Had a trial at Liverpool for a week apparently?

Seems he rejected our offer and decided to play in Finland until the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

aaronh007 wrote: »
    While I agree with the sentiment, and the opinion, I (and many others) just want this thing over and done with.

Aquilani is a useful player but not 80-90k a week useful. Theres a reason Juve did not want him, and also a reason Milan will not sign him permanently. He is simply not worth the risk. Yes, even at €5million.

He was a real prodigy as a youth but he simply has not been the talent people hoped he would be, at senior level. Very injury prone and will be remembered as probably our most disasterous ever signing (and that is saying something).

Those of you criticising the club for shipping him off on loan? Apparently he wanted back to Italy at any cost, so any chance of him being in the squad this season was a non runner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

@dan_bu
    Contact between HSV and Kuyt gets more intense, according to "Telegraaf". He reportedly wants to move to a club close by the Netherlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,941 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Jayob10 wrote: »
    Those of you criticising the club for shipping him off on loan? Apparently he wanted back to Italy at any cost, so any chance of him being in the squad this season was a non runner.

Thats not really true though is it?

He's under contract.

He should only have been allowed to go for terms which were acceptable to LFC, which clearly wasn't the case. Pool have still ended up paying a huge chunk of his wages, could really have done with him this season, and if he does go to Milan at the end of the season, will still get **** all for him.

Terrible terrible deal, particularly considering his form in England is actually just as good, if not better compared to his form in Italy. Would still love to see him, Suarez and Gerrard behind a striker.

On another note, that Kuyt deal sounds like a complete joke! 1 million!? Insane to have allowed that sort of clause to be included. Could easily be getting 5 for him.

This is a funny video. Luis really doesn't like losing :pac:

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,749 ✭✭✭mormank

Enjoyed that^^^^^^^^

You can tell that Suarez is a well liked character too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Suarez would wanna be careful. He called Coates a thief, the FA might investigate these allegations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,455 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

~Rebel~ wrote: »

He's under contract.

He should only have been allowed to go for terms which were acceptable to LFC, which clearly wasn't the case.

exactly, he is under contract and should be made honour that contract

but its always been the case with liverpool, player stamps his feet and the club let him go for peanuts, imagine how the liverpool board would have handled the tevez incident this year or the rooney one last year or the modric one last summer.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

This is a funny video. Luis really doesn't like losing :pac:

Opr

spoiler alert!!!!!

great vid...good to know suarez is just really competitive and will be a díck to win...i like that in a player!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Nice little video that! Good banter between the lads. Also shows Henderson has good technique considering hes won all these skills challenges! The tennis ball keepy uppy with Oxlade Chamberlain was class:D

Steven Gerrard is on Sky One now as a guest on A League Of Their Own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,222 ✭✭✭✭klose

Jaysus coates is a bit light on the english. Always wondered that how hard it must be having to learn a new language and play style while moving to foreign clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

Jaysus coates is a bit light on the english. Always wondered that how hard it must be having to learn a new language and play style while moving to foreign clubs.

i've always laughed at people who called players like balotelli stupid....

the man is practically fluent in english as a second language...

personally i have studied irish for many years and german for 6, and can bearly speak a word in either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

god, it took me 2 years to get a decent level when I lived in Spain.....would love to see Bellamy in that challenge

eldwaro wrote: »
    i've always laughed at people who called players like balotelli stupid....

the man is practically fluent in english as a second language...

personally i have studied irish for many years and german for 6, and can bearly speak a word in either.

It's not that difficult when you are living in the country where the language you are learning is spoken.
    I moved to France without a word of French and was practically fluent before a year was up.
    I can only imagine that footballers with the help of tutors should be able to pick it up even easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

amiable wrote: »
    It's not that difficult when you are living in the country where the language you are learning is spoken.
    I moved to France without a word of French and was practically fluent before a year was up.
    I can only imagine that footballers with the help of tutors should be able to pick it up even easier.

Tevez is the worst. In England since 2006 and can barely string a sentence of the language together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,222 ✭✭✭✭klose

It wasent a dig at him lads!! I havent followed him as much so that was the first time i heard him spoke is all..

I don't think anyone thinks you were having a dig.
    It's just a slow night on here :)