Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,239 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Even if the reason that they're being kicked out is that they bought apartments left right and centre and secured these loans against a fine house for example? (I do not know the details in this instance, but it does look like quite a luxurious home in a prestigious neighbourhood). However Anglo were a business bank, they did not loan to first time buyers, but developers and the like. That would lead me to believe that there is a lot more to this story than first appears, this is hardly the crowbar brigade.

Being old doesn't absolve someone of their responsibilities, in fact it should have the opposite effect and make you more acutely aware of them.

Well, no. If they do own other properties which are generating an income for them and still refuse to pay their mortgage then my opinion would be quite the opposite.

Tbh, I just got angry when I seen the old man being forcibly removed from the premises. Maybe that's ageist as some have suggested already but meh.

I'm sure the bank will put their newly acquired premises to good use, and not just have it sitting there empty and losing us even more money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

flynnlives wrote: »
    how do you know they have other properties?

seems to be alot of assumptions being made with little or no backup!

You should have done a bit more research before starting the thread, it was on the six one news, you could have linked that clip.
    It's hard for others to make judgements without the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

We need to know the full extent of this situation before we can pass judgements.

Get out of my AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

We need to know the full extent of this situation before we can pass judgements.

I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Well, no. If they do own other properties which are generating an income for them and still refuse to pay their mortgage then my opinion would be quite the opposite.

Tbh, I just got angry when I seen the old man being forcibly removed from the premises. Maybe that's ageist as some have suggested already but meh.

I'm sure the bank will put their newly acquired premises to good use, and not just have it sitting there empty and losing us even more money.

Which according to RTE is the case in this instance. Brendan Kelly is a former accountant and Landlord so he should have been well acquainted with the consequences of not paying a €2m mortgage. The courts gave a repossession order in 2010 so IBRC have shown incredible restraint.

I find it laughable that he likened his situation to the destitute evicted in the 1860's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Which according to RTE is the case in this instance. Brendan Kelly is a former accountant and Landlord so he should have been well acquainted with the consequences of not paying a €2m mortgage. The courts gave a repossession order in 2010 so IBRC have shown incredible restraint.

I find it laughable that he likened his situation to the destitute evicted in the 1860's.

It's more than just laughable,it's disgusting and outrageous to compare himself in that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,239 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

RTE seem to be the only ones to have reported that. And why was this story even reported on RTE? It's certainly out of the ordinary for an eviction to be broadcast on the main evening news. These things happen every day. It's mentioned nowhere on their site either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,721 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I thought that was disgusting too, I don't see any great excuse for him and his wife, they had plenty of warning/knowledge of what was happening, they could have done something.

I absolutely do not think age comes in to it and it is very annoying to use the 'pensioner' tag here. I am older than the woman in the story and I am perfectly in possession of any faculties that you would need to manage this sort of situation, not that there is any chance of me being in that situation :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I don't give a fcuk what the details behind it are. Kicking OAPs out of their home is wrong regardless of any semantics.

I dunno. It appears that they own several properties, so as someone has already said, I wouldn't necessarily go down the sympathetic route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Will they be evicting one of their tenants so's they can doss down somewhere, or will they go to the homeless shelter?

Freddie59 wrote: »
    I dunno. It appears that they own several properties, so as someone has already said, I wouldn't necessarily go down the sympathetic route.

It's hard to feel sympathy for them they have other properties and knew the consequences of not paying the mortgage.
    They will not say how much they owe, they really let themselves down during the eviction, they should have just walked away and kept a bit of dignity.
    She wants the people of Ireland to back them up, I don't think there will be much sympathy for people with a mortgage for two million.
    They do not where they will go tonight, likely story I'm sure they have family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

RTE seem to be the only ones to have reported that. And why was this story even reported on RTE? It's certainly out of the ordinary for an eviction to be broadcast on the main evening news. These things happen every day. It's mentioned nowhere on their site either.

Yes, but all those other people getting evicted don't live among RTE top brass in Killiney, and can't ask a golfing pal to put their story on the 6-1 news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

MoonDancer wrote: »
    Wow, are they actually allowed to physically remove people from the property? Not the Gardai now, those people coming to evict the people.
    They've had almost two years advance warning (possession order was granted in June 2010). They have been breaking the law by remaining in the house since then. It is clear from the interview the wife gave today (link below) that the bank had also warned them in the last few days that their time to leave under their own steam was running out and they were finally going to instigate a physical eviction. Having to be physically removed rather than leaving peacefully was a choice they made themselves.

http://spin1038.com/onair-category/shows-category/thespin/eviction-in-killiney/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

These people are landlords, if one of their tenants stopped paying rent they'd be evicted and it sure wouldn't take two years

And OP, you don't get a free pass from responsibility and instant sympathy just because you are elderly
    Maybe they thought the bank would not dare to evict an elderly couple but they were wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Would this landlords allow people who couldn't pay rent to stay living in their properties for free? I doubt it.

I doubt they even accepted rent allowance when he could.

They get no sympathy from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Poor feckers will have to move in to one of their other houses. God help them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Dubit10 wrote: »
    Poor feckers will have to move in to one of their other houses. God help them.

That house might only be worth a few hundred thousand and only 500 sq feet. Ewww.

I'd be interested to see their entire property portfolio. It would be funny if they were slum lords so I could in good conscience take the piss out of them. Now I just have to do it in bad conscience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

Irish socialists are special.

They are against property tax and are up in arms when a couple with no dependants is evicted from a 2,2 million villa they cannot afford 2 years after the eviction is granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

lol hopefully this happens to more and more people, it needs to happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Wudyaquit

IBRC has tens of billions of bad debts as it is.

Should they just write them all off and dump the debt on the taxpayer? - in this case, not because the owner is destitude but because they didn't want to move into one of their other properties.

Can't see why anyone would sympathise with these people - they had better options than most in the country and have the gall to compare themselves to 19th century evictees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Thread fail. Still, at least the OP never compared them to a pair of broken down nags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Why don't people leave peacefully when something like this happens. It doesn't matter if they owned 1 house or 10. Anyone that cant pay for their house should not be allowed keep it.

I'm not some rich person or anything I'm in the same situation as a lot of people these days, but if I failed to pay my mortgage I would follow the law and leave peacefully like any decent person should.

Some people believe that because of the state of the country they have a right to stay in their house but they don't. That's just a stupid idea. If you bought a house you couldn't afford you should do the decent thing and get out.

There is a lot of people that need to realise that a mortgage contract isn't a joke. When you sign a contract on legal terms you are saying "I understand and agree to all the terms in the contract. Some people need to start being responsible for their own mistakes.

That's not how we do things in After Hours ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

That awful green flowery bed plus the other pink bedroom. Eviction is too good for people who could commit the sin of bad taste. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

feel sick after seeing how that old man was treated. You have to wonder how some of those people sleep at night, are they proud of themselves?

Do you think those people want to evict people, it's their job. That old man could have done himself and his wife a favour and walked away gracefully.
    Don't go blaming the messenger. Is that old man proud of himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

He managed to give a fair few shoves himself, and they weren't abewwwwsing him, they were walking a trespasser off the premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

We have a special kind of self loathing in this country. People who do well in business are all bastards who must have screwed someone it seems. These people aren't criminals. Assuming they have empty houses lined up ready for them to occupy is wrong. The banks could have the whole lot in their sights and they are occupied. You cant just kick people out. Takes time and money which I doubt they have.

Its harder to have sympathy for people who had money, who are falling on hard times I know. I say remember this poem. Who'll speak for you if you're next? And you aren't/weren't rich. In normal times you can chalk these things up to mistakes by the individual. These aren't normal times. A massive private debt burden has been laid on the Irish people with no chance of restructuring. They want ALL their money back.

They start with these people because sympathy is low. Next it will be the middle class and people will say "well they got above themselves" with their "portfolio". Who did they think they were? And on it will go. They wont starve of course. The absolute worse case scenario is the social housing list, which is good enough for thousands and good enough for me when I was brought up. We need to be careful though. Why are we ashamed of wealth and success? Its like we will it away as some scam we pulled that we never really expected to last. **** that.

The massive debt built up in the ENTIRE European banking system is being thrown around like a hot potatoes. We're gladly holding our own and a few others tightly because we think there might be some reward there. There ain't.

PS. What a beautiful house (or home).

Left a voicemail with my landlord

Told him it's tough times for me, I can't afford the rent at the moment and he should give me two years rent free so I can start working on this

Two years is reasonable, this couple got it and I'd like the same

Should get a reply in the morning, my landlord is a reasonable man :cool: