Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post here every time you get something new!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

I forgot to mention the mod chip..... whoops, shoulda put that in the ad, could of got a bit more money :)
    Should have, mod chip is about 40 on its own biggrin.gif
    Ah I couldn't profiteer that much I only paid 15 for the console wink.gif

Whoever sold you a Sega saturn for €15 (or £15 IRL, whichever) was nuts.

I'm not entirely sure adverts would have let you mention the modchip, but idk. Where exactly they stand is something I've never thought to look into in too much detail.

I think there's some legal non-transferrable right to keep 1 backup copy of software you own, for personal use, and hardware that enables you to actually use that is a grey area, but I'm old parroting what I half remember from sources I don't even know were reliable to begin with. There's aren't enough solicitors/lawyers who're into retrogaming dammit. That or they're very good at not accidentally doing their job for free.

Don't forget to mark it as sold, Adverts won't let your account positive feedback 'til you do.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,248 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

a5y wrote: »
    I think there's some legal non-transferrable right to keep 1 backup copy of software you own, for personal use, and hardware that enables you to actually use that is a grey area, but I'm old parroting what I half remember from sources I don't even know were reliable to begin with. There's aren't enough solicitors/lawyers who're into retrogaming dammit. That or they're very good at not accidentally doing their job for free.

Actually it's not a legal grey area. It's entirely illegal. The copyright law states you can make a copy of it use it but what that really means is the copy that is created in RAM on the machine of the code. It doesn't cover physical copies. Copyright law is really archaic in this area but won't be changed soon since industry have found ways to twist it to favour them with EULA's, DRM and what have you that would be totally illegal with any other medium.

Will you get arrested for making a copy of a saturn game? Nope and there's been no cases of it yet either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,750 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Of course, you may get arrested for having several hundred assorted dvds and cds of dowloaded stuff on cakes throughout your attic games room...
    Excuse me for a moment, I have to do some "tidying up"......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

The simplest way to look at it is, if the disc employs digital copy-protection, it's completely illegal to bypass said protection - regardless of what's on the disc.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,750 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

And, if you think a law is unjust it is your duty to break that law, just to point out the fallacy of it, and to allow you to play Panzer Dragoon Saga without selling a kidney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    And, if you think a law is unjust it is your duty to break that law, just to point out the fallacy of it, and to allow you to play Panzer Dragoon Saga without selling a kidney.

Kidneys are over-rated anyway

Well, you only need the one, until you bugger that up, then it's off to the dialysis clinic, at the very least you get to catch up on a lot of PSP and Nintendo gaming you've been putting off.
    That said, find a compatible donor, convince him that he needs Panzer Dragoon Saga and offer him a trade for a kidney, problem solved.
    Heck, if it's a few years down the road, he might have to throw in a lobe of his liver as well, sorted!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,248 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'm not breaking the law, I'm archiving software for future generations to enjoy because honestly if the government follows the law for archiving software, which they are doing, then they'll all be destroyed by bit rot in the next 5 years.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Actually it's not a legal grey area. It's entirely illegal. The copyright law states you can make a copy of it use it but what that really means is the copy that is created in RAM on the machine of the code. It doesn't cover physical copies. Copyright law is really archaic in this area but won't be changed soon since industry have found ways to twist it to favour them with EULA's, DRM and what have you that would be totally illegal with any other medium.

Ah. Cheers for the clarification.
    Will you get arrested for making a copy of a Saturn game? Nope and there's been no cases of it yet either.
    I wonder if every new form of media has to go through its share of crap from ignorant authorities and self interested middlemen. Gawdferbid some of us just want to keep our original discs in good condition, just so they still can exist if someone wants to see what they look like in 100 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,396 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Preservation is unfortunately the last thing in the world copywrite holders seem to care about. :(

o1s1n wrote: »
    Preservation is unfortunately the last thing in the world copywrite holders seem to care about. :(

Don't worry. Anonymous will one day turn militant, and when they've got arduino powered toy helicopters hunting down celebrities and CEOs night and day the whole thing will sort itself out.

Because arresting a robot is too much paperwork and they will be totally unstoppable.

It'll be like if Skynet was a fan of Home Alone.

I'm sorry but the height of sophisticated comedy really was Hank and Marv trying to get into Kevin's house, the nail in the step, the iron in the laundry chute, and of course the classic plastic sheet covered in glue followed soon after by the pile of goose down and the electric fan.... all irony aside I still laugh my ass off at that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,396 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

An unholy duo arrived a couple of weeks ago and I forgot to take a photo. Probably because I'm trying to forget they exist.

SDC10950.jpg

Mobile Light Force 1 & 2.

Or as they're really known, Gunbird and Shikigami no Shiro.

Only gave the first one a go as my ps2 is stored away, but feck, what a bad localization!

If you think the cover art is bad, wait till you see the start screen menu. It's the exact same picture, if you pixelated it to the point where the three girls (who aren't even in the game by the way :confused:) look like melty faced freaks.

SDC10953.jpg

Oh and if you think that's bad, it gets worse! Press start and you go to the same menu - which has a backdrop of the same stupid picture, but even SMALLER and MORE pixelated. And they have the text going across the characters faces.

SDC10955.jpg

Game wise, it's a perfect port (to my suprise). However, the is obviously one big lazy factor as you can imagine looking at the beyond crap (and duplicated!) covers - not only have they not translated any Japanese text, they've just totally cut it out.

So in Gunbird, when you get to a boss, the little characters chat with some cool manga drawings and text.

In Mobile Light Force, you get to a boss, the little sprite characters stop, (you expect a chat baloon thing to pop up), but the game freezes for a second, and then the boss battle commences.

It just feels like a giant censor's scissors descends on the game for a moment.

Funnily enough, I just checked again the characters still say something in Japanese on the character select menu. I guess they just weren't arsed editing that out.

I'm sorry but the height of sophisticated comedy really was Hank and Marv trying to get into Kevin's house, the nail in the step, the iron in the laundry chute, and of course the classic plastic sheet covered in glue followed soon after by the pile of goose down and the electric fan.... all irony aside I still laugh my ass off at that....

Laugh now, but one day the airborne sex toys will be in charge.

(Continue the research)

Regarding Mobile Light Force 2 they stripped out the Tate mode, for no apparent reason but left it in the manual, go figure!

I got Bit Trip Saga today as well as Warioland, Tetris DX and Kirbys Dreamland, all for 30, happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,619 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Regarding Mobile Light Force 2 they stripped out the Tate mode, for no apparent reason but left it in the manual, go figure!

I got Bit Trip Saga today as well as Warioland, Tetris DX and Kirbys Dreamland, all for 30, happy days!

Gosh you must be in kirbysdreamland. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Free GBC. Ill take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Last of my console purchases for a while.. I despise sport games don't know whether to sell these ones of just burn them.

6947920106_4bcc900295_c.jpg

Are the drives on these usually noisy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Last of my console purchases for a while.. I despise sport games don't know whether to sell these ones of just burn them.

Are the drives on these usually noisy ?

How noisy are we talking?
    The drives aren't silent but they shouldn't be making a huge amount of noise either.

Steve SI wrote: »
    How noisy are we talking?
    The drives aren't silent but they shouldn't be making a huge amount of noise either.

Much louder than the NeoGeo or Sega CD for example. It sounds like its seeking a fair bit, probably needs a good cleaning and maybe a bit of lube.
    Its a heavy mofo !!

Much louder than the NeoGeo or Sega CD for example. It sounds like its seeking a fair bit, probably needs a good cleaning and maybe a bit of lube.
    Its a heavy mofo !!

Is it seeking like that on original discs?
    Might need a clean all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

This arrived today. My first Konami PCB. This PCB is cleaner than a baboon's buttocks. :)

Typhoon [JPN ver.]

oURxH.jpg

Pyongyang wrote: »
    This arrived today. My first Konami PCB. This PCB is cleaner than a baboon's buttocks. :)

Typhoon [JPN ver.]

Very nice and very clean. I have that board myself(it is Ajax, right?).

Yup. Typhoon aka A-Jax. :)

Is it seeking like that on original discs?
    Might need a clean all right.

Just needed a bit of a clean was all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭safetyboy

Typhoon [JPN ver.]

oURxH.jpg

Needs moar tiger-heli!

safetyboy wrote: »
    Needs moar tiger-heli!

...funny you should mention that. ;)

By this time tomorrow night I could be driving home with a serious haul of cardboard and bits of plastic.
    A serious issue has reared it's ugly head though, Hiding my purchases from herself. For the last three weeks stuff have been routed through work and the glimpses of the postmans mug at the homestead have been stifled.

Funny thing is, the postman for work said to one of my work mates 'I see he's gone mad again.' people I've never met, know me by name. I'm up since 5 doing an essay and now I'm pooped out. Good night lads and keep watching the skies or I mean this space.

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    A serious issue has reared it's ugly head though, Hiding my purchases from herself.

Retr0gamer's ma is your ma too? :eek:

Nora-Batty.jpg

Retr0gamer's ma is your ma too? :eek:

Nora-Batty.jpg

I'm talking about my girlfriend take what you want from that answer.