If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leaving Cert. '11/'12 Off-Topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭David1994

Anyone do Spanish at all?? Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

David1994 wrote: »

I wish I did I had done it for two years in another school along with French. I was planning on dropping French then the school only did French lol. I know one person who does Spanish. I love Spanish :).
    My school only did French and German and most people chose French . I thought German looked hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭finality

I actually love German, I'm so glad I chose it in first year because I don't think I'd be anywhere near as good at French. I only started really liking German last year for some reason. Anyone else absolutely love the grammar question? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Flabangav

I do! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭SeanMadd

finality wrote: »
    I actually love German, I'm so glad I chose it in first year because I don't think I'd be anywhere near as good at French. I only started really liking German last year for some reason. Anyone else absolutely love the grammar question? :P

You're a freak. The grammar question?! Ughh! Well, just relative pronouns, the part with masculine/nominative/plural etc. isn't so bad. But still.. freak ;)

Flabangav wrote: »
    I do! :)

Yay! We are two of few I think haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

I'd love if we had the option to do both French and German in my school. I do French and I love it, but I actually think German is beautiful too, much nicer than Spanish or Italian!

How much study is everyone doing? I'm doing 4/5 hours a day starting today. I could be doing more but idc about lc anymroe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I'd love if we had the option to do both French and German in my school. I do French and I love it, but I actually think German is beautiful too, much nicer than Spanish or Italian!

How much study is everyone doing? I'm doing 4/5 hours a day starting today. I could be doing more but idc about lc anymroe

I thought German was meant to be easy to learn, but beautiful? It sounds really harsh to me! Gaeilge is beautiful:D

I have all the things I want completed written out for each subject and I am probably going to do anything from 4-7 hours :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I did 6 yesterday, doing 8 today and going to try keep it at 8.

Nooo Italian is way nicer! That's the attitude I'm also going for! ;) I honestly don't know where to start and I've so much English to do but I'm avoiding it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

My Phys/Chem homework alone adds up to me doing an entire exam paper every day for the next fourteen days. :( And I have to do stuff for the orals, work on English loads and then find time for Maths and DCG so I don't end up failing either of them. I seriously need to get into a proper routine fast if I'm to have a hope of getting half all that done!

Going to try to do four hours of homework/study today and then hopefully build on that every day for the rest of the so-called 'break'. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

One of the big things I'm looking forward to next year is the time to learn another language. I love learning languages so much but obvs no time, i'd like to try out spanish and italian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Chuchoter wrote: »

This makes me feel so bad! I should be doing something at least, it seems everybody here is putting in hours and hours:eek:.

Eathrin wrote: »
    Chuchoter wrote: »

This makes me feel so bad! I should be doing something at least, it seems everybody here is putting in hours and hours:eek:.

Please don't, it's making me feel better about doing little :P

Pre results came home today and at this point in time are irrelevant :/ I know where Im at but parents will probably think I am doin badly.Grr...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

K, I just tidied my study for the first time ever, so I'm gonna go for the four hours of super-fun study now... Can't wait it's gonna be such craic! :D

I wish I could learn Spanish or Italian I like the way it sounds. German looks hard. Does German have different tenses?

I'm aiming for 6 a day and any other extra hours I do are optional .
    I feel like I have so much to do. I should start taking away my books soon maybe the beginning of next week. I still find I need to use my books to get a perfect answer.

Am I the only one still using theirs?

or I could write the answer then check and correct what I've done.

Pre results came home today and at this point in time are irrelevant :/ I know where Im at but parents will probably think I am doin badly.Grr...

I didn't do mocks but I had other class tesst I got my report although everyone thinks I done well I think otherwise as I only c1/c2 then a D in maths and economics aiming for B1s in those hopefully I can bring my grades up. Apart from maths I need a c3 then French at least pass it is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭JonnyMcNamee

4 hours done already today. Am gonna spend the next hour finalising my music practical pieces and going over them. Then I'm gonna take a break, maybe play a bit of x-box or something, then do another three or four hours this evening! The only thing that's keeping me sane right now is the fact that in under 3 months this will all be behind me :o

Just did an hour and I wanted to cry so I'm taking an hour's break now. Why am I so demotivated :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭galwaymusic

Did like 5 hours and it wasn't too bad...but maths...omg

Finally finished my Hamlet essay D: Hate that bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Done 2 and a half hours so far, feel like I've been at it for weeks already but not doing too badly! Aiming for 8 hours today so gotta keep the head down (on boards rolleyes.gif)!
    Just did an hour and I wanted to cry so I'm taking an hour's break now. Why am I so demotivated :(

How'd you get on in your French mock? I love French too, it just sounds so nice :P plus you feel smart when you speak it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

I did french for jc and i kinda wished i kept in on for lc too but i kinda get why loads of people do it :) its a very beautiful language and it sounds lovely when its spoken :) but i think german is a pretty language too even though most people dont think it is! I think part of the problem is , that it isnt offered as a subject in a school or something. In my school we had to keep on french and german was optional :( kinda sucks like

Yeah in my school we had to do French and German for the JC. I always wanted to do German anyway though :p Absolutely hated French, I was good at it but it just didn't appeal to me at all, it's too nice and flowy. I like the structure of German. Plus it's fecking hilarious! :L

Done 2 and a half hours so far, feel like I've been at it for weeks already but not doing too badly! Aiming for 8 hours today so gotta keep the head down (on boards rolleyes.gif)!

How'd you get on in your French mock? I love French too, it just sounds so nice :P plus you feel smart when you speak it!

I got a B1. Hopefully I'll get that up to an A1 by June! I want to do French and German next year :)

Same as! But my oral wasn't marked in time for Easter, and (I think) I did class. Ah well :p We've our proper oral the first day back after Easter :pac: Awh cool! through Arts/Linguistics or what? Linguistics was what I wanted to do for ages, it's so interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

I did 6 hours today, I don't think i'm able to do any more! I started at 9 this morning so i'm gonna try and start at 8 tomorrow morning and i'll get more done!

Fair play! I should do the same thing, that way I wouldn't have to be studying from 12 in the morning 'til 12 at night (with breaks :P) to get the same result..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

I haven't even been awake 6 hours.
    Study today: 0 hours
    I am going to pass my leaving cert! :D