Renault Twizzy, would you buy it ?

• 25-03-2012 12:49PM

I actually like it, for bashing about town, can pick one child up at school. Running errands, going to work.

I got to tell you Renault could be onto a winner with this one, range is a non issue.

Doors can be installed!

Cost €8,630 for doors version, €50,00 PM battery rental,

Twizzy2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Unashamedly, yes. I have a thing for small funky cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

I don’t think I would ever see myself buying one, but I would certainly love to try one.

For anyone living in a City, it's cheap motoring. 8630 over 5 years works out to be about 42 Euro a week finance, plus approx 11.50 a week for the Battery, so you'd actually have 4 wheels petrol free motoring for 54 Euro a week.

I don't think Electric cars are suitable to replace Petrol ones, and don't think they ever will be, but they're ideal as a second car, or something for popping to the shops, or something safer than a Moped for kids going to College. At 54 Euro a week this is a nobrainer. I'd seriously consider getting one, but I'd love if they brought out a mental motor for it that allowed you to have a bit of fun :D

How would the likes of that do in a crash? I'd couldn't imagine myself being overly happy in that at 100kph on a dual carraigeway, which most urban areas in Ireland have plenty of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Looks like the sort of thing that young financial professionals about town would make into a fad and then drop with the first signs of Autumn.

RoverJames wrote: »
    How would the likes of that do in a crash?

Better than a Motorbike, which is probably what they're aiming for - the target market being a 1+1 commuter audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭high horse

The wheels on the white one above look like radioactivity warning symbols
    80px-Radiation_warning_symbol.svg.png

Currently I'd have no use for an electric city car but it looked like fun in the video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭high horse

How would the likes of that do in a crash? I'd couldn't imagine myself being overly happy in that at 100kph on a dual carraigeway, which most urban areas in Ireland have plenty of.

Top speed is 47mph :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

How would the likes of that do in a crash? .
    Better than a motorbike I'd imagine.
    I'd couldn't imagine myself being overly happy in that at 100kph on a dual carraigeway, which most urban areas in Ireland have plenty of

You wont have to worry about that, according to the video it has a top speed of less than 80.
    Owen wrote: »

I don't think Electric cars are suitable to replace Petrol ones, and don't think they ever will be,

If most people , certainly ones living in or around cities, looked at their daily mileage, quiet a high percentage could probably swap over to an EV tomorrow with no difference.

I do like it. I think it will do what it's supposed to do brilliantly!

It actually has a top speed of 53mph, it might just take a little bit to get there!

If people only realised the advantages of Twizzy, but a lot of people like their comforts of cars in winter and heat, but that is costing them dearly.

I'm sure twizzy will eventually come with full doors and heat.

I think so many narrow town streets would benefit so much from twizzy sized vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

In the words of Three 6 Mafia 'Fcuk That Sh1t'! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Carstuck

I'd have a better chance at buying a bicycle than buying that and that's unlikely, regardless of how cheap it is to run :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ak that anywhere and youll just get people getting into it and pretending to drive.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ak that anywhere and youll just get people getting into it and pretending to drive.

I dont know. I dont see huge amounts of people climbign all over parked bikes.

Maybe at first you might get a few eejits but the novelty will wear off. I'd be getting it with the doors if I was getting one though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

only does 47mph so you will never get the chance!!! :D

I believe it will do 53 mph max.

I wonder if it's limited by the controller ? Hmm maybe my E-bike hacking skills might come in handy on a 2nd hand twizzy!

80 mph twizzy! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭slarkin123

If i didn't have 3 kids to put in the back i might consider it. Though i don't like the name

slarkin123 wrote: »
    If i didn't have 3 kids to put in the back i might consider it. Though i don't like the name

It's mainly aimed a single person runabout. How many cars do we see every day with just one person ?

You could sell two of them for 4 grand each. Keep your favourite, you know which one that is. Yep the one one just thought about. :-)

Your a bad parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,380 ✭✭✭pred racer

Seen one the other day in paris, hadnt a clue what it was.
    Now i know;)

You could sell two of them for 4 grand each. Keep your favourite, you know which one that is. Yep the one one just thought about. :-)

Your a bad parent.

Oh don't be putting ideas in my head. Very tempting

Mad_Lad wrote: »

It's mainly aimed a single person runabout. How many cars do we see every day with just one person ?

Quite a lot of them. Its a shame carpooling never took off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,589 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I like it, but the pricing is far from right.
    Cost €8,630 for doors version, €50,00 PM battery rental

The UK price is £7k plus £50 per month. Probably close enough to €10k here so. You can buy a proper car for that kinda money (Clio)

And the £50 (say €60) per month is enough to buy petrol for 7k kms, about the mileage one of those can be expected to average

So you save nothing over owning a larger, safer and better equipped conventional car

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Sesshoumaru

I like the vehicle, I don't like the battery leasing model. I definitely think Renault are overcharging on the lease as well. The Twizy has a 7 kWh battery @ 50 per month. The Zoe has 22 kWh at something like €70 to €80 per month.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renault_Twizy

It's such a small battery pack, I don't understand why they don't let the customer buy it outright as an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Do they need to call it Twizzy? For feck sake first the (ef)Fluence, then the Zoe now the bloody Twizzy. If they called it the Rambo electric destroyer it would have an equally stupid name but a much better chance selling.

I still would consider one if I rarely needed a car and if only for commuting.

Quite a lot of them. Its a shame carpooling never took off.

Well to be honest I can imagine why people wouldn't do it.

I used to pick a girl up from the estate and I worked not far from her in Dublin, It didn't last long as she was never there on time and that really pi***d me off. Sometimes never turned up at all, not as much as a text to say she wouldn't make it.

So not long after I told her to make her own way in future and maybe someday she will appreciate a good favour as I never charged her for Diesel, that's the thanks you get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

how does the battery rental thing work? dont get it? do you have to go to renault dealer every month to get a new battery?

I like the vehicle, I don't like the battery leasing model. I definitely think Renault are overcharging on the lease as well. The Twizy has a 7 kWh battery @ 50 per month. The Zoe has 22 kWh at something like €70 to €80 per month.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renault_Twizy

It's such a small battery pack, I don't understand why they don't let the customer buy it outright as an option.

I can get 8 kw/hr batteries from China for about €5,100 Euro's, inc. shipping.

And they are LiFeP04 and not the NMC type Nissan and Renault use, which are a lot better and I can not get because battery makers refuse to sell those cells to non companies who do not make large packs. It would be great for my Electric bike projects! (they don't sell the good nmc cells that is)

So if you were leasing the battery over 3 years, 36 payments of 50 Euro's = only 1800 Euro's, so if you ask me, Renault are actually loosing money!

I'm sure they will continue to lease the pack once the range has not dropped, which shouldn't happen for several years, so they might just make the cost of the battery back over 7 or 8 years!

50 Euro's PM is not a lot considering how much batteries currently cost. That is going to change though in the next few years, once battery production ramps up, prices will fall sharply!

I pay 40 pm for my mobile contract which I'm considering giving up. An extra tenner would be far better spent on the twizy battery than on a mobile contract which i don't really use but feel I must have, or others pay 60+ pm for sky that they do not need and to be honest the best thing I did was get rid of sky+ because most of the time we spent looking at the menu for something to watch, so that's 40pm on mobile and 24 on sky, that's 64 pm already saved and I know I'd have far better craic in the twizy!

That 64 pm would go a long way towards paying battery rental on the Zoe!

I'm now on freesat and actually watch more!

Carson10 wrote: »
    how does the battery rental thing work? dont get it? do you have to go to renault dealer every month to get a new battery?

No, you lease the battery over whatever agreed years and either renew it or sell Twizy and someone else will take up a new lease on a new battery or I will buy it from you and make my own battery, and make that twizy fly! :D