Aggressive Selling in shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Only ever really had to ask for a clubcard. At Christmas you had to ask did they want a gift receipt and a gift card. Occasionally told to ask if the wanted credit...never did that and only did the gift card one if there was a manager beside me. Important to remember that the sales assistants don't actually care what you do or what card you have and that they have to ask stuff.

Some shops go overboard and drive customers away. The prime example is Lush (very smelly soap/toiletries shop bottom of Grafton Street). You literally have three perky people flinging themselves on you and getting you to sample stuff, it's really overbearing though again I get it that they have to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

In the shop where I worked if somebody bought tampax. we used to have to try and sell them a lawnmower . Because they were doing feck all else for the weekend:)
    Spread wrote: »
    In a little village in the west of Ireland a young man - having finished his schooling - got a job in a hardware/drapery/grocer shop. The first day there, his boss gave him a new khaki coat for uniform and told him just to watch for a few minutes. Door chime goes off and in walks first customer, "I'd like to buy a pound of grass seeds". The boss weighs the seeds, bags them and puts it on the counter. "Anything else Sir?" asks the boss. "Don't think so", says the customer. "Perhaps you'd like to purchase one of our lawn mowers - 20% off until Wednesday!" "Oops, hadn't thought of that, that's a good idea", says customer. To make a long story short, the customer leaves with not just the grass seeds but also a new lawn mower, can of oil and an extended warranty. The boss looking at the new worker with a wink says, "That's the way to do business!"
    With that, the phone in the office rings and he boss goes to answer it. The door chime rings again and in walks another male customer. "Can I help you Sir?", said the newbie. "Yes, I'd like to buy a packet of Tampax please". The newbie reaches up and puts a package on the counter. "Anything else Sir?" "No that's it thanks". "Could I interest you in one of our lawn mowers - 20% off until Wednesday!" "Why in the name of God would I need a lawn mower!"
    "Well, it looks like your weekend is fucked so you might as well mow the lawn".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Davidson2k9

KFC: Would you like onion rings for an extra 2.99? No, if i wanted onion rings, i would have ordered onion rings.

And in petrol stations i know its mandatory but i hate being asked if i got any petrol/diesel after i go up to pay for whatever im getting. As if im trying to get away without paying for my petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

we must have worked with each other :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

kennygg76 wrote: »
    This is starting to drive me crazy.

I was in a butchers in Waterford last week, I go here every week to get my meat. I have a list and know exactly what I want to buy,after preparing my order the sale person tried to sell me loads of stuff from flavoured sausages to relish, I was very surprised with the forceful way this was done.

Then later on I went to xtravision and got a dvd, only to be asked 3 times did I want the popcorn and drink deal, when I said no she said "are you sure". This is starting to p*ss me off.

I cant go anywhere now without shops trying to sell you something you don't want, I expect it in some large stores and fast food outlets but in a bloody butchers??
    I understand that the have a business to run, but this puts me off going back.

Is it me or does anyone else notice this?

Sign of the times. I live in Waterford and have encountered this in delis recently (upgrade to a bigger roll, etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

KFC: Would you like onion rings for an extra 2.99? No, if i wanted onion rings, i would have ordered onion rings.

And in petrol stations i know its mandatory but i hate being asked if i got any petrol/diesel after i go up to pay for whatever im getting. As if im trying to get away without paying for my petrol.
    Asking if you got petrol is not upselling more making sure you have not forgot to pay for your petrol after buying all your munchies for your road trip hence lessening the risk of being 40bucks down at the till. Plus if you intentionally forget then and it is store policy to ask makes a prosecution easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

....went into a well known chain of coffeeshops for a takeaway latte

me : could I have a large latte to take away please?
    staff : would you like a muffin with that?
    me : no thank you
    staff : but it's cheaper if you get the muffin
    me : :confused:
    staff : :o
    me : how about you pretend I have a muffin and give me the cheap latte?
    staff : I'm sorry sir I can't do that
    me : okay then I'll have a muffin
    staff : which one would you like?
    me : I don't really care as it's going into that bin over there as soon as I have my BLOODY COFFEE :mad:!!!!

......what can you say really?

(Went there for lunch in the afternoon as well (nowhere else to go) and panini + large coffee was cheaper than a panini......)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

wexie wrote: »
    ....went into a well known chain of coffeeshops for a takeaway latte

me : could I have a large latte to take away please?
    staff : would you like a muffin with that?
    me : no thank you
    staff : but it's cheaper if you get the muffin
    me : :confused:
    staff : :o
    me : how about you pretend I have a muffin and give me the cheap latte?
    staff : I'm sorry sir I can't do that
    me : okay then I'll have a muffin
    staff : which one would you like?
    me : I don't really care as it's going into that bin over there as soon as I have my BLOODY COFFEE :mad:!!!!

......what can you say really?

(Went there for lunch in the afternoon as well (nowhere else to go) and panini + large coffee was cheaper than a panini......)

was the muffin nice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

forfuxsake wrote: »
    was the muffin nice?

LOL, don't know didnt actually eat it as I didn't want a muffin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 kennygg76

kfallon wrote: »
    Tee hee hee :p

I knew as I typed it someone would make reference lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

You'd be surprised how often people forget to pay for petrol, happened 3 or 4 times a week in the place I used to work. If it was uncovered you didn't ask the person who drove off without paying then you would be blamed for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 kennygg76

I understand that businesses need extra revenue but it stops me coming back so its counter productive.

Also shops are doing it that never did it before, like in a newsagents buying a paper "do you want anything else with that" NO!! if I did I would have picked it up before I came to the counter AARRRGGGHHHHH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I used to have to do this when I worked in a very big sports shop, the one about "how you live your life".

We were told if a customer asked for a shoe and then asked us for a recommendation if they didn't like the first one, we had to direct them towards a more expensive option. I never deliberately did this. I always directed them to what I genuinely thought would suit them better, sometimes it'd be more expensive, sometimes it'd be cheaper or the same price.

I did get in **** with my boss when I had dealt with a secret shopper and did this. Just shows how greedy these companies our.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No i don't want my condom consumation tracked thanks very much :mad:

Condom consumation? I put mine on my mickey and throw them away afterwards. I certainly don't eat the jaysus things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭trollin trollin trollin

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Condom consumation? I put mine on my mickey and throw them away afterwards. I certainly don't eat the jaysus things!
    Throw them away?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

I try to define my purchase with "I only want the petrol on pump 6"

or, " I only want the newspaper"

If the cashier says " would you like fries with that" I just ignore them.

If they ask me a second time I usually answer with " are you f*cking deaf or just stupid"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

old_aussie wrote: »
    I try to define my purchase with "I only want the petrol on pump 6"

or, " I only want the newspaper"

If the cashier says " would you like fries with that" I just ignore them.

If they ask me a second time I usually answer with " are you f*cking deaf or just stupid"

that's definitely rude. keep in mind that these guys enjoy the upselling as much as you do. they have to do it because they were told by their bosses to ask and then ask again, explain all benefits and then try to persuade the customer it's the best thing since sliced bread. i find it as annoying as most of the people but i rather bite my tongue because abusing the personnel doesn't change it, it only makes you another aggressive muppet they had the displeasure to sell to. their companies and bosses don't give a damn about the staff being abused, in fact they don't give a damn about them at all as long as they perform as they are supposed to so they won't stop upselling because the staff is getting abused. i just say no, thank you after all their attempts and that's it and I don't feel like it's bothering me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

I've just started telling them "no thanks and don't ask me again thanks". If they do i walk out and take my business somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Went to buy a car last week.

Explained to the salesman the year and model I was after.

He showed me the 6 or 7 cars that I asked for and then without breaking stride he walks to a different model which was 5 grand more than my budget and starts waffling about it.

I bought in another garage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Maybe I should get out more, but I haven't experienced this kind of thing in either Ireland, Finland, Sweden or Estonia - where I spend most of my time - to any significant degree. In fact, it's sometimes a bit harder than I would like to get a salesperson's attention when I want to ask something. I don't mind salespersons pointing out that they have something special on offer, just as long as they don't become pushy.:)

I hope a new trend isn't beginning here in Europe, because "hustling" is a real pain in the arse in many countries, like India and the Middle East, where there are dozens of people constantly pestering you to buy something that you couldn't possibly want, but you find it awfully hard to find the item you do want or get anything close to a straight answer to any enquiry you might have.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

LisaLee wrote: »
    It's called upselling or pushing sales. Most of the time it is mandatory for retail staff to do. Doubt they'd really care if you wanted lotto/clubcard/phone credit etc along with your purchase. They're just doing their job.
    That might be so, but it's turned me off shopping in places like that. For every extra pound of sausages or whatever he's pushing someone into buying they're pissing me and about five others like me into not coming back.

Signs about special offers around the shop is sufficient, I feel like losing the plot anyone comes near me in a shop, I'm fcuking sick of people dictate how I spend my money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

No I don't want a loyalty card from Game

And what's the point, from what I've read they are going bust shortly

Not the staffs fault, they get in trouble with management if they don't ask the question

These places use mystery shoppers, when I was a student I did mystery shopping to earn some cash.
    I checked places like Subway which always try to upsell, do you want a drink? A cookie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I find if you've got conviction in your voice when going to the till you rarely get asked for extras, ie: "Just this please" and have the exact money already half handed over.

Always get asked for the Game Protection in GameStop every time even though they know i never get it, but i know they're only doing it out of necessity.

But, i suppose i rarely go to places where they can upsell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Never understood the point in giving out to the person behind the counter about it. As others have stated, they get themselves in **** with management if they don't do it, especially if it's not done to a mystery shopper. Just say "No thanks" and it's all over. If you're going to take your business elsewhere then let the management know, not the person behind the counter.

Saying that, the only place I stay clear of is Games Workshop. I buy my hobby stuff elsewhere because their method of upselling is constant and very very very VERY ****ing annoying. The second you step in a member of staff follows you, quizzing you about want your buying and what you should get to go with it and so on and so on. Even if a friend with no interest in Warhammer came in with me staff would quiz them too trying to get them to buy something. It's worse than dealing with feckin' Scientolgists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Upselling,it's nothing new it's just alot more common place nowadays.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Bought a pair of headphones a while ago for about 30 quid and was asked if I wanted to insure'em against damage for 3 quid for the year. Bloody hell I thought, the damn thing comes with a warranty for fecks sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

LisaLee wrote: »
    They're just doing their job.
    That's what the nazi's said.

Godwined a sales thread, nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Employees are given three words:

Always
    Be
    Closing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Do you have a boots card?
    Would you like to sign up?
    Are you sure?

No i don't want my condom consumation tracked thanks very much :mad:

u buy the small size then? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭pawrick

Personally I think it's people not in tune with the Irish market who promote this crap, Irish people in general seem to avoid places that do this if possible.

I don't like the false niceness nonsense either, being genuine but not rude to customers is far better.