Calling your parents 'mammy' and 'daddy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Inishowen and Derry are big into using Mammy and Daddy not heard it used many other places usually Mum and Dad or the old doll/boy. If I heard someone say their old man I would assume they meant their husband and not their father

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Mum and Dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

Did any of ye ever call your teacher Mammy by mistake? I did, very embarrassing.

In my defense though I was very young, I was only in first year like...in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

mam and dad, calling them mammy and daddy and not in a joking way as an adult is inherently creepy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Moo-ma! Moo-pa!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

F-Stop wrote: »
    I call my parents at least once a week, but I always have to make something up so that I can hang up because they go on and on and it gets either really annoying or really boring. Not their fault, I'm sure my kids will find me to be annoying and boring when they're my age.

I feel bad saying this but I always tell Mam I have to get something to eat to get her off the phone. I love her to bits but she does waffle on.

My parents are quite elderly so every conversation starts with telling me about some-one who just died "Ah you KNOW them - Sarah's uncle went to school with him when they were young lads across the fields etc" No Mam I never met him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Im on first name terms with both my parents since about 12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I don't know anyone who calls their parents mammy and daddy.

Mom and Dad for me. No I'm not American, sounds normal to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

Mammy and Ducker (never goes by anything else)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

To my friends: "It's my Mum's birthday"
    To a stranger: "This is my Mother"
    To Daddy: "Where's Mammy?"
    To her: "Maaaaaaaaaaaaam -what's for dinner?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

twas always Mammy and Daddy in our household.

It was only growing up as a teenager when Friends were present
    when it got embarrassing to refer to the parents as such.
    And even now into my 30's I feel a little self conscious if I was to refer
    to them as Mammy and Daddy!

Oddly I used to call one grandmother "MUM" as a child and not granny/grandma etc.

I'd like to think if I ever had kids I would be called "Dad" or "Daddy"
    from my kid growing up. I think I'd feel odd if my potential future son or daughter started calling me by my first name.

Mammy & Daddy to me sounds like suberb/country type lingo.
    Mam & Dad being more urban
    Kids calling parents by their first name to me sounds parents with broken relationships that are not together.
    (ie unmarried mother not in a relationship with the father of the child)
    ~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 LemonPledge

I call them Mam and Dad, I always found it weird when people use Mammy and Daddy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

Always was and always will be Mammy and Daddy. Doesn't sound weird to me, I find it weirder people who would do it when they were younger but suddenly change to Mam or Dad - you're basically changing their names :p It just wouldn't sound right for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

'Daddy' is only acceptable when used in the phrase 'Who's your daddy' whilst having jiggy jiggy sexy love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I always think of that old Al Jolson song when I hear somebody say Mammy :)

Mammy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIaj7FNHnjQ&feature=player_detailpage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Janedoe10

It was always mammy and daddy for the sibling until the trIp to the big smoke and after one weekend the accent changed and it all changed .. Now it's Muuuum (note emphasis) word dragged out ... Its a bit funny cause u cant but help immating her . poor Pappa is still daddy though ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Mum and Dad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

God rest them both, it was always Mam and Dad. Can never get my head around Mum though. Shouldn't dad then be called........Dud?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Of course it's Mammy, the Irish Mammy rules everything :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Mum, Dad, the auld ones/auld pair. Never heard anyone over the age of ten call their parents mammy and daddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I always say Mammy and Daddy... My brothers n sister would be of the Ma and Da persuasion, but I never did, it's always been Mammy and Daddy, always will be.

My Mother is dead a few years, but up to her death and even now with my father, if I'm staying I still give/gave them/him a kiss goodnight! ALWAYS! Don't care how it's perceived by anyone, it's proof I love them and them me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Jess16 wrote: »
    To my friends: "It's my Mum's birthday"
    To a stranger: "This is my Mother"
    To Daddy: "Where's Mammy?"
    To her: "Maaaaaaaaaaaaam -what's for dinner?"
    Pretty much this, except that to my friends I call her The Mammy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Mam and Dad, but when speaking about Mam I will often refer to her as "my Mum" - dont know why. My best friend calls her parents by name and has done since she was a child, which I always found very strange

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

RachaelVO wrote: »
    I always say Mammy and Daddy... My brothers n sister would be of the Ma and Da persuasion, but I never did, it's always been Mammy and Daddy, always will be.

My Mother is dead a few years, but up to her death and even now with my father, if I'm staying I still give/gave them/him a kiss goodnight! ALWAYS! Don't care how it's perceived by anyone, it's proof I love them and them me!

And fair play to you for declaring it on a public forum.:) Pity there aren't more like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Its a very Irish thing, its fine for children but is plain wrong when used by older people. A friend of mine (42yrs old) still refers to his parents as mammy and daddy and its just freekin weird. Last week i was speaking with a work colleague in another office, his mother had been ill over christmas and i asked how she was doing, he started to tell me and called her mammy...He's 52/53years old, it was so odd to hear someone that age call their mother 'mammy'

I use Mum and Dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

When I'm talking to one of my brothers about our parents I tend to call them 'your X'. "Did you call your mother?", "Have you seen your father?".

Does anyone else do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Loopie

I'll use either mum or mam, and for my dad it's, well, dad or pops (in a jokey way) and whenever I'm leaving after visiting, I'll always give them a hug and a kiss - it would feel weird if I didn't. I always hug the dog too, but I call her by her name not, "dog"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Freddie59 wrote: »
    And fair play to you for declaring it on a public forum.:) Pity there aren't more like you.

Awwww, Thanks :)

My parents are some of the most important people in the world to me, as they probably are to lots of people. I'm not going to hide the fact that I still use my childhood titles for them. Don't care if people think it's weird or childish, they're MY Mammy and MY Daddy.

In fact my Mam died very suddenly, I was only speaking to her a few hours before she died and I told her I loved her, glad I did.

Having a bit of affection between you and your parents is nothing to be ashamed of, I think it should be encouraged, and if your lucky enough to have one or both parents still with you, embrace the madness, it's not gonna last forever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Mammy always reminds me of this:

I always use Mam & Dad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭sureitsgrand

Up North everyone seems to refer to their parents as mummy and daddy - regardless of age.

Always found it a bit weird.