Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

profitius wrote: »
    Donnacha Ryan should have been starting with Munster years ago. McGahan messed that one up. He was fourth choice last season at one stage.

He was because I was talking about him and I was basically ridiculed by one or two posters who didn't see him as much as I had.

You were ridiculed because your arguement was basically 'DOC is totally over rated' which you couldn't back up with any decent evidence. Your response to the obvious hole in your arguement was to simply stick your fingers in your ears and shout louder.

If you'd focused more on Ryan's talents and not on the constant DOC bashing (some of it deserved) you might have gotten better responses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

You were ridiculed because your arguement was basically 'DOC is totally over rated' which you couldn't back up with any decent evidence. Your response to the obvious hole in your arguement was to simply stick your fingers in your ears and shout louder.

If you'd focused more on Ryan's talents and not on the constant DOC bashing (some of it deserved) you might have gotten better responses.

DOC might be in decline, but for a very long time he was among the top locks in Europe at what he did. He's pure graft and every team needs a few forwards like him. He was never the (theoretical) complete second row but he was damn good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

DOC might be in decline, but for a very long time he was among the top locks in Europe at what he did. He's pure graft and every team needs a few forwards like him. He was never the (theoretical) complete second row but he was damn good.

Completely agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

he was by far the best (lions) lock in new zealand in 2005

RuggieBear wrote: »
    he was by far the best (lions) lock in new zealand in 2005

Midweek captain in 2009 too, a decent honour.

Could be a strong enough team this weekend.

It's An Ill Wind...
    14 February 2012, 5:11 pmBy The Editor
    It's an ill wind that doesn't blow some good although perhaps a heavy frost would be more appropriate in the circumstances given that the cancelled RBS Six Nations game last Saturday means Munster travel to Italy on Thursday stronger than they might have anticipated.
    The original two day international camp in Belfast has been cancelled, with a shorter one day camp taking place in Carton House, outside Maynooth (Co Kildare) on Wednesday, 15th February.
    A squad of 30 players will gather in the camp after which all of the players, with the exception of the starting XV that were selected to play France, will be released to their provinces for game time in the RaboDirect Pro12.

That means that Ronan O'Gara, Donnacha Ryan and Peter O'Mahony will all be on the early am flight that lands in Stanstead before the onward journey to Treviso.

It would also seem likely that Keith Earls, who was selected to play against the French, having missed the Welsh game, would also be in the squad for Munster's re-entry into RaboDirect PRO12 action.

The squad to travel is expected to be named tomorrow after training in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Could be a strong enough team this weekend.

That means that Ronan O'Gara, Donnacha Ryan and Peter O'Mahony will all be on the early am flight that lands in Stanstead before the onward journey to Treviso.

It would also seem likely that Keith Earls, who was selected to play against the French, having missed the Welsh game, would also be in the squad for Munster's re-entry into RaboDirect PRO12 action.

All 4 of the above will start I'd say.

When is Strings back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Thats nonsense.

I've always been a big fan of Donnacha Ryan and I went into detail and listed my reasons why I thought that.

DOC isn't the player he used to be either which I pointed out. You thought I had something personal against him which I don't and never had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Do we think that ROG might be a tad pissed off at going to aironi at 5am?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

durkadurka wrote: »
    Do we think that ROG might be a tad pissed off at going to aironi at 5am?

Given that we're playing Treviso, I reckon he'll be fuming ;)

I think Ryan is having a storming season, and I hope we pull out the stops to keep him, but I think people are being a bit revisionist. I thought he should have gotten his break earlier, but when he did his opportunity, he didn't take it.

He got his first HEC start against London Irish in Reading and was completely anonymous. Micko came back into the team the following week against Toulon, and played far better than Ryan had. I think it's only this year he has been significantly better than the alternatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Flincher wrote: »

I think Ryan is having a storming season, and I hope we pull out the stops to keep him, but I think people are being a bit revisionist. I thought he should have gotten his break earlier, but when he did his opportunity, he didn't take it.

He got his first HEC start against London Irish in Reading and was completely anonymous. Micko came back into the team the following week against Toulon, and played far better than Ryan had. I think it's only this year he has been significantly better than the alternatives.
    MOD is a worse POC, Ryan is a better DOC imo both a different types of locks and you should have one of each. Ryan carried the blame for the LIrish game but i wasn't fully his fault. DOC and Ryan both tried to play the same game and it didn't work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Touché!

Do Munster not charter a flight? Leinster seem to charter a flight and flog the spare seats to press and fans .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

My gripe with Ryan being selected for the WC at the time was that he was clearly given a greater opportunity to prove his worth in the warmup games than McLaughlin and McCarthy. Correct me if I'm wrong but didnt McLaughlin only get a substitute appearance away to France and McCarthy started the first game against the Scots, did very well and never appeared again. It just seemed like Kidney had made up his mind in advance to go with Ryan, he was subsequently proved right in fairness.

MOD is a worse POC, Ryan is a better DOC imo both a different types of locks and you should have one of each. Ryan carried the blame for the LIrish game but i wasn't fully his fault. DOC and Ryan both tried to play the same game and it didn't work out.

I agree with having 2 types of locks, and they are generally the best combinations seem to have enforcer like Ryan/Botha/Thorn and more of a lineout operator Paulie/Matfield/Williams.

It did probably have some effect on his performance, but not to the extent it should have. I was keeping half an eye on him because I am a fan of his, but I thought he went missing that day.

He's making up for it this year though. I'd be really disappointed if we couldn't hang on to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Touché!

Do Munster not charter a flight? Leinster seem to charter a flight and flog the spare seats to press and fans .

i think they do, munster are sponsored by aer arann. fliight would be going from shannon or cork, easier for those in the ireland squad to go from dublin airport.

shuffol wrote: »
    My gripe with Ryan being selected for the WC at the time was that he was clearly given a greater opportunity to prove his worth in the warmup games than McLaughlin and McCarthy. Correct me if I'm wrong but didnt McLaughlin only get a substitute appearance away to France and McCarthy started the first game against the Scots, did very well and never appeared again. It just seemed like Kidney had made up his mind in advance to go with Ryan, he was subsequently proved right in fairness.

You have to remember Kidney isn't just going on the matches we all see. He's going on feedback from any number of coaches and stats from matches right across the season, as well as how players respond to being in camp etc. McCarthy has been known to be overly (or incorrectly) aggressive in training, I doubt Kidney would overlook that aspect of him. Remember being told years ago that one of Guy Easterby's biggest roles in training was keeping people relaxed in the high pressure weeks, seemingly he's a good guy for a chat etc.

Squad dynamics are rarely considered is these debates because we don't know enough about the internal workings of the squad, but it's something Kidney is known to be mindful of. Didn't he re-organise the rooming arrangements etc after the meeting prior to the Grand Slam where seemingly provincial cliques were discussed?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

jm08 wrote: »
    i think they do, munster are sponsored by aer arann. fliight would be going from shannon or cork, easier for those in the ireland squad to go from dublin airport.

Aer Lingus regional??

Also if this is true.
    One of those ATR's all the way to Italy????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

FROM THE BLINDSIDE: Even at the humblest level of the game you never got to the point where a game was cancelled with the teams ready in the dressingroom, writes ALAN QUINLAN 

SATURDAY NIGHT in Paris was a situation completely out of the ordinary. Even going back to the days of club rugby, I’ve never come across a situation where you’re in the dressingroom stripped and ready to go when the game has been called off.

The Irish and French players had their preparation done, taken all the carbohydrate drinks, eaten all the right food, got themselves into game-time mode. To be left high and dry like that just minutes from kick-off just wouldn’t happen even at the lowest level of the game.

Even in the days when I was playing with Clanwilliam you never got to the point where a game was cancelled with the teams in the dressingroom.

Games went by the wayside for the weather several times but it was usually done with a couple of days to spare. Now, there’s a good chance this was occasionally done so that fellas could be free to enjoy their Saturday nights safe in the knowledge there’d be no game on the Sunday morning but the principle still stands. You don’t put people out if it can be avoided at all.

For players, it’s an odd place to find yourself in. I wasn’t a bit surprised to hear Jamie Heaslip say to Imanol Harinordoquy while they were standing on the pitch that he’d see him later for a drink.

Since long before any of us had laces in our boots, that’s what rugby players have done. Game’s off? Where’s the bar? That’s as sure as night follows day.

I was in the Ireland squad in 2001, the year the Six Nations got broken up by the foot-and-mouth crisis. In fact I was in the team. We’d won our first two matches, beating Italy away and France at Lansdowne Road and we were all set for the Wales game.

We were based in the Glenview Hotel in Wicklow and although there was talk that this foot-and-mouth thing might cause problems, we were all full sure they wouldn’t call off a Six Nations game because of it.

The team was announced on the Tuesday around 5.30 and I was delighted to find out I’d kept my place from the first two games. It was my first Six Nations campaign and I was enjoying it and doing well. We all went back to our rooms to kill a bit of time before dinner but, within the hour, we all got called back down to the team room.

Warren Gatland and Brian O’Brien were there and they told us the game had been called off and there was no date set for it to be played. And then the magic words – we were going to be released out of camp the next morning.

Everybody took a minute or two to process this, to deal with the shock of the game being called off. Warren and Brian went through the details of when we’d meet up again for training. Then there was a near stampede to the door as everyone went to their rooms to get their gladrags on and we were in Dublin city centre with pints in front of us before 7.30.

The night ended with Peter Stringer driving seven or eight of us home in Mick Galwey’s car in the small hours, with the team masseur Willie Bennett in the boot because that was the only place there was room for him. Every once in a while, we’d bang on the back seat to check on Willie and as long as the bang came back, we knew he was alright.

You don’t always have that sort of leeway though. I remember a Munster game being called off a couple of years ago in the Heineken Cup away to Montauban. We went to the south of France on the Friday for a Saturday game but found ourselves in the middle of a hurricane over there. We still thought the game would probably go ahead when we had the captain’s run but that night the weather was ferocious.

I was rooming with Ronan O’Gara and neither of us got much sleep with all the noise from outside. Trees were being pulled up in the howling wind and you could hear all sorts of things clattering and crashing around the place.

We had the TV news on in the room and there were reports of accidents happening all over the area and people being hurt. We knew there was a chance the game would be called off but it wasn’t until after breakfast that we found out it was gone for sure.

This time, there was no mention of the bar because, unlike the Six Nations, the Heineken Cup has contingency plans for this sort of thing. If it’s possible at all, they get the game played on the following day.

That still left us with a day to kill that we hadn’t been expecting. What do you do when you have nothing to do? It can be hard to fill the time.

Somebody very quickly organised a school gym somewhere in Montauban where we could go and have a game of indoor soccer, partly to get the nervous energy out of our bodies but mostly just to have a bit of fun and kill the boredom for a while. The game went ahead the next day and nobody was too put out.

But killing time can be hard. It changed a bit over the years because as video analysis became a bigger part of the game, there was always some bit of film you could be viewing. But you had to have your down-time too and after a while, there’s only so much TV you can watch or so many books you can read.

I was always more of a sleeper than a reader, mind you. If I had a chance at all, I’d be back in bed with the covers over me and I had no trouble dozing off during the day. Some guys couldn’t do it at all and they’d be bored out of their minds and looking for things to entertain them. Some played cards a fair bit but I stayed well away from that.

I got the sense they’d have been delighted to get me involved but somehow I don’t think it was for my company.

Sometimes your surroundings will help you out. When we were staying in the CityWest hotel with Ireland, the golf course was right on our doorstep so we could go and happily kill a few hours there.

Anthony Foley was mad for playing golf whenever he could and, funny enough, he used play with Eddie O’Sullivan a lot. John Hayes always said it was no wonder Foley always kept his place on the team.

You’d go stir crazy if you didn’t find something to do so it was only natural your more childish side would come out from time to time. I once had a room in CityWest that turned out to be just overlooking the first tee. When Hayes found this out, he got very excited. He went straight down to bagman Paddy “Rala” O’Reilly’s room to get the blowhorn we used for training.

He was like a little kid at the window waiting for Foley to tee off. Axel was halfway through his backswing when Hayes blew the horn and ball went skittering along the ground. Hayes actually became so pleased with himself he stayed there for an hour, blowhorning any random golfer who stepped up to the tee. So if you were playing in CityWest back around the early 2000s and you’ve always wondered who yer man with the blowhorn was, now you know.

It mightn’t sound like the most high-minded carry-on to be getting up to but that’s what the life is like a lot of the time. You train and you play and those are the times you live for. But when you’re in camp or you’re away from home, a lot of the time you’re just doing nothing.

Scott Gibbs said that long days in hotels were the one thing he didn’t miss when he retired and I can totally relate to that. I hope the Ireland and France players enjoyed their night out on Saturday – the way the fixture list is looking, they mightn’t be seeing one another for a while yet.

PS On a sad note, I was very sorry to hear of the death of John Flanagan on Saturday night in Paris. John and his wife Irene have been following Munster and Ireland far and wide for years and a lot of the players would know them very well. John had a heart attack in the Stade de France just as he was taking his seat. It’s awful news and I’d like to send my condolences and best wishes.

Once again, a great read from Quinlan.

Nice to hear about the players end on what happens once a match gets cancelled. Best bit by far is the surprising story about Hayes. Would have expected DOC to pull something like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Touché!

They do similiar. We were on the chartered flight to Toulon to the match last year. Was a pretty ****e trip back.. :(

Munster Catch Up With JJ Hanrahan
    15 February 2012, 11:56 amBy The Editor
    We catch up with Munster's JJ Hanrahan as he looks forward to the Munster 'A' head to head clash against Leinster in the B&I Cup semi-final in Dublin on Friday, 6th April.
    In his second year with the Munster Academy, 19 year old JJ Hanrahan made his senior debut against La Rochelle in Munster’s opening pre-season game in August 2011.
    Hanrahan, who plays outhalf/centre is currently involved in the Ireland U20 six nations squad that achieved a historic win over France in Grenoble last Saturday putting them on course for a championship title.

Originally from Kerry, Hanrahan played his schools rugby with Rockwell College and represents UL Bohemian RFC at club level. Having made his debut in the B&I Cup competition last year, Hanrahan is hopeful the Munster ‘A’ side will go on to compete in the first final of the competition to be played in Ireland on Saturday, 28th April.

How old were you when you first started playing rugby and what club: I was 7 when I started in Castleisland RFC

First position you ever played: Prop - I think - because I wore a scrum cap

Most memorable try in career: Rockwell College v St. Munchin’s in the Schools Senior Cup. I got two that day and haven’t scored since!

Career highlight to date: Playing in the Ireland U20’s World Cup

Most difficult opponent: All the South African U20’s!

Most embarrassing moment on a rugby pitch: In a school’s game, kicking ball out over the line and cheering thinking we had won, and everyone started laughing at me because we lost.

Player you would most like to play alongside: Dan Carter

Best thing about playing for Munster: Living a dream

Best part of being a pro rugby player: Doing something you love for a living

Worst part of being pro rugby player: Not being able to travel with friends

Favourite other sport: Football/basketball

Sportsperson you admire most: Michael Jordan

Hobbies outside rugby: Watching movies, playing the tin whistle

Pet hate: Untidy people

Sporting event you'd most like to attend: The Super Bowl

Best place you've visited: Venice, Italy

Where you haven’t been and would love to go to: California/Thailand

What you see yourself doing when your rugby career over: Something in business

Three things you can’t live without: Internet, blackberry, car

Who would play you in a movie: Brad Pitt- we’re very similar!

Most famous person you’ve met: Holly from Jordie Shore

Person you would most like to meet: Michael Jordan

Favourite Food: Lamb roast

Favourite subject at school: Geography

Subject you were worst at: Irish

Favourite Film: Cinderella Man

Favourite TV programme: Entourage

Favourite Actor: Denzel Washington/Russell Crowe

Favourite Singer/Band: John Mayer

Three people you would invite to dinner and why: John Bishop (for the laugh), Tiger Woods (to get all the gossip), Mila Kunis (to ask her to marry me!)

Jones, Sherry & O'Donnell Included In Munster Squad
    15 February 2012, 1:53 pmBy The Editor
    Felix Jones, Mike Shery and Tommy O'Donnell are all included in the 28 strong Munster squad that will travel to Italy in the morning for the RaboDirect PRO12 clash with Benetton Treviso on Saturday.
    Also included are RBS Six Nations squad members Ronan O'Gara, Donnacha Ryan and Peter O'Mahony.
    Jones returned to action for Shannon last weekend after almost seven months sidelined with foot ligament damage while O'Donnell limped out of the December league game against Ulster in Ravenhill with a knee injury. Sherry, injured in a club game, has been out of the Munster squad since the game against Edinburgh in Murrayfield in October.

Eleven players are unavailable through injury while Paul O'Connell, Donncha O'Callaghan and Conor Murray, who were all due to start in the game against France are unavailable for selection.

Keith Earls had been released back to play but he'll remain in Limerick to be with his partner and newly born baby girl.

Munster Squad: Marcus Horan, Wian du Preez, Stephen Archer, John Ryan, BJ Botha, Denis Fogarty, Damien Varley, Sean Henry, Mike Sherry, Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland, Mick O'Driscoll, Tommy O'Donnell, Dave O'Callaghan, Peter O'Mahony, James Coughlan,Paddy Butler, Duncan Williams, Tomas O'Leary, Cathal Sheridan, Ronan O'Gara, Scott Deasy, Simon Zebo, Johne Murphy, Lifeimi Mafi, Danny Barnes, Denis Hurley, Felix Jones.

Not considered because of injury: David Wallace (knee), Troy Smith (knee), Jerry Flannery (calf), Darragh Hurley (back), Tom Gleeson (shoulder), Doug Howlett (achilles), Denis Leamy (hip), Niall Ronan (knee), Dave Foley (shoulder), Ian Nagle (shoulder), Luke O'Dea (shoulder).

No Ian Keatley. He picked up a bit of a knock in the first half against Shannon last weekend, and played the second half with strapping on his ankle, but he's not on the injured list.

Wouldn't mind seeing him togging out for the Cookies again at the weekend.

No Ian Keatley. He picked up a bit of a knock in the first half against Shannon last weekend, and played the second half with strapping on his ankle, but he's not on the injured list.

Wouldn't mind seeing him togging out for the Cookies again at the weekend.

Hopefully Deasy will get a half. I've doubt about him but it'd be good to see if he can improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭jimbomalley

Ruddock is a welsh product surely?

Tbh, I've been fairly impressed by both TOD and Butler this season, I don't think the move made sense for Ruddock or for Munster. TOD is back playing after his injury against Ulster, hopefully either he or Butler will get a start against Treviso, though Kidney might want POM picked at 7.

Irish mother, welsh father, raised and schooled in dublin....ya, must be welsh then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Ruddock is a welsh product surely?

Tbh, I've been fairly impressed by both TOD and Butler this season, I don't think the move made sense for Ruddock or for Munster. TOD is back playing after his injury against Ulster, hopefully either he or Butler will get a start against Treviso, though Kidney might want POM picked at 7.

Irish mother, welsh father, raised and schooled in dublin....ya, must be welsh then
    Raised in Wales and schooled in England, but close enough I suppose

Em, went to school in England actually while in the Ospreys Academy. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Millfield

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Ruddock was born and schooled in Dublin (Willow Park) until moving back to Wales for his adolescence due to his father's job. Once he finished his schooling, he returned to Ireland.

GerM wrote: »
    Ruddock was born and schooled in Dublin (Willow Park) until moving back to Wales for his adolescence due to his father's job. Once he finished his schooling, he returned to Ireland.

So, he's really a Dub and Fitz is actually a Corkman? I sense a Jamie Heaslip is a Limerick Israeli debate coming on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭jimbomalley

Em, went to school in England actually while in the Ospreys Academy. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Millfield

ok so i messed that bit up....he was born in dublin though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Picked up my ticket today for the quarter final..

In fairness, €30 for an East Terrace ticket (best spot in the house IMO) is seriously good value!!