If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Do the Dubs get an unfair rep?

• 09-02-2012 08:23PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭

Do the Dubs get an unfair rep for being less friendly than us culchies? Was in Beaumont hospital for a few weeks and I was actually taken aback at how friendly and sound everyone was. I'm from Donegal myself which is supposed to be fairly friendly but It was easier to have a laugh with strangers in Dublin. Who'd have thunk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Ive always been nice to everyone... but apparently im strange so take it as you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

I prefer lads from outside Dublin.

Dublin lads are too cocky I think, went out with enough of them.

A good culchie lad, now there's a proper man for me! Road frontage is a bonus :cool:

There is good people everywhere though, so no generalising, my dads from Dublin and everyone I know from Dublin are lovely people.
    There are very unfriendly people in the country, in fact even more so, they carry shot guns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭VagnerLove

It's not that surprising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Who'd have thunk it
    dont you me thinkeded it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Dr. Manhattan

You had a prejudice that turned out to be groundless. How shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I think so, the majority of Dubliners I have met have been quite nice and friendly.

It's no different than everyone worrying bout Limerick people.
    Are you startin!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

Dublin lads are the crack!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

DyldeBrill wrote: »
    Dublin lads use crack!
    FYP

Sindri wrote: »
    FYP

touché

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Come - on - you - bhoys - in - blue, come on you boys in blue, come on you boys in bluueeee!

[SIZE=]Come - on - you - bhoys - in - blue, come on you boys in blue, come on you boys in bluueeee![/SIZE]

I suspect you support Dublin.

Dublin/Celtic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

No it's how he calls the police, not having a phone and such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

I find Limerick people are noticeably more polite than Dublin people in general. I suspect this comes from fear of stabbing though.

Just so all ye Dubs know, we all despise you and your city, please go back to Britain.:)

Wasn't aware the Dubs had a bad rep, went to work there (from Cork) when I was 22 and found the Dubs a great pack of folk tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭VagnerLove

Country people just need to have some more respect for their superiors in Dublin.

imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭RichieC

Anyone generalising based on where people are from are not only unfair but pretty stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

You had a prejudice that turned out to be groundless. How shocking.
    Amazing isnt it. Thank you soooo much for your contribution.

RichieC wrote: »
    Anyone generalising based on where people are from are not only unfair but pretty stupid.
    Typical midlands person response :rolleyes: ;)

Actually, No. Not really into GAA.
    From experience living in Dublin and Sligo I find that it works both ways, obviously I suppose.
    Both sides who hate the other are just stupid, as I said before, I much prefer to hate people on an individual basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I find Limerick people are noticeably more polite than Dublin people in general. I suspect this comes from fear of stabbing though.

Take another stab at that suspicion lark to see if you can get it right for a change!

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Take another stab at that suspicion lark to see if you can get it right for a change!
    beating?
    shooting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,205 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

As Corkman I like the Dubs.

Never had problem with them.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Ironically, the only real hosility that exists in the Dubs V Cuilches battle comes from outside Dublin. In all honesty, you can dislike us as much as you like but we still love you :o (((((((((Hug me))))))))))

And that's why were better than you.

I think this will resolve the matter. (probably not)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_of_averages

Dublin being the most populated country is bound to have the most arseholes in it.
    The same way people hate Americans for being thick..
    Ireland being a small country is generally quite well liked globally.
    Dublin is in Ireland.....brain **** zomg! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Just so all ye Dubs know, we all despise you and your city, please go back to Britain.:)
    I think most of em are sound even though they're British

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    beating?
    shooting?

Sorry - I must have gotten your point backwards if you're listing all the recent goings-on in the capital.

Apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

hmmmm dubs unfair rep for being unfriendly.

If unfriendly is arrogant, world doesn't exist outside dublin, annoying, loud. Then Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Ironically, the only real hosility that exists in the Dubs V Cuilches battle comes from outside Dublin. In all honesty, you can dislike us as much as you like but we still love you :o (((((((((Hug me))))))))))

No means No, stop harrassing the yokels.